Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026

He didn't look like he cared last week when subbed off?
Looking pissed off doesn't matter. Last night he showed a lot more on field intent which I haven't seen before.

Maybe that sub off triggered something in him.

Hes been far and away the worst for panicking and fumbling under no pressure and torching the footy.
Much of that has been because he has been in and out of the side. The fear of getting dropped increased his anxiety. The fact he was backed this week by Yze and not dropped, probably gave him the confidence to play his game.
I mean, he doesn't panic and fumble in the VFL where he dominates and so it's not an ability thing. It's a confidence thing.
I would rather keep him playing every game this year than drop him in favour of say Kmac. Why/ because we know what Kmac can do and has done. We need to know whether it's worth persevering with Sonsie though.

Much of that has been because he has been in and out of the side. The fear of getting dropped increased his anxiety. The fact he was backed this week by Yze and not dropped, probably gave him the confidence to play his game.
I mean, he doesn't panic and fumble in the VFL where he dominates and so it's not an ability thing. It's a confidence thing.
I would rather keep him playing every game this year than drop him in favour of say Kmac. Why/ because we know what Kmac can do and has done. We need to know whether it's worth persevering with Sonsie though.
I’ve no problem with Sonsie playing every week until the end of season.

Maybe, stick with me because this might sound insane, some players flourish in the VFL because it's a lower standard of footy, allowing them more time, space, and less pressure. Consequently, they get exposed at AFL level.

As far as knowing his emotional state, I’ll leave that to Dora Daze’s Psychic Hotline.

Pre-game West Coast were favourites and they've been in games this year. Just because we happened to turn it on this week and spanked them doesn't make any players contributions equate to less.
With respect, what nonsense.
They are 1-17, three wins behind the second last placed team and 13 per cent off the second bottom team in percentage.
Talk them up all you like, the Coast are putrid and probably a few more years away from getting off the bottom.
We were a far better 18th last year than they were.

Hes been far and away the worst for panicking and fumbling under no pressure and torching the footy.
not really HRS, steely, Short, MRJ, macca, smith, trainor have had multiple howlers too. even taranto had a couple of games of fumbling and butchering. it happens...... improving consistency of effort, concentration and performance is where under 50 gamers are often lacking in this area.

He's in that 20-40 game 'whipping boy' range where improvements are incremental but he's familiar enough that fans are frustrated with his lack of progress.

My best guess from here:
  • The next couple of times we play competitively as a team (a GWS-type game rather than SYD/WB-type game) he will play well and posts in here will start being more positive
  • He stays in the team for the rest of the season, gets to 39 games, and starts looking like he'll make it

OR he'll get dropped in a few games and that'll be his papers stamped.

Either way, his career is on the line and we can at least try and be a bit more optimistic rather than criticise a kid who's at risk of being fired.
✅✅✅✅

Reckon last week being subbed will be the making of him. Clearly has some hard questions answered by the coaching staff and leaders during the week and he responded.

The confidence he should take out of cracking in last night learning he will be ok, should see him continue to play well for the rest of the year. If it doesnt, then he will never make it IMO.

I just don't want to see him on the wing; watching live whenever Sonsie was on that right wing instead of Trainor he lost most contests and didn't seem to be able to offer that same defensive capabilities we've becomes used too in wingers at the Tiges.

Probably a stop-gap position but I remember getting frustrated at him to a mate watching at home who told me it looked like he was having a great game, I probably got him and Taranto mixed up in the contests a little.

I just don't want to see him on the wing;
Agreed it makes no sense to me. He's got the best hands besides maybe Dow and we're playing him on a wing? A wing pretty much exposes his weaknesses. The fact he can have a good game there just testifies to his versatility.

Unless the coaching staff are willing to move TT to the half-forward line though we have a huge issue where there's not enough space for Kmac2, Ross, Dow, Sonsie and players like MRJ and Campbell to get a run-through in the centre. Last night at least they were willing to move Prestia to half-back so Ross could tag Reid but it's not enough.

I’ve no problem with Sonsie playing every week until the end of season.

Maybe, stick with me because this might sound insane, some players flourish in the VFL because it's a lower standard of footy, allowing them more time, space, and less pressure. Consequently, they get exposed at AFL level.

As far as knowing his emotional state, I’ll leave that to Dora Daze’s Psychic Hotline.
And yet Lambert was left to rot in the VFL by Carlton till we gave him a chance. The rest is history. You just have to learn how to translate the ability you have in the big league.

Could find a use if he’s able to find a way to not be outmatched physically.

He worked really hard last night both ways which was fantastic to see.

Watching him a lot this year at VFL level and he has found ways to get a lot of easy footy with little impact.

Last night he proved that he can impact the game with his ball use as long as he isn’t being pushed around and applying defensive intent whenever it’s asked of him.

Yze has backed the kids in this year even through poor form. He kept playing Dow, who eventually showed something and he’s backed Sonsie through pile of poor form, you could add MRJ in there as well.

We’ve given as many of the kids in the firing line a chance as possible.

The way he dominates VFL level thats clearly way below him and no reason why he cant elevate his game to AFL
Confidence and belief are probably his biggest issues as the talent is certainly there.

We are trying to train him to be a different player to his natural game and most likely for his benefit
Just taking time and hopefully gets there.

I just feel he has too much talent to give up on and would want him signed for another year
and if it ever really clicks then we have a great piece going foward

The way he dominates VFL level thats clearly way below him and no reason why he cant elevate his game to AFL
Confidence and belief are probably his biggest issues as the talent is certainly there.

We are trying to train him to be a different player to his natural game and most likely for his benefit
Just taking time and hopefully gets there.

I just feel he has too much talent to give up on and would want him signed for another year
and if it ever really clicks then we have a great piece going foward

He could well evolve into a Sidebottom type of player. Outside, finds space and uses it well.

Yze has backed the kids in this year even through poor form. He kept playing Dow, who eventually showed something and he’s backed Sonsie through pile of poor form, you could add MRJ in there as well.

We’ve given as many of the kids in the firing line a chance as possible.
Don't we only have kids to play?

not really HRS, steely, Short, MRJ, macca, smith, trainor have had multiple howlers too. even taranto had a couple of games of fumbling and butchering. it happens...... improving consistency of effort, concentration and performance is where under 50 gamers are often lacking in this area.
Smith and Hugo agree. Smith is playing VFL because hes no good and Hugo will be playing VFL once we upgrade our wings.

All im saying is let's see him do it against a better side. If he can't we are back to square one with him. Hopefully he does back it up because I'd rather him playing the way he did yesterday than Hugo.

He cracked in last night and even laid a beautiful vice like tackle. Hope he keeps it up as he's clearly got some quality and was really good in his 1st year. Keep playing him all season and I'd give him a contract extension and delist Dow and McIntosh.
makka seems to be thriving as a utility, rather than a dour running winger, handles the centre square ok. always helps out deep in defense and always bobs up around the fwd 50 arch and kicks a handy goal more often than not, was important again. thought he'd go to reid, but ooze used ross which was a great move as ross was able to work off harley quite easily and cut up the weagles by damaging hand and foot.

Pre-game West Coast were favourites and they've been in games this year. Just because we happened to turn it on this week and spanked them doesn't make any players contributions equate to less.

West Coasts lack of pressure was pretty evident compared to what we cop playing any of the top sides. Surely Sonsie playing well next week against the Pies playing for top spot now would mean infinetly more, the opposition surely matters.

I just don't want to see him on the wing; watching live whenever Sonsie was on that right wing instead of Trainor he lost most contests and didn't seem to be able to offer that same defensive capabilities we've becomes used too in wingers at the Tiges.

Probably a stop-gap position but I remember getting frustrated at him to a mate watching at home who told me it looked like he was having a great game, I probably got him and Taranto mixed up in the contests a little.
I reckon Sonsie needs to get fitter and a bit stronger.

Easy out to say but sometimes big gains can from from smaller marginal improvements

He does not have to be Prestia but if he was a little more muscular and fitter it could make a massive difference to his chances and ability to compete onfield

Paul Curtis bench presses 160 according to some, what would Sonsie bench??

West Coasts lack of pressure was pretty evident compared to what we cop playing any of the top sides. Surely Sonsie playing well next week against the Pies playing for top spot now would mean infinetly more, the opposition surely matters.
The Eagles pressure rating in the first quarter was still pretty good and Sonsie was doing well straight off the bat

I’m hopeful he can replicate even against better sides

Looked composed with the ball last night, which was the biggest thing I took away from it all.
Was refreshing to see.
Funny how that was the take away watching his first 10 games or so , then once he became embedded in systems and structure he battled to show us his wares , last 2w I reckon he’s shown us what he has to offer , time and space and good user of the footy . Hope he can play out the season like this, he’s a creative player that sets things up

Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026