2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

Thought the King extension seemed likely. Give a real shot at flagging with GC over the next few seasons then cash in big time.

I’d really like us to go for Georgiades at the end of next year over either of Lewis or Amartey. He’s a gun.

In the meantime, get in Neale & Toby Greene on 2+1 contracts and offer Darcy Wilson a boatload

Thought the King extension seemed likely. Give a real shot at flagging with GC over the next few seasons then cash in big time.

I’d really like us to go for Georgiades at the end of next year over either of Lewis or Amartey. He’s a gun.

In the meantime, get in Neale & Toby Greene on 2+1 contracts and offer Darcy Wilson a boatload
Can’t see us getting Neale or Green.
Pie in the sky stuff.

Can’t see us getting Neale or Green.
Pie in the sky stuff.
Greene I did throw in there as a bit tongue in cheek, but can’t see how Neale is “pie in the sky stuff”. He’s OOC, Brisbane have a buggered cap and his personal life won’t draw him in a predictable way back to WA or the like

It’s fair to say the shine has come off Jed Walter pretty quickly, especially given how highly touted he was through the draft and academy system at Gold Coast Suns.

Career stats: 4 kicks, 2.5 handballs, 2.3 marks, 0.8 contested marks, 1 goal, 1 behind, 2 shots at goal per game, 46.7% accuracy (42% this year), and 2 direct turnovers.

Plenty of elite AFL key forwards have had modest first 20–30 games. The concern is more about the context around the production.

Sam Edmund, Kane Cornes and David King discussed Walter on SEN today. Edmund said Gold Coast has had a two-year deal in front of him for some time, with little movement from Walter or his management, while also noting there’s been very limited rival interest.

Cornes argued that a young, explosive key forward with Walter’s physical profile and upside — likening the tools to a young Josh Kennedy — would still be worth millions if it clicks. King pushed back, essentially saying Gold Coast itself doesn’t appear fully convinced, given Walter still struggles to cement a spot despite the club searching for support alongside Ben King.

A few things stand out:
  • Gold Coast has been actively searching for a reliable second tall forward alongside Ben King
  • Walter still hasn’t consistently held his spot
  • His pressure, leading patterns, aerial work and link play apparently aren’t offsetting the lack of scoreboard impact
  • If clubs genuinely viewed him as a future dominant power forward, there would usually already be stronger contract pressure and trade noise.
That’s why the SEN discussion is interesting. Cornes is probably right on archetype value: genuinely explosive 195cm+ contested-marking forwards are rare and always in demand. The Josh Kennedy comparison is more about physical traits and upside than current output.

But King’s point carries weight too. If your own club is crying out for another key forward and still doesn’t fully trust you at AFL level, that’s concerning.

The most worrying indicators aren’t even the disposal numbers.
  • It’s only 2 shots at goal per game
  • limited contested-marking influence
  • declining accuracy this year
  • and minimal involvement higher up the ground.

What did Ollie Henry get traded for? Arguably showed more.

Second round pick plus a contract the club won't match to get a high draft pick that isn't best 23 after 3 years.

Greene I did throw in there as a bit tongue in cheek, but can’t see how Neale is “pie in the sky stuff”. He’s OOC, Brisbane have a buggered cap and his personal life won’t draw him in a predictable way back to WA or the like
Just don’t think it will happen. Too high profile for us.

Neale would be the perfect target for us to help us stay competitive over the Tassie compromised draft years.

Would help us solve the biggest weakness which is midfield clearance work when Nick is tagged out. And we wouldn't have to sell the farm like we would for Butters. Can continue to build the depth of young players coming through like Steene, AA, West etc.

Chase Lewis & Walter. We could probably get them both for $1.7m combined.

Lewis, Walter & West quite a dynamic forward line.
Really? It's not surprising that Lewis wants to stay at the Hawks and they are in no hurry to start contract talks. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that in 9 years of AFL, he has only averaged 10 games per year.

Walter cannot get a mark and kick with the best midfield in the AFL kicking it to him. You really think he is going to suddenly improve with our midfield kicking it to him?

Fortunately for you we have form chasing and overpaying for the NQR's/ injury prone muppets that everybody else avoids

Its been reported tonight Geelong have approached Cameron's closest mate Greene for next year. I would love Darcy Wilson but do not see it happening...

It’s fair to say the shine has come off Jed Walter pretty quickly, especially given how highly touted he was through the draft and academy system at Gold Coast Suns.

Career stats: 4 kicks, 2.5 handballs, 2.3 marks, 0.8 contested marks, 1 goal, 1 behind, 2 shots at goal per game, 46.7% accuracy (42% this year), and 2 direct turnovers.

Plenty of elite AFL key forwards have had modest first 20–30 games. The concern is more about the context around the production.

Sam Edmund, Kane Cornes and David King discussed Walter on SEN today. Edmund said Gold Coast has had a two-year deal in front of him for some time, with little movement from Walter or his management, while also noting there’s been very limited rival interest.

Cornes argued that a young, explosive key forward with Walter’s physical profile and upside — likening the tools to a young Josh Kennedy — would still be worth millions if it clicks. King pushed back, essentially saying Gold Coast itself doesn’t appear fully convinced, given Walter still struggles to cement a spot despite the club searching for support alongside Ben King.

A few things stand out:
  • Gold Coast has been actively searching for a reliable second tall forward alongside Ben King
  • Walter still hasn’t consistently held his spot
  • His pressure, leading patterns, aerial work and link play apparently aren’t offsetting the lack of scoreboard impact
  • If clubs genuinely viewed him as a future dominant power forward, there would usually already be stronger contract pressure and trade noise.
That’s why the SEN discussion is interesting. Cornes is probably right on archetype value: genuinely explosive 195cm+ contested-marking forwards are rare and always in demand. The Josh Kennedy comparison is more about physical traits and upside than current output.

But King’s point carries weight too. If your own club is crying out for another key forward and still doesn’t fully trust you at AFL level, that’s concerning.

The most worrying indicators aren’t even the disposal numbers.
  • It’s only 2 shots at goal per game
  • limited contested-marking influence
  • declining accuracy this year
  • and minimal involvement higher up the ground.
Great comment

Really? It's not surprising that Lewis wants to stay at the Hawks and they are in no hurry to start contract talks. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that in 9 years of AFL, he has only averaged 10 games per year.

Walter cannot get a mark and kick with the best midfield in the AFL kicking it to him. You really think he is going to suddenly improve with our midfield kicking it to

Fortunately for you we have form chasing and overpaying for the NQR's/ injury prone muppets that everybody else avoids
Careful!! Keep this up and he’ll Will Phillips you.

The thought of bringing in Lewis keeps me up at night. We all understand I hope that Buller’s first fortnight was dreadful because he couldn’t catch a cold. His return to the senior team though is more what we recruited him for albeit with some wastage. Where is the value of an extra $2.5m in cap space toward Lewis over the course of his contract when the flow on is less room for West in the senior mix and maybe an extra .5 goals and 1 mark a game? His output is on par with McStay’s and that’s before the injury profile is considered.

The surest way to become mired in mediocrity is to stump up for mediocrity on big $’s. Whether it be trade cost or flat out refusal we need to be targeting the likes of Georgiades, Cadman, King, Caddy or Morris if the plan is to pro scout our way out of our forward issues. For me Georgiades is the one. He’s averaging 5 SOG a game and will win the Coleman if he tightens up his conversion.

What did Ollie Henry get traded for? Arguably showed more.

Second round pick plus a contract the club won't match to get a high draft pick that isn't best 23 after 3 years.
You are right... When you compare Henry's stats to that of a highly rated pick 3 Jed Walter, Henry’s early numbers were actually fairly solid and tracking upwards in his two seasons with us keeping in mind his first season (2021) was when the wheels fell off for the club

The thought of bringing in Lewis keeps me up at night. We all understand I hope that Buller’s first fortnight was dreadful because he couldn’t catch a cold. His return to the senior team though is more what we recruited him for albeit with some wastage. Where is the value of an extra $2.5m in cap space toward Lewis over the course of his contract when the flow on is less room for West in the senior mix and maybe an extra .5 goals and 1 mark a game? His output is on par with McStay’s and that’s before the injury profile is considered.

The surest way to become mired in mediocrity is to stump up for mediocrity on big $’s. Whether it be trade cost or flat out refusal we need to be targeting the likes of Georgiades, Cadman, King, Caddy or Morris if the plan is to pro scout our way out of our forward issues. For me Georgiades is the one. He’s averaging 5 SOG a game and will win the Coleman if he tightens up his conversion.
I am in complete agreement with you.

My attraction with Ben King was he is entering prime age years, durable, proven week-to-week availability, consistent scoreboard impact, and his RFA status meant there was at least a mechanism to pry him loose (unlike players I really like in Cadman & Georgeiadis).

King’s profile fitted our club trying to maximize the remaining elite years of players like Nick Daicos.

But Mitch Lewis is almost the inverse bet. The talent has never really been the issue — when fit, he’s a legitimate key forward target and probably Hawthorn’s best pure contested-marking forward. The problem is availability. And for our club already carrying durability concerns with Dan McStay and Jordan De Goey, adding another high-risk body becomes hard to justify.

McStay/JDG frustrate supporters because they miss chunks of footy yet they still average around 15–16 games a year.

Lewis being under 10 across nearly a decade is a completely different category of risk. At 28, he is no longer projecting improvement in durability either. Usually by that stage, a player’s availability pattern is the pattern.

If the price was modest and heavily games-triggered, maybe there’s a conversation. But if it’s meaningful money over multiple years, it starts looking like paying for the idea of Mitch Lewis rather than the reality of Mitch Lewis’s availability.

Walter cannot get a mark and kick with the best midfield in the AFL kicking it to him. You really think he is going to suddenly improve with our midfield kicking it to him?

You’re over complicating things - Lewis & Walter > McStay & Membrey in 2027.

Lewis is injury prone, but probably entering the prime of his career now. If his body holds up this season, I’d imagine he’d get a 3 year deal with a trigger for a 4th.

People are way too harsh on Walter. He’s not even 21 yet. 3/4 games this year he’s had 3 scoring shots and has barely played more than 60% TOG. He’s also averaging 1.8 contested marks per game. He has been in and out of the side.

Lewis is the far riskier play. I’d have no issues giving Walter a decent deal especially given his value is quite low at the Suns.

Fox Footy reporting that besides WA clubs, Gold Coast has interest in Ed Allan.
Allan for Walter straight swap seems fair, both have potential, neither can get a look in to their clubs best 23

If Walter was taken at pick 30 I doubt many people would be batting an eyelid on his current output. I can think of another ex sun forward currently playing for port who was also a high draft pick. Have people actually watched him play? Or just see he’s a former pick 3. Huge buyer beware with that one. Not saying he can’t improve but what value do you place on him..

Both former first round picks (yes, 3 v 19 is not quite the same)…
On what Walter has shown so far his trade value should be 20-30
But given the hype over him since pre draft I could see the Suns demanding a lot more than that. Especially if to us

Are Lewis and Amartey going to be that much of an upgrade on McStay and to a lesser extent Buller and West?

I have liked Lewis as a player, however while he is still clunking marks and scoring a few goals, he def looks to have lost some mobility/athleticism.

Would only do either on a favourable deal like 4 years x $650-700k.

Otherwise, excited by the prospect of banking the salary cap room and have $4m to play with when Pendles, Howe and Sidebottom retire.

We have good depth, but are missing top line stars, outside of a kpd (Butts or Ballard), none of these cheapish pickups move the needle. Eg substituting McStays 25-30 goals a year for Lewis’ 30-35 goals a year doesn’t really move the dial.

Allan for Walter straight swap seems fair, both have potential, neither can get a look in to their clubs best 23
If not then involve him in a trade for Humphrey.
Are Lewis and Amartey going to be that much of an upgrade on McStay and to a lesser extent Buller and West?

I have liked Lewis as a player, however while he is still clunking marks and scoring a few goals, he def looks to have lost some mobility/athleticism.

Would only do either on a favourable deal like 4 years x $650-700k.

Otherwise, excited by the prospect of banking the salary cap room and have $4m to play with when Pendles, Howe and Sidebottom retire.

We have good depth, but are missing top line stars, outside of a kpd (Butts or Ballard), none of these cheapish pickups move the needle. Eg substituting McStays 25-30 goals a year for Lewis’ 30-35 goals a year doesn’t really move the dial.
We definitely do not have good depth. It’s either tweeners who can’t nail a senior spot or kids. Considering the lack of high end talent U25 on the list I’d say depth is our biggest issue by a long stretch because we fall away drastically after about 15 on the list. Take a look at Brisbane, GC, Geelong or Fremantle they have depth!

Agree, Cadman or Georgiades would be nice but not too sure if it can happen. I'd like us to go hard at the like of Caddy or Morris who are quite young, who could grow to be great assets for us for a long time, especially Caddy as he seems to be unhappy playing for the Bombers.