Player Watch #24: Tom Powell - signed thru 2026 - 7th highest ranked player league-wide after 3 rds - avg. 27.7d & 7clearances p/g

Awareness as well, i loved the play where a Crow was chasing him down while running out of defense. Powell's timing to turn was perfect, which used the Crows closing speed against him. All while assessing whats ahead. We have 200 gamers who've rarely shown that sort of awareness. Big 'footy' brain.

You would but I'm racking my brain as to the last highly rated South Australian forcing their way back there.

The last highly rated South Australian who moved, moved to Queensland (Neale).

Luckily we will draft a South Australian house mate to keep him company next year in Jason Horne.

Most South Aussies that move interstate, stay there:

Pavlich, Hurn, Burgoyne, Neale, Grundy etc etc.

https://www.afl.com.au/video/582199...dal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1618117769001

This passage of play sums him up perfectly.

@ 4 seconds he takes possession. Instantly wants to move the ball on because he is aware of his options. The vast majority of players would use Simpkin as the first option, but Powell's elite vision and spatial awareness allows him to see/know Stephenson is in the clear. In half a second he picks the best option, nails the kick so Stephenson doesn't have to break stride and it results in us kicking a goal.

You can't teach that sort of footy IQ.

https://www.afl.com.au/video/582199...dal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1618117769001

@ 4 seconds he takes possession. Instantly wants to move the ball on because he is aware of his options. The vast majority of players would use Simpkin as the first option, but Powell's elite vision and spatial awareness allows him to see/know Stephenson is in the clear. In half a second he picks the best option, nails the kick so Stephenson doesn't have to break stride and it results in us kicking a goal.

And Powell didnt have to break stride from the Phillips pass. Amazing the difference that makes. If Stevo was even slightly held up by the pass he wouldve had to have circled around the Crow's player while players flooded in. Great passage of play that.

Yep - Phillips put it in exactly the right spot so that Powell didn't have to break stride and was facing the right way to open up space. It seems simple but how many times have we mucked up that kick?

Countless.

The fact that it stood out so much is an indictment on the playing group, more specifically, the senior players.

Yep - Phillips put it in exactly the right spot so that Powell didn't have to break stride and was facing the right way to open up space. It seems simple but how many times have we mucked up that kick?

You know what else was great though, Simpkin kept running as an option right up until the ball was in the air 15m from goal. Really positive play from the entire group.

I think Powell is getting some recognition - at least by North people. You wouldn't think too many opposition supporters know who he is yet, but I reckon they will know him in a couple of years. Good on him - he looks a likely type :)
The trouble is, he will ALWAYS not be McDonald. No matter how good he is or becomes, some people (including idiots on here) will say we should have taken a KPF.

This kid is one you build a midfield around.
no wonder he got so much of the pill. Every team mate ever, will just be looking for him because he makes things happen. Amazing to say about a first year player.

Phillips kicking, whilst slightly awkward, looks exceptional.

He missed that lead up kick on his left, but he still hit it like a bullet. The fact that he could hit a pass like that on his non dominant running full click was more than impressive.

No way is it a weakness, he looks like one of the better kicks in the side tbh.

Kid is clearly underdone though, is going to be an absolute animal in 3 pre-seasons though.

It both wonderful and sad that you'd rather have the ball in the hands of a couple of first year players than just about anyone on the list.

Atley would have looked up, seen the Stephenson option and ignored it before standing still for 15 seconds and then either kicking 15 metres sideways or dumping it forward to an intercept mark.