Opinion A different perspective

“Apologists like you are actually symptomatic of the problem.”

This statement above most others, shits me the most. Apologists? What are we apologising for? Who are we sticking up for? Are we not making critical comments about our club too? Are we not calling for change too? What is it that we do that makes you feel we are “apologists”?

“Apologists like you are actually symptomatic of the problem.”

This statement above most others, s**ts me the most. Apologists? What are we apologising for? Who are we sticking up for? Are we not making critical comments about our club too? Are we not calling for change too? What is it that we do that makes you feel we are “apologists”?

If I ran a poll on this board asking “Does Jen have a history of being an AFC apologist” what do you reckon the results would be?

They’d be wrong. That’s what I reckon they’d be. And you can’t even recognise that. I may have once stood up for people in the club - a very long time ago and I continue to get hung for that. Now the only thing I do is ask that you show some level of common decency - whether it be the language about and involving women, or that you lose the vitriol and vicious insults against players and staff members of the club. I stand beside every single one of you calling for change. I just think calling for their demise can be done without petty insults. I’m also one to say - let’s see what the outcome is BEFORE gathering our torches and pitchforks. This is more to do with not wanting to get myself all hot and bothered unless I absolutely have to. But if the outcome is as the doomsayers predict, I’ll be right along side you demanding answers.

So tell me again how I’m an AFC apologist?

That’s not addressing her point.

They’d be wrong. That’s what I reckon they’d be. And you can’t even recognise that. I may have once stood up for people in the club - a very long time ago and I continue to get hung for that. Now the only thing I do is ask that you show some level of common decency - whether it be the language about and involving women, or that you lose the vitriol and vicious insults against players and staff members of the club. I stand beside every single one of you calling for change. I just think calling for their demise can be done without petty insults. I’m also one to say - let’s see what the outcome is BEFORE gathering our torches and pitchforks. This is more to do with not wanting to get myself all hot and bothered unless I absolutely have to. But if the outcome is as the doomsayers predict, I’ll be right along side you demanding answers.

Why should we wait for the outcome??
What is it that the current leadership have done for you to even consider cutting them some slack??

The thing is the outcome is somewhat irrelevant. If these muppets were doing what they should have been doing we wouldn't be in this mess. We have pissed an opportunity up the wall mostly because of bad decisions after bad decisions.....but you want to see the outcome of the review before you pass judgment....NO!!

The outcome is right here in front of you, right now for all the footy world to see.

I think you are judged as an apologist because you want the supporters to give those at the club the benefit of the outcome of reviews, decisions etc.

Those things you would like to see the outcome of before passing judgment have been catastrophic.

There is nothing to wait for, judgement day has arrived, here and now and they deserve no further benefit.

Time is up, they should just f##k off.

I have no issue with the power stance. It was an attempt to bond players together, and get the players even more psyched up through trying to increase testosterone.

It well and truly worked as our first quarters were our strongest in all three games. However, it cops blame because it looked tacky, and really, it's a soft target. The risk of innovation at times, we'd be mocking Richmond for not going in with a second ruck had they lost that match.

Blaming that however really glosses over all of the issues that arose that game, and since.

If it worked, it would have worked in the Grand final. It didn't. We didn't have a strong first quarter in the Grand Final.

I very much doubt we had strong first quarters in the prelim and qualifying final because of the stance either, I doubt it had any impact.

If it worked, it would have worked in the Grand final. It didn't. We didn't have a strong first quarter in the Grand Final.

I very much doubt we had strong first quarters in the prelim and qualifying final because of the stance either, I doubt it had any impact.

4.2 26 to 2.3 15 indicates differently.

That said, I was wrong about all three games, as we lost the first quarter against GWS.

The first chink in their armour was Patrick Dangerfield's decision to return home to Geelong. It seemed a s**tty thing to do to the team mates you'd vowed just a few months before to get the job done, especially when it was later revealed that he'd told David Noble that he would be leaving the club at the end of the year BEFORE Walsh was killed. Probably brought about by the fact that Walsh hadn't chosen him as Captain. Even after the tragedy he decided to abandon his team mates in their greatest hour of need.

As with 99.9% of non-Geelong supporters, I can't stand Dangerfield (though I will concede he's an elite player). But is it really reasonable to have expected him to change his mind and stay just because of Walsh's passing?

Would anyone, in any line of employment, say to their partner, "I know we made all these plans, but my boss just sadly passed away, and I've decided to stay put." Or if you were the on the other side of the coin, would you be happy if your partner said that to you?

Having said that, those crocodile tears of his in the WC game does seem a bit rich in retrospect.

Big Footy is just one very small part of the problem. The more popular players get recognised everywhere.

After a poor performance, in the streets from getting petrol and milk to going to the cinema they get heckled and abused from so called “passionate fans”

They should not become a recluse. They need to live a life.

I think the rise of social media 2012 till now has not been handled well by any clubs, in particular ours. The media has such a vicious cancel culture, the fact a journalist can tweet literally any thing and within 20 mins the whole world is putting their own two bobs worth in on top of that.... mental health is barely reconised in Australia..... the stigma around it....a whole lot of people think its an excuse people use when things get hard and not a debilitating disease in alot of cases.

So much of this has been aided by this compound effect which starts with social media and involes death, player exodous almost success and ends in utter failure.

It's no secret the the Vics and their media hate us, and they have been laying in the boot time and time again we can only take so much and we've finally reached breaking point, the vics like a bully are loving we a struggling so much and are still continuing to hit us.... no wonder the players are mentally shot.
Shall we hand in our license.
It’s clearly all too hard.

That said, I was wrong about all three games, as we lost the first quarter against GWS.

Nah we won that first quarter too, the stance rattling them was the big talking point. We won every first quarter of that finals series.

Sure, if you just look at that, but if you watch the game you'll find that we didn't start well.

The goals weren't structural, they were scrappy and we were doing some pretty stupid stuff in general play, the only difference is that Richmond were a little more panicked than us, but by half way through the quarter they were on top and it remained that way for the rest of the game.

And, what is the big deal if you are an apologist?

Isn’t that your or anyone else's choice. You are allowed to support your way. It is your membership.

My choice is, I can engage in conversation with you or not. If I choose to, I should act civil and if someone opinion is different, don’t argue with them, maybe others should try and understand that point.

But they won’t and they certainly don’t.

These comments mainly by salty opposition supporters that the club is broken are laughable. The 2017 GF meltdown and camp bullshit has gone on long enough. Its boring and lazy journalism. At what point will we stop hearing about 2017? Another 20years? Tbh the club has brought a lot of this trolling media coverage on itself due to total mismanagement. The club needs to weed out those that oversaw the mismanagement. The club also needs to be handed back to its members. At that point will we have the club we all deserve.

I've been suggesting similar for quite some time. There was a lot of emotional energy that went into getting to that Grand Final, including the deaths of both Dean Baily and Phil Walsh. This being not for gone from the Tippett debacle and the controversial sacking of Sanderson. Personally I think this banded the group, especially the older ones, together into this purpose of winning a premiership, it gave them drive, focus and energy to push them on.

I think this likely made the place a rather intense place to be and I suspect a few of the younger, more laid back players struggled a bit. Probably wasn't helped that Pyke was a pretty intense, driven character himself.

I think Danger leaving probably hurt, but getting to the last saturday in september only to fail miserably broke them. Then Lever/Cameron and a few key personnel leave and the media batter us from pillar to post for anything and everything.

Then in our infinite wisdom, Brett Burton, Don Pyke, Mark Ricciuto and co, in conjunction with the not psychologically trained mind training people, decided to take them on the infamous camp and completely obliterate any spirit they had left.

This is a team who's spirit is broken. Its irreparable without significant changes to both on and off-field personnel IMO.
To me it all comes back to that camp.
Death , losing grand finals is part of normal life however painful.
But to call the players weak and physically and mentally abuse , torture and humiliate them after what they'd been through beggars belief.
This is where it all started to fall apart.
What's worse the person responsible was never held to account and the players were lost forever after that.

Sent from my SM-J730G using Tapatalk

Why should we wait for the outcome??
What is it that the current leadership have done for you to even consider cutting them some slack??

The thing is the outcome is somewhat irrelevant. If these muppets were doing what they should have been doing we wouldn't be in this mess. We have pi**ed an opportunity up the wall mostly because of bad decisions after bad decisions.....but you want to see the outcome of the review before you pass judgment....NO!!

The outcome is right here in front of you, right now for all the footy world to see.

I think you are judged as an apologist because you want the supporters to give those at the club the benefit of the outcome of reviews, decisions etc.

Those things you would like to see the outcome of before passing judgment have been catastrophic.

There is nothing to wait for, judgement day has arrived, here and now and they deserve no further benefit.

Time is up, they should just f##k off.
The point is, I can get all upset and angry like you are, or I can wait until the review is complete and then react according to the outcome. You are going to maintain the rage and then double down if the outcome isn’t what you want which is what you expect, right? And achieve what exactly? Meanwhile I continue to live my life, don’t take my anger out on my family or random people on an Internet forum, and should things go as you suspect, I’ll contemplate cancelling our gold memberships at the end. Or, if there ARE massive changes, I can have saved all that angst and aggravation!

Firstly, If you're going to respond to a post at least have the intelligence to respond to the content of the post rather than regurgitate what you have posted before.
Secondly, feel free to act or respond as you like with regard to what the club is/isn't doing as you have told us time and time again, but at least have the decency to allow others to respond as they like without you telling people what to do. Whether you like what people post is irrelevant.

This is the stuff that posters take exception too. In fact its another example of your hypocrisy.

Getting back to your OP, this review is probably the most critical juncture in the club's history.

Get it right and we can move on. That will also help alleviate some of the angst we have as supporters.

Getting back to your OP, this review is probably the most critical juncture in the club's history.

Get it right and we can move on. That will also help alleviate some of the angst we have as supporters.

They won’t get it right.

Firstly, If you're going to respond to a post at least have the intelligence to respond to the content of the post rather than regurgitate what you have posted before.
Secondly, feel free to act or respond as you like with regard to what the club is/isn't doing as you have told us time and time again, but at least have the decency to allow others to respond as they like without you telling people what to do. Whether you like what people post is irrelevant.

This is the stuff that posters take exception too. In fact its another example of your hypocrisy.
How is it hypocritical?

Big Footy is just one very small part of the problem. The more popular players get recognised everywhere.

After a poor performance, in the streets from getting petrol and milk to going to the cinema they get heckled and abused from so called “passionate fans”

They should not become a recluse. They need to live a life.
Must be very hard for them. In fact, if someone offered half a million a year and loose women throwing themselves at you to play with a ball but you had to put up with the odd intemperate random calling you out at the servo when you are shit, probably only a rare few could cope with such hardship.

Must be very hard for them. In fact, if someone offered half a million a year and loose women throwing themselves at you to play with a ball but you had to put up with the odd intemperate random calling you out at the servo when you are s**t, probably only a rare few could cope with such hardship.

This is a very comment to make until you are in that position. Ask Tony Modra if he was happy with his celebrity status in the mid 90’s. It’ not all beer and skittles like you are implying.

To me it all comes back to that camp.
Death , losing grand finals is part of normal life however painful.
But to call the players weak and physically and mentally abuse , torture and humiliate them after what they'd been through beggars belief.
This is where it all started to fall apart.
What's worse the person responsible was never held to account and the players were lost forever after that.

Sent from my SM-J730G using Tapatalk
“Physically and mentally abuse, torture and humiliate them..” - where are you getting your “facts”?