afc9798

Hi,

I know this is not the most appropriate place for this, but just hoping to get in a plug for the 20/20 Footy at Happy Valley Footy Club tonight if anyone's at a loose end.

There's 2 x games of 2 x 20 minute halves, modified rules, super goals etc. It's a really good standard of footy and lightning quick. Teams competing in the series are Happy Valley Vikings, Flinders park, SHOC's and Murray Bridge Imperials. First game starts at 8pm , second game at 9pm. Full catering and most importantly lots of beer available....

We usually get in the realm of 1000 people show up so would be good to see anyone interested there.:thumbsu:

Sounds like a good night. Odd mix of teams!

Love local footy. Bbqs running, people lining the boundary line, few beers... real.

I'm interested whether other BF Crows fans have a local club connection. Are there any that just watch AFL footy and not much below though that? Does anyone here not play/coach/support a club at a local level?

Sounds like a good night. Odd mix of teams!

Love local footy. Bbqs running, people lining the boundary line, few beers... real.

I'm interested whether other BF Crows fans have a local club connection. Are there any that just watch AFL footy and not much below though that? Does anyone here not play/coach/support a club at a local level?

It is an odd mix, last year we had Mt Lofty instead of Murray Bridge. it's a great pre-season hitout and some healthy prize money for the winning teams. It gives a good hitout without having to show too much to your competitors. Encourage anyone to come and have a look it's a very casual night out and a really good atmosphere.

Happy Valley was the original club of Ben Rutten, Porps, N. Eagleton,Matt Rogers, Beau Waters, Tom McNamara, Cooney (although he defected to Flagstaff Hill) and this year Bollenhagen to Freo and Silverlock to Essendon as rookies. So we've had some good talent over the years. Alan Stringer is back there coaching the B grade this year, so a bit of fire and brimstone back in the ranks....

Crows/Sturt/Nuriootpa

Same as Cap - didn't grow up in Adelaide but I live near Colonel Light Gardens so GO THE LIONS :D!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=535076

KingsCrow started this thread a while back.

I'm a Mt. Lofty boy myself, living in the Hills, we don't really have a local SANFL club, so the local HFL matches are always very well supported.

Crows-Norwood- Adelaide Uni Blacks - I used to play juniors for Ramblers in MB (Rivals of Imperials, good standard comp down there)

My cousin went to it and enjoyed it, is it on again this week?

Crows, Glenelg & South Gambier Demons in Mt Gambier. We won A & B grade in 2009.

Now thanks to uni I need to find a new club in Adelaide. Any ideas?

Um Adelaide Uni Footy Club? A very fun place to play football. I think there a couple guys from Mt Gambier as well.

I'm going to Flinders so I don't think they would let me, but I will probably just try and make a lower div there

The Blacks would still have you but travelling would be a bitch. Flinders Uni has a team in one of the lower divs though. Where are you planning on living?

I'm going to Flinders so I don't think they would let me, but I will probably just try and make a lower div there

I think you'll find the Crabs A's classify as "lower Div" :D

Great bunch of lads, never taken it too seriously.

The Blacks would still have you but travelling would be a bitch. Flinders Uni has a team in one of the lower divs though. Where are you planning on living?
I'm on campus for my first year to get settled as I don't go to Adelaide that much. I'm just an ave footballer nothing special. All these teams sound super though thanks guys. :thumbsu:

I'm less interested in who you're local club is, more interested in whether people have an active role in them.

Sure, everyone has got a local club that they played for 12 years ago in the Under 15's and they check out the A Grade scores in the paper once in a while.

But I want to know who plays, who coaches, who is on committees and who goes along every Saturday arvo and sinks piss.

And, if you don't have an active, coal-face role at one of these local clubs then why not? And what does it say about your relationship with football?

I'm less interested in who you're local club is, more interested in whether people have an active role in them.

Sure, everyone has got a local club that they played for 12 years ago in the Under 15's and they check out the A Grade scores in the paper once in a while.

But I want to know who plays, who coaches, who is on committees and who goes along every Saturday arvo and sinks piss.

And, if you don't have an active, coal-face role at one of these local clubs then why not? And what does it say about your relationship with football?

Last time i made a post which included my roles and involvement in local football, I got shot down as irrelevant. Most here only see the AFL and dont grasp the importance of, and sheer pleasure and mateship to be gained from, local footy.

I love local footy I've been raised on it and been involved in it for ten years already and I have made some outstanding friends from it. I'm only in my early twenties so I should have another ten years to go before chlidren/marriage and the like begin to take over.

If you play for Flinders I will most likely line up against you! We have a few guys at the blacks who go to Flinders.

Well that's a shame.

I'll put it out there that anyone who doesn't have a direct involvement in football is only a psuedo-football fan, who enjoys football on a superficial level, akin to someone who is a movie buff.

... I'll put it out there that anyone who doesn't have a direct involvement in football is only a psuedo-football fan, who enjoys football on a superficial level, akin to someone who is a movie buff.

You must be talking about 20+ year's involvement, training twice a week, playing Sat and Sun, and when duty team marking grounds, manning the bar and of course, the umpiring. Playing your own game, sometimes a second when numbers are short, buying your own equipment and transporting team mates. Then going on the committee, managing a sub-committee, donating goods, money and time to make it work: then coaching a junior team, extra evening at training and extra Sat morning matches, and still donating gear to kids who couldn't afford it otherwise. Scoring, umpiring, washing kit, taking own kids to training and games AND managing not to second guess their coach.

That what you are talking about, Carl?

Been there, done that, but the sport wasn't Football.

And when I was a kid I played rugby, 'cos we came from England and that's what my Dad and big brother played. Only made B grade, but loved it anyway, and took it seriously. But that wasn't the sport I made a major contribution to, either.

At school - too long ago to remember, almost, I played rugby in winter and rowed in summer.

I have always enjoyed sport, played sport and contributed to sport (give the man a medal, or at least a chest to pin it on!) :rolleyes:.

But until I became a Crow's fan I only had the most tenuous connection with football, a distant Sturt supporter as a kid, and the sport I was connected to locally had a tenuous connection to Roopena Football Club. I still visit it once a week, but only for a few wines and some spins on the pokies.

So I guess by your standards I'm a psuedo-football fan, superficial, not worth consideration?

You know what - I resent that! :mad:

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd: Consider these inverted with fingers extended.

:D

You are however a fan of local sport. Whether it is Rugby, Footbal or Soccer you understand sport at its grass roots.

So I guess by your standards I'm a psuedo-football fan, superficial, not worth consideration?
Would you consider that you had a more in depth knowledge and deeper love of rugby or football?