Player Watch #24: Tom Powell - signed thru 2028

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

We started the game with Konstanty and Powell as our smallest forwards but the 6"3 Duursma looked more dangerous at ground level.

Powell isn't quick enough, lacks zip to play as one of only two small/high half forwards. Maybe Clarko sees him as a Breust type but he can't play Larkey, Zurhaar, Darling, Duursma and Powell in the same forward line. We will get killed at ground level, as we were yesterday.

Parker, Sheezel and Powell are all as slow as treacle at this level unfortunately.
There is praise on his development but after 5 seasons and coming into his 6th campaign, the man has literally cruised all the way through.

The contract extension was baffling and the role he’s been asked to play is one of a high pressure player which doesn’t make any sense.
The contract extension made sense to me, providing it's a modest salary for two years.
There's easily 10-14 others I'd be cutting before Tom, as frustrating as he is.
You've got some control over any trade to another team or Tassie given he's under contract, that's if he wants opportunity elsewhere or you just let him explore options at the end of the contract.

Had really high hopes for TP.....really thought he looked like a Simon Black clone early days. He just doesn't impact games.
Didn't want to like this post and I still have a tiny glimmer of hope something clicks and he can become that player. Very hard to argue though

Of all the players we have invested hope in TP is the one I have never understood. I just don’t see anything at all with him to make me invest any hope. I’d love him to prove me wrong and start to impact opposition game plans with and without the footy but I am not holding my breath hoping. Too often to me he looks like a confused fan who has stumbled out onto the oval and can’t find the exit.

Did show poise and smarts early on but the very definition of vanilla now.

The contract extension made sense to me, providing it's a modest salary for two years.
There's easily 10-14 others I'd be cutting before Tom, as frustrating as he is.
You've got some control over any trade to another team or Tassie given he's under contract, that's if he wants opportunity elsewhere or you just let him explore options at the end of the contract.
Very happy at North mate.

3rd quarter was immense. The goal review was bullshit.
With Wardlaw out he took his minutes and definitely rated his game.

Consistency is the key. How does he stay involved and involved without freezing himself out of the contest and being lost on the flanks.

Very poor today.

Looked ineffective in our midfield, and when he wasn't in the midfield he was invisible.

In the entirety of the 3rd quarter, where the game was in the balance, he had one solitary disposal.

He spent a lot of time in the midfield today and only had two tackles, which is kind of astounding considering how often the West Coast midfielders in his immediate vicinity had the ball.

Absolute passenger today and a big part of our overall problem.

Very poor today.

Looked ineffective in our midfield, and when he wasn't in the midfield he was invisible.

In the entirety of the 3rd quarter, where the game was in the balance, he had one solitary disposal.

He spent a lot of time in the midfield today and only had two tackles, which is kind of astounding considering how often the West Coast midfielders in his immediate vicinity had the ball.

Absolute passenger today and a big part of our overall problem.
Was clearly horrific along with his former skipper, who for mine, just have no business playing in the premier competition. They are just shit. Not their fault, but make poor decisions and just not up to it.

One thing is for sure; we absolutely cannot have both Jy and Powell in the midfield at the same time.

Maybe we can carry one of them at a time as long as we have someone like LDU/Sheezel/FOS/Wardlaw in there as well.

But at one point today the midfield was Xerri/Jy/Powell/McKercher and ooooooh it was bad.