A. Browne

• Thread starter Thread starter Roby

Lets not go nuts. He was solid in the hitouts, gave it his all, and was a contributor.

He absolutely refused to ever kick the ball...will need to improve that part of his game if he's to be a future player. Also to take pack marks.

As it stands, I think he offered slightly less than Gus...but obviously it was Brownes first game in a while and he did well, give him another gig :thumbsu:

Still, its amazing to see praise for Browne when Graham did more in just about all of his games this year.

Browne played a better game for richmond football club tonight than waht i have ever seen from Graham.

I said it before & will say it again , what you see with graham is what you get ...................... There is no improvement left and what he is is just not good enough for afl level.

Browne atleast has alot of upside to him & will be alot better with another 2 preseasons under his belt.

Reminds me a bit of Shane Mumford. Not bad today gave 100% could do with a bigger tank but that will come, had a few clumsey moments but he's only young. Massive unit and should keep his spot.

Browne played a better game for richmond football club tonight than waht i have ever seen from Graham.

I said it before & will say it again , what you see with graham is what you get ...................... There is no improvement left and what he is is just not good enough for afl level.

Browne atleast has alot of upside to him & will be alot better with another 2 preseasons under his belt.

Delusional. Seriously, the Graham hate on this board is beyond tiresome.

Gus has played at least 15-20 games comprehensively better than Browne's tonight.

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1785&SeasonID=ALL&Sort=Rating Desc
Scroll down to 'All individual Games' and proceed to eat your words.

Still a few mistakes, but he's a huge monster and by the time the ball has fallen from his hand to his foot the rapture has come and past.
Good call, speaking of the rapture, I think I didn't get spared.

At least I am pretty sure no Collingwood fans were spared either ;)

Lets not go nuts. He was solid in the hitouts, gave it his all, and was a contributor.

He absolutely refused to ever kick the ball...will need to improve that part of his game if he's to be a future player. Also to take pack marks.

As it stands, I think he offered slightly less than Gus...but obviously it was Brownes first game in a while and he did well, give him another gig :thumbsu:

Still, its amazing to see praise for Browne when Graham did more in just about all of his games this year.

Delusional. Seriously, the Graham hate on this board is beyond tiresome.

Gus has played at least 15-20 games comprehensively better than Browne's tonight.

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1785&SeasonID=ALL&Sort=Rating Desc
Scroll down to 'All individual Games' and proceed to eat your words.

Worth repeating paul, agree with all of both. :thumbsu:

I really don't get why people can't just be happy we've got two decent developing rucks out of two big question marks and just back them to keep improving rather than these continual player assassination routines. I honestly did expect to have to defend Browne tonight after he had 15-20 Gus-like incidents, I guess the Gus haters were prepared to overlook these things...temporarily at least. ;)

Shame for Browne that we're past the era of two genuine rucks, he's earned our patience though and I hope he can get to the point where he's running out full games and backing up the next week.

wow - had not seem him play for yonks and was a bit worried about him getting selected ..but he matched/beat ess ruck division and did heaps around the ground too. he looked like he belonged out there.

First time a Ruckman has competed around the ground all year

You should look and learn yourself mate, Browne had a great game I thought, but he hasn't got anywhere near the same tank as Graham yet. He'd had significantly less ruck time and running than Graham has been doing for the last 8 weeks (a longer stint than any other ruckman in the comp), but he was dead on his feet before the last qtr, whereas Graham's been outrunning all his opponents and often been a real force in last qtrs.

The irony being both quotes are true. Wasn't a superstar performance by Browne but his efforts around the ground were IMO far better than anything Graham has offered this year.

Maybe if Gus ran harder around the ground he wouldn't have as much left in the tank for the 4th quarter. 1st ruck is Browne's for now.

amazing performance from browne

beat three good ruckman on his own, made some errors, as a 6 games you casn live with that.

Should get a run of 5-6 games in a row to see if he can own the number 1 ruck spot. Can mark the ball which is a huge asset

Big-hearted effort Browne Dog. Showed how much more dangerous we can be if we have a bash-crash Ruckman. It was a pity Cotch was the only one to take full advantage of his efforts.

Still a few mistakes, but he's a huge monster and by the time the ball has fallen from his hand to his foot the rapture has come and past.

Beat Ryder, Hille and Bellchambers and gave it his all. :thumbsu:

These 2 are why Sir Jimmy will be burnt at the stake in a year or so..I mean how can a ruckman allow a smaller player to outmark him from in front? Come on Bellpepper tell us how you achieve such greatness? As for Hille, he does like crunching packs when there are Nahas etc around, unfortunately for him when the commandos like Luke and Ranca descend, ooops gee, that small half step and the half glance over the shoulder happens like clockwork...yah big ****ing pussy.;)

thought he was super last night. just the way he threw himself at absolutely everything. there is massive room for improvement and if gus wants to make it back, he is going to have to bash the door down.

amazing performance from browne

beat three good ruckman on his own, made some errors, as a 6 games you casn live with that.

Should get a run of 5-6 games in a row to see if he can own the number 1 ruck spot. Can mark the ball which is a huge asset

He really didn't. Hitouts show that pretty clearly. Can mark the ball? How was he better in this regard than Graham last night? His hands were terrible in most situations.

Looks like weve found our ruckman!

Oh dear God...please stop it. Ruckmen might need to kick the ball once or twice?

He really didn't. Hitouts show that pretty clearly. Can mark the ball? How was he better in this regard than Graham last night? His hands were terrible in most situations.

Oh dear God...please stop it. Ruckmen might need to kick the ball once or twice?

Browne 24 hitouts, next best Vick up forward with 8. Bellchambers 25 Ryder 22. So it is silly those insisting he "beat three good ruckman" like some have said. And just the 1 kick isnt good enough and to many handballs to a team mate under pressure hopefully will be something he can get out of his game.

Even though i rate Gus better, i still hope Browne gets at least 3 more on the trot so we can get a better perspective.

Saw Browne in the VFL v's Box hill easter weekend... The big fella was absolutely dominant.. Never going to be an out and out gun at AFL level, but you know what you get from Browne every game, every quarter, every contest.

Was interesting on the Footy Show, they had Newman on and he said that before the game Browne went to the midfielders and said "I'm not a star boys but I'll give you all I've got." If he continues to do that every week thats all you can ask.

scaled.php

With all due respect, i really cant understand all the hoohaa with Browne's game.

He is a trier, toiled hard, but in the end is way off the standard required at this level, when it comes to the basic skills of the game. I am really shaking my head at some the ridiculous post on how good he supposedly went. I lost count at the number of times he just ****ed up the next fumbled disposal. Back the 2s at a 100mph and hope Dx has something we can look to the future with.;)

just watched the replay too and he did make a lot of mistakes, but did a ++++load of great work too. I still think he looks like he belongs in the firsts.

With all due respect, i really cant understand all the hoohaa with Browne's game.

He is a trier, toiled hard, but in the end is way off the standard required at this level, when it comes to the basic skills of the game. I am really shaking my head at some the ridiculous post on how good he supposedly went. I lost count at the number of times he just ****ed up the next fumbled disposal. Back the 2s at a 100mph and hope Dx has something we can look to the future with.;)
Second this.

I must have been watching a different game to the rest of you guys. Bring back Gus until Browne learns to kick, handle the ball and tap to advantage. 6 clangers!!! Only a couple of players on our list have had more clangers in a game this year. Graham's worst clanger count this year is 4.

That said, his bodywork was reasonably good, and he had a knack of moving to the right positions. But if he is going to fumble the ball a dozen times before he actually controls it, what use is it being able to find space?

Yes he was unco at times and made mistakes but he was a massive upgrade on gus , i hope DX can push him out but thats a bit of a way off yet.

Id take browne over graham every day of the week thanks. Must not be dropped for the rest of the year and allowed to develop. Give derrix a run soon too I hope. :thumbsu: