Accuracy NRL v AFL

Also, is there a time limit to place kicks in AFL? Whenever I see a guy get awarded a kick at goal he always spends a minute or so walking towards the goals before kicking the ball.

Yes, there is a time limit, albeit pretty much at the discretion of the umpire.

Footy players can kick up to 80-metres yet I havent seen an NRL player kick half of that on the full. The skill difference between the two codes is enormous. The biggest skill in NRL was the scrum now they can't even do that properly.

I'm sensing that even just responding to your troll means that you will start manically celebrating but here I go anyway.

Footy players can kick up to 80-metres yet I havent seen an NRL player kick half of that on the full.
1, AFL is a Kicking game and RL is a Running game. The AFL ball is rounder and more optimised for kicking whilst the RL ball is pointier and more suited for fast passing.
2, Have you seen how tiny AFL balls are compared to NRL balls? It's much easier to kick them further.
3, Why would any player hack the ball 80M downfield when he could take the harder option of a 40/20 kick and gain position for his team. As opposed to kicking the ball 80M and then having the opposition fullback run 70M straight back at you.

The skill difference between the two codes is enormous.
Agreed, snapping a drop goal when you're about to be tackled is much harder to do than hoofing a ball (unopposed) towards 20M wide goal posts and watching it dribble over the goal-line...

The biggest skill in NRL was the scrum now they can't even do that properly.
That was never 'the biggest skill' in RL. In fact getting rid of the importance of the scrum and doing away with the line-out are major reasons why RL has much more 'ball in play time' than RU and is also much more exciting, as it is less stop start and doesn't have 48 scrum resets like a recent S14 game.

RL scrums are purely about taking the forwards out of the defensive line for a play so that the attacking team is more likely to break the defence. That's it.

yep . . . kicking stationery object vs kicking moving object. that's the major difference. and true about only the best kicker having a crack too.

I want all you blokes who think that place-kicking is easier than drop-punting to go down to your local oval tomorrow and actually give place-kicking a go.
You'll be surprised at how hard it is to get an appropriate degree of distance, accuracy and elevation.

I think it has been scientifically proven in exercise and sport science journals that rugby league players are more skillful kicking wise than AFL footballers.

Care to point us towards this particular study/publication, or are you just pulling things out of your arse?

It's pretty obvious that, on the whole, Aussie rules players are better kicks than NRL players. I daresay it's more of a specialised skill that only certain players need to master in League, but I am not sure on that and perhaps some of our RL friends can enlighten me there.

I don't know how they'd go hitting a moving target from 50 metres away while they're on the run, but then again they don't have to, so it's pretty moot.

Care to point us towards this particular study/publication, or are you just pulling things out of your arse?

It's pretty obvious that, on the whole, Aussie rules players are better kicks than NRL players. I daresay it's more of a specialised skill that only certain players need to master in League, but I am not sure on that and perhaps some of our RL friends can enlighten me there.

I don't know how they'd go hitting a moving target from 50 metres away while they're on the run, but then again they don't have to, so it's pretty moot.
AFL players only need to specialise in punt kicks with a ball that's tailor-made for kicking. League players need to be able to drop-kick, place kick, punt kick, banana kick etc all with a ball designed for passing.

Why on earth do they drop-kick in RL? That was phased out 30 years ago in Aussie Rules. Seems an unlikely kicking method.

Aussie rules players don't just drop punt the ball - I don't know how much Aussie rules you watch but players also have to be able to spiral punt (though not as much as they used to), banana kick, snap kick over the shoulder as well as the default drop punt. All while on the run and kicking to a moving target. RL players simply don't kick it as much. Anyone who thinks RL players are better kicks of the ball are simply deluded.

Why on earth do they drop-kick in RL? That was phased out 30 years ago in Aussie Rules. Seems an unlikely kicking method.

Aussie rules players don't just drop punt the ball - I don't know how much Aussie rules you watch but players also have to be able to spiral punt (though not as much as they used to), banana kick, snap kick over the shoulder as well as the default drop punt. All while on the run and kicking to a moving target. RL players simply don't kick it as much. Anyone who thinks RL players are better kicks of the ball are simply deluded.
It's simple, the only deluded person here would have to be you .In RL you need plenty of skills, and the kicking part of it the AFL couldnt even come close to RL standards,how accurate is the kicking in AFL?if it was so accurate then why do you get a point for missing lol.:o

Why on earth do they drop-kick in RL? That was phased out 30 years ago in Aussie Rules.

Well then, there it is, RL and any other sport must get rid of the drop kick. Why? Well Aussie Rules did 30 years ago!

We all now they are the world leaders and ALL sport looks to them for direction.....don't we???

Fair dinkum you people live in a bubble.

Well then, there it is, RL and any other sport must get rid of the drop kick. Why? Well Aussie Rules did 30 years ago!

We all now they are the world leaders and ALL sport looks to them for direction.....don't we???

Fair dinkum you people live in a bubble.

I'm just curious mate, that's all. It seems easier to simply drop the ball on the boot, which is why the drop punt has taken over from the drop kick. I've seen old tapes of games from the '60s and there were a lot of scrubbers and miskicks that came from drop kicks - far more than there are with the drop punt, which is a bit more controlled. Is there a particular reason or scenario where the drop kick is favoured? I know very little about RL which is why I am asking.

Spewing, you have no idea. Leave the debating to the adults.

I'm just curious mate, that's all. It seems easier to simply drop the ball on the boot, which is why the drop punt has taken over from the drop kick. I've seen old tapes of games from the '60s and there were a lot of scrubbers and miskicks that came from drop kicks - far more than there are with the drop punt, which is a bit more controlled. Is there a particular reason or scenario where the drop kick is favoured? I know very little about RL which is why I am asking.

Spewing, you have no idea. Leave the debating to the adults.
If you know little about the game of Rugby league then don't make assumptions about it you tool,honestly you have no idea whatsoever.

Speak for yourself.

and the kicking part of it the AFL couldnt even come close to RL standards,how accurate is the kicking in AFL?

How many games of footy have you seen or played? you have no idea of the skill involved to hit a moving target that is 50 yards away while you are moving at speed.

Is there a particular reason or scenario where the drop kick is favoured? I know very little about RL which is why I am asking.

It's usually used to break a 12-12 deadlock, or get a 7 point lead, which means the other team have to score twice to win.

How many games of footy have you seen or played? you have no idea of the skill involved to hit a moving target that is 50 yards away while you are moving at speed.

What a crock, you just kick it to the general area, the guys run to try and catch it, it's not that hard mate.

You people carry on like AR is the most complicated game to play and are the greatest specimen of athletes in the world.

What a crock, you just kick it to the general area, the guys run to try and catch it, it's not that hard mate.

You people carry on like AR is the most complicated game to play and are the greatest specimen of athletes in the world.

Nice generalisation there. I ask a simple question about RL tactics and all you can do is vent your spleen about how parochial we are.

And no, it's not about kicking to a general area- this is done, but pinpoint accuracy is also an important aspect. Not every kick is a long bomb into space. How many RL kicks are low bullets onto the chest of a leading forward?

It's simple, the only deluded person here would have to be you .In RL you need plenty of skills, and the kicking part of it the AFL couldnt even come close to RL standards,how accurate is the kicking in AFL?if it was so accurate then why do you get a point for missing lol.:o

Then why since the Storm's inception into the competition have they always had an Ex-AFL player as their kicking coach? If RL players are so great at kicking then why don't any AFL clubs have Ex-RL people as their kicking coach?
I also remember when Carlton came to Newcastle for their community Camp, they had a public reception at the town hall. Andrew Johns was there and and despite being on of the greatest Rugby League players ever, Could not even kick a simple drop punt. The assertion that RL players have better kicking skills is just laughable.

How many RL kicks are low bullets onto the chest of a leading forward?

Do you know what you are talking about? Have you ever heard of the off-side rule?

AFL is a simple game, name one set play that shows any level of thought and carried out with "pinpoint accuracy".? Good luck.;)

Do you know what you are talking about? Have you ever heard of the off-side rule?

AFL is a simple game, name one set play that shows any level of thought and carried out with "pinpoint accuracy".? Good luck.;)

Well, the thing with AFL is that there aren't very many set plays - don't know how much Aussie rules you've watched but it is such a dynamic game that set plays are virtually nonexistent. The kicking has to be accurate if a team wants to score quickly, because the ball can be turned over very quickly and a score against will result - usually as a result of the opposition kicking accurately to the forwards.

I do not know what an offside rule in RL is, and I would appreciate if you'd enlighten me (minus the snideness if you could). I am genuinely interested.

Alrighty then, if the rugby league players are so much better at kicking, why aren't NFL teams trying to poach them for punters instead?

I think your the one that doesn't know what his talking about

Former League player Clinton Schifoske recently called league a simple game with not much skill when he was comparing it to Union after his switch

The truth is 90% of League players couldn't kick a ball over 20m and hit a target

Well, the thing with AFL is that there aren't very many set plays - don't know how much Aussie rules you've watched but it is such a dynamic game that set plays are virtually nonexistent.
I live in Melbourne and have had plenty of exposure to AR.

You call it dynamic, I call it simple.

The kicking has to be accurate if a team wants to score quickly, because the ball can be turned over very quickly and a score against will result - usually as a result of the opposition kicking accurately to the forwards.
Maybe you should tell Hawthorn this. Isn't the contested mark going the way of the dinosaur?

do not know what an offside rule in RL is, and I would appreciate if you'd enlighten me (minus the snideness if you could). I am genuinely interested.

Get a rule book.