A Section A Section Amateur Football

bendigo said:
Nice to see Rambo finally getting the recognition he deserves from the umpires. It seems that for once he has been CAUGHT hitting someone, and got two weeks for it. Thank god he can't win the Woodrow this year, after last year's debacle. Hopefully this is a wakeup call to all A Section umpires: RAMBO HITS PEOPLE!

A couple of interesting reports in the North Brunny 2's on Saturday as well. There's a 'behaving in a threatening manner towards an umpire (5 Weeks), and a 'striking' (8 weeks), must be classic footy down there.

Rambo's not a thug- just one of the best amatuer players of our time.

Richo- true champion said:
Rambo's not a thug- just one of the best amatuer players of our time.

One of the most ordinary blokes on the field but a good guy off the field, love him or hate him he's a great footballer

Supa Frank said:
OT won't win against De La this week away without Rambo!!!

Upset of the week OMs to beat OH, good week on the track and we have set ourselves for this one!!!

When supa frank says "we" he actually means "I". His views are neither representative nor condoned by the group at OMs.

We will have a crack this week against OH, like we have given it a crack for 90% of this largely unsuccessful season. The boys are sticking thick through this time and attempting to build something for the long-term future of the club.

It would be great to have a win this week, although I would hazard to predict a victory against a very strong (although out of form) Haileybury side. Thats not to say it might not happen!

the big dog said:
When supa frank says "we" he actually means "I". His views are neither representative nor condoned by the group at OMs.

We will have a crack this week against OH, like we have given it a crack for 90% of this largely unsuccessful season. The boys are sticking thick through this time and attempting to build something for the long-term future of the club.

It would be great to have a win this week, although I would hazard to predict a victory against a very strong (although out of form) Haileybury side. Thats not to say it might not happen!

Dear The Big Dog
If you know what the group thinks, tell everyone why it has been in your words a LARGELY UNSUCCESSFUL SEASON?
Regards
SF

More than happy to have a chat with you Frank one on one about what has gone wrong this year. I'm not however into the practice of bagging the club / players / coaches on Big Footy like you seem so quick to do.

By the way, if its been such a good week on the track, what are you doing posting threads at 6:30pm on a training night?

the big dog said:
More than happy to have a chat with you Frank one on one about what has gone wrong this year. I'm not however into the practice of bagging the club / players / coaches on Big Footy like you seem so quick to do.

By the way, if its been such a good week on the track, what are you doing posting threads at 6:30pm on a training night?

Is "Supa Frank" a codename for Jason Akermanis? What seems to stand out on this thread is that SF may be more suited to an individual sport.

Super Frank, great prediction with the OM's beating OH hahaha OM's are a bunch of losers you should know this by now!

They will struggle to win another game this year, I only have 1 thing to say about OM'S

:D :D :D B GRADE :D :D :D

It just tightens up even further after the weekends results! Unbelievable season panning out, where only a game separates 2nd from 7th.

OS - Surely certainties from here? Were a little lucky against a depleted and wasteful OI, but still got over the line.

OX - Building nicely, a little like the Sainters. Very interesting match against OI this week, who were injury hit last time around as well. Season shaping for both teams.

OH - Big win over OM's, but do they have much left in them? My tip is no. Will miss out on finals.

OI - No Hope. No Low. No Looby. No Toovey. No Branigan. No Gieschen. No Weddle. No McKeon. No Crowley. No chance?

UB - The sleeping giant. Big games ahead, but likely to sneak through unless both OI and OH can put a decent team on the park.

DLS - Too small to really challenge, excellent season so far from a young team

OT - Woeful %, but have put together some excellent and spirited performances of late. Rambo's 2 matches out could prove to be a tragedy.

St B - Inconsequential.

OM (Eagles) - Gone.

OM - Gone.

whispers81 said:
OS - Surely certainties from here? Were a little lucky against a depleted and wasteful OI, but still got over the line.

OX - Building nicely, a little like the Sainters. Very interesting match against OI this week, who were injury hit last time around as well. Season shaping for both teams.

OH - Big win over OM's, but do they have much left in them? My tip is no. Will miss out on finals.

OI - No Hope. No Low. No Looby. No Toovey. No Branigan. No Gieschen. No Weddle. No McKeon. No Crowley. No chance?

UB - The sleeping giant. Big games ahead, but likely to sneak through unless both OI and OH can put a decent team on the park.

DLS - Too small to really challenge, excellent season so far from a young team

OT - Woeful %, but have put together some excellent and spirited performances of late. Rambo's 2 matches out could prove to be a tragedy.

St B - Inconsequential.

OM (Eagles) - Gone.

OM - Gone.

I went to the OS VS OI Clash, OS never looked like loosing, far better side than Ivanhoe, all i could hear from the Ivanhoe Supporters was if we had a full team we could beat them ect ect!!! all teams have injuries it's no excuse.

Whispers 81 - I agree with most your comments below, good work mate, UB have a pretty easy 5 games left they should see some finals action

My Top 4

OS
OX
UB
OH

Pretty much the same top 4 it has been for the last 2-3 years.

holding said:
I went to the OS VS OI Clash, OS never looked like loosing, far better side than Ivanhoe, all i could hear from the Ivanhoe Supporters was if we had a full team we could beat them ect ect!!! all teams have injuries it's no excuse.

I was there too, and partially agree. But surely losing Low and Toovey in the first quarter, and Looby in the second is not using gratuitous exucuses? Having the full use of a bench would've been quite handy I'd have thought, particularly when you take into account how important those three players are to the make up of OI.

Oh absolutly

OS lost Pugsley (who was killing it) in the first 1/4 & they also lost another 2 player who i am not familiar with 1 off which was also playing very well. That left OS with only 1 on the bench for the percentage of the second half as well so both teams were in the same position.

I also heard Barry Price on the Radio on the way home they were also missing Gnatt and Kitchen who were both late withdrawls so like all other clubs it appears OS have a solid injury list as well? Someone from Scotch may be able to confirm?

Holding,

Can you comment on the standard of the whistle blowers?

From my vantage point they had no bearing on the game, however, the stocks of umpires who will be umpiring Under 19's (Red) will be increased by 2!!!

No worries Max

I don't support either team i just went to watch a top of the table clash thinking it would be a good game.

First half OS got a fantastic run with the umpires, there was plenty of free kicks going there way, some were there but certainly not all of them. In the 3rd Quater (OI won the 3rd by 2-3 goals) I would have to say OI got a much better run and there was a number of Free's given that resulted in a OI goals, 4th quater it was pretty ordinary all round.

I wouldn't say it effected the result but OS got a pretty good run of free's down back, the crowd (both sides) were very frustrated as there probably 6-8 goals that resulted from free kicks (50-50 for both sides)

look, like any game there was some very very bad decisions, the one i remember is a mark OS took in the goal square, he easily held it for long enough and it was knocked loose at the last min and was not paid it would have been a certain goal. I was actually standing up that end and the OI supporters near me said Gee we got let off there.

There was a couple of stages they almost lost control of the game but thankfully didn't all round it was pretty ordinary and frustrating at times but i don't think it effected the outcome which i guess is the main thing.

Max Leader said:
Holding,

Can you comment on the standard of the whistle blowers?

From my vantage point they had no bearing on the game, however, the stocks of umpires who will be umpiring Under 19's (Red) will be increased by 2!!!

Max they were terrible... Jonesy was hot and cold and the other bloke had a terrible day at the office... honestly he needs a couple games in B grade to get his form back!

And to not be bias... they were terrible for both teams... as holding put it there was two times a mark wasnt paid to scotch after the bloke held it for an eternity... and "Chuck Norris" running the boundry coped a serious pasting when his ambitions to be a field umpire came out and sent off an OI bloke for a small trickle of blood...

can some clarify that a small trickle from under and bandage can be fixed by a trainer on the gound these days cant it?

Good to see the VAFA get tough with behind the play incidents by suspending Kenna from Trinity for 6 weeks. His hit on the De La Salle player was one of the weakest and most cowardly things I've ever seen on the football field. In my opinion he was lucky to get 6. Players like this do not belong in the Amateurs.

Sir Jack said:
Good to see the VAFA get tough with behind the play incidents by suspending Kenna from Trinity for 6 weeks. His hit on the De La Salle player was one of the weakest and most cowardly things I've ever seen on the football field. In my opinion he was lucky to get 6. Players like this do not belong in the Amateurs.

What were the details??

Bell Ringer said:
Roundhouse punch from behind to the face of a bloke pulling-up on a shepherd about 10-15 metres defensive-side from the ball-carrier. Dog act.

he deserved everything he got then!

That's right, Jarred Moloney of DLS. He was knocked out before he hit the ground and broke his collarbone as a result. It was at least 10m off the ball. Absolutely disgraceful act. If I was Trinity I'd be telling him to look elsewhere next year.

chelsworthgale said:
he deserved everything he got then!

You are an idiot mate. 'Pulling-up' on a shepherd means that he was going to go for a shepherd but decided not to go through with it because the ball was a long way away.

If it is true that the guy was immediately knocked out and broke his collarbone then Kenna should have got more than 6 weeks. A collarbone is an 8 week injury so he should get at least what he caused. Add in that it was reportedly behind play and could have caused serious concussion I would have given him 10 weeks. That sort of ***** has no place in amateur footy.

Traditional rivals OX and OI are playing this week!!

Maybe they should play for the Aaron Lord Cup!!

To determine the winner, take the score from Saturday's game, multiply the score by the Salary that each club was able to get him, then add the number of times he trained and divide this number by the number of games he played.

eg

OI scores 80 points
Salary $100,000 (according to the AGE)
Times Trained 0
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 100,000 + (0/0) = 8,000,000

vs

OX scores 80 points
Salary $65,000 (just a guess)
Times Trained 2
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 65,000 + (2/0) = 5,200,000

The winner gets his signature for 2007

OX would need to win by 45 points to get the prized signature for 2007

What a loser!

cobey said:
You are an idiot mate. 'Pulling-up' on a shepherd means that he was going to go for a shepherd but decided not to go through with it because the ball was a long way away.

If it is true that the guy was immediately knocked out and broke his collarbone then Kenna should have got more than 6 weeks. A collarbone is an 8 week injury so he should get at least what he caused. Add in that it was reportedly behind play and could have caused serious concussion I would have given him 10 weeks. That sort of ***** has no place in amateur footy.

ok clown... im talking about kenna... he deserved everything he got... I know what 'pulling up' on a shepherd means and if Moloney was pulling up because the ball was on its way down the ground and Kenna hit him from behind then yeah I agree with your 10 week reasoning... as for your first bit, bite you pillow and chew clown!