ozzult

West Coast Eagles
What the hell?? Ben Cousins interview after the game summed it all up, I don't know what to think.

Well it is better than losing.

Am I only meant to drink half as much beer tonight now?

The 2 points will help us to get into the finals, but not into the top 4.

Brauny you are a legend, great run there to get on the end of that last kick.

So now our draws are basically irrelevant, we might as well have 12 wins.

Yeah gutsy mark by Brauny, if he didn't take that grab we might have lost.

Im sorry but at this present time the line "a draw is better than a loss" while being true, isnt doing much for me...

We gutsed that second half amazingly well and full credit to brauny for making that opportunity, just not quite good enough. Got let down by skill errors again today by both hand(handpasses for a open shot at goal that didnt come off) and foot(too many turn over kicks). Ah well, finals here we come(i reckon) but if we want imporvement on last year its going to be bloody tough...

f*** i dont no what to say.. i mean i know we didnt lose but i cried....3 shots we had.... ALL behinds....what luck we have.... im spewn.. i no its better than nothing.. but its soooo disapointing.
All i can say is at least we had a bit more hunger...

After the first quarter it didn't look like we had a chance. We did guts it out, and I reckon a draw is probably a fitting result. We were the stronger side in the second half, but Geelong continually were keeping touch with us.

Although, we should have won the game in those last two minutes when we kicked three points.

I reckon we'll play finals, but I don't think we'll play a big role in them. However, it will still be a great learning experience for our young blokes.

We desperately need Gardiner and Embley back in the team, particularly Gardiner to give us first use of the ball.

I think our current problem is our lack of a spine. For some years we were weak in the mid field. Now we have one of the strongest (particularly with Gardie playing), but we're lacking key position players.

Jacko's lack of mobility means his days at CHB are limited. He still has a role in the team, but we need someone to make this position his. Similarly with Milli at FB. Glass is much better suited to play on a flank or pocket that in a key position.

In our history we never had a good CHF. Earlier on Gaspar looked that he could make the position his but his injuries are stopping him from developing and getting time on the field.

McDougall may be able to fill that role in the future but he's not quite there yet. Maybe in a couple of seasons.

And we definitely need a tall FF, who can take marks or provide a contest for Phil and Sampi to feed on the crumbs. Haynes is a good player, but he's much more suited to a flank.

Belgarion

Originally posted by Sera
The 2 points will help us to get into the finals, but not into the top 4.

Brauny you are a legend, great run there to get on the end of that last kick.

I knew this would come back to haunt me and this board.

I think the only chance of a top four pos is at the expense of the Crows. Conceivably we could win our last two and Crows only one. losing against Port. Result, both teams on 56 points. Crows have a better percentage.

BUT WE HAVE A BETTER POINT DIFFERENCE

Originally posted by ozzult
Well it is better than losing.

Am I only meant to drink half as much beer tonight now?

Nah it means you're meant to drink twice as much.

Very wierd feeling indeed.....

Happy to get two points from the draw but disappointed that we stuffed up too many chances in the last term, and that our skills were so poot at times.

Also, remember that we drew with Geelong, who are a good young side, but they were way down the ladder, had pride to play for and we had a chance at a top 4 spot!!!! Yet they still outplayed us (greater desire in the first half) for large parts of the game.:(

Anyway, 2 pts is better than a slap in the face with a wet fish. If we had lost by a point I think I'd still be sobbing.....

:confused:

Ben Cousins is right, you don't know what to think after a draw. It was the first time I've seen a draw involving Geelong, and if it wasn't for the fact that I haven't really cared, (win/loss wise) since about round 5, I probably would be even more lost for words.

Good luck in the finals Eagles, need Gardiner back to be a serious threat though. :)

Originally posted by ScouseCat
Good luck in the finals Eagles, need Gardiner back to be a serious threat though. :)
Understatement of the century. Embley would be useful atm too.....

2 draws in a season - I can't bloody believe it (especially since we almost drew with Hawthorn in Round 2)

Its an empty feeling although I feel a lot better with this draw than the Western Bulldogs game as that was one I felt we should have won.

Top marks to Brauny for that gutsy mark and shot at goal. I personally want to shake your hand mate.

Looking back now after this draw u think about the ones that got away..
The draw against the Dogs- we were up by 32 points @ one stage,
The one point loss to Hawks- That was a bummer, easily could have one that.
The eight point loss to Swans- again we posed a good comeback and just a couple more minutes or a better start and we would have won.

Pretty much all the games we lost ( barring POrt, Saints and mayb Crows @ Subi), we could have won. I guess we are just a VERY unlucky side...

LIFES A BITCH

comebacks mean s***. If we want 2 be a genuine threat in the finals we need to start playing well EVERY single quarter. Against the Hawks, we played crap in the 1st half then ran away with the game by 56 pnts. Against Geelong we played crap in the 1st half then drew. syd n haw wer very similar circumstances as well! When we get 5 goals down at qtr time against sum1 like adelaide at footy park in the finals, wer dead. There aint no comebacks in the finals series against sides like that

Originally posted by ozzult
So now our draws are basically irrelevant, we might as well have 12 wins.
That's alright. Just pretend that Disco's kick was six inches to the left, and that Sampi's kick against the Dogs was six inches to the right.

I'm not that upset, it just highlights the problem we have when we don't have the luxury of throwing an Embley or Gardiner up forward when the forward line isn't firing. Our midfield work rate picked up 100% after half time (must have been a hell of a rocket) but we weren't putting 'em away on the scoreboard.

Staker and Doogs, eat pies! Lots of pies!