Academy Watch

Flip side to this conversation is that young players lose the structure that they need if they're drafted a year later.
Any 19 year old will develop better at an AFL club than at a lower level. Our lower level pathways really aren't at a comparable level/don't have the funding to be a viable alternative like the collegiate pathways in the US.

Flip side to this conversation is that young players lose the structure that they need if they're drafted a year later.
Any 19 year old will develop better at an AFL club than at a lower level. Our lower level pathways really aren't at a comparable level/don't have the funding to be a viable alternative like the collegiate pathways in the US.

So what's the difference between being 17 or 18? Just school?

The coates league and junior leagues would change to be under 19s

Strange strawman to build. Nobody's advocating for a reduction in the draft age.
If you can't recognise the importance of structure, especially for adolescents, there's not much point forcing a dialogue.

Strange strawman to build. Nobody's advocating for a reduction in the draft age.
If you can't recognise the importance of structure, especially for adolescents, there's not much point forcing a dialogue.

I didn't mean it that way. I meant what's the difference between now when most are 17 in their final year or if they were 18 for that year?

All the comps just run an extra year and possible start a year later. No change in structure they just don't have school and probably have uni or a part time job instead

I didn't mean it that way. I meant what's the difference between now when most are 17 in their final year or if they were 18 for that year?

All the comps just run an extra year and possible start a year later. No change in structure they just don't have school and probably have uni or a part time job instead
Appreciate you didn't mean it that way. A prospect goes from 12+ years of routine through schooling to trying to find a balance between work/uni and footy.
Unless you can ensure they're going into a program that is going to help ease that transition and more importantly spend a comparable amount on developing that talent. The best option is still going to be the 18yo drafted by an AFL club.
Further to your point, with the proper structures in place there's nothing to stop you from going younger à la soccer. To go older though you'd need much more developed talent pathways.

Appreciate you didn't mean it that way. A prospect goes from 12+ years of routine through schooling to trying to find a balance between work/uni and footy.
Unless you can ensure they're going into a program that is going to help ease that transition and more importantly spend a comparable amount on developing that talent. The best option is still going to be the 18yo drafted by an AFL club.
Further to your point, with the proper structures in place there's nothing to stop you from going younger à la soccer. To go older though you'd need much more developed talent pathways.

Why do you need a more developed pathway? You just have the same pathway extended for another year

Because one pathway (AFL) spends six figures on a 19yo player, while the other pathway may as well be non-existent by comparison.
If you want to keep players out of that system there needs to be a viable alternative.

I'm not entirely sure hwo it works in all states, but I think in QLD and Vic, their school years are like financial years.

If you were born July 1 2006 to June 30 2007 then you were in Year 12 this year.

It's only draft year for the kids July 1 2006 - 31 Dec 2006

So if you're in a big APS school with an elite footy program, then probably no worries.

But if you are at school in QLD, or not at a big footy school - the ability to focus on footy in your draft year is more difficult while balancing year 12.

I would think its definitely an advantage to be born between Jan and June, and not just for draft reasons.

Suns not happy with Lions playing 5 x 19 year olds!
They should be happy. Playing against slightly bigger bodies will speed up their development without the pounding they would take playing against fully grown men.

Clips from last weekends Academy match vs GWS:

Dan Annable #23

Ryan Gilder #34

And a few clips of some of the underagers (2026 Draft) that may be of interest

Underagers:
Caylen Murray #18
Cooper Hodge #13
Matthew Owen #8

Hodge and Bridge got a lot ball and did great off half back. Murray and Owen got plenty of ball, if they can work on their ground ball and cleanliness they’ll be more midfield prospects for Brisbane 🤦‍♂️. GWS did a job on Annable around stoppages, credit where it’s due they had a plan to shut him down and did a good job of it. But he impacted when he got his hands on the ball, the kids ground ball, hands, vision and decision making are absolutely elite. Pulled off some great passes as well so looks like he’s been to work on his kicking. Gilder as an overager was everywhere and hard, if he kicked straight he’d have a few majors as well. Had some on ball time. Freed up from solely back line. One of the best games I’ve seen from him. Is that the age or is it the freedom given to him? Took some quality contested marks in the forward line. All round quality game from Brisbane but plenty of talent and game in the GWS squad as well.

Do we look at Gilder in the mid season draft?

Will we have a pick, with McCarthy’s second ACL.

We retain academy rights to Gilder, so he might be more of a national draft chance at the end of the season.
Given Linc is trying to get back before the end of the season to keep his flag dream alive, it'd be cruel to end his season for a MSD pick unless it was obvious to him that he wouldn't be fit in time.

Do we look at Gilder in the mid season draft?

Will we have a pick, with McCarthy’s second ACL.

We retain academy rights to Gilder, so he might be more of a national draft chance at the end of the season.
Does this mean if someone else bids on him in the MSD, we can match?

Looks a prospect. About 189cm from the look of him but hard to tell from the vision. We lack key position depth. Doodle and Gardiner returning from injury. Lloyd interrupted pre season. ZZ and Gallop needing development, and a fair way off it. If he was bid on MSD, you would think we would match even if tough on McCarthy.

Does this mean if someone else bids on him in the MSD, we can match?

Looks a prospect. About 189cm from the look of him but hard to tell from the vision. We lack key position depth. Doodle and Gardiner returning from injury. Lloyd interrupted pre season. ZZ and Gallop needing development, and a fair way off it. If he was bid on MSD, you would think we would match even if tough on McCarthy.
We can’t match in the mid season draft.

I reckon he is taller than 191cm. But he isn't key position height.

His kicking remains his kryptonite, athletically he has it all. Speed, power, agility and a huge leap. Not afraid to put his head over it and can crash packs from any angle - he is tough as nails and versatile.

However as many recruiters will say - can't kick, can't play.

Took some very impressive pack marks vs GWS, but when he was in the middle he turned everything over.

Academy Watch