• Thread starter Thread starter Swanny36

It really made me realise that we have some serious issues our club needs to address, and at the moment I cannot have any confidence that the club will do so.

Terrible feeling.

Part of it for me, is that we are starting to expect our team to improve... We have been widely toughted as top 4 material, however Not only have we not improved.... we seem to be stagnating. If you look at your team and don't see improvement (especially when you have a pretty reasonable list) It really is depressing because these are the players we want to take us to a flag in the near future..... If they aren't improving then thats not going to be a possibility....

Well I am still pissed off! But we played shit all game and were not switched on at all even when we were 15 points up at quater time! we were lucky that we were not playing a geelong or St.Kilda that is all i can say. Even at 3 quater time when we were 9pts down Grant Thomas on SEN said that Collingwood are only down by 9pts and could not play any worse! (Just shows how good Essendon really are!) but When we got got 12 point in front and then missed 2 goals that Should of been kicked by Brown and Clarke we should of won! But the biggest mistake is that the player's throught that they had won the game with 3 minutes left with being 14 points up. I swear our Club is cursed and will alway's be cursed.:(

But in the Herald Sun Today Dane Swan said that all the players would like to apologise to all the Collingwood supporter's at the game for their display on saturday and said that they had let the supporter's down which they did and I have to say not even a win on Friday night will make up for that loss. (But if we happen to upset Carlton it might!)

Bloody hell pies I love you guy's but when will the Magpie Army ever get to witness another premiership?:(

I don't know but maybe the suggestions above me might answer your questions.

If we defeat Carlton, that will undoubtedly end my pain (and maybe yours too).

Alarm bells will be ringing next week guys.

If we go down against North, you can almost guarantee we'll be in a slump for Saints then Carlton. I'm being pessimistic but it aint looking good this year, I mean a Top 4 team? Hopefully just a terrible start...:( But I don't like this so far.

Not the worst feeling I've ever had at a Collingwood game, but close to it.

As to why it hurt so much, ITS ANZAC DAY, its the biggest game we will play in this year, and we had it won, and we %&$*ing blew it.

Swanny said it best when he said "we let down our supporters today", that's why we all love Swanny, he knows the truth, unlike MM, who is more interested in his own publicity and placing blame on the players every game we lose.

This one hurt, my signature may not change for a while.

I think the reason we lost is because we really had troubles down back, Without Maxwell and Shaw and even Johnson, the two best by far are Harry O and Presti.. There was such a huge gap between the rest of the backline, Cox, Toovey etc.

N Brown had a great game btw, Good to see he is back firing.

Confident Wood will get a game next week..
I don't mind Leroy at all. Hes hard at the contest, and was roughing up all his opponents early in the game.. Great stuff but his shots for goal were terrible in the last quarter.. and really cost us the game.

We seriously need to have some practicing of set shots after training. Jack Anthony does it willingly (30 minutes after training) and look how great his kicking is. 4 goals and 1 poster is a great return from set shots, given that they were all from pretty tough angles.. You just feel so confident when he is lining up, its Great ! Now why can't the other forwards like Trav and Brown being the main ones, practice their kicking for goal. They will come a long way and will benefit the team dearly. Even just an extra 15 minutes after training. Trav should take some initiative and go practice, at the same time MM should be enforcing it. Such a deffeicency in our game and yet we don't try and amend it...

It's Beyond me!

Why does this loss hurt alot of us (including me) so much more?

for some reason this is the worst I have ever felt about a loss, except for the '02 GF, '03 GF I was more pissed off than upset.

But for some reason this loss has cut me deeper than the finals loss to Saints last year, Geelong prelim Loss in '07....as excruciating as it was....this has absolutely gutted me.

I am still not over it...

Anyone else feel the same?

I posted similar thoughts in another thread. This is the most gut wrenching loss in my time watching footy. We should have won on so many levels, but had no luck and somehow found a way to lose.

Alarm bells will be ringing next week guys.

If we go down against North, you can almost guarantee we'll be in a slump for Saints then Carlton. I'm being pessimistic but it aint looking good this year, I mean a Top 4 team? Hopefully just a terrible start...:( But I don't like this so far.

You can't guarantee anything if we lose to NM. That could be when we turn it around for all we know. Our team are notorious for not going in slumps, or not having great runs of games either. It has been like this for the last 2-3 years.

I think the reason we lost is because we really had troubles down back, Without Maxwell and Shaw and even Johnson, the two best by far are Harry O and Presti.. There was such a huge gap between the rest of the backline, Cox, Toovey etc.

N Brown had a great game btw, Good to see he is back firing.

Confident Wood will get a game next week..
I don't mind Leroy at all. Hes hard at the contest, and was roughing up all his opponents early in the game.. Great stuff but his shots for goal were terrible in the last quarter.. and really cost us the game.

We seriously need to have some practicing of set shots after training. Jack Anthony does it willingly (30 minutes after training) and look how great his kicking is. 4 goals and 1 poster is a great return from set shots, given that they were all from pretty tough angles.. You just feel so confident when he is lining up, its Great ! Now why can't the other forwards like Trav and Brown being the main ones, practice their kicking for goal. They will come a long way and will benefit the team dearly. Even just an extra 15 minutes after training. Trav should take some initiative and go practice, at the same time MM should be enforcing it. Such a deffeicency in our game and yet we don't try and amend it...

It's Beyond me!

Very good point,
think about, the other year Jack had a near career ending injury with his neck, he could do basic training but non contacted. Whenever i went down to watch training he was always down running laps and just having set shots on goals. Maybe a few of the other players can take a leef out of his book and do extra goal practice. The only way we are going to get better is by kicking better and taking all chances.

I really rate Jack for his training ethic, and as a role model.

put my fist through my wardrobe when that last goal went through.i will tell you why it hurts so much its because the same thing happens every year, losing to inferior opposition.malthouse claims buckley is naive by saying this, well mick it is naive to think you can pull off a game plan based on precision kicking when you play players who cant kick [toovey,barham] ,you play players who are not fit [rocca] and you let the opposition control the centre corridor.i want mick to coach us next year but a few things have to change.play wood in the ruck and give him a month as first ruck.get sidebottom in the side and get travis cloke to pull his finger out.

we could be 4th RIGHT now.

But we aren't, we could also be last...

Melbourne tired against us lost all their run, if they were a more mature unit more then likely would of went on to beat us instead of letting us in then us swinging it around.
The Brisbane win was far from convincing.

Our gameplan will not bring this team a flag.

You can't guarantee anything if we lose to NM. That could be when we turn it around for all we know. Our team are notorious for not going in slumps, or not having great runs of games either. It has been like this for the last 2-3 years.

Guarantee was a poor choice of words on my part. But we do have a very tough few weeks coming up.

After thumping Geelong, then West Coast by a 100 points, I seem to remember going into a 4 week slump last year. I just hope we don't do the same if we go down to North.

i feel the same mate.

just sick of underperforming. we keep thinking this year will be our year, but again, obviously not. top 3-4 teams (which we supposedly are) dont lose like that. if we were fair dinkum, we would be 4 and 1. (geelong-loss).

im feeling very flat about the loss because

• we can't string two wins together
  • Carlton and St Kilda are both passing us by
  • The along-the-wings game plan looks horrible when we don't apply pressure to the opposition in the corridor
  • Didak and Shaw are not repaying the faith yet, Wood has not come on, too few have improved too little

You all sound like love-sick teenagers, yet I'm the 21yo here!

The only emotion I'm feeling is disappointment because throughout the whole of ANZAC Day, we didn't deserve the 4 points. Essendon was the better side all day long, and it would've been theft if we'd won, even by a point.

One thing I've realised today is a 5 point heart-breaking loss is better than a 1 point thrilling win because there will be far more question marks going through the club. I hope this loss provides a great test of character, and the players are feeling the same emotions so many Collingwood supporters are feeling.

A true test of adversity is how the Collingwood squad come out for the rest of 2009 after their true demise following their start to 2009 and that dreaded ANZAC Day of '09.

I sitting there happily discussing Leon's ANZAC day medal with my mum and 3 minutes later I feel as though I have been reamed up the coight by a 7 foot Shaq type character minus any form of lubrication.

Worst loss I have ever experienced, and I haven't missed a game in Melbourne for years.

Is this the vent thread?

Went down to Melbourne to watch this game. Got stuck sitting in the Essendon members, next to the EFC hierarchy (past players, officials, the works). We were the only 4 Collingwood supporters out of the lot.

Essendon fans around me were leaving, thinking they had lost.

And then ... the unthinkable. 4 minutes left on the clock!

I usually maintain my composure on BF, but you'll have to excuse me on this occasion.

I have refused to turn on anything in relation to football, I ran out of the stadium, drank 3 litres of alcohol, only made me more depressed, and now back in the rugby safe-haven of Canberra I'm ready to get it off my chest and face the reality. The following I warn is a rare outburst:

WHAT THE F*%K!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TARKYN LOCKYER!!!! POSSESSION F&%KING FOOTBALL, EVER HEARD OF IT????? TWO THREE CHIPS, SIREN SOUNDS, IT'S OVER!!!! A F#$KING JUNIOR WOULD KNOW THAT, HOW THE F%$K ARE THESE PLAYERS LEADING OUR CLUB????

WHO THE F$%K GIVES UP A 14 POINT LEAD, 4 MINUTES LEFT, RAINING, THE OPPOSITION HAS HALF A BENCH, HOW HOW HOW HOW??????

There, it's out.

I went to the 2002 and 2003 GF. I went to the 2007 Prelim. I have experienced Collingwood heartache first-hand, but this ... shit I haven't felt this low about a game since 2003.

Hang your heads in shame Collingwood.

Josh Fraser, our apparent captain on a day that is supposed to bring out the emotions of every player. His immediate opponent got injured, the football god couldn't have made it easier for him.

Josh Fraser epitomises the Collingwood Footy Club. Full of potential, great the one week, shithouse the next. You never know when he's going to play good, he's as unpredictable as they come.

I don't usually hang on players or coach (like some here do every week), but you don't need an order from MM to know that 3 minutes left on the clock, if you have possession, retain it.

No matter what you all think of MM, I sure hope he let it rip into the playing group post-match.

My anger this week goes directly to our leadership group on the ground. We couldn't have trusted the last kick with anyone better than Tarkyn Lockyer. Yet he let's us down.

It's inexcusable, no excuses can be offered for what happened. Please no one come back to me and say I'm being too harsh on Tarks or Josh, or that other players were worse. It's probably a fair argument, considering if we played the way we should have, the game would have been over at half time.

But it doesn't matter. When it came down to the dying minutes, seconds of the game, our leaders on the field let us down.

How can we expect this same leadership group to take us to a flag?

Yeh, bad bad loss. Not the worst I've seen although the worse for sometime. I guess losing to a fourth-rate team only makes matters worse.

What is most annoying is the fact that both Essendon and Adelaide games were thrown away in the most pathetic ways imaginable. This does not augur well for the season and suggests some real underlying problems that need to be rectified. After such a promising NAB Cup only to have the stuffing bashed out of us in that GF and then meekly limp through the first part of the season (with the exception of the Brisbane, which was a great team win) is not a great sign.

Let's hope we refocus and iron out 'issues' at the club/player group before we start satisfying the doomsayers in the media and finish in the bottom third of the table.

Go Pies!