AdelaidE?

• Thread starter Thread starter rick James

maccas_no1 said:
Finally they are refurbishing the International terminal, big deal :rolleyes: Domestic is a bloody discrace :mad:

"Thats not the terminal, thats the CBD!"

bringbackbucky said:
Mate, you obviously didn't check out the night life when you were here and the bevvy of beautiful woman that call adelaide home. I have lived in both cities and Melbourne is full of gothic, heroin addict bush pigs while adelaide has a plethora of stunning woman.

Did i mention that adelaide is also home of the reigning premiers?

gothic heroin addict bush pigs?

mate you must have holiday'd to Collingwood or Richmond.

Head out to thr ight clubs (i.e. not the goth ones) and see for yourself, melbourne has a great mix of hot women from all nationalities. It's like a multicultural smorgasbord of hot tottie.

edit: but the asian chicks don't do it for me.

Mate, I reccomend going down to Glenelg for a sunday session at the Pier or the Grand, I prefer the Pier.

Thursday night if you are down south is good at Shennanigans, lots of great looking chicks and not too many tools.

I gotta agree with whoever said it Heaven is over rated, not my scene at all.
Lets a lot of good pubs and clubs in the city so you shouldnt have any problems.

Make sure you go to the casino, play some 2 up (why doesnt the Crown have it?) best game to play when smashed and then head outside for a pie floater, have to have a pie floater!

Blue Red and Gold said:
Mate, I reccomend going down to Glenelg for a sunday session at the Pier or the Grand, I prefer the Pier.

Thursday night if you are down south is good at Shennanigans, lots of great looking chicks and not too many tools.

I gotta agree with whoever said it Heaven is over rated, not my scene at all.
Lets a lot of good pubs and clubs in the city so you shouldnt have any problems.

Make sure you go to the casino, play some 2 up (why doesnt the Crown have it?) best game to play when smashed and then head outside for a pie floater, have to have a pie floater!

ok firstly, Casino has two up, that's the game all teh drunks stand around flipping coins and crap right?

lol...

do they have blackjack at the casino? someone told me the Adelaide Casino is just like a big pokies or something.

And what he hell is a pie floater? I wnat to try one, but not unless I know what it is ...

thanks everyone for your advice though, Aussies are always so proud of their home town. Well done fellas.

rick James said:
ok firstly, Casino has two up, that's the game all teh drunks stand around flipping coins and crap right?

lol...

do they have blackjack at the casino? someone told me the Adelaide Casino is just like a big pokies or something.

And what he hell is a pie floater? I wnat to try one, but not unless I know what it is ...

thanks everyone for your advice though, Aussies are always so proud of their home town. Well done fellas.

Thats the one, its a ******** game to play sober but after a night on the slops head back the Casino and play it, usually pulls in a big crowd.

Yeah they have Black Jack, they have most games there, I dont mind the Adelaide Casino, I didnt see much difference to Crown (gaming wise)

A Pie Floater is a pie turned upside down in some chunky Pea soup. Sounds gross and probably is, I have only ever had it drunk but once again after a night on the slops it is great. Throw some Tomato sauce on it and you'll love it. Its a South Australian tradition, you've gotta just try it. Billy Connelly loves em, gets one every time he is in Adelaide.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Thats the one, its a ******** game to play sober but after a night on the slops head back the Casino and play it, usually pulls in a big crowd.

Yeah they have Black Jack, they have most games there, I dont mind the Adelaide Casino, I didnt see much difference to Crown (gaming wise)

A Pie Floater is a pie turned upside down in some chunky Pea soup. Sounds gross and probably is, I have only ever had it drunk but once again after a night on the slops it is great. Throw some Tomato sauce on it and you'll love it. Its a South Australian tradition, you've gotta just try it. Billy Connelly loves em, gets one every time he is in Adelaide.

sorry mate, a pie floater sounds about as appetising as a real floater.

rick James said:
sorry mate, a pie floater sounds about as appetising as a real floater.

Haha yeah I know but trust me it taste alot better than it sounds. I love em and I hate peas.
I think you have to be ********ed though to really enjoy them. Just give it a crack.

Hi guys, one final question, i'm going to the Grand Prix (you know that car racE?) on Saturday.

Would Adelaiders think it's really funny if I go around bragging about how good the vibe is in Melbourne when the GP is on.. or better yet that i barely notice it's on and that onyl the wog blokes go to it, the rest of us didn't really want it but figured we could take it anyway?

heh heh....

Total Package said:
Do yourself a favour... as soon as you arrive at the shed they call Adelaide airport.... hand the taxidriver $20.. and ask him to show you all of Adelaide.... then when he is finished get the $4.50 change off him.. hop back on the plane.. and leave.

Hahaha, Perth aint much bigger.
Depends what you wanna do. A lot of good pubs here etc.

Can anyone recommend a pub where people won't pick fights with me for being so damn cool? :)

it would be a big bonus, thanks.

Seirously though, if I mention the GP will i get bashed?

Ones with good looking chicks, and not too many blokes, especially blokes who like to fight. Preferably one where hte music isn't up too loud, i ahve a habit of yelling a lot when i drink and it gets worse if i can't hear myself talk.

North Adelaide is good for that.. .the Archer isn't bad. If you want pub pubs, then go to rundle st.
But there are pubs scattered everywhere.

rick yooour obviously taking the ********, I cant see ya coming to adel anytime soon

I've been to perth and canberra once, and multiple times to melbourne and sydney, and i seriously doubt that half of you have even been to adelaide, when it sounds like most of you still go to school. But basically perth and adelaide are very similar, perth has no more of a night life than adel, perth is much more spread out than adel though. Perth is a little hotter than adel, but i would say that neither place has really nice weather. Perth is prettier, with the river going, through the city. Melbourne at a guess is about twice the size of adel, i stayed very close to the markets they have there in a backpackers and i would say the best part is easily the trams, makes it very easy to get around. Looks wise it is substantially worse than perth and adel, but i dont think that really matters. One of the things I noticed was the amount of bums that are there, it was a bit of a shock. The night life here isnt that great either, despite what everyone seems to say. Although easily more active than adel and perth. They were developing the river down there (i forgot the name) and it wasn’t bad for a bit esp at night. Sydney is unlike any other place i've been in aust, the pace is much faster, and it takes a month just to get used to the area you live in. At a guest i'd say its two to three times bigger than melbourne, maybe a bit bigger. If you like it fast its the place to go. Canberra has some nice spots, but is very spread out, but as a tourist there are plenty of places to see like the war memorial, which is very good 2 see. So thats it, and stop talking crap about all the cites, they all have their good points, depending on what you like.

outback jack said:
rick yooour obviously taking the ********, I cant see ya coming to adel anytime soon

I've been to perth and canberra once, and multiple times to melbourne and sydney, and i seriously doubt that half of you have even been to adelaide, when it sounds like most of you still go to school. But basically perth and adelaide are very similar, perth has no more of a night life than adel, perth is much more spread out than adel though. Perth is a little hotter than adel, but i would say that neither place has really nice weather. Perth is prettier, with the river going, through the city. Melbourne at a guess is about twice the size of adel, i stayed very close to the markets they have there in a backpackers and i would say the best part is easily the trams, makes it very easy to get around. Looks wise it is substantially worse than perth and adel, but i dont think that really matters. One of the things I noticed was the amount of bums that are there, it was a bit of a shock. The night life here isnt that great either, despite what everyone seems to say. Although easily more active than adel and perth. They were developing the river down there (i forgot the name) and it wasn’t bad for a bit esp at night. Sydney is unlike any other place i've been in aust, the pace is much faster, and it takes a month just to get used to the area you live in. At a guest i'd say its two to three times bigger than melbourne, maybe a bit bigger. If you like it fast its the place to go. Canberra has some nice spots, but is very spread out, but as a tourist there are plenty of places to see like the war memorial, which is very good 2 see. So thats it, and stop talking crap about all the cites, they all have their good points, depending on what you like.

Not taking the ******** mate. I'm a young urban professional. :)

Melbourne's night lfie bad? i've heard sydney's is better, but Melbourne's is great buddy, you just have to find all teh good littel bars and lounges in the alleys... or the secret a few stories up in the city... melbourne has some excellent night life. Even outside of the CBD.

but really, I am going to Adelaide. And melbourne has 4million people, so it's actually 4 times as big as Adelaide. Sydney has 4 and a half million, but much desner living than Melbourne so the CBD is bigger.

melbourne is closer to 3.5 million.
Adelaide may have a smaller population, but that doesn't mean we have less to do.
I think there are more pubs per capita in Adelaide than any city in aus.

you have to stop quoting the amount of ppl there, if any of you have actually been to places it doesnt matter to the average tourist if the suburbs are full with a couple of million ppl. For melbourne, i didnt go outside where the trams finnished up, so thats what i'm talking about, so at my guess i'd say double, maybe tripple, no more. Anyway with the night life bit, i'm just saying that melbourne is a bit overrated, its something that is always brought up, i just saying its not really great. Have you been to sydney?? how would you say it compares?

outback jack said:
you have to stop quoting the amount of ppl there, if any of you have actually been to places it doesnt matter to the average tourist if the suburbs are full with a couple of million ppl. For melbourne, i didnt go outside where the trams finnished up, so thats what i'm talking about, so at my guess i'd say double, maybe tripple, no more. Anyway with the night life bit, i'm just saying that melbourne is a bit overrated, its something that is always brought up, i just saying its not really great. Have you been to sydney?? how would you say it compares?

yeah see if you don't leave the CBD you're not going to understand melbourne's nightlife properly. It's all good though. But some of melbourne's best aprtying area are in the suburbs.. inner suburbs but not CBD area.

Haven't been to sydne,y I've just hear they have some quality clubs.. I've also heard that they only have a few worth going to but they're good.

yob said:
Here's an old construction photo of our new $250 million airport terminal, due to open late this year. One hell of a shed eh?

aa4.jpg
HAHAHAHAHA thats hilarious... look at it. 1 runway.... ******** ant... and that is an UPGRADE. I think that says it all really.

Adelaide is the only airport I have been to where you actually have to walk down the stairs off a 737 and walk along the tarmac to go into the airport.... and have people standing there with umbrellas to stop you from getting ********ing wet. Good to see you have finally caught up with the times... and are building a airport thats more than 1 level.... then again... you've only just put in plastic seats in football park this year instead of the metal lightning conductors everyone had to sit on... so you can't accuse Adelaide of keeping up with the times.

total package u idiot, ur obviously some kid, that has never been to adel. You would have a case if your were in melb or sydney, but your in perth. I have been to perth, probably unlike most ppl, so i can say that if we're in a shi te hole then unfortunately so are you.

I do agree though that we could be more proactive as a state, especially the ppl in power, to develop things and make things more interesting, instead of pouring it into health and edducation. We have some ppl who like to keeps things exactly how they are, but thats for another time....