30 year olds

• Thread starter Thread starter powinc

The Western Bulldogs team we played against this weekend were the second oldest team to play with an avarage age of 26 years and 3 days. We were the oldest with an average age of 26 years and 252 days. (This was with 3 inexperienced young players involved.) We must make hay while the sun shines but it will leave a void in the future.

The team is maintaining a winning culture while trying to play the younger players. That is why it was good to see Menzel, T Hunt and Laidler gain a little experience this week.

The Western Bulldogs team we played against this weekend were the second oldest team to play with an avarage age of 26 years and 3 days. We were the oldest with an average age of 26 years and 252 days. (This was with 3 inexperienced young players involved.) We must make hay while the sun shines but it will leave a void in the future.

The team is maintaining a winning culture while trying to play the younger players. That is why it was good to see Menzel, T Hunt and Laidler gain a little experience this week.

I wouldn't worry heaps about the average age because one or two players leaving and being replaced by youngsters can change the overall age a bit, both inside the best 22 and across the whole list.

FWIW I reckon Moons might go at the end of the year, along with Otto and Dasher and maybe even Ling, and then in a couple of years when Scarlo, Wojack, Corey, Rooke, Enright etc hang them up, people will be saying we are a young list. And enough of our young players have talent, it's all about managing the transition.

Can Ottens really go another year? I think we need to cryogenically freeze him and then unleash him every finals series.
Ottens has played so little footy in the past 3 years, he probably has an extra season up his sleeve by default.

Gary Ablett senior kicked 3 tons in a row. All when he was over 30. Jimmy Hird won a B & F at 35. Rob Harvey won his second brownlow at 47 and KB won the tigers goal kicking at the ripe old age of 102.

Perhaps the last 2 were slightly exaggerated but you get the point. They aren't a bunch of cripples, they are usually wiser and better readers of the play, not to mention the physical strength compared with rookies still growing into their bodies.

I think they'll spread the retirements out over the next 4 years, so don't expect a mass exodous. With this you'll see the likes of Taylor Hunt, Laidler, Gillies, West, Simpson, Vardy, Duncan, Menzel, Motlop ect get game time. Keeping the core group together isn't a bad thing even if they're the wrong side of 30. It actually makes it easier for the kids to come in knowing the they have some very experienced heads backing them up.

Maybe the plan is that all these guys want to play in Bomber's last season as coach, ,maybe 1 season too many for some, but it comes down to hunger and getting some sort of preseason fitness.
I'd like to think they'll know when time is up, but it rarely goes like that.

Ottens has played so little footy in the past 3 years, he probably has an extra season up his sleeve by default.

True, although I think it's mental too, i.e. some players might choose to go out on top if we win this year's flag, even if their bodies can hold up for another year. The mind might just feel like it's time to retire. Hence why even guys like Scarlo, who are certainly in physical shape to keep going around, I am not absolutely sure that they will.

How could you get rid of Dasher, his stats are awesome, nobody is doing any better in the back half.
Scarlo, his unerring judgement and defensive smarts are still first-class, his current form is great leading into the finals.
Wojo, his speed against the Dogs just rattled them, and his experience and hardness is undeniable, was a possibiltiy to hang em up this year, so glad he didn't.
Otto, gains fitness very quick considering his development since his injury, playing great powerful footy ATM. Mighty asset for the finals, needs ruck assistance though, hope Hawkins can provide.
To me it seems that our older guys are the key to a possible flag, they're still vital in the quest.

Can Ottens really go another year? I think we need to cryogenically freeze him and then unleash him every finals series.

I reckon that the Cats should start to look at getting a small band of youngsters to do the early-mid season "grunt work" with a view to putting the best team on the park late in the year.

For example, with Blake, Simpson, West and Vardy on the list it's not necessary to play Ottens before round 20. Seriously.

How could you get rid of Dasher, his stats are awesome, nobody is doing any better in the back half.
Scarlo, his unerring judgement and defensive smarts are still first-class, his current form is great leading into the finals.
Wojo, his speed against the Dogs just rattled them, and his experience and hardness is undeniable, was a possibiltiy to hang em up this year, so glad he didn't.
Otto, gains fitness very quick considering his development since his injury, playing great powerful footy ATM. Mighty asset for the finals, needs ruck assistance though, hope Hawkins can provide.
To me it seems that our older guys are the key to a possible flag, they're still vital in the quest.

I know that Dasher is looking to kick on next year; he has no plans of slowing down.

He's just the best.
Hope they give him a coaching role at the club when he finishes, the experience and longevity are truely remarkable, you just don't let the naturals go, even after their playing days are over.
On current form he's got next year for sure.

Admittedly he's having a great season. That said, with what Cooky's said about us having to lose player(s) to keep Ablett it's pretty clear there won't be any money to offer Dasher another contract if Ablett stays.

If Ablett goes then it's possible. But like I keep saying, with all our 30 year olds, it's not just if their form is good enough to go on, it's whether they want to.

He's just the best.
Hope they give him a coaching role at the club when he finishes, the experience and longevity are truely remarkable, you just don't let the naturals go, even after their playing days are over.
On current form he's got next year for sure.

Agree.

I keep expecting this guy to show his age and wear and fall over. But he is incredibly resilient and has been a very good player all year.

I like the idea of making him the seconds captain when he retires - to help bring the boys thru like Bluey McGrath did. He is a true blue and white Cats man - no doubting that, and has given all for his club.

Perhaps he could go on - has the form to do so and may even allow Drum, Gillies or Laidler to replace him for a few games to get more experience in playing our way.

Under rated by many other club supporters I reckon. Super impressive Geelong man IMO.