Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first

Chewy

Jan 16, 2006
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-13/brereton-launches-scathing-attack-on-goodes

It's a good read, despite the inflammatory headline.

Basically, Brereton acknowledges that Goodes is a champion player and a champion bloke. He says Goodes has shown enormous courage in the past to play with injuries, but he lacks the "gladiatorial-type courage" of risking his head in the contests. Reckons he's prone to going in feet first.

Brereton contends this play is dangerous, liable to cause injury to opponents and in this instance, Josh Gibson was lucky not to be seriously hurt by Goodesy's feet-first ploy.

"Adam Goodes, as is his penchant ... lunges forward with a foot," Brereton said on SEN radio.

"To me, he knew exactly what he was doing and he chopped out Josh Gibson's leg.

"Quite possibly, that action can ruin somebody's career.

"In English football, that is a leg chop - that is red card stuff."

It's interesting the AFL changed the rules and the umps now penalise courageous players such as Luke Hodge, who risk their head, dive on the ball and win possession. Yet no free kick was given to Josh Gibson, who was about to take possession and had his legs unceremoniously kicked out from under him.

Brereton argues that Goodes was lucky not to be suspended by the MRP - that Goodes also has prior form for going into contests feet first and (accidentally) kicking & kneeing opponents.

Apparently Gibson was furious at Goodes' actions and perplexed at the inaction from the umpires.

Brereton says, "Gibson called him every name under the sun when he came to the bench," he said.

"Gibson was in no doubt that Goodes tried to take him out by going feet-first."

Dermie rightfully points out that Goodes has been shown a fair amount of leniency in the past.

"There is an enormous amount of leniency here to Adam Goodes," Brereton said.

"They don't want to put him out ... he gets a good run.

"The people who have made this adjudication don't understand the moment.

"He tried to trip him."

No doubt, people will bag Brereton for his forthright comments, just as they bagged Leigh Matthews for labelling Goodes a "protected species" a couple of years ago.

I think it's good we have some people working in the media who aren't afraid to speak out against current day players on footy-related matters. There are far too many gormless sheep working in the media who are scared to ruffle feathers. Too many people who are scared of upsetting the big knobs like Andy Demetriou.

The Swans wlll probably use this ammunition for the next time we meet, but the real issue here is why does Adam Goodes get a free pass from the AFL to go around kicking and kneeing his opponents (incidentally) all because he too scared to put his head over the ball?

Goodes is great at running hard to receive a possession and he is built like an ox, but for such a revered player, why is he so afraid of crashing in head first and winning the hard ball? Why does he always go in with his feet first?

Goodes vs Gibson @ 2:00 minute mark of this clip ^^

EDIT: Messenger sounds off on the Podcast

Brereton's assessment is spot on about Goodes. Great player but not courageous. Chooses when to go for the ball and never puts his body on the line by running with the flight of the ball to take a mark, preferring to be front and centre.

I'm glad someone like Dermie has said this as I've always thought Goodes was a bit soft when it came to put his body on the line.

Would Gibson of been in the right to chase Goodes down and give him a whack?

Because, after all, Goodes just tried to break his legs, that is what I watched.

So, someone tries to break your legs and nothing is done, I say Gibson has every right to be annoyed and no doubt they had to calm him down.

1. Brereton trying to stay relevant.
2. More AFL conspiracies.
3. Muppett Hawthorn supporter taking the bait.
Have a read what non Hawk supporters have posted in this thread.

Dermie is spot on and Goodes has form he has stuck his foot out before and not put his body on the line.

He is also a protected species.

called a spade a spade and is absolutely spot on

I have to agree.

Superb athlete but he's not known for hardness or courage.

I don't think he intentionally seeks to maim, it's just that he would rather go in feet and knees first than put his body or head on the line.

I am not 100% sure that Goodes was intending to hurt. A split second situation and the ball is in front of him. I just think he was trying to toe poke it.

But.

It was stupid, it was incredibly dangerous to Josh Gibson, and Gibbo had every right to be pissed off about it. Didn't even get a free kick.

Well, at the risk of being a defensive Swans fan, I'm 100% sure he wasn't trying to hurt anyone. Chewy wrote a very considered and even-handed OP but that won't stop a lot of posters calling it a "dog act". No. Why is putting your head over the ball the smart move here? Goodes was trying to toe poke it forward (like you said) but also keep his feet so he could run on to collect the ball further on in the play. Going head first in this instance kills that possibility.

Given what Franklin did to Otten a week and a half ago - whatever you think of it, accident or moment of frustrated anger from a champion having a bad day - I thought Hawks fans would be more measured about calling players out for stuff like this.

No. Why is putting your head over the ball the smart move here? Goodes was trying to toe poke it forward (like you said) but also keep his feet so he could run on to collect the ball further on in the play. Going head first in this instance kills that possibility.

Na mate. He's scared. He has been doing this for his whole career.

Expecting the same hysterical Swans posters who still condemn Lindsay Thomas, a year after a singular mistake, to do the same for Goodesy, who, by my count, is up to his third instance of sliding in with his feet in a highly dangerous manner.

I agree that the reaction to Thomas was crazy. Rohan's injury was awful but I never thought Thomas meant to harm and personally never posted that on this board. Please don't make blanket statements about supporter groups.

Well, at the risk of being a defensive Swans fan, I'm 100% sure he wasn't trying to hurt anyone. Chewy wrote a very considered and even-handed OP but that won't stop a lot of posters calling it a "dog act". No. Why is putting your head over the ball the smart move here? Goodes was trying to toe poke it forward (like you said) but also keep his feet so he could run on to collect the ball further on in the play. Going head first in this instance kills that possibility.

Given what Franklin did to Otten a week and a half ago - whatever you think of it, accident or moment of frustrated anger from a champion having a bad day - I thought Hawks fans would be more measured about calling players out for stuff like this.

Read our board. There were many posters saying buddy should have missed a week or 2 for that. It was stupid. I dont think there was malice in it as again it was very quick but you wont find many of us defending it.

Haven't seen a swan condemn it yet.

Expecting the same hysterical Swans posters who still condemn Lindsay Thomas, a year after a singular mistake, to do the same for Goodesy, who, by my count, is up to his third instance of sliding in with his feet in a highly dangerous manner.
Nice troll...you mean the bloke that has since gone on in such a short time to fake getting whacked in back play, getting another wrongly suspended...then damn near breaking Ben Reid's jaw with a high shot off the ball ? That guy ? Yeah we all respect Thomas...whenever he's mildly relevant...especially us hysterical swannies types.

hey werent/arnt you a hawthorn fan ? You're not one of those club cross dressers i hope...not a good look to pretend to be another clubs fan so u can troll.

1. Brereton trying to stay relevant.
2. More AFL conspiracies.
3. Muppett Hawthorn supporter taking the bait.

I would say he is very relevant. IMO he is one of the better commentators, he gives a great in depth analysis.

Plus I think he is spot on also...Goodes is a good player but has never been hard and the way he goes in with his legs constantly is soft.

Read our board. There were many posters saying buddy should have missed a week or 2 for that. It was stupid. I dont think there was malice in it as again it was very quick but you wont find many of us defending it.

Haven't seen a swan condemn it yet.

I think that's because in all honesty you can't compare nearly paralysing someone with a mistimed toe poke. It's crazy.

If you're fixing the benefit of the doubt then you argue that Goodes' priority is to keep to his feet so he isn't ever out of the contest.

In the contest Dermott is talking about, most players would have taken the body with a hip and shoulder, but instead Goodes threw his leg across in front of Gibson who was running at right angles. Swans supporters have to at least realise that it was a weird way to enter that contest.

The bloke is 326 games into his career and now we're making a big issue over this?

People realise that just because an action has been made illegal in the past few years should have no bearing on the many years he played when it was legal right?

People realise there are many forms of courage and the kamikaze, lead with the head is just one of them right?

Talk about mountains and molehills.

This is less genuine analysis and more sooking.

The best you could suggest his failing is struggling to adapt to the new rules.

EDIT: I'm not condoning the incident. Bag him all you like for that. But linking it with some problem he's allegedly had across his career and being extremely critical is garbage.

I think that's because in all honesty you can't compare nearly paralysing someone with a mistimed toe poke. It's crazy.
Why are they even being compared? The buddy incident was discussed ad nauseum, and condemned far and wide. It has nothing to do with this thread unless someone thinks they're similar in some way.

Yeah nah, its called Bias. You've got a nice little best case / worst case spin on things here.

If Buddy nearly paralysed someone, then Goodes nearly shattered both of Gibsons legs.

The only difference is, us Hawk supporters condemned Buddy, and Buddy does not have a history of his actions last week. You seem to think his trip is totally fine.

I don't know that it's a lack of courage, I see it more as having a streak of campaigner.

Leads with the knees very often, it's pretty much his thing.

Why are they even being compared? The buddy incident was discussed ad nauseum, and condemned far and wide. It has nothing to do with this thread unless someone thinks they're similar in some way.
Disagree. The point being made is that Brereton didn't come out last week condemning what was a very dangerous and malicious act by one of his team's players. Just another example of the pointlessness of former players in the media. They are compromised. Hopefully Goodes gets a right of reply where he can cite Brereton's hair or painful, condescending twaddle. Of all the former players to bring this up - one of the game's biggest thugs. Irony at its best.

Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first