Player Watch #44 Jake Lloyd

• Thread starter Thread starter Swan4Life

1719321338392.png
Jake Lloyd

Player Profile

Jake Lloyd is a ball magnet, an endurance machine, a clean user of the footy and a calming influence on the Sydney Swans’ half-back line. The former rookie-listed Swan averaged 27.22 disposals per match between 2016 and 2019 and won the club’s 2018 Bob Skilton Medal. Lloyd became the quickest Swan in history to reach 100 senior games when he ran out against Hawthorn at the MCG in Round 8, 2018. He was then recognised as one of the best players in the league when he was selected for Victoria in the State of Origin match for bushfire relief in February 2019. Draft history: 2013 Rookie Draft selection (Sydney) No. 15; 2014 AFL Draft rookie elevation (Sydney).

Jake Lloyd

DOB: 20 September 1993
DEBUT: 2013
DRAFT: 2014
RECRUITED FROM: Horsham Demons (Vic)/North Ballarat U18

Last edited by a moderator:
Jake Lloyd speaks superstitions and his late start in football

I feel the problem for Lloyd is that if we execute our game plan well he basically gets bypassed especially if he is playing in defence.

If he is in defence that then means he has to play a proper defensive role which doesn't suit him and if he is playing off the wing he just won't get as many possessions as he needs to considering his lack of attacking weapons compared to the likes of Blakey, Gulden, Heeney and Campbell.

Of course he figured out how to be an important player for us over a number of years so it is always possible he will figure out how to be more effective in this current team.

I think it was noticeable that when we shuffled the positions in the second half he ended up on the wing. I don’t think we can afford to play Lloyd Roberts Florent in the same defensive unit as none of them are great defensively

Agreed. The defensive unit without Rampe and with those three isn’t gonna cut it imo. Rampe’s absence is always very keenly felt for me and it was so again today.

Interesting that McInerney and Fox ended up down back too in the 2nd half. McInerney only had 1 CBA this week too so indicates a shift we might continue seeing with Rampe out and Parker/Adams returning or already in the side. Would prefer McInerney in the middle and forward though.

For those questioning Lloyd - I think a slice of humble pie was served tonight.

My view - BoG.

Steady, composed, won lots of the ball, used it well - and a key part of so many critical plays.

Heeney, Errol and Chad are the stars, but without Lloyd’s efforts, they mightn’t shine quite so brightly.

I'm not a knocker but I was never overly convinced by his output as a defender. The wing is so much more suitable to his attributes. 230 games of experience, composed, anticipates the play and knows where he needs to be, quick enough to corral threats on the outside and, with more breathing space, a very reliable kick. While our younger guys continue to develop, this move has really added to our ability to adapt, make subtle changes in-game and get it back on our terms.

Remember earlier in the year and some posters couldn't wait to pension him off? I thought it was obvious, through little moments of indecision and hesitation, that both he and JJ would take some time to settle into things. Both are now contributing big time with their own unique set of skills.

These two, along with some of the other soldiers like Harry, Lewy, Mr Fox, and our no-frills forward line are really providing strong foundations for the superstars to run roughshod over their opponents. Then we have that group that have grown into quality AFL footballers right before our eyes like Rowy, Blakey, Ollie, Will, JMac, TMac...

Brodie just getting it done, the firecracker Adams who just seems to sit back and keep an eye on things until he sees the need to launch his brutality and Rampe, the old fella playing with a vitality I doubted we would see again.

So much to like and be excited about

I'm not a knocker but I was never overly convinced by his output as a defender. The wing is so much more suitable to his attributes. 230 games of experience, composed, anticipates the play and knows where he needs to be, quick enough to corral threats on the outside and, with more breathing space, a very reliable kick. While our younger guys continue to develop, this move has really added to our ability to adapt, make subtle changes in-game and get it back on our terms.

Remember earlier in the year and some posters couldn't wait to pension him off? I thought it was obvious, through little moments of indecision and hesitation, that both he and JJ would take some time to settle into things. Both are now contributing big time with their own unique set of skills.

These two, along with some of the other soldiers like Harry, Lewy, Mr Fox, and our no-frills forward line are really providing strong foundations for the superstars to run roughshod over their opponents. Then we have that group that have grown into quality AFL footballers right before our eyes like Rowy, Blakey, Ollie, Will, JMac, TMac...

Brodie just getting it done, the firecracker Adams who just seems to sit back and keep an eye on things until he sees the need to launch his brutality and Rampe, the old fella playing with a vitality I doubted we would see again.

So much to like and be excited about
I came over here to post pretty much what you have written about Lloyd back a couple of weeks ago. If anything, he has just become even better, patrolling the wing expertly and just getting the job done. I recall a few posters over the years calling for him to play on the wing and to be honest, i didnt agree. To all you out there, you were right (just like those calling for Heeney to play in the guts).

He was unbelievable tonight IMO.

The only one who didn't look like a headless chook in the first quarter, made that beautiful pass to Gulden inside 50.

Kicked a big goal to help us push away from the 50m penalty.

Then nailed that brilliant kick inboard late.

And spent much in between those mopping up others' mess.

GUN.

He was unbelievable tonight IMO.

The only one who didn't look like a headless chook in the first quarter, made that beautiful pass to Gulden inside 50.

Kicked a big goal to help us push away from the 50m penalty.

Then nailed that brilliant kick inboard late.

And spent much in between those mopping up others' mess.

GUN.

For a defender his goal kicking is excellent .

I just wish he didn't kick in

For a defender his goal kicking is excellent .

I just wish he didn't kick in
He's so much better up the ground. Just love seeing him kicking into the forward 50 and running and carrying. As you know :p

I am probably going to be in this thread a lot. I just love watching him play. He's such a smooth mover and is starting to look incredibly confident in directing the play, as opposed to the fumbly, unsure Lloyd of the early rounds. It's almost like at the start of the year with his new position he wasn't used to having more time and space to work with and was anticipating contact and pressure that wasn't actually there. He's well and truly settled into it now and my word are we reaping the rewards.

Gulden. Lloyd. McInerney.

There's not a better wing combination in the comp. Just one of so many areas we are kicking everyone's arse in this year.

Was very good yet again today, positions himself so well around the ground to make an influence and dropped back to kill contests. His kicking forward of centre and composure has been the difference too.

Wonder where he's sitting in the BnF count at the moment, coaches will obviously recognise his importance and impact.

He doesn't miss near goal . For a guy who plays mostly defensive side, he is a great shot for goal .

I reckon a lot of defenders are good shots for goal, they just don't get to show it often. Florent is also a good kick for goal. On the rare occasions our defenders have shots at goal I think they kick above average accurately.

Has gone from one of the most vulnerable in the 22 earlier in the year to one of the beloved "role players" that is making this magical run possible.
No offence intended, but I think that 'vulnerable' is word used by supporters only... I'm pretty sure the club doesn't take that view. The supporters have bagged him throughout his career as being not much at all, just another B grader, but that just doesn't stack up with his actual games...

He's played 200+ games, been All Australian, won two B&Fs (18 & 20), plays the role he's asked to... and is totally reliable.

No offence intended, but I think that 'vulnerable' is word used by supporters only... I'm pretty sure the club doesn't take that view. The supporters have bagged him throughout his career as being not much at all, just another B grader, but that just doesn't stack up with his actual games...

He's played 200+ games, been All Australian, won two B&Fs (18 & 20), plays the role he's asked to... and is totally reliable.
It's very weird. It's like one of those conspiracy docos that air on the History channel after midnight. Has literally been a lock in John Longmire's team since 2014 and many Swans fans just... don't buy it.

His season has really followed a very similar trajectory to many others, where he started pretty slowly and potentially looked vulnerable at the selection table (although as others have said - I very much doubt that to be the actual case), and then warmed nicely into it, coming into some really good form by mid season. Has happened several times before, and this year thankfully is proving no different :)