Coach Adem Yze

See thats where we differ. They have to have ability to improve. Ryan Ralf Sonz you can teach them for a hundred years and they will still be the same. Again they can only do with whatever they have and are in front off them. For a flog MINI is doing ok remeber he didn't pick up any elite injured superstars and beating Port with a shitter list than ours in Adelaide I call that a pass. Ofourse like most we go back to we have Injuries! I recall afew years ago same people were laughing at magpies with that saying BUT WE HAVE INJURIES! Short memories. Rmember MINI was his first season our legend is in his third!
a full list to pick from. If we had most if not all our young players that we drafted
I’ve got no idea if Yze is a good/bad/mediocre senior coach. I’ve heard plenty of players/ coaches say that he was a very good assistant coach, particularly relating to teaching players skills of the game like kicking and game day awareness.

I think he’s up against it for the next 6 weeks without Nank and Lynch, the 2 most important players re team structure. Unfortunately with our current list there’s no plug and play options.

Imo we’ve made a couple of list blunders that haven’t made his job easier. I am a huge fan of Blair’s but ignoring our ruck dilemma was a mistake, re-signing Ryan ridiculous. And over the years not identifying some more mature hard running mids. Yze inherited a very slow, poorly skilled midfield group, he is now playing the waiting game for our new midfield recruits to get up to speed.
Which is why he deserves every opportunity to become a successful coach. The list he took over, let’s face it, was average. Bring in youth and go to this year’s draft.

I am going to try and answer that. It’ll get me into trouble in here. It involves deities put on pedestals, who are supposed to be beyond criticism.

So, it’s essentially a story about sausages. And bacon. Damien Hardwick was once upon a time the senior chef at Richmond. He got some sausages, he seasoned them well, he made them sizzle/play according to his recipes (game style) and he won three prestigious cooking awards in the space of four years.

Post-awards he kept using the same sausages, with the addition of two new ones, hoping he will soon win another cooking award. Or being thereabouts most of the time. Knowing in the culinary world as “doing a Geelong”. Problem is the recipes stopped working. And he tried many of them. To no avail.

So, one fatal night, as he was looking himself in the bathroom mirror, he had an epiphany. It’s not the recipes, its the sausages themselves! And the two new ones were not up to expectations either.

“If I want to become a wining chef again, I have to get rid of the old sausages first”, he said to himself. “And replace them with newer and fresher small goods, or other cuts of meat in general”. He concluded.

But Hardwick realised he couldn’t do that. He loved the old sausages. They literally saved his bacon. They saved his career. He preferred to quit his Richmond position, rather than throwing the sausages to the bin, and start afresh. So he called his boss, the restaurant CEO, and offered his sudden resignation. Famously saying that he tried to cook the sausages 1000 different ways, but it didn’t work any more. And not mentioning the real reason for quitting. His loyalty and love for the dynasty players. His unwillingness to do what would be good for the club, but detrimental to the aforementioned heroes.

Don’t worry about him, though. He was indeed- because of the dynasty- a precious commodity in the restaurant scene and soon found another senior chef position in a Gold Coast AFL restaurant.

So, Hardwick left. And his legacy at Richmond was pretty much over as well. Hardwick did not leave behind people close to him who are still running the club (err, I meant restaurant).

There was another person who also loved and still loves the old and decrepit nowdays “dynasty” sausages. The then CEO of the restaurant, Brendon Gale. Like Hardwick, the dynasty players (err, I meant sausages) also saved his bacon. He was on the verge of being a failed AFL administrator, but the dynasty heroes turned things completely around. And made him, once again, a precious commodity as a highly regarded AFL club chief. Leading to his current Tasmania gig which, like Hardwick, will set him up for life.

The big difference between those two is that Gale did leave people behind, who are still running the club. And they are still bringing home their own bacon thanks to Brendon. Apart from the president, John O'Rourke, who is a self-made man. But still effectively appointed to the position by Gale. Thanks Brendon. Shane Dunne was a gym manager and now he is the CEO of one of the biggest AFL clubs. Thanks Brendon. Blair Hartley, still General Manager of Football Talent. Thanks Brendon. Tim Livingstone, still Executive General Manager (EGM) Football Performance. Thanks Brendon.

I may have forgotten someone, but you get the drift. All of these people are highly indebted to Brendon. They own their livelihood to him. Or, in the case of O’Rourke, their prestigious position.

I am not necessarily saying that Gale is picking up the phone or sends an email and selects the team from Hobart. But his minnows love him and deeply respect him and, as a result, they won’t do anything against the sausages! They will treat them with reverence. Because this is what Brendon would do if he was still around. And what Brendon wants them to do now, implicitly rather than explicitly. He loves the sausages man! Loves them for the same reason his minnows love him! It’s all about bacon!

So, the minnows are holding Yze by the cohonas and are dictating terms to him about the dynasty players. Yze, at least from afar, looks like a meek arts teacher who awards participation ribbons to all students. Rather than a warrior and leader of men who will tell the minnows where to go.

So, he obliges and selects the golden heroes, no matter what.

It’s Gale’s ghost, still hanging over Punt Rd Oval, that picks the team. As simple as that.

Now, this is my explanation. I may be wrong. I don’t think I am. This is the only scenario that makes sense to me, given what I know that I know and what I know that I don’t know about Richmond. As Donald Rumsfeld would say.

That’s it!

Peace...
artworks-000420614433-yhm7w3-t500x500-4.webp

He is so far away from his day of reckoning that it's not worth even bringing it up.

Voss is facing his reckoning.

BScott his reckoning.

Yze has at least this, and then possibly another season of 2-5 wins before his reckoning appears.

Fact is, we all laugh at Carlton and throwing away a 40+ point lead, but I would take that in a heartbeat atm. If we were to display the sort of footy which nets us 7 consecutive goals, even if we ended up dropping the 4 points, that would be a great sign. We could then address the surrender aspect as a separate issue.
I dispute that. In 3rd season, should've won round 1, continues to play absolute duds like Ralphsmith and never-ending faith in Ross and Hopper in the midfield and nobody can really identify with surety our game plan. Teams like North and Eagles possibly look like rocketing ahead of us. Injuries yes, but so does everyone. One of the worst coaching records after 45 games in history.

Teams like North and Eagles possibly look like rocketing ahead of us
Tbh anyone who hasn't always thought these teams were ahead of us is delusional. Given the approach Yze and co are taking, I've long said our nadir will probably be around 2028. North had theirs many years ago and WC had theirs last year.

I dispute that. In 3rd season, should've won round 1, continues to play absolute duds like Ralphsmith and never-ending faith in Ross and Hopper in the midfield and nobody can really identify with surety our game plan. Teams like North and Eagles possibly look like rocketing ahead of us. Injuries yes, but so does everyone. One of the worst coaching records after 45 games in history.
West Coast and North have been rebuilding for longer than us, and so yes, they are ahead of us.

Why the comparisons to North and West coast as if they are relevant
North 1st bottomed out in 2020 and West Coast in 2022 we didn’t bottom out until 2024

Of course they are going rocket past us

Tbh anyone who hasn't always thought these teams were ahead of us is delusional. Given the approach Yze and co are taking, I've long said our nadir will probably be around 2028. North had theirs many years ago and WC had theirs last year.
  • Peter Rohde (Western Bulldogs, 2002–04): Frequently cited in Reddit threads as having a terrible record, finishing with just 9 wins from 45+ matches.
  • Mark Neeld (Melbourne, 2012–13): Widely regarded by users as having a disastrous tenure, often described as having the worst "real-world" impact, despite some arguing his record was exacerbated by inheriting a weak list.
  • Matthew Primus (Port Adelaide, 2010–12): Often cited as one of the worst, with users highlighting his poor record when taking over as a replacement coach.
  • Justin Leppitsch (Brisbane, 2014–16): Mentioned for a 14 win, 52 loss record, which was described by users as setting the club back significantly.
  • Tim Watson (St Kilda, 1999-00): Cited for a very low winning percentage (~27%) in his 44 games.
    Reddit +5
Other Notable Mentions:
  • Brendon Bolton (Carlton): Reddit analysis of mid-season replacements noted that Bolton's final 50 matches for Carlton were among the worst.
  • Gary Buckenara (Sydney): Cited for a very low 12% win rate in his short tenure.

• YZE 8 wins from 50 games at 16%

Why the comparisons to North and West coast as if they are relevant
North 1st bottomed out in 2020 and West Coast in 2022 we didn’t bottom out until 2024

Of course they are going rocket past us
Would seriously have issues with these clubs if we were better than them, that’s for sure. After all, the AFL has gifted them how many extra picks? Continue to blood the kids pump games into them and go to this years draft. Development means development.

• Peter Rohde (Western Bulldogs, 2002–04): Frequently cited in Reddit threads as having a terrible record, finishing with just 9 wins from 45+ matches.
  • Mark Neeld (Melbourne, 2012–13): Widely regarded by users as having a disastrous tenure, often described as having the worst "real-world" impact, despite some arguing his record was exacerbated by inheriting a weak list.
  • Matthew Primus (Port Adelaide, 2010–12): Often cited as one of the worst, with users highlighting his poor record when taking over as a replacement coach.
  • Justin Leppitsch (Brisbane, 2014–16): Mentioned for a 14 win, 52 loss record, which was described by users as setting the club back significantly.
  • Tim Watson (St Kilda, 1999-00): Cited for a very low winning percentage (~27%) in his 44 games.
    Reddit +5
Other Notable Mentions:
  • Brendon Bolton (Carlton): Reddit analysis of mid-season replacements noted that Bolton's final 50 matches for Carlton were among the worst.
  • Gary Buckenara (Sydney): Cited for a very low 12% win rate in his short tenure.

• YZE 8 wins from 50 games at 16%
Can’t compare Yze to them different game styles and different players. Might as well compare our current game to back in the 1920s. Like, really? Patience, people.

Would seriously have issues with these clubs if we were better than them, that’s for sure. After all, the AFL has gifted them how many extra picks? Continue to blood the kids pump games into them and go to this years draft. Development means development.
Yup, of course it’s natural to question Yze and how we are going but right now the coach isn’t the issue, it’s the list/injuries

Changing coaches right now won’t net us extra wins and just creates uncertainty around the club

If Yze has the players that’s all that matters right now

if we arent out of the bottom 4 in season 2027 its curtains . theres no high end picks available with tassie having a seat at the draft table at the end of next year anyway
What you drinking? 2027 tell them you’re dreaming

I am going to try and answer that. It’ll get me into trouble in here. It involves deities put on pedestals, who are supposed to be beyond criticism.

So, it’s essentially a story about sausages. And bacon. Damien Hardwick was once upon a time the senior chef at Richmond. He got some sausages, he seasoned them well, he made them sizzle/play according to his recipes (game style) and he won three prestigious cooking awards in the space of four years.

Post-awards he kept using the same sausages, with the addition of two new ones, hoping he will soon win another cooking award. Or being thereabouts most of the time. Knowing in the culinary world as “doing a Geelong”. Problem is the recipes stopped working. And he tried many of them. To no avail.

So, one fatal night, as he was looking himself in the bathroom mirror, he had an epiphany. It’s not the recipes, its the sausages themselves! And the two new ones were not up to expectations either.

“If I want to become a wining chef again, I have to get rid of the old sausages first”, he said to himself. “And replace them with newer and fresher small goods, or other cuts of meat in general”. He concluded.

But Hardwick realised he couldn’t do that. He loved the old sausages. They literally saved his bacon. They saved his career. He preferred to quit his Richmond position, rather than throwing the sausages to the bin, and start afresh. So he called his boss, the restaurant CEO, and offered his sudden resignation. Famously saying that he tried to cook the sausages 1000 different ways, but it didn’t work any more. And not mentioning the real reason for quitting. His loyalty and love for the dynasty players. His unwillingness to do what would be good for the club, but detrimental to the aforementioned heroes.

Don’t worry about him, though. He was indeed- because of the dynasty- a precious commodity in the restaurant scene and soon found another senior chef position in a Gold Coast AFL restaurant.

So, Hardwick left. And his legacy at Richmond was pretty much over as well. Hardwick did not leave behind people close to him who are still running the club (err, I meant restaurant).

There was another person who also loved and still loves the old and decrepit nowdays “dynasty” sausages. The then CEO of the restaurant, Brendon Gale. Like Hardwick, the dynasty players (err, I meant sausages) also saved his bacon. He was on the verge of being a failed AFL administrator, but the dynasty heroes turned things completely around. And made him, once again, a precious commodity as a highly regarded AFL club chief. Leading to his current Tasmania gig which, like Hardwick, will set him up for life.

The big difference between those two is that Gale did leave people behind, who are still running the club. And they are still bringing home their own bacon thanks to Brendon. Apart from the president, John O'Rourke, who is a self-made man. But still effectively appointed to the position by Gale. Thanks Brendon. Shane Dunne was a gym manager and now he is the CEO of one of the biggest AFL clubs. Thanks Brendon. Blair Hartley, still General Manager of Football Talent. Thanks Brendon. Tim Livingstone, still Executive General Manager (EGM) Football Performance. Thanks Brendon.

I may have forgotten someone, but you get the drift. All of these people are highly indebted to Brendon. They own their livelihood to him. Or, in the case of O’Rourke, their prestigious position.

I am not necessarily saying that Gale is picking up the phone or sends an email and selects the team from Hobart. But his minnows love him and deeply respect him and, as a result, they won’t do anything against the sausages! They will treat them with reverence. Because this is what Brendon would do if he was still around. And what Brendon wants them to do now, implicitly rather than explicitly. He loves the sausages man! Loves them for the same reason his minnows love him! It’s all about bacon!

So, the minnows are holding Yze by the cohonas and are dictating terms to him about the dynasty players. Yze, at least from afar, looks like a meek arts teacher who awards participation ribbons to all students. Rather than a warrior and leader of men who will tell the minnows where to go.

So, he obliges and selects the golden heroes, no matter what.

It’s Gale’s ghost, still hanging over Punt Rd Oval, that picks the team. As simple as that.

Now, this is my explanation. I may be wrong. I don’t think I am. This is the only scenario that makes sense to me, given what I know that I know and what I know that I don’t know about Richmond. As Donald Rumsfeld would say.

That’s it!

Peace...
Thanks. Love the time and effort put into that. But my suspicion is you are not really talking about a restaurant but Richmond fc.

One comment: Hopper surely is not one of the old sausages though?

It is not Adem's fault.
What I can't believe is how, structurally, the club let so many talented players leave en masse, unlike say Geelong.
An exodus of talent.
People might hate Geelong, and I do, but at least they have some continuity of form.
They are taken seriously.
Even the departure of Daniel Rioli alone has crippled the club's performance.
Watch how he provides rebound off the HBF.

It is not Adem's fault.
What I can't believe is how, structurally, the club let so many talented players leave en masse, unlike say Geelong.
An exodus of talent.
People might hate Geelong, and I do, but at least they have some continuity of form.
They are taken seriously.
Even the departure of Daniel Rioli alone has crippled the club's performance.
Watch how he provides rebound off the HBF.
They knew it was coming, should have at the very least traded for a good mid aged forward after 2023 (koshitzke doesn’t count)

Thanks. Love the time and effort put into that. But my suspicion is you are not really talking about a restaurant but Richmond fc.

One comment: Hopper surely is not one of the old sausages though?
No, mate. He was one of the two new sausages bought by chef Hardwick to compliment the old sausages. So, he can have another go at winning a fourth culinary award. But the recipe didn’t work. It was the 1000th one by the way. He said so, during his quitting press conference. After this, Chef Hardwick took his Alexandra and headed to his new Alexandria, at Gold Coast.

Hopper is treated like a dynasty sausage because we persuaded him that chef Dimma would stick around and would keep cooking until he gets the recipe right. But chef Dimma did a runner. So, the Richmond big shots feel guilty for misleading him. And keep playing him, though currently he is completely crap. We have a general elevated sensitivity about how we treat our established sausages at Richmond.

PS: I forgot to mention that bringing Taranto and Hopper in was sanctioned by the great man himself, Brendon. If Brendon harms or disadvantages your career in some way, he will make up for it, through his intermediaries. In this regard, Brendon is an upstanding citizen. Which may not be a bad thing, anyway.

I hope this clarifies things...

How does a delusional coach who comes out and says we have a great midfield make changes?

West Coast and North have been rebuilding for longer than us, and so yes, they are ahead of us.
Norf basketcase they never were in a rebuild.Just a club with no direction. Getting Coleman Jones proves that lol. Eagles last season was there rebuild and gone past us. Eagles have been proven to be the best run club and already proving it.

4 years in the bottom 4 isnt normal
His saying your dreaming if you think we will get it right by 27! The way players are going down not just us we will be lucky to field a team in 27
1000_F_1462244907_E7bpRoduSGAfivDuKvH4CNNSLMZatTHv.webp

The angry mob on big footy won't get a RFC employee sacked.
Cos Hugo and Hopper are getting games.

Yze was tipped to win no games last year and won 5

The club make a lot of poor list calls. Meehan into serpell not great. No ACLs at least.
I don't watch junior football so I have no idea about our drafting.

No Lynch and no nank f...d expectations for me.

Midfield should have a Rioli in it.
Too many 187 types. In my opinion

We may eventually make it back to finals but we may also hang around the bottom of the ladder.
No guarantees
Seem Richmond make a lot of bad calls

My measuring stick for Yze is how he is going vs Mini. They have been at it for the same time and in charge of similar lists.
You would have to say based on recent evidence that Mini is doing a better job. Did we really mess up by not appointing him as coach ? I am in Perth and see him speak on the news once a week. He comes across far better than Yze.

The Eagles are playing a better brand with more grunt than we are (at least in recent weeks)

I wonder if deep down Yze regrets pressing the “send” button on his laptop, when putting in his application for the vacant position of senior coach at Tigerland.

He has inherited a big 4 Club whose football team was on the decline. He has been hit by an unprecedented number of injuries over the course of his time at the club. The CEO who was the architect of our recent success, leaves within 12 months of ratifying Yze appointment.

He’s working in some of the worst facilities in the AFL as the club undertakes a major redevelopment. He picks up a high performance dept that isn’t fit for purpose. They replace the Head of the dept, but there are no real tangible improvements.

We pull the emergency switch within 8 months of his appointment and decide to commit to a complete rebuild of the list. In the process jettisoning a number of senior players, who may or may not have wanted to leave.

All preseason the Tiger faithful have said that if we lose Nank & Lynch we’ll be in a world of pain, by the end of round 2 both players are out injured for an extended period.

To be truthful, while there are some tweaks he can make to team selection, Yze has been dealt a pretty ordinary hand which has been largely out of his control.

My measuring stick for Yze is how he is going vs Mini. They have been at it for the same time and in charge of similar lists.
You would have to say based on recent evidence that Mini is doing a better job. Did we really mess up by not appointing him as coach ? I am in Perth and see him speak on the news once a week. He comes across far better than Yze.

The Eagles are playing a better brand with more grunt than we are (at least in recent weeks)
Not really similar lists
Eagles had a good two year head start in acquiring top line draft picks where now they have really started to come into their own, that’s a luxury we don’t have yet

I see why people want to make the comparison but it isn’t quite comparing apples with apples