Player Watch #32 Harry Kyle

Stepped up to the level well. I had my doubts about the selection but he looked comfortable. Not yet best 22 but was a great call to bring him in and see how he goes at the next level. Depending on our ins next week he could very well keep his place. His slick hands were a real standout, and I'm now wondering if that's something he's demonstrated at VFL level but that some of us (certainly I) have missed because of the poor video quality. And that run through the middle to hit up Heeney late was wonderful to watch.

For a bloke so new to the game, he's shown he has a truly exciting ceiling.

Great debut, proved to be a very good selection.

Used the footy well, but was even more impressed with the defensive side of his game.

Still so new to the game, so a lot of untapped potential too. He's going to be a ripper.

Took him quite a while to get a touch, but showed some really positive signs in the second half. Great HTB tackle, and lovely kick late to Heens.

There is a lot to work with there - he is very raw, and may only get a game or two more this season, but you can absolutely see why the club is pretty excited about his potential.

Every single person I've heard talk about Kyle described him exactly the same way as Heeney did after the game: really good athlete whose only been playing the game a short while but is already a good player with huge upside. You can see he's really going to be something probably at wing or half back.

Took him a bit of time to get into the game but boy when he did. Clean, quick hands and that last 1 - 2 run onto the kick to Heeney was superb

Think we've found our rampe replacement
He could very well be in the midfield after another pre-season or two.

A solid debut I thought.

Usually I find it promising when a player gets better as the game goes on, because it shows their potential once the nerves and the adjusting to the pace of the game are dusted off. But on this occasion I think Richmond's intensity actually got worse as the game went on, so it is a little hard to read too much into his debut.

But 16 touches with some very classy and damaging moments I think is hard to drop.

Took him a bit of time to get into the game but boy when he did. Clean, quick hands and that last 1 - 2 run onto the kick to Heeney was superb

Think we've found our rampe replacement
I hope he isn’t just a Rampe replacement, he has the running capability of being a midfielder long term

Took him quite a while to get a touch, but showed some really positive signs in the second half. Great HTB tackle, and lovely kick late to Heens.

There is a lot to work with there - he is very raw, and may only get a game or two more this season, but you can absolutely see why the club is pretty excited about his potential.

I mean of course he did well! but i reckon he would of even be surprised to get the call up.

He could very well be in the midfield after another pre-season or two.

I hope he isn’t just a Rampe replacement, he has the running capability of being a midfielder long term

In the short term, at least. It'll be a while before he gets past Rowwy, JJ, Warner, Jmac, Heeney etc for mid minutes

I mean of course he did well! but i reckon he would of even be surprised to get the call up.
Of course ha - he certainly looked surprised in the video the other day.

On the other hand, it is clear he is listening to the coaches and doing what they want him to do - so it was probably serious reward for effort.

About a dozen of Harry's mates getting kicked out for i think not having shirts on.

They were also pretty drunk too......

I’ve been at the footy with my kids with drunk clowns like that sitting behind me. It’s not fun. Disappointing they decided to carry on like mug lairs.

If they were his mates from school, they would've been primed for a big one. All just turned 18 and one of their own now on the big stage. My wife made the same point (how unpleasant footy is surrounded by drunks).

If they were his mates from school, they would've been primed for a big one. All just turned 18 and one of their own now on the big stage. My wife made the same point.

Yep, I know. We’ve all been 18 & carried on a bit.
But doing it to the point you get ejected is still being d**kheads.

It's a fine line between having fun while contributing to the atmosphere, and being obnoxious. 18 year olds aren't great at navigating that line, but I'll give them a pass ahead of 25+ year olds who should know better.

Looks like ive been lucky and have avoided that at the SCG would it be more the language that gets you kicked out?

The SCG isn’t generally a problem.

My really bad experiences have all been at Optus. Throwing drinks, awful language …. bogans at their worst.