A Question

• Thread starter Thread starter Tommo

No one expects us to win 9 in a row each year, but we should have won atleast 9 games at Subi in each of the last four years.

Last year we went 6-6 at Subi, which isn't good enough. You could probably count on one hand the number of non-derby games the 2006 premiers have lost at subi since 2001.

dominguez said:
No one expects us to win 9 in a row each year, but we should have won atleast 9 games at Subi in each of the last four years.

Last year we went 6-6 at Subi, which isn't good enough. You could probably count on one hand the number of non-derby games the 2006 premiers have lost at subi since 2001.
I give up Wallsy, you win. We should have won the last three flags and it's all the coaches fault that we haven't. We'll sack everyone of the FFC hierachy and give you the job. Things couldn't have gone any worse for FFC since Connolly's time here. He's recruited a list full of old hacks on their last legs and it's time to start all again. It's a wonder the players have managed to win any games at all under his tyranical reign.

In all seriousness, I fail to see the point in debating anymore. If you think it's all bad I'm not going to change your mind anyway.

This stuff about us underforming 04 & 05 is rubbish.The fixture we've been given made it so hard for us to make the eight let alone top four with the team we had.Just because people rate our squad as great doesn't mean they are right and even if they are it takes time.How many people said brissie are under achieving in '98 when they finished last with 5 wins?how many said they would win 16 the next year '99 and be in a prelim?Did they again call "sack the coach" when they only won 12 in '00 and lost in the semi by 80pts?none.If they did they probably wouldn't of won the next 3 G.F's.I like that"Walls Protocal":D

Blaming the draw is making excuses IMHO.We know we are going to play 10 away games each year, whether they are in Melbourne, Brisbane, Tassie, Darwin, Sydney or Adelaide you are looking at 3 to 5 hours each way. If you are good enough you will win enough games to make the finals, considering half the teams do each year. Things like a 6 day break after away games makes things tough, but we had a lot of those this year and still won 10 of 12 at Subi so it obviously didn't affect the players much.

Roundhouse said:
I give up Wallsy, you win. We should have won the last three flags and it's all the coaches fault that we haven't. We'll sack everyone of the FFC hierachy and give you the job. Things couldn't have gone any worse for FFC since Connolly's time here. He's recruited a list full of old hacks on their last legs and it's time to start all again. It's a wonder the players have managed to win any games at all under his tyranical reign.

In all seriousness, I fail to see the point in debating anymore. If you think it's all bad I'm not going to change your mind anyway.

Re-read post #21.

I think we underachieved in 2004 and 2005, but I'm excited about 2007 and beyond and hope it all works out for Connolly.

Roundhouse said:
I give up Wallsy, you win.

There is no point debating with Dom. he has his opinion and there is no room for anything else, especially perspective.

dominguez said:
Where did I state that Connolly has traded for Farmer, Croad, McPharlin and Simmonds? I wrote that they arrived at the club after the 2001 season.

Where did I write that we gave up draft picks to recruit all of those players? I wrote that we have recruited a lot of experienced players and given up a lot of draft picks in the process, I did not say that we have used draft picks to recruit each of those players.

Where did I criticise our recruiting and drafting under Connolly? All I stated was that we have traded for a lot of experienced players, which should improve results in the short term. Hawthorn have gone the other way and tried to trade for as many draft picks as possible which was very brave of Clarkson.

Maybe you should actually read peoples posts before getting on the front foot, because all of your avenues of criticism were unwarranted.

dominguez said:
We have traded for the short term and if we don't consistently win finals Connolly is to blame.

That quote comes at the end of you listing those players. You are playing petty semantics, and your post clearly blames Connolly. Once again, no perspective.

theGav56 said:
There is no point debating with Dom. he has his opinion and there is no room for anything else, especially perspective.

I wrote a couple of posts yesterday then deleted them before posting for that very reason!

At least he has the passion! Has he kissed a man in a spur of the moment thing at the footy though? :)

I fail to see the need for insults just because we have a difference of opinion.

I think we undeperformed in 2004 and 2005 because Connolly failed to get the best from his players, but the second half of 2006 was very encouraging. Others don't think that we were underperforming prior to the break this year, and they are welcome to that opinion.

Internet forums would be a waste of time if everyone agreed.

Differences of opinion one can respect, but when people start telling others how to think that kinda takes the fun out of it.

dominguez said:
I fail to see the need for insults just because we have a difference of opinion.

I think we undeperformed in 2004 and 2005 because Connolly failed to get the best from his players, but the second half of 2006 was very encouraging. Others don't think that we were underperforming prior to the break this year, and they are welcome to that opinion.

Internet forums would be a waste of time if everyone agreed.

It's all about perspective. You say we underachived but I actually believe we overachieved in 03 and were right about where we were supposed to be in 04 and 05.

We missed the finals by four and two points respectively in those years. How many close victories did we have in 03? (I recall Adelaide and Brisbane at home and the Kangaroos away). In reality, we just scraped in.

fat wombat said:
Differences of opinion one can respect, but when people start telling others how to think that kinda takes the fun out of it.

Where did I tell anyone what to think?

pants said:
It's all about perspective. You say we underachived but I actually believe we overachieved in 03 and were right about where we were supposed to be in 04 and 05.

We missed the finals by four and two points respectively in those years. How many close victories did we have in 03? (I recall Adelaide and Brisbane at home and the Kangaroos away). In reality, we just scraped in.

But surely if 2004 and 2005 were an accurate indication of our ability we overachieved in the second half of this year?

A team that could only win half of its games for 2 1/2 years playing at their best shouldn't be able to win 9 on the trot.

pants said:

We beat Adelaide & the Roos by a point and Brisbane by 3 points. We could easily have been 11-11 in 2003.

I actually think too many people rely on win/loss and ladder position.

Over the seasons our percentage tells a tale
2001 72.02%
2002 88.33%
2003 103.13%
2004 100.64%
2005 100.15%
2006 109.83%

It seems from that that 2003-2005 were at around the same level but factoring in injuries (We had a dream injury run in 2003) and significantly tougher fixtures in 2005 & 2006 there is no doubt in my mind that we have improved year by year.

It took until round 6 2005 for us to notch up a win against a top 8 side away something last achieved in our breakthrogh first win in 2001.

Every year since 2001 our "best" footy has been better than the previous years.

Ripper said:
We beat Adelaide & the Roos by a point and Brisbane by 3 points. We could easily have been 11-11 in 2003.

I actually think too many people rely on win/loss and ladder position.

Over the seasons our percentage tells a tale
2001 72.02%
2002 88.33%
2003 103.13%
2004 100.64%
2005 100.15%
2006 109.83%

It seems from that that 2003-2005 were at around the same level but factoring in injuries (We had a dream injury run in 2003) and significantly tougher fixtures in 2005 & 2006 there is no doubt in my mind that we have improved year by year.

It took until round 6 2005 for us to notch up a win against a top 8 side away something last achieved in our breakthrogh first win in 2001.

Every year since 2001 our "best" footy has been better than the previous years.

Good points in fact each year we have achieved first time records.Also the changes to the team dont always work straight away it takes time to get use to the new players,positions,structures etc..

dominguez said:

Saying that people are insulting you is an insult.

What people have said (me) is that you fail to have perspective.

An insult would be that you are narrow minded twerp who only has room for his own opinions, and lack the mental agility to engage in a debate. But no-one has said that. Or that you are a troll who wants to force feed your negativity about, let's see, Connolly, Des Headland, recruiting eg on to others. That would be an insult.

dominguez said:
Blaming the draw is making excuses IMHO.We know we are going to play 10 away games each year, whether they are in Melbourne, Brisbane, Tassie, Darwin, Sydney or Adelaide you are looking at 3 to 5 hours each way. If you are good enough you will win enough games to make the finals, considering half the teams do each year. Things like a 6 day break after away games makes things tough, but we had a lot of those this year and still won 10 of 12 at Subi so it obviously didn't affect the players much.

Its not an excuse its reality that the draw effects your season.Saying a six day break is just the same.So collingwood plays 10 away games 8 of them- 2 in S.A,Syd,Queen,2 W.A.Geel and Tassie and they wouldn't use it as a reason for a struggling year.Yeah right.

The fact is we are a footy club.
Objective of footy club= win enough games to play finals( consistency)=play in grand final = win premiership.

We havent done this, we do have a dismal trade record,I live in Darwin and A.Mcleod is up here atm, every time I see him I remember the story of him and his dad going to meet Neesham.

McCleod was about 17, Neesham looked at him and said, I have never seen you play and I know nothing about you.
McCleods dad got up grabbed Andrew and walked out.

Things like this show we have had problems with management etc for a long time.

I like CC and I think that Freo have a good list,I think he may have some favourites that need a poke with a catle prod( that be you Des) but we shouldnt get carried away and we should not accept anything but the absolute best we can get from our list.

We have had 1/2 a very good season.

Good teams have 4-5 good seasons in a row.

Otherwise like all nonperforming workplaces the leaders should go.

dockers_bengals said:
Its not an excuse its reality that the draw effects your season.Saying a six day break is just the same.So collingwood plays 10 away games 8 of them- 2 in S.A,Syd,Queen,2 W.A.Geel and Tassie and they wouldn't use it as a reason for a struggling year.Yeah right.

Obviously if a Victorian team all of a sudden had to play 10 away games it would make things difficult. But we play 12 at Subi, 10 interstate, and it doesn't really matter who and where we play those 10 away games.

Sometimes during a season I look at our next month of fixtures and think it looks really tough, but that just means we are going to have or have already had a run of games against lower ranked teams at some stage during the same season. IMO we had our toughest draw this year because we had so many 6 day breaks after away games, but we also had our most succesful season.

dominguez said:
Obviously if a Victorian team all of a sudden had to play 10 away games it would make things difficult. But we play 12 at Subi, 10 interstate, and it doesn't really matter who and where we play those 10 away games.

I respectfully disagree there. The major gripe the club has with the fixture is having six day breaks after playing away.

Our first half of 2005 was full of them.

It was no co-incidence that our form improved after they evend out a bit.

theGav56 said:
Saying that people are insulting you is an insult.

What people have said (me) is that you fail to have perspective.

An insult would be that you are narrow minded twerp who only has room for his own opinions, and lack the mental agility to engage in a debate. But no-one has said that. Or that you are a troll who wants to force feed your negativity about, let's see, Connolly, Des Headland, recruiting eg on to others. That would be an insult.

Easy tiger. I think you've been listening to some Pat Benatar.

Livin with my eyes closed, goin day to day
I never knew the difference, I never cared either way
Lookin for a reason, searchin for a sign
Reachin out with both hands, I gotta feel the kick inside
All fired up
Now I believe there comes a time
All fired up
When everything just falls in line
All fired up
We live an learn from our mistakes
All fired up, fired up, fired up - hey

dominguez said:
Obviously if a Victorian team all of a sudden had to play 10 away games it would make things difficult.

According to your theory they know they are playing those games away before they start the season and its not suddenly they have about 5 or 6 months to prepare so its no excuse.

dominguez said:

Livin with my eyes closed, goin day to day
I never knew the difference, I never cared either way
Lookin for a reason, searchin for a sign
Reachin out with both hands, I gotta feel the kick inside
All fired up
All fired up, fired up, fired up - hey

How about ...

The deepest cuts are healed by faith

dominguez said:

You've got to pass the time somehow.

Agree that a series of six day breaks is a killer, and it was clearly identified by the club early in the year as a problem, which was followed by the "sudden" turnaround. The reality is there will always be good and bad draws, and sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.