Accuracy NRL v AFL

think your the one that doesn't know what his talking about

Former League player Clinton Schifoske recently called league a simple game with not much skill when he was comparing it to Union after his switch

The truth is 90% of League players couldn't kick a ball over 20m and hit a target

I beg to differ my dear friend, most RL players don't NEED to kick the ball, however they do need to be able to tackle effectively for 80mins. What's the point of a RL forward kicking a ball 10m, 20m 50m whatever, if he can't tackle? Who's going to stop the other team scoring???:eek:

Mate, I suggest you do a little research on union - league history. Rugby Union for years has used the media for point scoring against RL, and this is exactly what Schifcofske was doing. Refer to Mat Rogers recent comments.

Also answer me this, if RL is the simple game why is RU full of ex RL coaches and not the other way around. You see my friend, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Why on earth do they drop-kick in RL? That was phased out 30 years ago in Aussie Rules. Seems an unlikely kicking method.

I could be wrong but I thought you had to drop kick a field goal, a normal drop punt does'nt count as a field goal.

It's simple, the only deluded person here would have to be you .In RL you need plenty of skills, and the kicking part of it the AFL couldnt even come close to RL standards,how accurate is the kicking in AFL?if it was so accurate then why do you get a point for missing lol.:eek:

You get a point for missing so we don't end up with a ****load of draws, the same reason rugby has a field goal option to break the deadlock. Without points you'd have plenty of 14 goals to 14 goals draws for example.

I beg to differ my dear friend, most RL players don't NEED to kick the ball, however they do need to be able to tackle effectively for 80mins. What's the point of a RL forward kicking a ball 10m, 20m 50m whatever, if he can't tackle? Who's going to stop the other team scoring???:eek:

Mate, I suggest you do a little research on union - league history. Rugby Union for years has used the media for point scoring against RL, and this is exactly what Schifcofske was doing. Refer to Mat Rogers recent comments.

Also answer me this, if RL is the simple game why is RU full of ex RL coaches and not the other way around. You see my friend, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Why are AFL people coaching kicking in rugby, I thought you were saying rugby players were better kicks?

Show me where I said rugby league players are better kickers than AFL players? I'll give you a week to find that one.

Ex league players are EMPLOYED to coach union players, tactics and technique a bit different to an AFL player popping down to training once a year, otherwise the same can be said about league players teaching half hearted AFL players how to tackle properly.

You get a point for missing so we don't end up with a ****load of draws, the same reason rugby has a field goal option to break the deadlock. Without points you'd have plenty of 14 goals to 14 goals draws for example.

Field goals were worth 2pts, the same as a goal, upto 1971. Draws were quite acceptable until TV stations decided they wanted golden point.

I do not know what an offside rule in RL is, and I would appreciate if you'd enlighten me (minus the snideness if you could). I am genuinely interested.

If you stand in front of the kicker when he kicks the ball, you are deemed to be offside and you cannot come within 10 meters of play. If you catch the ball from a pass and you are in front of the passer when you catch it, you can be deemed to be offside too. If you pick up the ball from a player who knocks it on and you were in front of that player, then you are deemed to be offside.

3 cases of offside play.

You could try http://nrl.com.au and look for rules of the game if you really want to get some guidelines.

Don't confuse them mate, they are use to a sport that requires very little thought.

Oh c'mon, aussie rules has some of the most complex rules of any sport - especially with the AFL changing them every year. That's why it can be tough for foreigners to work out what's going on when they first watch the game.

BS, all your rules are grey, it's not because they are complex is because they aren't specific.

Heaps of rubbish being written here. Pretty much common sense that because of the nature of the games you need to be better skilled in different areas.

AFL players are much more skilled in kicking the ball them Rugby players. In league the 40/20 kick is viewed as being difficult. Most AFL players could do this easily.

Rugby players are much better with their hands. Watching an AFL game you see perhaps one or two hand passes per game that a league fan would view as skilful.

Rugby fans don't appreciate the amount of running AFL players do off the ball.They seem to think players stand around waiting for the ball to be kicked to them.

AFL fans don't appreciate how difficult it is to break the line of defence in Rugby. They seem to think that you just stick the ball under your arm and charge ahead.

I don't think any Rugby players could play AFL or any AFL players could play Rugby. They would not have the time to learn the skills required. However any elite junior player aged sixteen could adapt to either code as long as they had the right physical characteristics. By the way, what do 110 kg 180 cm blokes in AFL areas do for sport.

Actually I have always had a theory that Wagga produces so many good footballers of either code because the kids have grown up playing both codes. Watne Carey and Paul Kelly showed a lot of Rugby skills when playing AFL. Similarly Steve Mortimer and Greg Brentnall used a lot of AFL skills playing Rugby league.

I don't think AFL people realise how much running is done off the ball in league, the up and back in defence and making 30+ tackles is very energy sapping. AFL people NEVER take into account the defensive side of the game. Short kicking in league is more important close to the line also cross kicking to the corners is very accurate. Have they not heard of Hazem El Masri, enough said.

Going off on a tangent slightly, if you really want to compare the footskills of AFL and rugby players you should really look at the kicking for touch in union (not applicable to the NRL I know). The amount of times players fail to even find touch or slice the kick out after 30m or so really makes you appreciate how skillful AFL players are with the ball in their hands.

Maybe that the Force for you ??

Rugby Uinion players normally have no problem roosting the bal 55m+ when thumping it down field. Get onto a torpedo, and your looking at 60m+ for some kickers in Union.

Distance wise, Union players have it over AFL and NRL.

Short kicking in league is more important close to the line also cross kicking to the corners is very accurate. Have they not heard of Hazem El Masri, enough said.

But what El Masri and Andrew Johns do with their kicking any AFL player can do in their sleep .Most kids playing AFL at the age of 16 and have been playing comp since about 10 have better kicking skills than League players like Johns and El Marsri

Kicking is only one part of their game so don't try and diminish the quality of these players.

Give me proof of one AFL player who can place kick better than El Masri.

I remember a few years ago a "kick off" so to speak between Scott Hill and that drongo from Essendon, Lloyd, and low and behold guess who won....that's right Scotty Hill. :thumbsu:

Kicking is only one part of their game so don't try and diminish the quality of these players.

Give me proof of one AFL player who can place kick better than El Masri.

I remember a few years ago a "kick off" so to speak between Scott Hill and that drongo from Essendon, Lloyd, and low and behold guess who won....that's right Scotty Hill. :thumbsu:

Stop changing from place kicks to cross kicking across the line or corners

Yes League players are better place kickers , why ? No longer in AFL

But apart from that short and long kicking the AFL players have it all over league players by a mile

What does **** me is that NL types drool over Andrew Johns and his ability to have the "Ball on a string.. "

A couple of things ..

1 - No one, not anyone, ever can have an oval shapped ball on a string. I dont care who you are. Especially when the ball is bouncing

2 - Media types in league think that Andrew Johns has created and mastered kicking the ball from the outside of his foot, and making the ball change direction in the air. For those of us who follow AFL, I'd call that a banana kick!

I remember having this discussion with a work collegue. When I told him that when I was a kid growing up in Melburne (Im 30 now) all we did was kick the ball in the street after scool and on weekends. We'd kick banana's, torpedos etc.

Joey invented the banana kick (I wil never call it a checkside) according to those in league.

Stop changing from place kicks to cross kicking across the line or corners

Hang on a minute mate, I was talking about El Masri, he is a place kicker. He is also a winger. A winger is someone who generally finishes the movement, the halves create and set play up. You see if you look at a teams tryscoring stats you will see the outside backs score heaps of tries, the front row very few etc. Kicking is only a PART of the game not the be all and end all, and it is very good for what is needed, besides we were talking about accuracy and I would back league players any day.

Get over this attitude that AFL players are the greatest specimens of humananity, after all if they were we would take a heap of them to the Olympics.;)

Hang on a minute mate, I was talking about El Masri, he is a place kicker. He is also a winger. A winger is someone who generally finishes the movement, the halves create and set play up. You see if you look at a teams tryscoring stats you will see the outside backs score heaps of tries, the front row very few etc. Kicking is only a PART of the game not the be all and end all, and it is very good for what is needed, besides we were talking about accuracy and I would back league players any day.

Get over this attitude that AFL players are the greatest specimens of humananity, after all if they were we would take a heap of them to the Olympics.;)

Where did i say that AFL players are the greatest specimens of humanity?

Because i didn't

Thread was about kicking and accuracy.The AFL players are highly skilled in kicking maybe because they kick the ball over 400 times in a match

Where with League most players be lucky to kick the ball in a whole season.
BUT League players are highly skilled in place kicks , well at least a few players in each side

By the way stop trying to explain the rules or the ideas of league because i grew up playing League , AFL and Union

And with your Scott Hill example i think remember seeing that , it was a kicking for goal contest , with Hill kicking a place kick and Lloyd a drop punt.
Using a place kick is alot more accurate than a drop punt

I should hope they are, it's their bread and butter.
However league players are pretty good too. Especially the place kickers and the short kicking game of some players.

Thread was about kicking and accuracy.The AFL players are highly skilled in kicking maybe because they kick the ball over 400 times in a match

Sure RU and RL can give examples of great kicking by their designated kickers , but each player in the AFL is a designated kicker .
The great kicks at goal in rugby have to clear the bar . In AFL the ball has to clear the pack and the man standing the mark . At Subiaco on successive weeks i witnessed Ebit and then Rocca kick from 70m out , clearing the mark then clearing the pack . Ebits kick actually went through post high .
The thread is about kicking skills and accuracy . The short game is not that difficult to learn . It takes enormous practice to kick long and then it's another level to kick long and accurate . Most kicks that go astray in AFL are the one's when a player is trying for the extra distance . He achieves the distance but loses out on accuracy .

In field kicking there is really no comparison . In rugby it's mainly about hangtime and or you're kicking a ball to where hopefully nobody is . In AFL it's about the length of the kick and the predicted placement of the player but most importantly it's the tragectory of the kick . Simply it has to be the right trajectory for the circumstances . In a recent AR game between Australia and the RSA , RSA players with a rugby heritage where getting the distance but their kicks were of the up and under type which made it too easy for the Aussies to defend .

1, AFL is a Kicking game and RL is a Running game. The AFL ball is rounder and more optimised for kicking whilst the RL ball is pointier and more suited for fast passing.

This is pure bulldust. I suggest you obtain a ball of each type, hold them and look at them. Then realise you are very wrong.

Accuracy NRL v AFL