bloods01

Luke Ablett is currently out of contract. He has not been delisted by the club, but he hasn't been offered a new deal either.

Is he a must keep or can we afford to lose him. Personally I would much rather play a kid instead. Thoughts?

Luke Ablett is currently out of contract. He has not been delisted by the club, but he hasn't been offered a new deal either.

Is he a must keep or can we afford to lose him. Personally I would much rather play a kid instead. Thoughts?

...we can afford to lose him, really atm, would he get a game with the additions of Kennedy and McGlynn?

I don't want to lose him.

He did not have the best of years but he is the only player applying bump/crash/tackle pressure in the forward line. Without Hall next year having a player across the half forward line playing like this is essential as already it is a major weakness watching teams collect the ball and running it out with immunity.

Ablett's season was horribly interrupted but in my mind we still look better for his presence.

i'm genuinely suprised NOG hasn't been offered a new contract, as it seemed that he had always been rated very highly internally by the club

but saying that, his form over the course of the last few years have been relatively poor, and youngsters are now more than capable of taking over a senior position he once held, despite his improved form in the latter part of this season

i'm not particularly fussed on what the club's decision may be..... but i'll certainly be pissed if NOG goes but Kennelly is allowed to return

In a year where we have lost so many experienced senior players, I think it's important that we keep someone like Ablett around. In the short term he will add more value than any kid we pick up at #55.

Could it maybe be more of a case of Ablett not knowing whether he wants to continue and they are giving him time to make up his mind?

I don't understand that "He isn't in the best 22, therefore get rid of him" attitude.

How many weeks of the year do we have our full squad fit and available?

I'm going to say that the answer is 0 or close to it.

The difference between a team in the finals and a team outside the finals is in the last 5 or 6 places in your 22. When the season is in full swing, injuries have naturally taken their toll, Ablett is going to be a good option to have - he is a versatile, experienced player.

i'd say keep him as a depth player. If everyone's fit i don't see a spot for him, and he has lost a step. I like his game but i think the bell is tolling for Nog.

Keep him. No harm in having coverage. Just like keeping Playfair. No harm in having a bit of insurance in case the injuries stack up.

I dont think it is true that we dont have anyone who can do his job, as i seem to say on different threads once every 2 days, Bevo should be a permanent forward. But that doesnt stop NOG from being experienced, a solid body and a leader who knows our system in what is now a young list.

i'd say keep him as a depth player. If everyone's fit i don't see a spot for him, and he has lost a step. I like his game but i think the bell is tolling for Nog.

Agreed, however, he is only getting older and slower, as each year passes. Also he has shown that his foot skills let him down in games too often (when an "experienced" player should have this area as his core skill and value-add). Thus no matter which way you break it down - I'm afraid to say he is no longer good enough for our list. Thanks for your blood, sweat & tears Noggy but time to pull the pin mate.

I think the fact that Paul Roos and the coaching staff have not offered him a contract has answered your question, especially seeing as we have lost alot of experience at the end of 09.

WE CAN DETERMINATELY AFFORD TO LOOSE HIM!!!

I dont think he will get picked up by another AFL club either. He is to slow now for the speed of AFL. At best he would be a depth player but I would prefer playing a kid.

He has played really well for the Swans over the years, especially in our height from 03 to 06. Congrats and good luck to your future endeavors.

keeep but if he wants to leave let himm

I don't want to lose him.

He did not have the best of years but he is the only player applying bump/crash/tackle pressure in the forward line. Without Hall next year having a player across the half forward line playing like this is essential as already it is a major weakness watching teams collect the ball and running it out with immunity.

Ablett's season was horribly interrupted but in my mind we still look better for his presence.

Couldn't agree more.

When fit he is definitely in our best 22. He's actually quite quick, has a big tank and gets to a lot of contests. He's often 3rd up in the ruck, he puts enormous defensive pressure into our f50 and is one tough SOB.

Maybe Roos is waiting to see how his pre-season is gonna shape up. My bet is he gets a 1yr contract

Couldn't agree more.

When fit he is definitely in our best 22.

Debatable, particularly in light of his performance over the last few seasons and the trading in of a couple of inside midfielders. I haven't tried to do our best 22 yet but he would be a possibility for the bench at best

He's actually quite quick, has a big tank and gets to a lot of contests.

His speed is OK, I wouldn't consider him quick. I reckon he has an ordinary tank which would help explain why he has never averaged more than 15 possessions per game in 7 years at the Swans, and has never had a 30 possession game

He's often 3rd up in the ruck, he puts enormous defensive pressure into our f50 and is one tough SOB.

He's hard at it and good in the clinches, but unfortunately all he does when he gets it is kick blindly. I think Jack or Bevan do a better job in the f50 and apply just as much pressure

Maybe Roos is waiting to see how his pre-season is gonna shape up. My bet is he gets a 1yr contract

I agree he'll probably get 1 year, I'd be very suprised if he was delisted as he's always been a Roos lovechild. I would keep him on the list for depth

Couldn't agree more.

When fit he is definitely in our best 22. He's actually quite quick, has a big tank and gets to a lot of contests. He's often 3rd up in the ruck, he puts enormous defensive pressure into our f50 and is one tough SOB.

I don't agree at all that he's in our best 22. He might've been at the start of the season, but even that's debatable.

If all players were fit, I would struggle to put him in a best 25. Very tough, brave player but his ongoing fitness problems, on top of his questionable skills, have left him where he is right now ... on the outer.

Good luck to him if he wants to go elsewhere.

keep for depth if nothing else. i think he goes alright, solid player. i don't agree with the a kid(pick 55) would be a better option heaps of kids go through the system and have absolutely no impact at least you know what you'll get with ablett. if he wants to leave though good luck to him.

I reckon it is likely the club has sat down with Ablett and offered him a 1 year deal. They have then gone on to say that his opportunities may be limited in 2010, and it would be worth his while testing the market to see whether he can get a better (or longer term) deal.

If not, he'll be signed to us for 1 year.

Just my thoughts.