Suspended
Church of Simon Wiggins
OK, so here's the deal.

About 18 months ago, my best mate started seeing this girl. At the time, he was 20, and she was 28. Went along as moral support for their first real date. Anyway, whilst he's off in the bathroom, our conversation topic goes no further than her history with shit ex-boyfriends, and how she'll never let a man treat her like shit again. "OK...", I thought. This one won't last long. Nice, but clearly has issues.

Few months later, me and him are at a concert together, and we're having a chat before the show starts, and he mentions to me, "Shit, I'm pretty sure she might be pregnant. Should be OK though, she seemed happy to go the abortion route". At intermission, he plays me a voice message from her telling him that she is pregnant, and then proceeds with begging him to keep it, as if it were a stray puppy or something. I'm halfway through laughing about how overly keen she is to get knocked up so soon, when he's on the phone to her, practically in tears about how they're going to be parents. I'm slightly placated by the offer that I'll probably be godparent or whatever.

Next few weeks go by and she gets even worse, from incidents such as, whilst moving house, we find an ancient used condom under his bed, so she automatically assumes he's been cheating on her, despite the thing looking about 5 years old, and there being no feasible way he could have cheated on her, and decides to storm out, wanting to never see him again and threatening that he'll never see his child again, to for his 21st, buying him a digital camera "for the both of them", in other words, something he had no want or use for, but chose to buy for herself.

They have a do on for Australia Day at their new house, and I turn up. She spends the whole day inside with her family and doesn't talk to anyone. We exchange brief conversation and that's about it. I go home, generally wondering what he's got himself into, but if he's happy, then so be it. Few days later, I get a call from him saying that "we need to talk". Apparently she threw a massive hissy fit at how rude I was to have gone into their home and not spoken to her and made a point of ignoring her all day. Bit of a WTF moment from me, but I just tell him that I barely spoke to him all day there was just that many people there, let alone her, who spent the day inside and didn't talk to anyone. He seemed to take me at my word, and asked me if there was a problem, to which I straight batted "I barely know her".

Few weeks later is his 21st, and I continually get messages from him that week asking me to "make an effort to be nice to her". No problems, I figure. Turn up early to help set up, as I was DJ'ing for the night, see her there, and wave/smile/attempt to make conversation, only for her to glare and walk straight past me without a single word. As the night goes on, others are noticing the obvious glares I cop from her, and that I'm an obvious omission from the Powerpoint slideshow of photos, which oddly enough was made by her. A few of his footy mates who I barely know, confide in me that they can't stand her either, but refuse to say anything.

More phone calls ensue the days after the party asking why I hadn't made more of an effort. In the end I lose it, and text him with "Look, I'm sorry mate, but she's clearly got issues, I doubt she gives a shit about you anywhere near as much as you do about her, and I get the impression that she's just looking for anyone to give her a kid before she hits 30. And I know that some of your footy mates have problems with her too."

Shit really hits the fan now, as my messagebank is filled with requests to name names. Tough ask, when I don't think I even know their names. In the end I defer, tell him to ask them, and I really just don't care about it anymore, if she's going to be that manipulative.

Awkward truce occurs for a few months. Still yet to see his child, after nearly 6 months. However, grand final week rolls around, and I start to wonder what will happen to our annual tradition of doing Brownlow night and grand final day at our local pub.

Organise Brownlow night, no problems. However, he's having a BBQ at his place, and I'm invited. Sure, I reply, if your Mrs. has no problems with me being there.

Get a text back, saying it's fine on the conditions that I treat her with respect in her own home....and if it's possible, apologise for disrespecting her.

The first one, is as always, not a problem. The second one, hmmm, struggling there. I genuinely am struggling to see where I'm at fault, to a point where I feel I'm clearly in the wrong and that an apology is necessary.

Had a bit of an argument about it with him last night, and generally ended up agreeing to apologize for the sake of our friendship, rather than any real regret on my behalf.

Having said that, I've already made efforts in the past, and ended up looking the bad guy for it. I can see this going a similiar route.

So I'm sitting here with her phone number, wondering whether I go ahead and deal with this shit now, or do I just cut my losses, in the hope that he kinda sees what's going on here?

Thoughts?

Thanks for reading all that by the way!

She's clearly twisted, so it won't matter what you do, she'll turn it around / see it through her own distorted view. eg - you could sincerely apologise, and she still won't be happy with you - she'll probably say she could tell you didn't mean it. Sorry - no win situation IMO.

You could of course call her out on the whole thing, but you'll probably lose your mate and it wouldn't change her anyway.

Yeah, I can pretty much script the phone conversation now.

"Hi, having spoken to your boyfriend, I think it's clear that you feel slighted by me in some way, and think I've ignored you, well I'm sorry you feel that way, and it wasn't in my intentions to do so."

"Yeah, but how dare you! You came into my home and disrespected me! You haven't spoken to me once!"

"Actually, we did. We had a conversation about Football Manager of all things, IIRC."

"Are you calling me a liar? I don't have to put up with this shit. I'm never going to be treated like shit by men again! **** you!"

*hang up*

In the tradition of TLC:

Do a barrel roll or hit her.

But on a serious note, you need to ask if the friendship is worth it. If you are not in the wrong you could say something like:

"I'm sorry if I have done anything to upset or offend you, but anything I may have done was not intentional & I didn't realise that is how you viewed me."

This way you are saying sorry to her as your mate wants but not saying sorry for something you didn't do.

Depending on what kind of phone you have, you can record the conversation. Record it, and if she hits you up with that shit, play it to your mate. Say you sincerely tried to apologise, she rejected it so she can jam it.

If he is a mate, he will understand, but you guys probably won't be close mates again a) until he pisses her of, or vice versa; or b) Forever.

hey London Calling, I've been in situations similar to you whereby a guy has been a manipulative twat to one of my girlfriends. I can tell you the reason they do this is they are insecure and want to isolate their partner from their friends.

Even though she is a bitch the best thing you can do, is go along with her demands and stay close to your mate. Eventually they will break up - guaranteed and your friend will love your arse forever for putting up with him and his twatty mrs.

I know it's asking alot, but in a way you are beating her at her own game because her agenda is to isolate your mate and you're not letting her. Let her be as irrational as she wants and show her up by being a diplomatic superstar. For eg, when you arrive at the party go up to her and give her a hearty hello hug in front of your mate this will raise suspician next time she bags you out for being aloof towards her.

ps. is she actually pregnant?

Yeah, I can pretty much script the phone conversation now.

"Hi, having spoken to your boyfriend, I think it's clear that you feel slighted by me in some way, and think I've ignored you, well I'm sorry you feel that way, and it wasn't in my intentions to do so."

"Yeah, but how dare you! You came into my home and disrespected me! You haven't spoken to me once!"

"Actually, we did. We had a conversation about Football Manager of all things, IIRC."

"Are you calling me a liar? I don't have to put up with this shit. I'm never going to be treated like shit by men again! **** you!"

*hang up*

Oh dear :eek::eek::eek:

She is worse than i thought.

Try to only interact with her in front of your mate so when your mate hits you up to appolgise to her you can lol and say something along the lines of "don't involve me in your irrational train wreck of a relationship" (maybe use less offensive words).

She is trying to get power over your friendship and it's working because she obviously has some hold over your mate. You need to distance yourself from it and keep your mate at the same time. I reckon you're smart enough to do this london calling ;):thumbsu:

ps. is she actually pregnant?

Hahah, I had the same suspicions, but yes, child already born, 6 months old, and looks a lot like the Dad.

There goes that one.

Another spanner in the works - he's quite insistent that I come over for GF day now. I, struggle with his parties at the best of times, seeing as I'm the only one that's not part of his footy club that turns up, and really, if we're not talking about their club, it's a very quiet time. This one will take the cake.

Now Ms. LC has just texted me letting me know that we're having a few people over here on Saturday, and I'm expected here.

Ahhhhh ****.

Hahah, I had the same suspicions, but yes, child already born, 6 months old, and looks a lot like the Dad.

There goes that one.

Another spanner in the works - he's quite insistent that I come over for GF day now. I, struggle with his parties at the best of times, seeing as I'm the only one that's not part of his footy club that turns up, and really, if we're not talking about their club, it's a very quiet time. This one will take the cake.

Now Ms. LC has just texted me letting me know that we're having a few people over here on Saturday, and I'm expected here.

Ahhhhh ****.

hahahaha, there's your out LC, tell your mate "Ms. LC has just texted me letting me know that we're having a few people over here on Saturday, and I'm expected here, you know how it is"

;);)

hahahaha, there's your out LC, tell your mate "Ms. LC has just texted me letting me know that we're having a few people over here on Saturday, and I'm expected here, you know how it is"

;);)

"But you didn't make an effort":rolleyes:

Stupid Bitch.

LC, always be pleasant and smiling around her, to the point of taking the piss, and you'll come out of it all looking a hero, while she'll get more and more pissed off, and your mate will eventually crack on to what a complete **** she is.

Good luck.;)

Yeah, look, admittedly, she's an inconvenience, and if I wanted to break them up, I could do so quite easily.

However, that would be fairly ****ed up given that theres a child's family that I'd be ****ing with here.

Can tolerate that she's around. I just don't know if that's mutual and whether I should be concerned about my own survival in this little picture.

It's a good point about the kid.

Is it a loving relationship? If so, you'd be mad to **** that up for the kid. Just act really happy around her, and she'll get incredibly frustrated, giving you the moral victory, without ****ing anything up.

Honestly wouldn't have a clue. Haven't seen her since his 21st, and yet to meet the baby.

Hard to say really.

I'd just forget about what an absolute bitch she is, and think about the fact that it's making your mate happy (from the sounds of it), and that you don't have to put up with her that often.

There goes that one.

Ahhhhh ****.

Honestly wouldn't have a clue. Haven't seen her since his 21st, and yet to meet the baby.

Hard to say really.

If you don't see her all that frequently, you just have to put up with it and whenever possible ensure your actions are witnessed, as a few other posters have suggested.

Not sure why you would stress about having the perfect out this Sat (ie your Mrs and having people around, always trumps any friend and their event, does it not?)

Small household full of Hawk supporters, whom I'd reckon are about to be fairly disappointed? That's going to be a long day! :D

Go to their party. Hit on her. Not literally, just make her feel she's the most important person on the planet for three hours. Sweep her off her feet. She can't claim she's being ignored. If it doesn't work, you can always claim you were being ironic. Might cause some problems with your mate, but they seem to already exist. BTW, don't take your missus. Though, therein lies another problem.

If you like your missus at all, I'd reckon your relationship with her is more worthy of tendence than any other. The likelihood of your mate staying with the lunatic is remote. He'll need you when it ends in tears, as it inevitably must. Still, I suppose the MANipulator will have ended up with what she has planned all along, and that's all that counts, for her. A few of those female 'others' bear no resemblance to human beings, but they have the temerity to accuse men of being driven by animalistic urges.

Get a text back, saying it's fine on the conditions that I treat her with respect in her own home....and if it's possible, apologise for disrespecting her.
That's ****ed. I wouldn't put that kind of shit on a best mate, nor would I, personally, take it from one. Especially for something as petty as you have described it as...

Falcon Punch terminates pregnancy... although seems a little late for that...

Basically was in the same situation as you, except minus the kid. Thing is girls come and go but close friends last forever, or at least mine have. Your his friend, not hers. Tolerate her for your friends sake and thats it.

The problem is that this is all happening behind your friends back, and he just has to accept everything you guys tell him on faith. Considering he has a kid with her, even if he knows she's making things up he has to take her side. Either that or call her a liar to her face, and that's not gonna happen.

You need to talk to her with your mate in the same room. He needs to see that you're making an effort and she's the one in the wrong.

The woman sounds like a massive tool. I'd go along the lines of, "I'm sorry if I ever offended you" - or whatever - "it wasn't my intention to do so."

It's sad there's a kid involved. Sounds like she was desperate to get preggers.