Player Watch #24: Tom Powell - signed thru 2028

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Whilst I don’t necessarily disagree, I think fitness is a big contributor to being able to execute. Jy has the best tank at the club. Powell is on the other end of the spectrum due to his interrupted career.

I have confidence that if Tom is able to get fitter, his skills will improve.

Hard to say mate. Jy has the best tank but also runs a lot harder than other blokes so he's often just as gassed.

We heard this about Jy last off-season. Almost no one on here gives him enough credit as a mid
Well clearly the NM FD think like BF does - ie we are chasing more mids left, right and centre. Our list management activities are squarely focussed on improving the midfield. And that is not looking at LDU or Wardlaw - but it is definitely saying that WP, Jy, Lazz, TP and others aren't quite there as full time mids.

If we thought Jy was a bona fide full time mid we could direct our attention elsewhere - but we aren't doing that.

Well clearly the NM FD think like BF does - ie we are chasing more mids left, right and centre. Our list management activities are squarely focussed on improving the midfield. And that is not looking at LDU or Wardlaw - but it is definitely saying that WP, Jy, Lazz, TP and others aren't quite there as full time mids.

If we thought Jy was a bona fide full time mid we could direct our attention elsewhere - but we aren't doing that.
Right. Jy's won 2 B&Fs playing out of the midfield. And played midfield exclusively this year when he managed to get on the park. You reckon that constitutes not being a 'bona fide full time mid,' do you

Jy just isn't that big body mid a with dangerous kick.

Sure he can dance out of the square on occasions but the kick forward is generally high, lofty and unremarkable.

Maybe with less pressure around as we improve he will have more time to square up entries.

Reckon he can be more dangerous elsewhere.

Back to Tom.....

I think we would regret any trade for him.

Kid could be something special, plenty there. Footy IQ and game sense are both pretty elite, the rest will follow with growth and opportunity.

A high keep for mine!
I don't get why people think we need to trade mids, teams like the Lions who already had a stacked midfield had no issue adding another 2 whilst keeping what they had. GWS usually does the same.

I don't think we need to trade mids but we certainly have to be open to it if there is opportunities to fix our list build.

Whilst I don’t necessarily disagree, I think fitness is a big contributor to being able to execute. Jy has the best tank at the club. Powell is on the other end of the spectrum due to his interrupted career.

I have confidence that if Tom is able to get fitter, his skills will improve.
It's Bailey Scott then daylight at our club in terms of who ran 14-15 plus km and gave 25 plus sprints week in week out all season long. Jy and others did that a few weeks but most weeks were nowhere near it - very inconsistent. Good sides have 4 -6 guys who give it and share the load week in week out. Run to defend, run to receive.

We heard this about Jy last off-season. Almost no one on here gives him enough credit as a mid
His kicking is the issue. Max's out at 40-45m and not all that accurate. You can polish him up all you like but he would struggle to be part of any of the top 4 midfields.

I don't think we need to trade mids but we certainly have to be open to it if there is opportunities to fix our list build.
If the club feels like trading mids makes sense, fair enough.

Suspect they could just go with players with speed, and some kpp / ruck types in the draft and we'd get there quick enough.

There were a lot of players who have no business being first choice mids playing in the centre this season, so I suspect we don't have as much there as we might think we do.

Jy isn't going anywhere.

Powell is only going if another side poaches him and promises him an inside mid spot. Say, WC or something.

I don't see us looking to trade him this year.

His kicking is the issue. Max's out at 40-45m and not all that accurate. You can polish him up all you like but he would struggle to be part of any of the top 4 midfields.
Lucky we're not a top 4 team then.

I agree his kicking is a weakness, but as it stands he still firmly has a place in the midfield. His contested ball winning ability is second only to LDU. I'm not putting Wardlaw above him because Wardlaw's hammies are made of melted cheese.

So many on here are missing what the player actually has for the potential of others. Guess what, we've finished bottom two four years in a row, with some historically bad form, so I'm not counting my chickens. Jy has performed in our midfield. Many others have not. For that he starts as part of the first rotation until someone displaces him

Clarkson specifically mentions Powell quite a bit. Hopefully it's not a bluff and he really does rate him.
Throughout Sheez and Wardlaw's myriad media interviews they've been asked a variation of "who's Clarko's favourite?" and they've responded every time i've heard with either Powelly or Phillips.

Clarkson specifically mentions Powell quite a bit. Hopefully it's not a bluff and he really does rate him.

We also put him out on media street for that thing about our gun young core.

Back to Tom.....

I think we would regret any trade for him.

Kid could be something special, plenty there. Footy IQ and game sense are both pretty elite, the rest will follow with growth and opportunity.

A high keep for mine!
I totally agree, I see a genuine footballer in him and great hands, the trick is utilising his strengths and attributes when he’s not playing in the centre. I would not trade him out.

He’s kicked goals on the 50 and cleared the line easy. He needs to be moulded into an accumulator. Jy needs to have a big 2024 or he should be playing small forward and pinching in the middle giving the likes of powell and phillips the mid time.

I hope he works out, he has the toolset to be a good mid but he has to be able to perform more consistently in different running roles.

Yep, agree with this.. that also is put on the coaches to utilise his skillset to benefit the team. He absolutely has the ability to impact the team, lets see how he is used next year