D.O.B: 25th February 1984
Height: 183cm
Weight: 84kg
Recruited From: Westmeadows/Calder U18
Career Matches: 76
Career Goals: 37

Past Article ~ Swan taking his chance

Mon 8 May, 2006

Dane Swan admits there is no secret behind his improved form in 2006 rather it's simply a case of a young player making the most of his last chance to forge an AFL career.

The 22-year-old admitted - after helping the Magpies to a 72-point win over arch-rival Carlton at the MCG on Sunday - that he cannot afford to make any more mistakes if he's to remain a league player.

Swan said Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse made the situation quite clear to him after he was involved in a serious off-field incident a couple of years ago, which ended up with the young Magpie facing court on assault charges.

"I had a bit of trouble off-field a couple of years ago and Mick sort of put an ultimatum to me," Swan admitted.

"He just said 'you are on your last legs, do something about it'.

"Then I realised what I had to do to become an AFL footballer.

"I don't think I am there yet but I have taken a few steps to where I want to be."

After playing just 30 games in his first three seasons, Swan has been one of the Pies' most improved players in 2006 - not only playing every game but also averaging 25 possessions per game.

However he still feels his place in the side is far from secure.

"There is still the fear of getting dropped," Swan said.

"I know every week I have to keep performing well, particularly with a guy like Rhyce Shaw screaming at the door to get back into the side (after resuming in the VFL recently following a serious knee injury)."

But for now the much-improved Swan is revelling in being part of a Collingwood revival with the Magpies sitting on top of the ladder after six rounds.

And he said the secret to the Pies' success has been their overall evenness.

"We have got no passengers and right up to our 22nd bloke is pretty good," Swan said.

"Probably last year it was Buckley, Tarrant, O'Bree or Holland - they were always the people (carrying the load) and if they weren't going well then we were struggling.

"But there is just a lot of consistency and depth in our side at the moment."

Past Article ~ Keeps on keeping on

Sat 27 May, 2006​

Dane Swan has continued his emergence as one of the Magpies’ most influential players in 2006, in Collingwood’s 34 win over the Bulldogs at the MCG on Friday night.

The unassuming Collingwood midfielder broke the game open at the start of the fourth quarter after the Doggies had mounted an assault with the last four goals of the third.

Kicking two goals in quick succession, Swan was full of running. Having started the game on the substitute’s bench, Swan racked up a commendable 29 possessions, having only played 62 percent of the game.

His final goal, his third, and the matches last, was delightfully knocked to his advantage in marking contest by Anthony Rocca, only centimetres from the goal line. In a flash, it was on his boot, and speaking with CollingwoodTV after the game, the Magpie midfielder could hardly contain his delight.

“I spent a bit of time on the pine – but everyone does it. It was good to come on fresh in the last quarter and be able to run over the top of them.

“I was pretty lucky I suppose. I had kicked a couple (of goals) – so I sneaked down forward (after kicking 2 goals) to see if I could kick a cheeky one and I did.”

On a personal level, Swan puts his recent run of good form down to preparation and organisation. He is team focused, and just pleased that he is able to start repaying some of the faith that his club has shown in him over the past few seasons.

“What’s most important is how the team plays – and what I can contribute to the side winning.

“It starts with work rate, and then realising what I have to do to play AFL footy. It all started back in October when we started pre-season training.

“It has been my best pre-season and maybe we are reaping the rewards of that a bit.”

Past Article ~ Dane Swan

AM Wed 6 September, 2006​

A gritty, prolific ball winning defender, Swan was recruited late in the 2001 National Draft.

He spent the whole of the 2002 season at Williamstown, gaining valuable experience, before breaking into senior ranks for three games midway through the year.

2004 was a real break through season for Swan, who played his first game against Brisbane in round three and never looked back. His composure and skill were valuable assets to the Pies defence as he went about cementing his place in the side.

Following a good showing against Carlton in round seven, Swan suffered a quiet patch midway through the year and was dropped for round 10. He spent the rest of the year dosidoing in and out of the senior outfit, remaining on the cusp of regular placing in the side.

Swan’s 2005 followed much the same pattern as 2004, enjoying a consistent patch mid year, and displaying glimpses of form for the rest of it, displaying an ability to win the ball through the centre, employed as a ruck-rover against the Hawks.

2006 has been a massive year for Swan, his 5th year in the system, and easily his most consistent and best. Apart from missing due to a hamstring strain mid season, Swan has been a major contributor in Collingwood’s rise up the ladder in ’06.

2007 Season Stats:

Round 1 ~ 12 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 21 Disposals, 6 Marks, 3 Tackles
Round 2 ~ 14 Kicks, 8 Handballs, 22 Disposals, 7 Marks, 5 Tackles
Round 3 ~ 19 Kicks, 16 Handballs, 35 Disposals, 11 Marks, 1 Goal, 4 Tackles
Round 4 ~ 15 Kicks, 6 Handballs, 21 Disposals, 6 Marks, 2 Goals, 5 Tackles
Round 5 ~ 13 Kicks, 8 Handballs, 21 Disposals, 8 Marks, 3 Tackles
Round 6 ~ 21 Kicks, 11 Handballs, 32 Disposals, 7 Marks, 4 Tackles
Round 7 ~ 20 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 29 Disposals, 7 Marks, 1 Goal, 4 Tackles
Round 8 ~ 15 Kicks, 4 Handballs, 19 Disposals, 5 Marks, 3 Tackles
Round 9 ~ 12 Kicks, 6 Handballs, 18 Disposals, 5 Marks, 1 Goal, 2 Tackles
Round 10 ~ 27 Kicks, 8 Handballs, 35 Disposals, 9 Marks, 2 Goals, 4 Tackles
Round 11 ~ 14 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 23 Disposals, 8 Marks, 2 Tackles
Round 12 ~ 13 Kicks, 1 Handball, 14 Disposals, 6 Marks, 3 Tackles
Round 13 ~ 16 Kicks, 14 Handballs, 30 Disposals, 13 Marks, 2 Tackles
Round 14 ~ 24 Kicks, 5 Handballs, 29 Disposals, 11 Marks, 1 Goal, 3 Tackles
Round 15 ~ 15 Kicks, 1 Handball, 16 Disposals, 8 Marks, 4 Tackles
Round 16 ~ 5 Kicks, 6 Handballs, 11 Disposals, 1 Mark, 5 Tackles
Round 17 ~ 22 Kicks, 4 Handballs, 26 Disposals, 8 Marks, 5 Tackles
Round 18 ~ 19 Kicks, 5 Handballs, 24 Disposals, 6 Marks, 6 Tackles
Round 19 ~ 11 Kicks, 2 Handballs, 13 Disposals, 3 Marks, 1 Goal, 3 Tackles
Round 20 ~ 15 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 24 Disposals, 8 Marks, 2 Tackles
Round 21 ~ 15 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 24 Disposals, 8 Marks, 1 Goal, 1 Tackle
Round 22 ~ 24 Kicks, 4 Handballs, 28 Disposals, 14 Marks, 1 Tackle

Elimination Final ~ 13 Kicks, 4 Handballs, 17 Disposals, 5 Marks, 1 Goal, 4 Tackles
Semi Final ~ 28 Kicks, 10 Handballs, 38 Disposals, 9 Marks, 2 Goals, 4 Tackles
Preliminary Final ~ 20 Kicks, 5 Handballs, 25 Disposals, 8 Marks, 3 Tackles

Career Stats:​

Code:
[B]Year 	Team 	        Games Kicks 	HBs 	Disp    Marks 	Goals 	Beh    Tackles 	HO	FF 	FA 	Brownlow[/B]
[B]2007 	Collingwood[/B] 	25 	422 	173 	595 	187 	13 	14 	85 	0 	22 	17 	20
[B]2006 	Collingwood[/B] 	21 	311 	176 	487 	168 	19 	12 	44 	0 	18 	6 	11
[B]2005 	Collingwood[/B] 	14 	143 	91 	234 	67 	3 	2 	22 	0 	5 	4 	 
[B]2004 	Collingwood[/B] 	13 	105 	66 	171 	49 	2 	5 	18 	0 	4 	1 	 
[B]2003 	Collingwood[/B] 	3 	14 	13 	27 	4 	0 	0 	3 	0 	1 	1 	 
[B]Career[/B] 		        76 	995 	519 	1514 	475 	37 	33 	172 	0 	50 	29 	31

AFL Statistical Rankings:​

Ranked 3rd in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 2nd in Total Kicks
Ranked 7th in Total Marks
Ranked 16th in Marks Per Game
Ranked 8th in Total Disposal​

Dane Swan Gallery:​

dane_swan_220105_l.jpg

2005 'Image'

Swan_dane-thumb.jpg

AFL.com.au Image

2006nab1swan1.jpg

NAB Match vs St. Kilda in 2006

2006rd8swan1.jpg

Swanny in Round 8, 2006, when we belted the Cats by 102 points

dane_swan.jpg

From Footywire

76889327.jpg

On the Training Track

main.php

ANZAC Day, 2007

Thank god mate..
if someone was gonna take swanny over me im glad it was you...
i just wanted someone to do him really well and you have so congrats...
nice pics and vids and stats etc..
reall y well done

Average Dream Team Scores for Dane Swan by opponent:

1st Carlton = 99.3
HIGHEST: 136 (2006, 2nd time)
LOWEST: 53 (2005)

2nd Fremantle = 98.8
HIGHEST: 150 (2007)
LOWEST: 68 (2004)

3rd Adelaide = 96.8
HIGHEST: 138 (2006, 1st time)
LOWEST: 6 (2004)

4th West Coast = 93.2
HIGHEST: 158 (2007, 2nd time)
LOWEST: 34 (2004)

5th Port Adelaide = 89.2
HIGHEST: 109 (2007)
LOWEST: 76 (2005)

6th Sydney = 86.5
HIGHEST: 106 (2005)
LOWEST: 65 (2007, 1st time)

7th Geelong = 85.4
HIGHEST: 123 (2006)
LOWEST: 17 (2004)

8th Hawthorn = 84.8
HIGHEST: 126 (2006, 1st time)
LOWEST: 45 (2004)

9th St. Kilda = 84.0
HIGHEST: 136 (2007)
LOWEST: 47 (2004)

10th Kangaroos = 79.8
HIGHEST: 100 (2006, 1st time)
LOWEST: 52 (2005)

11th Melbourne = 78.3
HIGHEST: 94 (2007, 2nd time)
LOWEST: 52 (2005)

12th Richmond = 78.2
HIGHEST: 141 (2007, 1st time)
LOWEST: 46 (2003)

13th Essendon = 72.4
HIGHEST: 141 (2006, 2nd time)
LOWEST: 20 (2003)

14th Western Bulldogs = 65.4
HIGHEST: 114 (2006, 1st time)
LOWEST: 24 (2003)

15th Brisbane = 62.2
HIGHEST: 119 (2007, 2nd time)
LOWEST: 19 (2004, 2nd time)

Dane Swan's luck:

2003:

With Swan in the team = 3 wins/0 losses = 100%

2004:

With Swan in the team = 4 wins/9 losses = 31%

2005:

With Swan in the team = 4 wins/10 losses = 29%

2006:

With Swan in the team = 13 wins/8 losses = 62%

2007:

With Swan in the team = 15 wins/10 losses = 60%

In total, when Dane Swan is in the team, we win 51% of the time.

Not really that lucky, but like his football career, a gamble :p:)

Dane Swan's Highs and Lows:​

Most Games: 25 (2007)
Least Games: 3 (2003)

Most Kicks: 28 (vs West Coast, Semi Final, 2007)
Least Kicks: 0 (vs Adelaide, Round 9, 2004)

Most Handballs:
18 (vs Adelaide, Round 1, 2006)
Least Handballs: 1 (5 times)

Most Possessions: 38 (vs West Coast, Semi Final, 2007)
Least Possessions: 1 (vs Adelaide, Round 9, 2004)

Most Marks: 15 (vs Adelaide, Round 1, 2006)
Most Goals: 4 (vs Geelong, Round 8, 2006)
Most Tackles: 6 (2 times)

Had nearly 600 possies this year! The man just keeps getting it and as long as he does, he will always be in the team. Also kicks goals.

And he holds the club record for bench press 140kgs. 10kg more than big Ant and Brown.

Buckley use to with 154kg, I can't believe Rocca can't bench over 130kg that is piss poor for a bloke his size and years of training.
Who does our strength training? Our KPP should be aiming for at least 150kg in the bench J.Brown was doin 160+ a couple years back, no wonder brisbane were physically bigger and stronger than us.
There is an article with M.Micheal he said when he got traded to lions that their weights program was a lot more full on, i think our boys are training for tone but not have the strength to back it up.

Buckley use to with 154kg, I can't believe Rocca can't bench over 130kg that is piss poor for a bloke his size and years of training.
Who does our strength training? Our KPP should be aiming for at least 150kg in the bench J.Brown was doin 160+ a couple years back, no wonder brisbane were physically bigger and stronger than us.
There is an article with M.Micheal he said when he got traded to lions that their weights program was a lot more full on, i think our boys are training for tone but not have the strength to back it up.

Speed and agility wins every day of the week. Dane Swan is an absolute legend if he can bench the most at the club - I'd have thought he'd have been somewhere around 5th.

I got a chance to talk to Dane at the Copeland last year - he'd had a few by that stage and just wanted to talk about his new tat. Genuinly really nice guy - me and my mate had had a few by that stage also and we told him that he was "the coolest man in football" - his response (with a big grin) was "thats what its all about!"

Speed and agility wins every day of the week. Dane Swan is an absolute legend if he can bench the most at the club - I'd have thought he'd have been somewhere around 5th.

I got a chance to talk to Dane at the Copeland last year - he'd had a few by that stage and just wanted to talk about his new tat. Genuinly really nice guy - me and my mate had had a few by that stage also and we told him that he was "the coolest man in football" - his response (with a big grin) was "thats what its all about!"

If you train right you will lose no speed infact weights can increase your burst speed, and they wont lose too much agility (if any) with all there aerobic and agility training they do.

edit: Sorry to go off topic was just really shocked if true, and Swanny is a bloody legend 140kg is a great bench for a mid.

Round 1: vs Fremantle @ MCG

21 Kicks
6 Handballs
27 Disposals

8 Marks
1 Free For
3 Frees Against
7 Tackles

Summary tomorrow :)

I reckon Swanny is a "rack-em-up" type player. He will never have devestating disposal, and he sure can't kick a goal. What he can do though is accumulate 26 + disposals each week, and use it quite decently.
36 disposals on the weekend. He used it well, hardly ever makes a mistake. Good decision maker, always ready and waiting at the back of the pack to recieve a shovel-out from Obi or Scotty. Hands it off to a Daisy, Pendles, Davis etc.
Job Done!
Is having another fantastic year, as highlighted by these stats stolen from footywire:
Ranked 6th in Total Kicks, Ranked 8th in Total Disposals, Ranked 11th in Total Marks, Ranked 6th in Kicks Per Game, Ranked 12th in Disposals Per Game, Ranked 16th in Marks Per Game.
I hold out hope that Racer could become more like Swan. He's not far off, just doesn't get the amount of ball that Swanny does.
Leading the club with ~26 disposals per game, and averaging 3.4 tackles per game.
If he could only kick a bloody goal!!

swanny.jpg

swanny2.jpg