2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

For Jed Walter?
They can ask for whatever they want but they’re not getting 2 first
Anyway, I don’t want us to part with any of our firsts for him

In an ideal world we could offer up our 2026 and 2027 second round picks. Maybe even consider our 2028 as well given they will be pushed back so much with Tassie coming in.

What would GC ask for walter ? Two firsts ?

Edit: see people have already brought this up, I personally would not send two first for him.

We got West as a late pick, Walter isn't that established to risk two firsts.

Edit: see people have already brought this up, I personally would not send two first for him.

I’m going with 3 second round picks.

I think that’s fair. Particularly since he is out of contract.

If we are handing over 2 firsts I’ll be walking down to whatever the **** the centre is called these days and having words with Leppa. 🤣

Think Collingwood found a new name for their training center.

Dont think we will be doing trades that require two firsts for some time.

Craig kelly alluded to this few weeks ago, they feel that we were too cavalier with our pick trading and gave away our firsts to easily.

Don't think we will be doing that under o bree and leppa.

As long as it doesn’t involve our 2026 first
(I’d also like to keep 2027 first regardless of Tassie)
What's he going to cost?
Reckon he will want out now that King is staying, been sitting on a 2 year deal offer from the Sun's for quite I while I've heard.
Agree with a couple of 2nd round picks, might have to throw in 2028 1st.

It has been reported that Sydney’s reported contract offer of $600–700k x 5 years and what Amartey is seeking is an ocean apart. Tom Morris & Damien Barrett suggested the range of $600k was “probably right” given his output.

Fox Footy has reported he is seeking $1m per year. They believe he could command up to $1.2m

The $1m–$1.2m figure is more “scarcity tax” than performance value: because if Ben King stays at Gold Coast as reported, Amartey becomes one of only several forward options available and that inflates the market.

But paying that for a forward who has gone goalless in 34% of his games, averages under three shots at goal per game, is not a dominant contested mark, and struggles against strong defensive systems (e.g. 1 goal against us in 4 games & 0 goals against STK in 3) is hard to justify.

Jed Walter may also command big money because of the same scarcity, as Kane Cornes suggested, but despite having poorer stats than Amartey at least Walter still has age and hope of upside on his side. Amartey is being priced like premium Wagyu beef despite being chump steak
Amartey - you don’t pay $1.2 mill for a downhill skier.