Past #32: Jacob Edwards - drafted w/ #1 in '20 MSD - delisted end '23 w/ 0 NM games & 0 NM goals

Seasoned draft watchers: Now that we’ve seen more of Edward’s and the other draftees, where would we see him sitting in predraft rankings were he available?

I’m not a seasoned draft watcher by any means, but he was rated right along side Mac Andrew prior to the MSD (best KPF/R outside Darcy).

Clayton had him rated in the first round on Twomey’s Road to the Draft Podcast.

Hopefully he becomes our Luke Jackson with no go-home factor.

RF08's Season Review

Games Played: 0
Avg Disposals: 0
Goals: Nil
Stat Highlights: nil

Best Game

Nil

Summary

The number 1 mid season rookie draft pick has come to the club with a lot of fanfare. The 202cm ruck/forward has solid contest marking, dynamic movement and a good tank for a kid his size. Even though he was taken number 1 there was no expectation for him to have an immediate impact due to school commitments, covid restrictions and his build. The club had the future in mind with his selection, and as such he has signed a contract extension until the end of 2023. Edwards is a funny and likeable character, but the club has been impressed with professionalism and willingness to learn since he arrived at the club. Edwards showed some glimpses of his potential when he played his first game in the VFL and kicked the sealer. If Edwards had of gone in the national draft it was expected that he would've been a top 15 pick due to his nab league and school footy form. The focus of the pre-season will be to add some bulk, while also working on his tank. I don't expect him to have a huge impact next year, but long term he will end up being the perfect 3rd tall/backup ruckman.

Jacob named in the AGSV 2021 Football rep side along with top 20 fancy Mitch Owens, Judson Clarke and Cooper Harvey.

Oh right, yeh that's good.

Hang on, who?

whatever-yeah.gif

Oh right, yeh that's good.

Hang on, who?

whatever-yeah.gif

Well one is a top 20 fancy as said and the other is mentioned in draft threads too.

Not every comment is for you, Osama.

Well young Jacob is impressing those that matter. Is further advanced than we thought. 202cm will be interesting to see his weight in Jan/Feb of 2022.
If Goldie lasts another two seasons, reckon Jacob will take over.
Impressed because the hasn't ridden his bike of a balcony or he's doing extra work?

Well young Jacob is impressing those that matter. Is further advanced than we thought. 202cm will be interesting to see his weight in Jan/Feb of 2022.
He is heavier than I thought at 85kg.
I assume he is still doing year 12 at the moment so wont be in full training yet.
Thats good news cheers mate.

There's no doubt Goldy has 2 years left, he is chasing 300 games.

VERY good news.