Geelong Cats

Player statistics
Former club:Hobart / Sandy Bay
DOB:16/06/1992
Height:180cm
Weight:69kg
Position:Forward

Player assessment
Mystery forward from the same club as one of the bolters of the NAB AFL Draft, Melbourne's Jeremy Howe. Very raw. Spent the early part of this year concentrating on rowing at his school, Hutchins. Played the final six games in Hobart's senior team. Been training at St Kilda.
http://psrdrafttracker.afl.com.au/

Re: 2010 Rookie Draft selection no. 40

By George! 69Kg but I noticed he was a rower, so it could well be a case of his sticking to a lightweight category, where the crew has to average no mre than 70Kg. In which case he may have a pretty high power to weight ratio but will obviously still need to bulk up considerably.

Re: 2010 Rookie Draft selection no. 40 - George Burbury

69kgs! Wow. He should be pretty slippery at that weight, this guy might be a good draft from you guys.

By George! 69Kg but I noticed he was a rower, so it could well be a case of his sticking to a lightweight category, where the crew has to average no mre than 70Kg. In which case he may have a pretty high power to weight ratio but will obviously still need to bulk up considerably.

The lightweight/heavyweight split doesn't come in until U/23's so I doubt it would be that.

Think he may have been the guy SEN were talking about as a SJ type player last night?

That may well be him.

There was late talk we were interested.

While he hasn't played much underage footy (i.e. TAC) because of school footy and rowing he wasn't a complete smokey, after all the Saints saw enough to have him training with them.

Read this on him a couple of weeks ago:
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/10/05/177061_afl.html

Hope the kid has pace and good disposal, because he certainly hasn't got height or bulk. Maybe one of the perks is some inside goss on what teh Sainters are doing.

These height and weight measurements are from when george was in u/16's

He now weights 80kg and is 186cm tall.

Pretty extraordinary that four clubs interviewed him on the back of six games of senior football. Must have made some impression!

Also makes a steady stream of Tasmanians we've rookied recently: Moles, Allwright and now Burbury. Reckon we must have a pretty good scout down there...

from the AFL site..George Burbury apparently has a bit of magic, which would go down well with Cats fans accustomed to wizardry up forward. seems a bit of a smokey.l am not sure why they would draft another small forward the cats have heaps of them now.

Hard to imagine 69kg's is right with that height. That would mean he would be 2 years at least in the VFL until he bulked his body up enough to play AFL. But will be interested to see how he goes.

These height and weight measurements are from when george was in u/16's

He now weights 80kg and is 186cm tall.

Thanks George.

well i'm his sister.

Congratz, it must be a happy time for your family! I am really happy to see a Tassie lad at Geelong, love watching the cats play footy, hopefully Burbury can get a few games next year.

from the AFL site..George Burbury apparently has a bit of magic, which would go down well with Cats fans accustomed to wizardry up forward. seems a bit of a smokey.l am not sure why they would draft another small forward the cats have heaps of them now.

Wouldn't pay too much heed to Daffey's description, after all he seemed to think we went short in the ND and all tall in the RD...clearly he has know idea who or what Simpkin is :D

Tell us a bit more about your brother and the lead up to him being rookie listed.

Congrats by the way of having George be drafted.

Agree...most of us, other than Wells, know very little about George so any info would be much appreciated.