• Extra time - 5 min each way

Votes: 59 18.7%
  • Extra time - first score wins

Votes: 5 1.6%
  • Extra time - first goal wins

Votes: 8 2.5%

A draw is a draw. I agree with the extra time in finals ... but not in home and away games. Its such a rare occurance anyway, so there would be no need to change the status quo.

I agree with the scouser, a draw is a draw. Let it stand. In the finals, I think they play 5 mins each way don't they. I cant remember it ever being needed though......hmmmm *thinks*.

Extra time for finals was introduced to the rule book in 1991 but it's only been needed once - North Melbourne v Hawthorn at Waverley in 1994.

Originally posted by Nic
A draw is a draw.

How about a kick-off for goal? First player to miss??:p
Golden goal extra time. If there's no goals, a penalty shootout.:p

Only kidding! As for Colonial on Saturday night, justice was served in that neither team was rewarded with a win for what they put the fans through.

First score wins should be the way to go. No one is happy after a draw. In American sport, they play extra innings in baseball and overtime in both Basektball and Gridiron. Each match should have a winner and a loser.

What's the point of having percentage, if it is going to be deemed irrelevant via a draw? Imagine how exciting the St.Kilda-Sydney game would have been (on top of the excitement that already took place) if the ball went back to the centre for a "next score wins" finalse.

Can you imagine the intensity at the ball?

Yep, get rid of the draw.

Originally posted by Dan26
First score wins should be the way to go. No one is happy after a draw. In American sport, they play extra innings in baseball and overtime in both Basektball and Gridiron. Each match should have a winner and a loser.

What's the point of having percentage, if it is going to be deemed irrelevant via a draw? Imagine how exciting the St.Kilda-Sydney game would have been (on top of the excitement that already took place) if the ball went back to the centre for a "next score wins" finalse.

What about having the away goals rule??

The away team wins any draw??

Seems fair to me!:eek: ;)

Imagine how exciting the St.Kilda-Sydney game would have been (on top of the excitement that already took place) if the ball went back to the centre for a "next score wins" finalse.

The main problem I see with that, Dan, is that we are then relying on a perfect bounce from the umpire. I know it's one of the many variables that make our game great, but when it can influence the allocation of 4 premiership points on its own, I think there's a potential problem.

That aside, IMHO a draw is a legitimate result. In finals a distinct winner needs to be declared, but in H&A it doesn't, and therefore shouldn't.

First score wins should be the way to go.
And if one team's kicking with an 6 goal wind...?

No one is happy after a draw.
Everyone who's so far responded in this thread is.

In American sport, they play extra innings in baseball and overtime in both Basektball and Gridiron.
In America they eat peanut butter and jam sandwiches and drive on the other side of the road. Doesn't mean we have to.

What's the point of having percentage, if it is going to be deemed irrelevant via a draw?
Consult the final ladder for the 1997 season, Daniel. :o

Imagine how exciting the St.Kilda-Sydney game would have been (on top of the excitement that already took place) if the ball went back to the centre for a "next score wins" finalse.

No more intense than it should be with both sides striving for a win before the final siren, I'd reckon.

Keep the draw.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
And if one team's kicking with an 6 goal wind...?

Now that is a very good point.

I think that almost determines the issue without further debate.

Or they could set up mini league goals and go across the ground!!:D

No one walks away from a draw happy, the players, coaches and spectators don't know how to react. I think 5 minutes each way is the way to go as a first goal/score is too dependent on variables such as wind and centre bounce by the umpire. Plus who wouldn't want an extra 10 minutes of footy in a close exciting match?

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
The players?

Give them a five minute break befor each 5 minute period of extra time. Then if they still aren't happy pay them overtime or time & half, that should keep 'em going:)

A draw is a perfectly legitimate result. The teams have played the allocated time, scores were even - share the points as far as I am concerned.

Sure American sports don't do it, but they also stop the game for commercials, ahd have time outs (which I loathe).

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
Extra time for finals was introduced to the rule book in 1991 but it's only been needed once - North Melbourne v Hawthorn at Waverley in 1994.
Thought the rule was introduced in 1994 with the switch to a final 8 making replays impractical. The North-Hawks game was the very first final unfder the final 8 system.

But my memory may be faulty. 1991 was the introduction of the Final 6 system.

Basketball decides places on a "head to head" basis (not percentage) if wins are equal.

No way could footy have a "golden goal" scenario when weather conditions like a gale force wind could play such a vital part.

Originally posted by Nic
A draw is a draw.

How about a kick-off for goal? First player to miss??:p
A kick off for goal would not be a preferred option for the Western Bulldogs as they would be eliminated very quickly

Originally posted by sportsfan7
Thought the rule was introduced in 1994 with the switch to a final 8 making replays impractical. The North-Hawks game was the very first final unfder the final 8 system.

But my memory may be faulty. 1991 was the introduction of the Final 6 system.
Bomber Spirit is correct. Extra time was introduced in 1991; the year after the timing of the finals series, and all manner of associated events, were cocked up by the Collingwood/West Coast draw and resultant replay. Thank you very much, Peter Sumich.

This is the biggest non debate I've ever seen. just because a few people can't handle the fact that sometimes this happens doesn't mean that we should change the system.

Draws are perfectly alright the only country that doesn't like it is the USA where someone has to win because the can't handle the concept of teams being equal (good or bad). Leave it only it all works out even by the end of the season if a team makes the finals they deserve it.

As the person who posted the poll in th first place, I have to say i'm a bit surprised (but very happy) to see how big a majority of people support the status quo.

I did expect it to be in favour of no extra time, but not by such a huge margin!

Originally posted by roobear

That aside, IMHO a draw is a legitimate result. In finals a distinct winner needs to be declared, but in H&A it doesn't, and therefore shouldn't.

I toally agree a draw is a draw but good point Dan about know one been happy with a draw.

Like most here, I'm in favour of keeping the draw situation as it is in Home and Away matches. This rare result has a flavour all of its own and should be kept in the game. Having been to the match on Saturday night, it is one of the more memorable matches I've been to.

The only thing that is against the draw is that for the two teams who took part in it, percentage becomes an irrelevant factor unless they come together on the ladder. Somehow, I don't think that something like percentage, which a side could've built up all year should all of a sudden be made irrelevant.

But the draw should stay.

It amuses me that Dan continuously points us to the EPL's example for minor premierships etc. Th reason for this is because the EPL does things better and is mroe popular overseas.

Now, with draws, why don't we get the EPL's example this time? Because it doesn't agree with his own perhaps?

Personally I think we should follow the example of the Tongan East Coast Bocce Tournament offical rules and keep draws (although I'm not 100% sure how they formulate percentage).