Adelaide Board ND & PSD predictions

my pick 10 choice would be Ebert if he is still there but it sounds as though Brisbane may take him.

If so, then I would choose Rioli despite the expressed thoughts that he prefers to stay in Victoria. From what i've read, he can be a midfielder and he must have some sort of endurance given his repeat sprint results at the draft camp. As for his puppy fat - lots of indigenous players have that at a young age (even the Davey brothers).
Anyway, I would pick him for 3 reasons:
(i) IMO he can be the type of m/f & forward we have lacked since McLeod
(ii) I discount the staying in Melbourne bit completely - did we not
miss out on Nick Stevens for exactly that same reason years ago
subsequently leading to Fantasia saying that he wouldnt be caught out
again by that reasoning.
(iii) Most importantly, IMO he is definitely a super talent and can be a star
(something we lack & rarely get an opportunity to draft)

I'ld prefer that to selecting a safe, 100+ average player

However, i think the AFC will select Ebert (if available), otherwise Henderson - but i hope Not Henderson

Rendell mentioned a surprise at pick 71 - i hope its not Callinan or Chambers
- maybe its James? Moss - does anyone know his DOB, etc? what is he?

I highly doubt that

Maybe, maybe not. Reading the article on him in the Sunday Mail a couple weeks back I think getting drafted to Adelaide again wouldnt be high on his list of destinations.

As for pick 10 im not as optimistic as some and I dont think Ebert will be around then and the longer this goes on the less I want Rioli. Im thinking either Myers or Grimes would be great. I can see us going for Henderson though and that scares me. Im sure if our pick 10 turns out to be a dud Rendell and the boys will have a laugh about it later.

Pick 71 I reckon will be either Chambers or Callinan. Both guys are ready to go and whilst Chambers is older and so forth he could be just the guy we need to fill the breach whilst the younger guys have 1 more year of development, pretty much the role Welshy would have filled.

Maybe, maybe not. Reading the article on him in the Sunday Mail a couple weeks back I think getting drafted to Adelaide again wouldnt be high on his list of destinations.

As for pick 10 im not as optimistic as some and I dont think Ebert will be around then and the longer this goes on the less I want Rioli. Im thinking either Myers or Grimes would be great. I can see us going for Henderson though and that scares me. Im sure if our pick 10 turns out to be a dud Rendell and the boys will have a laugh about it later.

Pick 71 I reckon will be either Chambers or Callinan. Both guys are ready to go and whilst Chambers is older and so forth he could be just the guy we need to fill the breach whilst the younger guys have 1 more year of development, pretty much the role Welshy would have filled.

no chance on chambers.. already been ruled out thankfully because he is too old, he would just be holding back the development of players such as tippett/sellar

To get a second chance at the highest level should be his highest priority not where he wants to play. Considering he is an unlisted player.

If he isn't grateful for another chance then we shouldn't draft him as his head isn't screwed on right.

J-Ro I agree with you mate, absolutely I do but this kid sounds incredibly bitter towards us and whilst its a second chance I dont think its one that HE would want. This is why we wont redraft the guy. Guys like Porps, Shirls and even Fyfe havent had this bad an attitude towards the club after being delisted.

And on Chambo, yeah I think he's probably 2 years too old to be drafted but as I said he would be filling the role or Scott Welsh for a year whilst those young guys develop and Trent gets back to something resembling full fitness. Callinan is a guy who would fit straight in to our 22 IMO. He was probably the most skillful and the smartest player in the SANFL this year so why not give him a go when hes not too old.

my pick 10 choice would be Ebert if he is still there but it sounds as though Brisbane may take him.

If so, then I would choose Rioli despite the expressed thoughts that he prefers to stay in Victoria. From what i've read, he can be a midfielder and he must have some sort of endurance given his repeat sprint results at the draft camp. As for his puppy fat - lots of indigenous players have that at a young age (even the Davey brothers).
Anyway, I would pick him for 3 reasons:
(i) IMO he can be the type of m/f & forward we have lacked since McLeod
(ii) I discount the staying in Melbourne bit completely - did we not
miss out on Nick Stevens for exactly that same reason years ago
subsequently leading to Fantasia saying that he wouldnt be caught out
again by that reasoning.
(iii) Most importantly, IMO he is definitely a super talent and can be a star
(something we lack & rarely get an opportunity to draft)

I'ld prefer that to selecting a safe, 100+ average player

However, i think the AFC will select Ebert (if available), otherwise Henderson - but i hope Not Henderson

Rendell mentioned a surprise at pick 71 - i hope its not Callinan or Chambers
- maybe its James? Moss - does anyone know his DOB, etc? what is he?

ive played against moss a few times in local footy and hes very good. his club has only lost i think 1 game with him playing the last 3 years and as soon as he went down 2 cenrals for the last 6 or seven matches of the season they lost 2 or 3 games including 1 against the bottom team. also he won the association medal quiet easily despite missing a number of matches. its a bit hard to say what position he plays cause he plays in just about every position including ruck but when he went down to centrals he kicked a few goals so I think he played as a forward there. hes got a very penetrating kick, good pace great leap and hes a very good mark and he must be at least mid 185cms tall but i could be wrong. i could probably see him playing a nathan basset type of role cause he can read the play well and is a good mark so id be happy if the crows took him at pick 71

Guys like Porps, Shirls and even Fyfe havent had this bad an attitude towards the club after being delisted.

Good to see we are in agreeance hey shorty

Perhaps Shirley is the perfect example. The game is too tough and professional to hold grudges. Once he was given another shot he got on with it and played some great football afterwards.

Obst is still young he could go on to play some fantastic AFL football.

To get a second chance at the highest level should be his highest priority not where he wants to play. Considering he is an unlisted player.

If he isn't grateful for another chance then we shouldn't draft him as his head isn't screwed on right.

a guy dumped on the scrap heap would be doing cart wheels if he gets another shot - a shot he is far from certain to get.

Watched the U18 championship games last night and Grimes is good ......in fact I'd have him on a par with Ebert maybe even in front.

Also came to conclusion .....no to Myers but yes to Rance and Tate Pears

Also didn't realise Grimes had had such a bad back injury during the season:

Knights to remember: one club's bumper crop in the AFL
Emma Quayle | November 24, 2007

EDITED
WHEN PAUL Satterley became coach of the Northern Knights late last year, people became very jealous. At his immediate disposal, after all, would be Matthew Kreuzer, Trent Cotchin, Jack Grimes and Patrick Veszpremi, among others.
They were names not yet known by the wider football world, but they were sure to be very soon.

"I kept hearing all about how lucky I was," laughed Satterley, a former Footscray reserves player, this week. "All the other coaches kept telling me I'd inherited the best list in the competition. I was feeling a fair bit of pressure . . ."

The Knights' season did not stretch as far as the new coach or his players would have liked.

In the preliminary final, Northern was scuttled by a string of midfield injuries and the Calder Cannons; the club would have been phoning some very lucky fill-ins had it squeaked through to the grand final.

Grimes captained the team, and was its smart, sensible heartbeat until he woke up in pain after a midseason match.

He was diagnosed with stress fractures in his back, and had to watch on through the finals, but still will be drafted during the first round. Veszpremi is the opposite: Mr Action. You could never pick what exactly he'd do, or where on the ground he would do it, but you knew it would be exciting.

He played on when shoulder surgery beckoned, kicked eight goals in one half of a finals game, and should be gone by pick 20, too.

Grimes went to South Africa this year with Cotchin, Veszpremi and the Australian Institute of Sport AFL Academy, and was a part of the leadership group that Jason McCartney and Michael Voss mentored.

The club that drafts him today doubtless will mention his leadership potential, and Satterley already considers him a "mini-James Hird".

It's something the 18-year-old has become more comfortable with in the past few months.

"I remember the first time I was announced as a leader. I was captain of Vic Metro in the under 16s and the first game we went into, I put so much pressure on myself," Grimes said.

"I thought I had to be the best player out there because I was captain, and I actually played the worst game of my life.

"Talking to guys like Vossy, you realise you don't have to change if you're a leader. I sort of learnt that when you get chosen as captain, it's not really for what you have to be, it's for what you already are.

"People vote for who you are, not what you could become."

Grimes' back became sore after he led another Metro team, the under 18s, at this year's national championships.
His place in the Knights' midfield was taken by Meredith, and his spot in the side by his younger brother, Dylan.

He has increased his running in the past few weeks, and begun to feel more optimistic, and more patient. But life as a potential draftee is uncertain, and there was a time Grimes worried not only about whether he'd get better, but whether the AFL clubs thought he would.

That fear still pops into his head sometimes now. "The doctor spoke to me about it before draft camp and he told me to be prepared because it's a bad injury and people will want to know about it," Grimes said.

"I was sort of prepared, but when we had the medical screen, I was in there for the longest time by a mile.

"I still worry about it a bit. I was really worried at the camp, that the clubs might not think I'd hold up through a pre-season, but the last few weeks have been good. I've been able to run and I've heard that the clubs aren't so worried about it. That's made me feel a lot better."

Veszpremi, too. At the start of the season, recruiters and his coaches were worried: was he just a back pocket? Could he play midfield? And if so, for a match? Or just parts of it? They were questions the 18-year-old also wondered if he could answer.

The first challenge came when he injured his shoulder, right on the eve of the season. The second arrived when he broke his thumb, on the eve of the under-18 carnival. And right after playing his best half of football. "I was devastated," he said.

Veszpremi agonised then about getting his shoulder fixed.

In what he thought was his last game before surgery — the Knights' first final — he felt carefree and kicked eight goals, in a little over a half a game.

He had done enough before then to get drafted. But it was good to convince himself of it; he decided to keep playing.

"It's hard at this age because you never know what people are thinking," Veszpremi said. "Everyone tells you different things. You just hope you make the right decisions … I'm glad I kept playing. I think I did the right thing."

Adelaide Board ND & PSD predictions