Coach Adem Yze

Clearly that shows that opportunity is being given to more than just the 3 old guys that you are upset about.
TT and Hopper both in top 20 midfielders in the comp in terms of CBA % among guys who've played more than 5 games. And Hopper is ofc a massive outlier in terms of player rating.

1779099561267.webp

You're just misreading the numbers which inflate CBA % for kids because many of them have only played a few games due to injury (e.g. Cumming). But as a percentage of all CBAs across the season we're doing a truly dreadful job of exposing kids.

Mate, he has had 3 years. Not 3 weeks.

The only game i recall thinking was a high quality performance was the Syd win. Outside of that, the games have been pretty dour W,L or D.

People act like we are crazy inpatient - but its been 3 years.The whole dynasty was only 4. I was gutted when they agreed to let Bolton go, but trusted they knew what they were doing& it would be a fun ride.

This is not fun.
I haven't seen a full side play in those 3 years... The first year was shocking. Had all our experienced players and they were horrific and disinterested most of the time. Thank goodness they left and delivered us some kids otherwise we'd be 15-16th now and old as anything. Injuries have been diabolical for 3 years in a row. The guys that will take us forward need to play together (VFL or AFL) and they haven't had the chance to do it for anything resembling an extended period. They need 15-18 games a year together, they can't even get 3-4.

Lalor has never played a game with Hotton, one with Cumming, none with Smilie, 7ish with Grlj. Jonty and Harry have played a handfull together. Might have played 2-3 with Sims.

Peucker and NRT have played more games together (in the VFL) than most of the combos from the 2024 draft. The list goes on. The only guys not getting injured are the guys who aren't part of our development where we really need it - Hopper, TT

I do agree with you though, not much fun watching our potential future not play. It's the glimpses that I'm looking for at the moment. Some class from NRT, the running of Retshko and Burton as kids, the burst running of Grlj (looked knackered a couple of weeks ago), the way Cumming wants to compete, Trainor's ability to do a couple of incredibly difficult things easily a couple of times a game.

TT and Hopper both in top 20 midfielders in the comp in terms of CBA % among guys who've played more than 5 games. And Hopper is ofc a massive outlier in terms of player rating.

View attachment 2615096

You're just misreading the numbers which inflate CBA % for kids because many of them have only played a few games due to injury (e.g. Cumming). But as a percentage of all CBAs across the season we're doing a truly dreadful job of exposing kids.
That's another misrepresentation of the data you've made based off your own assertion of someone else's misread!

As the younger players have been injured, obviously their % of total CBAs is down... they haven't played as often. Smilie has a very low % of CBAs because he hasn't played. Lalor had played more and his CBAs were much higher than in 2025 but as a total % they are going down each week because... wait for it... he isn't playing. What happens when they play though, they have got a decent and increasing share of CBAs. Their bodies clearly can't handle it but maybe that is Serpell or maybe it's just age.

That's another misrepresentation of the data you've made based off your own assertion of someone else's misread!

As the younger players have been injured, obviously their % of total CBAs is down... they haven't played as often. Smilie has a very low % of CBAs because he hasn't played. Lalor had played more and his CBAs were much higher than in 2025 but as a total % they are going down each week because... wait for it... he isn't playing. What happens when they play though, they have got a decent and increasing share of CBAs. Their bodies clearly can't handle it but maybe that is Serpell or maybe it's just age.
Sonsie Ross, Kmac, Campbell, mansell and others should have seen more midfield time in the last two years. Yes there’s been some injury time in that group but there’s also been plenty of playing on the wings and flanks and being dropped to the twos. We should have been having a good look at them given we were losing anyway.

Short and Others also given time to share the load.

What have we gained or learned from the last two years with the usual three dominating time? I’d argue very little other than “protecting the kids”. That’s worked out well hasn’t it.

We know what those three bring when playing bulk time together onball and it’s not competitive. Playing old Kmac onball was just throwing fuel on the fire. I’d rather have been playing them guys out of position at times (or on occasion not played at all) and getting midfield time into half a dozen others in short rotations. At a minimum they would be more developed and we would know more about their capabilities. There’s more to look at than just our 18 & 19 year olds who have been injured.

View attachment 2615096

Hoppers player rating is low in part because his ball use is putrid as he has had 8 of 9 games with a negative ball use rating and a is the only 1 in the top 20 you listed with a DE% below 60.

Sonsie Ross, Kmac, Campbell, mansell and others should have seen more midfield time in the last two years. Yes there’s been some injury time in that group but there’s also been plenty of playing on the wings and flanks and being dropped to the twos. We should have been having a good look at them given we were losing anyway.

What have we gained or learned from the last two years with the usual three dominating time? I’d argue very little other than “protecting the kids”. That’s worked out well hasn’t it.

We know what those three bring when playing bulk time together onball and it’s not competitive. Playing old Kmac onball was just throwing fuel on the fire. I’d rather have been playing them guys out of position at times (or on occasion not played at all) and getting midfield time into half a dozen others in short rotations. At a minimum they would be more developed and we would know more about their capabilities. There’s more to look at than just our 18 & 19 year olds who have been injured.
As far as the highlighted part goes, Prestia has missed just under half of the games we've played since the start of last season.

Since round 16 last year Ross has had 15 of 17 games with more than 50% CBA

From 20 career games McAuliffe has had 13 games with over 40% CBA and another at 38%, he did so in all 5 games he played last year and 3 of the 6 games this year, so 8 of his last 11 games at senior level include plenty of CBA time.

As far as the highlighted part goes, Prestia has missed just under half of the games we've played since the start of last season.

Since round 16 last year Ross has had 15 of 17 games with more than 50% CBA

From 20 career games McAuliffe has had 13 games with over 40% CBA and another at 38%, he did so in all 5 games he played last year and 3 of the 6 games this year, so 8 of his last 11 games at senior level include plenty of CBA time.
Prestia shouldn’t be playing at all this year once we committed to Hopper every game. He should have been only brought in once the injuries came or instead of hopper. Ideally there should be a 26-27 year old in his list spot this year.

I have no desire to continually see Prestia, Hopper and TT in the middle together but they've been in there for a couple of reasons. One they have largely been available (except Dion but when he hasn't been there, Ross has). Sonsie I'd love to have seen in there - plenty of evidence of me calling for it here and other platforms. Kmac has played inside when available prior to this season when he got his chance on the wing before getting a go inside. Mansell isn't the answer, Short was tried at times (also not the answer) and we don't need that either. Biggest issue is Hopper - can't play anywhere else and hasn't broken down so at a time when so many are unavailable... he's available.

If all were available I'd be looking to pair up our rotations something like:

TT swapping with Lalor
Ross swapping with Cumming (1 of Lalor/Cumming in the middle as often as possible)
Hopper (dropped) but if playing swapping with Kmac. If Hopper dropped then Kmac, swapping with Hotton
Smilie swapping with Grlj/ pinch hit Campbell (better forward).

Then when injury happens, you can start to bring through other guys - Sonsie, Armstrong (if we draft him), another mid if we trade for one.

That's 8 guys without counting any backups/trades (and without Hopper) - that's plenty.

Most clubs don't have more than 7 rotate through, it's usually 5-6 depending on the mids.

This is a lie. He has had 37 CBAs since 2022. In total. There's ~ 90 CBAs every game across all the onballers.

He has never been tried as an onballer in the AFL.

Lol so why did the coaches try to push him to the wing this season? Another lie. It's not only injuries which have kept him out of the centre.

You should work for the club, the fitness team in particular needs someone with your chronic dishonesty to write up their injury reports.
Sonsie is not AFL standard, nor are Rioli, HRS and others on our list. Wake up. Quality mids when put out to wing/half forward still have impact. You’re asking the club to put players who can not get better than 10 possessions on average to be our midfielders. If you really want to see us losing by 100 most weeks, then put those hacks in for CBAs. What you’re proposing is rediculous. The club is aware of its horrendous list and our centre problems but they’re not dumb enough to put these hacks in the midfield. Can you imagine a headless chook like Rioli getting a centre possession. He’d run around in a circle before getting caught or miss a target by 20 metres. He can’t kick, he can’t handball. We’d be hit on the rebound constantly. He’s a shite footballer, who along with Sonsie and others need to be delisted. I’d rather TT(not Hopper) on one leg than the spuds your proposing should be our engine room.

Quality mids when put out to wing/half forward still have impact.
So Lalor had an impact in those roles (although he was going missing for long stretches), but Ross and Kmac2 were both in 'dud delist' territory when not playing in the centre. So in a sense you're right.

But also Ross and Kmac2 are both a lot better than Hopper. Sonsie just has to be better than Hopper to justify taking his spot, and he certainly would be.

I would bet any money he would average more rating points over 9 games or whatever than Hopper has, if he played as an onballer. He's a 'stoppage specialist' according to his draft notes and that's obviously the only thing he's good at if you watch him play.

Work rate Average speeds from the AFL app: courtesy of AI.
We certainly run faster in attack that defense...unlike most other teams.
Might be a good reason for it.
Richmond OpponentRichmond AttackOpponent AttackRichmond DefenceOpponent Defence
Melbourne Football Club🟢 8.3 km/h🔴 7.4 km/h🔴 7.2 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h
St Kilda Football Club🟢 8.5 km/h🔴 7.6 km/h🔴 7.4 km/h🟢 8.5 km/h
West Coast Eagles🔴 7.7 km/h🟢 7.9 km/h🔴 7.5 km/h🟢 7.6 km/h
North Melbourne Football Club⚪ 7.5 km/h⚪ 7.5 km/h🔴 7.2 km/h🟢 7.7 km/h
Greater Western Sydney Giants🟢 8.2 km/h🔴 7.7 km/h🔴 7.4 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h
Port Adelaide Football Club🔴 7.6 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h🔴 7.5 km/h
Fremantle Football Club🟢 8.1 km/h🔴 7.2 km/h🔴 7.2 km/h🟢 8.0 km/h
West Coast Eagles🟢 8.2 km/h🔴 6.9 km/h🔴 6.9 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h
Carlton Football Club🔴 7.9 km/h🟢 8.2 km/h🟢 8.1 km/h🔴 7.8 km/h

Master class from Yze tonight. With 1/3 of our list playing under 10 games they wouldn't have been able to run and gun even against a depleted bombers.

I wouldn't call it a masterclass, that third quarter was putrid and they barely had players on the bench. A win's a win though.

Even though we won tonight against a dreadful Bombers team, what I am seeing with the way we play at times is concerning.

And at times scintillating ball movement.
Denied them the corridor.
Another great step in the development.
Yze on fire.

Even though we won tonight against a dreadful Bombers team, what I am seeing with the way we play at times is concerning.
That first half was incredibly taxing. The high pressure level required to shut down all of those Bomber chip passes as they tried to pick their way through us looked to have taken a toll, so we clearly went into a holding pattern for the third quarter. No way such a young team could've sustained that pressure and run/gun level for the whole 80 minutes.

I think we probably still had another (half?) gear to go to if push had come to shove in those last 15 minutes, especially with Faull out and Lynch and Trainor playing injured.

But yeah, for pure optical enjoyment, there were a handful of times I'd wished we'd forward-handballed rather than backward-handballed.

That first half was incredibly taxing. The high pressure level required to shut down all of those Bomber chip passes as they tried to pick their way through us looked to have taken a toll, so we clearly went into a holding pattern for the third quarter. No way such a young team could've sustained that pressure and run/gun level for the whole 80 minutes.

I think we probably still had another (half?) gear to go to if push had come to shove in those last 15 minutes, especially with Faull out and Lynch and Trainor playing injured.

But yeah, for pure optical enjoyment, there were a handful of times I'd wished we'd forward-handballed rather than backward-handballed.
This is a fair assessment.

We are a young list that spent a lot of tickets in the first half.

The message could quite possibly be, to as much as we can, put the breaks on there burst that was always coming to open the 3rd.. make them spend their tickets short handed, so that we could close out the last.

Agree that there were a couple of clear instances where we could have exploited a forward handball, but I get the idea... and it worked 🤷‍♂️

I'll give the benefit of the doubt that the assessment is our young side doesn't have the legs to run out games, but my god we look rubbish when we play the slow build up long down the line into 50 style.

When we run, handball and pressure hard the gamestyle looks a lot better, but we're still only seeing it against rubbish sides. Sydney will smash us but it'll be a good test can we go out and play with speed, attacking flair and pressure against a top side and see what happens.

I personally think the third quarter was done as education for the young guys to try educate how to use control and counter the chip game

Brilliant coaching

Yze has it

As it stands.. hes won 7 games in 2 seasons where at times... we have been tipped to not win a game 🤷‍♂️

Ill judge him next year i reckon if we have a reasonably fit side.

Youth I would have thought!