JF_Bay_22_SCG

FC Bayern,Port Melbourne
Hi guys,
I hve been thinking of taking a break from the helter-skelter of Sydney for a couple of months in the off-season. The debt situation for me is pretty out of control. And with the high cost of living and constant nights out, I'm finding it not only impossible paying back my debts but even just keeping my head above water on my crap travel industry salary. I have to move anyway, s I thought a few months in SA might do the trick until the footy season starts again. Especialy with the offer of $50/week rent, which to a Sydneysider is verging on the unbelievable.

I think all of us have seen postings slagging Adelaide etc etc (ie Chris Judd's job during the finals). I've been there 3 times this year and would like to think I know it reasonably well by now. I actually quite like it. But now I'm thinking of doing a big of homework about spending a few months over there.

I have heard that South Australia is a bit of an economic basketcase. That concerns me. If I go over there I don't want to be turning up to an interview for a crap job with 20-30 others, as I often did when I lived in Vancouver Canada. I guess I'm keeping my eyes open, but I'd be keen on doing anything from retail to call centre work etc, Is there much of that in SA? Or are people crawling over each other for the next job?

I guess I'm still in the 'sussing things out' stage. But a couple of months chilling in SA in the off-season might be as good as a holiday.

Can anyone please fill me in on the things I should know about SA jobwise etc etc?

JF

From what I've been told, if you aren't going to be here permantly or for a long time the best thing is to register with a temp agency if you've got experience, and they can find you work asap.

It's really hard here to get a job though, so many people are going for the 1 job :(

Originally posted by lozstar
From what I've been told, if you aren't going to be here permantly or for a long time the best thing is to register with a temp agency if you've got experience, and they can find you work asap.

It's really hard here to get a job though, so many people are going for the 1 job :(

There is also the option of lying as well. You never know, if I was happy there, I may well end up staying after all.

But just general things about SA are very helpful.

JF

Adelaide is the Call centre capital of Australia. If you like the hot weather come on over.
Can also put you in touch with a job agency.
Sport wise is a pretty boring time of year though, other than Adelaide United, the 36ers and our one test match, oh and the one dayers January long weekend.

Originally posted by JF_Bay_22_SCG

I have heard that South Australia is a bit of an economic basketcase. That concerns me. If I go over there I don't want to be turning up to an interview for a crap job with 20-30 others, as I often did when I lived in Vancouver Canada. I guess I'm keeping my eyes open, but I'd be keen on doing anything from retail to call centre work etc, Is there much of that in SA? Or are people crawling over each other for the next job?

JF

Take it from me South Australia IS an economic basket case, unless you are looking for a job as a Taxi driver,Pizza Driver or a Stripper you will find it very tough to even get a job in Adelaide, why do you think I now live in Melbourne..................No Jobs In Adelaide:rolleyes:

Re: Re: Adelaide-the goss please

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Take it from me South Australia IS an economic basket case, unless you are looking for a job as a Taxi driver,Pizza Driver or a Stripper you will find it very tough to even get a job in Adelaide, why do you think I now live in Melbourne..................No Jobs In Adelaide:rolleyes:

So how's the Adelaide stripping industry going these days? :p

Any contact mate? ;)

JF

Hi guys,
I don't want to be turning up to an interview for a crap job with 20-30 others, as I often did when I lived in Vancouver Canada. I guess I'm keeping my eyes open, but I'd be keen on doing anything from retail to call centre work etc, Is there much of that in SA? Or are people crawling over each other for the next job?

JF

Unfortunately that is and has been the BIG negative to living in Adelaide. I lived there all my life up until 3 years ago when I was retrenched. Couldnt get a job to save myself. I applied for a few jobs (in the same industry) in Melbourne and within days I recieved 2 job offers without a formal interview (The contracting agency batted on my behalf) Unfortunately currently, in my field, the employment opportunities are drying up here as well.

Still miss Adelaide though (especially my Eagles and 36ers) but Melbourne offers much, much more unfortnately.

Apart from the employment Adelaide is better than anywhere else. But if you get that job you are set.

In your opinion that is. I lived there for two years and didnt like it at all. Still people have different tastes.

Originally posted by Rohan Otway
In your opinion that is. I lived there for two years and didnt like it at all. Still people have different tastes.

Whats not to like? Clean air, easy to get around, short distance from city to beach,city to hills and also a short distance from one end of the city to the other. Minimal pollution compared to Melbourne, less hectic in the city centre, beautiful parks in the city centre and also..............SANFL! :D

Originally posted by eastaugh36
Whats not to like? Clean air, easy to get around, short distance from city to beach,city to hills and also a short distance from one end of the city to the other. Minimal pollution compared to Melbourne, less hectic in the city centre, beautiful parks in the city centre and also..............SANFL!

Apart from the SANFL part that sounds like geelong. And i live in geelong and it bores me ****less

beach is close so you have skyrise apartments which you cant afford and the sun is no gold coast. glenelg.

you might run into wayne so lock up the missus

the hills are so close if a fire starts you can roast your marshmellows from the city centre

the barossa valley is its best asset,

the german area i think its hahndorf

:confused: is beautiful

Re: Re: Re: Adelaide-the goss please

Any contact mate? ;)

JF

Was so bored ****less on my last trip there, I ended up at the Crazy Horse for a couple of hours one night. The talent has improved out of sight.

Yep, the common theme going here is its as boring as bat shyt. Some people who live there will say its a good place. But as if they'll say they are living in a dump. I will give it one complement....apart from those stupid diesel trains, and the jet fuel fumes from the airport, its very clean. Except in the last two or so years I've noticed graffiti creeping in, mainly on the trains from Melbourne lol. But in the last year its just exploded, really getting out of hand, as well as these little shytty gangs terrorising neighbourhoods.
So, apart from the exploding graffiti and gangs, diesel trains, crows supporters and non stop news about Carey farting at training, a two lane 60km/h "highway", lacks of employment opportunities, and being boring as bat shyt, its a good place. But give me Melbourne in a heart beat, and what's this shyt about pollution? It creates beautiful pink red and orange sunsets! :p

Originally posted by Munga
Yep, the common theme going here is its as boring as bat shyt. Some people who live there will say its a good place. But as if they'll say they are living in a dump. I will give it one complement....apart from those stupid diesel trains, and the jet fuel fumes from the airport, its very clean. Except in the last two or so years I've noticed graffiti creeping in, mainly on the trains from Melbourne lol. But in the last year its just exploded, really getting out of hand, as well as these little shytty gangs terrorising neighbourhoods.
So, apart from the exploding graffiti and gangs, diesel trains, crows supporters and non stop news about Carey farting at training, a two lane 60km/h "highway", lacks of employment opportunities, and being boring as bat shyt, its a good place. But give me Melbourne in a heart beat, and what's this shyt about pollution? It creates beautiful pink red and orange sunsets! :p

If graffitti and the non stop news about Carey are the worst things I have to put up with, I feel pretty safe.

Re: Re: Re: Adelaide-the goss please

Any contact mate? ;)

JF
I don't think Adelaide can rival Sydney for the type of strippers you're after JF.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Adelaide-the goss please

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Was so bored ****less on my last trip there, I ended up at the Crazy Horse for a couple of hours one night. The talent has improved out of sight.

Any excuse!:D
Next time visit an art gallery.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Adelaide-the goss please

Originally posted by Docker_Brat

Are you that hard up for a bit of female action?

Fortunate to have a number of family and friends who live through Adelaide into the Barossa Valley and the Adelaide Hills.

On my last visit there in 1996, I found the city to have improved a little bit.

Public transport is cheap and easy to access..just trying to understand how the tickets work can present a problem at first though.

Everything was handy I felt. On the boredom thing, times have changed..listen to the locals when they say don't go near certain streets, unless you like the entertainment being offered in that area.

Place still has that romantic historical charm about it. Can't wait to see how much it has changed since 1996, when I head over in March.

I love living in Adelaide (obviously, otherwise I wouldn't be here) and think it is a great place BUT I couldn't imagine it being very exciting for a tourist. To be honest if I was from elsewhere and visited as a tourist I would find it boring too.

It's only when you live here that you truly feel the benefits of the cheap lifestyle. Money just goes so much further when buying or renting accomodation. Compared to what you could live in in Sydney, for the same price in Adelaide you will feel like you're living in a Royal Palace. For me I like that about Adelaide. It doesn't have as much to do although in reality it still has most things that Sydney and Melbourne have just not on the same scale.

Adelaide is OK if you're a tourist - if you have a car.

If you don't have a car, don't go to Adelaide.