CaptainDangerfield

Veteran 10k Posts
Glenelg
Alot of the so called experts say we need a star forward to go that extra step - *shudder* 2002 revisited. I disagree. I reckon our forward line in Trent, Kenny, Welsh and Pez is quite dangerous. I think our forwards have been great over the finals series, if anything, it was our much heralded midfield that let us down, especially against The Saints and Weagles.

To complete our forward line we need a midfielder come crumber ( please no specalist crumbers ) - Stiffy or Knights - come on down.

I'm quietly confident that the 4 I have mentioned will cause concerns to the opposition defense come 2006. Throw Watts into the mix and who knows, at least it's not one dimensional.

As for our midfield, if we have no injuries come round one and Doughty and Skipworth are in our first 22 then we are going nowhere fast IMHO.

SpringChoke said:
Alot of the so called experts say we need a star forward to go that extra step - *shudder* 2002 revisited. I disagree. I reckon our forward line in Trent, Kenny, Welsh and Pez is quite dangerous.

60 odd possesions between them, they should have scored a lot more than they did.

Easiest way to fix your forward line is to get a tape of Carey and show it to Pez. I can't believe Carey has only been gone a year and already the guys has forgotten what to do.

When you take a grab outside the F50 you hit the ground running, swing one way or the other, usually onto your preferred foot and then look for your leading forward. If you do this every time the FF knows when to lead, and you know he will be leading. If not you can kick it to the top of the goal square for a one on one or if the FF has led then the ball may bounce through for a goal.

Pez holding the ball up so much cost you a chance at the big one.

We don't need a gun forward. We have a structure that has worked all year. We have 4 permanent forwards that are all capable of kicking a bag of 5 on their day.

We have quiet a few options. Sarge is 26, Kenny is 24, Hentschel is 22, Watts is 19, Jericho is 20 and Welsh is 27. Those players still have good years of footy ahead of them.

We potentially have 2 A grade forwards in Watts and Hentschel. Both are capable of being guns. Why the hell would we ******** that into the wind for a chance to get one gun.

We have managed to do quite well with our "makeshift" forward line this year. What we desperately need to address our midfield stocks. The only thing that cost us making the big one was our inability to win the midfield battle and give our forwards enough clean opportunities to cover our inside 50s on the scoreboard.

Leave this Pavlich and Fevola fantasy alone. We need quality midfielders and plenty of them

mav said:
60 odd possesions between them, they should have scored a lot more than they did.

Easiest way to fix your forward line is to get a tape of Carey and show it to Pez. I can't believe Carey has only been gone a year and already the guys has forgotten what to do.

When you take a grab outside the F50 you hit the ground running, swing one way or the other, usually onto your preferred foot and then look for your leading forward. If you do this every time the FF knows when to lead, and you know he will be leading. If not you can kick it to the top of the goal square for a one on one or if the FF has led then the ball may bounce through for a goal.

I don't know if Pez holding up the ball cost us a shot at the big one, but I agree with you whole heartedly on how you should play CHF a la The King! And I agree, if our blokes didn't learn something off Carey, then more fool them.

Stiffy_18 said:
We don't need a gun forward. We have a structure that has worked all year. We have 4 permanent forwards that are all capable of kicking a bag of 5 on their day.

We have quiet a few options. Sarge is 26, Kenny is 24, Hentschel is 22, Watts is 19, Jericho is 20 and Welsh is 27. Those players still have good years of footy ahead of them.

We potentially have 2 A grade forwards in Watts and Hentschel. Both are capable of being guns. Why the hell would we ******** that into the wind for a chance to get one gun.

We have managed to do quite well with our "makeshift" forward line this year. What we desperately need to address our midfield stocks. The only thing that cost us making the big one was our inability to win the midfield battle and give our forwards enough clean opportunities to cover our inside 50s on the scoreboard.

Leave this Pavlich and Fevola fantasy alone. We need quality midfielders and plenty of them

Someone buy this man a beer!

Its clear as day to me that one of the major reasons for our success this year has been that we have multiple forward options. Opposition sides can't simply shut down one of our forwards and expect to beat us.

(See Semi-final vs Port. Rutten keeps Tredrea to 0 goals - the entire Port team kicks 5)

With Trentschel looking like he is about to step up another level as a quality tall forward in 2006, and Watts looking very impressive, as well as Kenny, plus a guy by the name of Welsh who kicked a lazy 50-odd this year - why on earth would we throw away players who have taken us to within three goals of a grand final to get a key forward?

SpringChoke said:
Alot of the so called experts say we need a star forward to go that extra step - *shudder* 2002 revisited. I disagree. I reckon our forward line in Trent, Kenny, Welsh and Pez is quite dangerous. I think our forwards have been great over the finals series, if anything, it was our much heralded midfield that let us down, especially against The Saints and Weagles.

To complete our forward line we need a midfielder come crumber ( please no specalist crumbers ) - Stiffy or Knights - come on down.

I'm quietly confident that the 4 I have mentioned will cause concerns to the opposition defense come 2006. Throw Watts into the mix and who knows, at least it's not one dimensional.

As for our midfield, if we have no injuries come round one and Doughty and Skipworth are in our first 22 then we are going nowhere fast IMHO.

Watts has to stay MUST KEEP

The other options for crumbing fowards who could also run on ball for a bit is Bode and maybe Schuback.If we can get stiffy fit for a midfield role Tyson could spend more time up foward

I think Skipworth will be ok now that he has had a full year under his belt worth persisting with imho

Hentschell will be our key foward another pre season of weights and hopefully he keeps believing in himself he is going to be ok

Knights almost starts in the midfield round 1 2006

The only problem i see is the ruck if Clarkey retires and while Maric will be ok he is still raw and only has 2 more games left in him this year maybe only 1 a lot of work will have to be done with him of season is going to be great but needs time

mav said:

Too be honest with you mate, Perrie looks twice the player since Carey left.

SpringChoke said:

The whole forward set up looks better.

As for 'hitting the ground running' when Perrie takes the mark......well let's be honest here, there is only one Carey and not too many players have the skills to do what he did at his prime.

SpringChoke said:

My only concern with him is when he takes a mark inside 50 he wants to pass it GO BACK AND HAVE A SHOT

Stiffy_18 said:

Nice one Stiff. Let's not forget this forward line did help us finish top with a pretty healthy percecentage. Granted the backline has been sensational but let's not underestimate the effort from our forwards, especially over the last 8 weeks.

SpringChoke said:

but he could be 3 times the player. He's a good player, I've seen a lot of him this year and yep he's getting better. He just needs the confidence to take the game on, be prepared to play on and have faith in the fact his team mates would be leading at him.

I guess a lot of it comes down to the talk about how ineffective your F50 entries have been and he just wanted to make sure he was going to hit some on on the chest. I'd just like to see him take the chance and play on. Like I said, If no one is leading then at least he will be able to have a running shot from just outside 50 or he can put it to a one on one contest.

birdmanptr said:
Watts has to stay MUST KEEP

The other options for crumbing fowards who could also run on ball for a bit is Bode and maybe Schuback.If we can get stiffy fit for a midfield role Tyson could spend more time up foward

I think Skipworth will be ok now that he has had a full year under his belt worth persisting with imho

Hentschell will be our key foward another pre season of weights and hopefully he keeps believing in himself he is going to be ok

Knights almost starts in the midfield round 1 2006

The only problem i see is the ruck if Clarkey retires and while Maric will be ok he is still raw and only has 2 more games left in him this year maybe only 1 a lot of work will have to be done with him of season is going to be great but needs time

I disagree. I'm hoping that Skippy and Doughty aren't still part of our midfield rotations in '06. If they are then I will be very concerned that Knights, VB, Thommo and Reilly haven't come on as much as we had hoped. We must start to give the few young midfielders we have quality time or we are going to hit a brick wall in 2-3 years time. Not much good having quality kpps forwards if you have no midfielders to deliver the ball to them ie Essendon, Port, Collingwood.

mav said:
but he could be 3 times the player. He's a good player, I've seen a lot of him this year and yep he's getting better. He just needs the confidence to take the game on, be prepared to play on and have faith in the fact his team mates would be leading at him.

I guess a lot of it comes down to the talk about how ineffective your F50 entries have been and he just wanted to make sure he was going to hit some on on the chest. I'd just like to see him take the chance and play on. Like I said, If no one is leading then at least he will be able to have a running shot from just outside 50 or he can put it to a one on one contest.

I hear you mate. I think you will find after Saturdays loss, we will be going long and direct alot more next year. Why would you go wide when you have 4 guys in Welsh, Trent, Kenny and Perrie who can all take a one grab contested mark.

SpringChoke said:
I disagree. I'm hoping that Skippy and Doughty aren't still part of our midfield rotations in '06. If they are then I will be very concerned that Knights, VB, Thommo and Reilly haven't come on as much as we had hoped. We must start to give the few young midfielders we have quality time or we are going to hit a brick wall in 2-3 years time. Not much good having quality kpps forwards if you have no midfielders to deliver the ball to them ie Essendon, Port, Collingwood.

Good point they are the keys this would ease the work load on Roo,Goody and Tyson.