2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

No one looks into the quality of your BnF finishes, they just reel off the total šŸ˜‰

He should have at least 1x Brownlow, an extra 2x BnFs, a SoO medal and maybe even an extra AA jacket.
only 1 extra BnF imo last years. Should have 2x Brownlows though and obviously the SoO medal

With a lot of voting systems he would have won 2023 bnf as well.

Ablett was out of contract. Doubt pies ever allow that to happen
The discussion was around Butters. Humphrey and King not wanting to come to Coll because of our poorer flag prospects compared to other Clubs.

I just offered examples where stars left for money as a counter view.

I thought he should have in 2023 quite comfortably
It depends what you want the BnF to be. McRae has constructed a system to "reward" the things he always talks about rewarding - so his criteria includes things beyond just impact in your role. Impact in your role has only been one of 4 equally weighted criteria. You get "rewarded" for things like fight, as well. It's why Cameron won last year. It also means that outrstanding impact doesn't create as big a separation, so if you don't play all of the games, you're a fair chance to get overrun - aka the Josh BnF in 2023.

I'd be looking at:

Jed Busslinger (WB) KPD out of contract

Harry Rowston (GWS) M out of contract

Max Gruzewski (GWS) KPF out of contract

Straight swap Ed Allan for Elijah Tastes (ESS) M

Phoenix Gothard (GWS) SF out of contract

Will Dawson (NM) KPD 20yo 200cm out of contract

Oliver Hannaford (GWS) F

Ryan Angwin (GWS) M

Jack Ough (GWS) M 194cm

Alex Davies (GC) M 192cm out of contract

Ben Jepson (GC) - M UFA 24yo 184cm

Oscar Adams (GC) KPD UFA 22yo 198cm

Toby Pink (NM) KPD UFA 27yo 194cm

Lachlan Bramble (WB) M UFA 27yo 182cm

Lachlan McNeill (WB) F UFA 24yo 184cm

Ryan Gardner (WB) KPD UFA 28yo 197cm

Jake Kolodjashnij (GEE) KPD 30yo 193cm
A lot of the list is hot trash, but there are some nuggets there and it surprises me that GWS have so many in the 15-35 bracket on their list OOC.

Judd wanted to come to us but e couldn’t match the Visy bullshit. Imagine Judd, Swan and Pendles together from 2008-2015. Damn
It wasn't the money. He was getting heaps either way, but he wanted to live in Melbourne and thus needed a trade to be done. Carlton had the picks and made it clear how they'd get it done. We basically said to him: "Don't worry your pretty little head about that - we'll work that one out." He chose to nominate the club he knew was going to get a deal done.

That's a no from me to Bramble.
Start watching more Dogs games because he’s an elite user by foot. A lot of Dogs get a lot of the ball and in a team like ours that’s looking to change the way it moves the ball he’d be an asset. In terms of that 2022 plug and play move that elevated us from challengers to premiers he’s an obvious target. Don’t sleep on him.

The Butters one is strange. All the rumours, but no one set up last year to be in a position to trade him in. It was Port who went hardest to add future capital, but that's for academy picks - same with Blues and their future picks for Curnow. Hawks were smart and added a couple of second rounders during the draft. They'd have to do something massive in terms of trading out though to get into Butters territory.

I think it's likely no one can get a deal done and he'll re-sign a huge contract with Port for two years to take him to unrestricted - unless he's willing to go to one of the cellar dwelling Vic teams.
A couple of things from my perspective there’s two teams that will likely have the currency to get it done, Collingwood and the Dogs.

The challenge for us is are we a viable option for Butters with Daicos publicly not shooting down Tassie’s advances and whether a bottom 6-8 finish in 2026 has him not viewing us as a contender? Unless Daicos is privately assuring everyone of his future and allowing the public discussion to drive engagement on socials then you have to wonder how we’re any chance of attracting a name with him not in it for the long term.

The challenge for the Dogs is who are they sacrificing? Chatting to a Dogs fan recently they suggested Sanders, but it would take Croft as well I’d say. Either way they can still make moves to get it done.

The second one is that clubs may well have gone hard, but the nature of the 2025-2027 drafts meant no one was keen to move in 2026. With 2028 a Tasmania draft holding him for two more years in the midst of a rebuild only to get a pick outside the top 10 would be a tough decision to make. I view it like the Daicos one if he’s out the door post 2029 then a discussion needs to be had about moving him in 2027/28 to Tassie in order to maximise the return.

It wasn't the money. He was getting heaps either way, but he wanted to live in Melbourne and thus needed a trade to be done. Carlton had the picks and made it clear how they'd get it done. We basically said to him: "Don't worry your pretty little head about that - we'll work that one out." He chose to nominate the club he knew was going to get a deal done.
Worked well for him. Missed out on a flag and potentially more if he was in our side. Instead he collected more spoons than an 83yo grandma

A couple of things from my perspective there’s two teams that will likely have the currency to get it done, Collingwood and the Dogs.

The challenge for us is are we a viable option for Butters with Daicos publicly not shooting down Tassie’s advances and whether a bottom 6-8 finish in 2026 has him not viewing us as a contender? Unless Daicos is privately assuring everyone of his future and allowing the public discussion to drive engagement on socials then you have to wonder how we’re any chance of attracting a name with him not in it for the long term.

The challenge for the Dogs is who are they sacrificing? Chatting to a Dogs fan recently they suggested Sanders, but it would take Croft as well I’d say. Either way they can still make moves to get it done.

The second one is that clubs may well have gone hard, but the nature of the 2025-2027 drafts meant no one was keen to move in 2026. With 2028 a Tasmania draft holding him for two more years in the midst of a rebuild only to get a pick outside the top 10 would be a tough decision to make. I view it like the Daicos one if he’s out the door post 2029 then a discussion needs to be had about moving him in 2027/28 to Tassie in order to maximise the return.
I'd assume we would have to give up Beau as part of a package to get Butters?

It depends what you want the BnF to be. McRae has constructed a system to "reward" the things he always talks about rewarding - so his criteria includes things beyond just impact in your role. Impact in your role has only been one of 4 equally weighted criteria. You get "rewarded" for things like fight, as well. It's why Cameron won last year. It also means that outrstanding impact doesn't create as big a separation, so if you don't play all of the games, you're a fair chance to get overrun - aka the Josh BnF in 2023.
Reward the player that I and I alone thinks best is my personal system

I'd assume we would have to give up Beau as part of a package to get Butters?
I would make the same assumption. IMO, a package of pick 6-10, future 1st (or 1sts) and McCreery could be enough to turn their heads against the alternative of sticking it out for a further 2 years with pick 10+ to follow. That being said he’s going to choose the Dogs so it’s a moot discussion especially while Naicos is publicly following Tasmania’s insta page and deferring to his management whenever talk of his contract comes up.

Reward the player that I and I alone thinks best is my personal system
Me too. Whilst I don't really care who wins the BnF, I think it should just go to the bloke who has the biggest impact on games of footy - and thus to me they should just give it to Nick Daicos at the beginning of the year and only take it off him if he misses 10+ games.

Worked well for him. Missed out on a flag and potentially more if he was in our side. Instead he collected more spoons than an 83yo grandma
It got him where he wanted to live - Melbourne. Nominating us might not have gotten that done.

Unless Daicos is privately assuring everyone of his future and allowing the public discussion to drive engagement on socials then you have to wonder how we’re any chance of attracting a name with him not in it for the long term.
What kind of an imbecilic player or manager would publicly or privately commit to their current club before or during contract negotiations?

This kind of speculation is madness.

What kind of an imbecilic player or manager would publicly or privately commit to their current club before or during contract negotiations?

Manager wouldn't want him to say anything. Club wouldn't want players to respond to purely speculative reporting either. Everything that's been written just reads as a series of if...then articles.

What contract negotiations? Are you referring to the alleged proposals we’ve made? If a player and management group with 4 years to run on a contract has entered into negotiations that in and of itself is a clear admission of intent. It seems a strangely OTT reaction from yourself.

I would make the same assumption. IMO, a package of pick 6-10, future 1st (or 1sts) and McCreery could be enough to turn their heads against the alternative of sticking it out for a further 2 years with pick 10+ to follow. That being said he’s going to choose the Dogs so it’s a moot discussion especially while Naicos is publicly following Tasmania’s insta page and deferring to his management whenever talk of his contract comes up.
I feel like one of our panic merchant posters has hacked your account sco.

Manager wouldn't want him to say anything. Club wouldn't want players to respond to purely speculative reporting either. Everything that's been written just reads as a series of if...then articles.
I wonder if this extends to following opposition clubs on social media who are openly courting him and his management is on the record as being open to being courted by šŸ¤”

What contract negotiations? Are you referring to the alleged proposals we’ve made? If a player and management group with 4 years to run on a contract has entered into negotiations that in and of itself is a clear admission of intent. It seems a strangely OTT reaction from yourself.
Go back and read my post - a key qualifier is "before".

I feel like one of our panic merchant posters has hacked your account sco.
I feel like I’ve been reasonably clear in my views on Naicos of late. He’ll be captain in 2027 and the longer term vision of the club is that both he and Zac Butters are fronting the media together in mid October to discuss their long term futures in the black and white.*

Any themes from my posting that could be taken on Naicos are purely on the basis of him becoming the next Petracca in terms of focus on brand and engagement. I’m ice cold on that because it puts self ahead of club, IMO. It’s up to others to decide though whether they see it the same way and I don’t expect a single person will agree with me because of the BF cohort in 2026. Point blank if you asked me where he ends his career without a shadow of a doubt I’d say Collingwood, but you’d have to be blind to not consider the alternatives if you aren’t getting those vibes in private.

*I personally don’t share the vision for reasons stated re Butters although I’m hoping to be wrong.