TassieSaint

Tasmania
Tassie Tigers
so there's this girl...

nah don't worry, I'm not one of those creepy blokes with no social skills who requires guys off the internet to help them pull chicks. I do however have a dilemma of epic proportions that my mates can't help with as only other Saints fans like myself could truly understand.

Talking to my girlfriend the other day, haven't known her for all that long, subject turns (as it often does with me) to Robert Harvey. She says 'lol who is that...' I immediately laugh it off assuming it's a sick joke, she laughs too and then there is a couple of seconds awkward silence before the fateful '...no seriously ...who is that?' :eek:. I was shocked and left soon after. So should I:

a) Force her to sit down and watch my many Robert Harvey DVD's and VHS's until she feels the love ala clockwork orange
b) show her my Robert Harvey shrine in the hope she is overcome with emotion, has an epiphany and immediately converts to the Church of St Harves (note: the shrine has been known to cause negative reactions in some non-football fans :( )
c) Reveal to her that Robert Harvey means more to me than she ever could (note: is probably actually true)
d) Threaten her with violence unless she becomes a St Kilda fan straight away.
e) Beat her down for not knowing who Harves is, then dump her.
f) Calmly explain that Robert Harvey is my favourite footballer from my favourite team, the Saints, and move on.

any advice serious or non-serious is welcome :thumbsu:

g) Freak, barrell roll out a window and run screaming down the street that a monster has inhabited your girlfriend, get onto aca as they bring in an expose of demonic corruption and then watch as not only does she get purged of it, but they bring in harvs to do an exorcism.

win win...besides the window leaving you open to a raptor attack...

Go with . . .

g) embrace the fact she doesn't like football and that football is 'your' time.

There's some things women don't understand no matter how many times you explain it - like buying flowers doesn't necessarily mean you want a romantic night in with her (depends how long it's been I guess) and usually means the complete opposite. If she's not into football then don't try and convert her otherwise you're in for a world of pain. Personally nothing shits me more than watching football with people who don't give a toss about it. Women who aren't into it are more trouble than they're worth (at a game that is).

Embrace that she's not into it and don't encourage her involvement in it.

If the relationship lasts her natural female instincts will kick in eventually and curiosity will get the better of her. She'll learn by osmosis about the broader aspects of the game and especially your interests, so you won't need to teach her. If she's worth it, she'll appreciate what it means to you too, stay at home, and allow you & your mates to enjoy the football.

If she's not worth it, see StFly's post.

yeah, I'd go with g) or if you're into sharing everything with your chick: start with f) then a) then b) then c) - if she's still there & ticks all the boxes then you could be onto a good thing.

It is a serious hole in her education.
Rather than hit her hard with the whole "how can you live this long and not know who Robert Harvey is?" thing, slowly introduce her to each aspect of Rob Harvey as the situation allows it.

When you think she is ready - bring her home to the Robert Harvey shrine and let her know just how priveledged she is to share this intimate moment with you.

After adequate worshipping and appreciation of Saints DVDs you may choose to allow her to lead in the hail Robert Harvey mantra (after first testing her knowledge on how many best and fairests, Brownlows and AFLPA most valuable player awards etc.)

Yeah nah cheers for the advice guys, g) certainly sounds a goer: Leave it for now and slowly but surely introduce Harves into her life. Luckily I've got a couple of months before footy season starts or there could be serious problems :thumbsd:

I'd opt for a Robert Harvey "bumper bar" type hairdo. She'll realise who are you imitating straight away my brother.

If things get really serious down the track (say 2 or 3 years from now) and you are under a little bit of pressure about your footy addiction, then consider a slow start to the season, followed by a rollicking finish. Maybe go to 4 games in the first half of the year and have minimal non-Saints games polluting the TV. In particular, make a song and dance about how you're NOT going to the footy. Then, in the second half of the season ramp it up hard and unleash your inner bogan.

*awkward turtle*

H) Test out multiple theory's on her multiple heads.

NO seriously,

Don't do D. because this you could get pwnt.

B & C & E. -> Hmm, the fact that you have a shrine on a 38 y.o grown man she's never heard of who has a wife and kids and the obvious man love you hold for him may come across a bit ghey.

If you want a serious answer, go with:
F.

She obviously isn't interested in footy, don't force feed it. Slowly introduce her to it. Take her to a game.

the fact that you have a shrine on a 38 y.o grown man she's never heard of who has a wife and kids and the obvious man love you hold for him may come across a bit ghey.
That's what everyone always says mate, but honestly, who hasn't owned a shrine to a grown man at one point or another?

...or maybe that's just me :(

That's what everyone always says mate, but honestly, who hasn't owned a shrine to a grown man at one point or another?

...or maybe that's just me :(

There's nothing wrong with that ! A bit odd, maybe, but hey, as most psychiatrists will tell you, most fellow citizen with a sound mind will not chose one of the most unsuccessful teams in any sport as their team in the first place...

This of course leads to my advice on your initial query. Us St Kilda supporters are a privileged group of believers. We may be considered a bit odd by others (e.g. the massive Hawthorn bandwagon supporters group), but we know that nothing will come between us and the mighty Saints. We have listened to our heart and will continue to do so, we will stay with our team regardless of such incidental matters like on field success, we will continue to buy memberships (albeit maybe not for L2...) and will even buy DVDs about ten game winning streaks and 2008 'highlights'. We love the St Kilda football club.

In fact, there is nothing odd about that, is there ?

(and who would want to wear brown and yellow anyway ?)

Now, it may take your girlfriend some time to see this as an opportunity and not just an odd habit of her new boyfriend, but with time and patience, she will see the light one day !

Yeh nah definatley nothing wrong with owning a shrine. Especially to the great man, (might actually be worth a bit of dough in 25 years time) I think it's awesome, just throwing it out there that she might think it's weird.....Or she could think it's cute.

I change my mind, do F. Then show her the shrine.

At the end of it all she'll understand that footy is your thing you do. Like her thing is shopping or spending money (or whatever).

and will even buy DVDs about ten game winning streaks and 2008 'highlights'.

Okay hands up here if you actually got sucked in and brought it. :cool:

At the end of it all she'll understand that footy is your thing you do. Like her thing is shopping or spending money (or whatever).

Okay hands up here if you actually got sucked in and brought it. :cool:

Women never net the fetish of shoes and 400 thousand pairs of them when talking about other women and their "things they do" hoard up every conceivable space in a house with nothing but shoes!

Also, did not get sucked in and get that, so booyah to me I am frugal.