7 Sport Tuesday 3rd Feb 2009

Great work as always Freo1995.

Funny that the consensus around here was that McPharlin was BOG where as he didn't even rate a mention on 7.

I dont want to make a whole thread but for those who missed 10's sport segment tonight they did a bit of a story on Darths mob.
Guess who is playing for them now........
Ex Fremantle player Leigh Brown ?????
FFS I expected it sometime this year but before the first ball is bounced is a bit rich.
Whenever he puts in a blinder this year he will ex Fremantle play Leigh Brown. :mad:

I dont want to make a whole thread but for those who missed 10's sport segment tonight they did a bit of a story on Darths mob.
Guess who is playing for them now........
Ex Fremantle player Leigh Brown ?????

Hahaha Channel two said the same thing. I reckon it's because a lot of West Coast supporters are morons, if they just showed "former Kangaroo Leigh Brown" a lot of them would be thinking 'that guy looks familiar' so the media fill in the blanks.

ahhh ryhs palmer... a very rich mans chris masten.... the guy is a gun, another years worth of good quality kids in our lineup and we will start to look bloody exciting

well picked out mr midfield extrodanaire

i play reserves in country footy and i can bounce the ball properly. What he did after that was good but if he can't bounce the ball back up to himself then he is gonna be in a bit of trouble against the better teams. he does it so often that i think he needs to go back and learn the basics again. (bouncing and kicking). maybe it's just cos he is running too quick.

:D your kidding right? come on mate he mucked up one bounce, and he "does it all the time" i cant remember seeing rhys palmer making mistakes with a bounce enough to warrant the "all the time" tag. in fact i cant remember him ever really doing it, not that i have been taking notes, but i think your being a little harsh.. also, maybe the grass hadnt been cut in a while, maybe the ball was a little flat..... who knows, where you at the scratchie? maybe he had just done ten perfect bounces before that.... saying that rhys always mucks up his bouncing is akin to saying that pavlich always hits the post... for every one poster he kicks ten goals

Yeah fair point, Lets just wait and see what happens in the first nab cup game. See how many errors there are then. Not just the ones that are counted on the stats sheet, but the little ones like that which are sometimes very costly to the team. These are supposed to be the best footballers in the country. they should be able to the basic stuff all the time.

i agree with you, but pressure and the off season sometimes make the easy look hard... you dont seem to be a massive fan of rhys just judging on the way you are looking at the errors... personally i think his error count is a bit of a media beat up, all players make mistakes, but i agree sometimes its easy to think, sheesh even i could do that..... the way i see it, palmer has a solid left boot, an average right boot that needs work, a good mark for his height, good left and right handball, excellentawareness, topped off by elite fitness base, a brilliant work ethic and a massive desire to get the footy.... he is a gun, who i think is destined to be in the top 5 midfielders in the league one day. even gary ablett makes mistakes, fortunately it is mainly when ryan crowley is on him :D

I'm not a huge fan of rhys yet because of his skill errors. In the AFL there is pressure for a whole four qtrs, this is when his skills need to lift. I have been thru a few of last years matches and he kicks alot of kicks along the ground or puts a team mate under huge pessure. His handballs aren't much better. The recieving team mate often has to reach to get the ball. Not just Rhys does this, but most of the team does. If you have a look back at any games, just have a close look at the guys who try to turn back to their natural side. One bloke that doesn't do it is young Drummy. He has faith in his left side.

yeah drummy has good skills. ibbo has great skills, so does mundy, i would say that they would be our cleanest users of the ball (hasleby and des in that bracket as well). i think it is important to remember that rhys was 19 last year and being thrust into the "best midfielder in the team" mantle... i think you will find his skills will improve, while the footage of him stuffing a bounce doesnt back me up... his effort, willingness to run the extra distance and desire more than make up for it.... he may not ever have luke hodge skills, but not many do, but im sure he will win you over eventually, its hard not to love him..... you must be an incredibly hard judge to have not been sold on him already, as a dockers supporter that is

To me, he is like McManus. I like them, and I like them playing for Freo. It's just the little errors that really annoy me. McManus was so frustration to watch as a supporter when he was stumbling over al the time. Not saying Rhys does that, but it remindes me of that. There are plenty of other worse offenders at the club, it's just that everyone seems to think that Rhys is perfect already.

Like ive said many times
Simon black is considered 1 of the best midfielders in the game
But look at his efficiency stats they are very very low.
Yet howcome there is no media criticizing his poor efficiency all we hear is massive praise.

Ben Cousins used to be a fantastic kick
After he put on all the muscle an became a massive ball magnet his kicking was terrible, an rarely hit a target without it bouncing or in best position for team mates.
Yet all they ever did was praise him.

Palmers foot skills are no worse than any of the games other midfielders that are considered stars

Like ive said many times
Simon black is considered 1 of the best midfielders in the game
But look at his efficiency stats they are very very low.
Yet howcome there is no media criticizing his poor efficiency all we hear is massive praise.

Ben Cousins used to be a fantastic kick
After he put on all the muscle an became a massive ball magnet his kicking was terrible, an rarely hit a target without it bouncing or in best position for team mates.
Yet all they ever did was praise him.

Palmers foot skills are no worse than any of the games other midfielders that are considered stars

Thank F***ing christ someone else noticed that... i have been telling everyone i know that for years and they wouldnt listen, as he is "One of the best users the game has seen" was regularly put back to me. Have only ever met one Weagle supporter who didnt rate him... i kept him around :thumbsu:

7 Sport Tuesday 3rd Feb 2009