2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

I think clubs are beginning to say no to contracted players wanting out if the deal isn't beneficially bias which leads me too the wonderful footage of the player manager meltdown last post season.

Nevertheless, the JUH situation last post season was a rort, players walking to opposition clubs based on bad behaviour/mental health. Maybe those players need to take a year off to get them selves right before being introduced back into an AFL environment.

I think clubs are beginning to say no to contracted players wanting out if the deal isn't beneficially bias which leads me too the wonderful footage of the player manager meltdown last post season.
Yeah, last off season definitely felt like a recalibration. Brisbane's stance was even more interesting with an uncontracted player.

We shouldn't be made to pay all or any of Hill's contract. The AFL needs to free clubs from contracts where the player isn't training or playing for a period of time.
If there's an illness, including mental health, there should be a salary continuance clause where only a percentage of the monthly payment owed to the player should be paid. This should be applied for through insurance via the players superannuation scheme.
If the player is taking the p155, and is continuing behaviours not in-line with the clubs behavioural standards, the clubs should be able to terminate the contract completely.

Nevertheless, the JUH situation last post season was a rort, players walking to opposition clubs based on bad behaviour/mental health. Maybe those players need to take a year off to get them selves right before being introduced back into an AFL environment.
UgleHagan was contracted for 26.
Actually playing for less than he would've got staying at the dogs

Nevertheless, the JUH situation last post season was a rort, players walking to opposition clubs based on bad behaviour/mental health. Maybe those players need to take a year off before being introduced back into an AFL environment.
I don't think it's a rort. It's not like there was a queue of clubs chasing him. It was more a case of blokes with baggage not having value. A genuine rather than potential star like Steven May couldn't even find a club that wanted him. I'd put JUH more in the Elijah Hollands basket than as someone who walked to wherever he wanted. Lucky to have gotten another chance. Hardwick and Kingsley are just about the only ones particularly interested in working with the talented blokes with baggage.

It'll change if Stringer and Clarry continue their cracking form and bring GWS success or JUH becomes a star.

We shouldn't be made to pay all or any of Hill's contract. The AFL needs to free clubs from contracts where the player isn't training or playing for a period of time.
If there's an illness, including mental health, there should be a salary continuance clause where only a percentage of the monthly payment owed to the player should be paid.
If the player is taking the p155, and is continuing behaviours not in-line with the clubs behavioural standards, the clubs should be able to terminate the contract completely.
Depends what the issue is. You can't just stop paying someone if sick.
Technically if Hill walks a lap and lifts a 2kg weight that is showing up. (But obviously detrimental hence show up when your ready)
The AFL contracts are pretty air tight.
We are stuck with Hill. The notion of players not signing long term deals equally applies to clubs

If there's an illness, including mental health, there should be a salary continuance clause where only a percentage of the monthly payment owed to the player should be paid.
I don't think clauses like that are allowed by the players association. I agree with you though.

So is this where we are now?
A player renews their contract with more money but not long after, another player gets monster deal so players then want to negotiate their contracts that still have years to go.
These multi year mega millions are going to kill the game.
Everyone will be wanting more and more money.
That's why the AFL don't like it. Look at the situation with Pickett at Melbourne. There's no way he'll be able to fully commit to that contract whilst wanting to go to the NT to chase his partner around.

Push comes to shove, Nick will do what is best for himself. Footy is his living and has a limited lifespan and can end suddenly.
Much as he might love the club, it is a business not a love affair.
I intend to enjoy him while we have him and if that turns out to be for his entire footy career then it's a bonus and we can count ourselves extremely fortunate.
Saying that, I would not want the club to hock itself up to the eyeballs to keep him.

Admirably lacking in sentiment, well done.

I’m already over this issue, and if he goes he goes. But not before:

A) he helps us to another flag, and

B) we get the biggest compensation package in AFL history.

I have a Pies supporting mate who doesn’t like Nick, because ‘he gets too much attention’ and not enough goes to our other players.

Ok.

Is that an Aussie thing, to not want to celebrate greatness?

All I know is that I go to Pies games most weeks, and I’m in crowds of 70, 80, 90k. Many of them are drooling over Nick (including me). Then there’s the broadcast numbers.

Is Nick getting justly rewarded for how good he is and the money he brings in?

No.

I don't think clauses like that are allowed by the players association. I agree with you though.
There is a players superannuation fund, and that fund will have insurance associated with it, whether it be SCI or TPD.
I just don't get how someone cannot perform the terms of their contract yet get paid 60K a month, its ridiculous...

There is a players superannuation fund, and that fund will have insurance associated with it, whether it be SCI or TPD.
I just don't get how someone cannot perform the terms of their contract yet get paid 60K a month, its ridiculous...
I agree. I don't live in fantansy land where people make up all sorts of excuses for players. The majority of these issues are substance abuse related and giving someone 60k a month whilst on a substance is absolutely ****ing ridiculous.

If players can now get tested for drugs using hair samples, wouldn't clubs be able to do the same for players on extended personal leave?

Yes they would but they won't due to the backlash from the enablers. If they did they wouldn't be allowed to discuss it publicly anyway. It's just something we'll continuously turn a blind eye to. The 2 hawthorn players went to America to get on their drug binge and we only found out about it because they got arrested.

They were arrested for trespassing. :)

What i said was no one is giving juh a big contract after he spent the year sitting on the sidelines on full pay going clubbing because he didn’t like the coach. That is very obvious.

I never said he wouldn’t get a pay rise if he starts playing well, he’s on minimum chips right now
once bitten twice shy. A club would be nuts to ever give a player a big contract who just fails to show up for a year or more.

We don't know details about his current contract. We don't know any details about a contract extension. It's complete guesswork. There's lots of ways in which an extension now could be in Nick's financial interests and lots where it couldn't be.
I’m guessing they’ve told Nick that they want to extend him, but first wait until what they can do during FA period.