AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

Hmm one thing about PS only...this same announcement happened for AFL 2005 and it was around this time that Stray Pixel stopped posting to the the infamous XBW thread. Some months later news came through that PC and XB were supported, just with a six month(ish) lag time.

Obviously AFL 2005 was complete ********, but it did come out for other platforms in the end. The frustrasting part is though is that just like Stray P, Fiery Hawk will be unable to shine any light in this matter.

Or am I wrong?

ps is there any business sense whatsoever in the AFL signing to deal to support only one platform. I seriously doubt it, all it's doing is saving a cashed up franchise a few $$$.

Maximus76 said:
FH..thanks for your time and effort but I now dont official care what you guys do since you sold out to Sony...I get my Xbox 360 is a couple of days and you guys are working you butts off to develop a game that will only run on the PS2.......Good luck I hope it works out for you - looks like I will continue to play rugby 2006 on my xbox and wait for my xbox 360 to come out....PS2 is old news FH

Exactly. Most people I know that have a PS2 are going to sell it (or have already sold it) and get a PS3/Xbox 360, and everyone I know that has AFL Premiership has it on Xbox or PC.

Sounds like a pretty shocking decision really, and AFL 2006 won't sell nearly as many copies as AFL Premiership did.

hawk, id like to ask:

1. What stadiums will be in this game?

2. I know not much priority but will you be able to edit "player bios"? for draftees and current players? one thing id like to point out here is i dont see Chris Judd's 2005 Brownlow Medal ranked on his bio. also for draftees instead of no bio you could write one yourself.

So basically

A: Edit/Create player bios
B: Game updates player honours as they earn them in season

if you have time, please consider this :) thanks

and finally:

3. in season, players get reported too often when you sim matches.

thanks

matera_goal

P.S i will PM this message to you incase you dont read this board any more.

matera you LOVE him dont you? gee mate get a grip

theres no create a player of any kind in this game i think hes said that 2 or 3 hundred times
instead of PMing the msg maybe you should ring him? or pop into melbourne and tell him face to face?

RoosterLad said:
matera you LOVE him dont you? gee mate get a grip

theres no create a player of any kind in this game i think hes said that 2 or 3 hundred times
instead of PMing the msg maybe you should ring him? or pop into melbourne and tell him face to face?
Mate, I am just trying to find out about this game and do my best to make suggestions to make this a better game. Do you want a Madden 06 standard AFL game or an AFL Premiership 2005 standard game? As for create-a-player I am unaware that he has posted that thanks for telling me (bugger!). As for ring/go to melbourne, this is unfeasible - mate i live in perth. not worth a trip across the nullabor :D

Vick>Footy said:
The best thing for you guys to do is to give up, turn it over to EA Sports so it is done right, and call it a day. :thumbsu:

You really think EA Sports could be stuffed doing AFL? At least they're giving it a go, know one has a gun to your head to buy it.

DaSawx said:
You really think EA Sports could be stuffed doing AFL? At least they're giving it a go, know one has a gun to your head to buy it.

All I'm saying is that no one does sports games better than EA. They have been pretty much untouchable. The AFL game I played was a joke. So I'm just saying...
And your right, thank god no one has a gun to my head to buy it.

Vick>Footy said:
The best thing for you guys to do is to give up, turn it over to EA Sports so it is done right, and call it a day. :thumbsu:

Mate, Im sure we'd all be happy to turn it over to EA!:D

Some how I just dont think its gunna happen....

Well if ne1 finds ne new news or sites with info on AFL Premiership 2006 before i do........

post it here please:thumbsu:

peace out!

Vick>Footy said:
All I'm saying is that no one does sports games better than EA. They have been pretty much untouchable. The AFL game I played was a joke. So I'm just saying...
And your right, thank god no one has a gun to my head to buy it.

Sorry?!? EA is falling behind quickly. They have the best NFL game and thats it. NBA goes to 2KSports and Soccer goes to Konami.

Hey Guys,

Believe it or not I have been up in sunny QLD for a week and have just gotten back to read the press release from Sony AUS. At least now I can confirm that the 2006 version will only come out on the PS2 platform.
The reason for this is quite simple...
1) with the release of the Xbox360 the current gen tech (Xbox) is dead in the water from a sales point of view.
2) The PC market has never been a high selling one when breaking down the sales figures. Unless Sony have an interest there I don't see the AFL game being released on PC anytime soon.
3) PS2 is still a thriving market as the PS3 is yet to be released. So the 2006 AFL game is ideally suited to that market.
4) The 2007 version is likely to be on current gen tech (PS2, PSP). A next gen version has been planned but will depend on the sales of the PS3 in Oz.
5) An Xbox360 is unlikely due to the exclusivity of the Sony deal with the AFL.
As for whether this is a good or bad thing for the AFL franchise I personally see it as a positive as it guarantees titles for the next 2 seasons and adds scope for a fully funded next gen title when the market is viable.
That's about all I can say on those matters however. Even with that info I think I am in trouble now...

For all the EA Sports fans out there...they won't touch it due to the size of the market. It's not in their best interests to produced a specialised sports title.

To answer your questions Matera_goal:

1. Same stadiums as last year but with a completed MCG.
2. Player Bio's have been removed. A player's attributes will change if he wins a Brownlow Medal or Coleman Medal. He will become a star player in the competition for winning one of these. It will be obvious he is a star player. The bio's used in the 2005 versions of the game (PS2, Xbox, PC) were taken from the AFL season record.
3. Reports and Injuries have been tweaked to occur with less frequency. However simulating games will penalise the player in numerous ways so injuries and reports may occur more often (but not to the levels shown in 2005) as a result.

Fiery Hawk said:
I have a mate who ahem...is working on the new AFL game. He asked me for suggestions as to a) where the game has gone wrong but more importantly b) how to fix the issues with the game by giving suggestions.
I have noticed a few threads here and were thinking it would be great to get all ideas and comments in the one thread. If anyone can give their two cents that would be great. Make sure you mention what version of the game you have (PC, PS2 and Xbox) as they are different.
He is really interested in getting the basics right first and then worrying about the extra frills (but he wants to know what extras you want to).
Now's your chance I guess... :thumbsu:
Tell him to download Total Aussie Rules from www.stratagemsports.com.au look at how they do everything, from signing assistant coaches, to drafting, to trades, brownlow medals, improvement of players. It's all very spot on, if they mould the franchise section of the game (which they must have) on Total Aussie Rules as well as make a number of improvements that other people have suggested, then for once we may get a good AFL game.

Fiery Hawk said:
Hey Guys,

At least now I can confirm that the 2006 version will only come out on the PS2 platform.
The reason for this is quite simple...
1) with the release of the Xbox360 the current gen tech (Xbox) is dead in the water from a sales point of view.

If that is the official reasoning or even the unofficial reasoning that is an absolutely ridiculous view. The majority of ppl still own an Xbox and would still pay to be able to play the game.

By doing this they have effectively cut out at least 40-50% of the potential market.

Quote:
Originally Posted by matera_goal
1) When you play a little guy in ruck (before u start the game) then replace him with a big guy (i.e phil matera, dean cox) the big guy shrinks to the same size as the little player. my friend made his whole team aaron fiora-size doing this. so u hgave no option but to paly with a tiny ruckman if u start the match with a little guy in

Little guys will not win the ruck this time around. Player attributes incorporate a jumping element that will allow the taller players to dominate at ruck contests.

Does this mean Sandilands will dominate all ruckwork?

Buttons - have been simplified in layout meaning that the X button is the action button (eg. it's a general kick button, tap button, tackle button etc). It determines the action based on whether you are in possession or not. Also there are modifier buttons which add aggression to the act so you can tackle aggressively for example. There is a goal shot button that directs your kick towards the goal or 'centres' the ball depending on how far out you are.

Tactics - you can set attacking/balanced/defensive tactics for the following areas of the ground; fwd50, def50, midfield, centre bounces, kick-ins (in your fwd50) and kick-ins (in your def50). They can be set before the game and changed on-the-fly in the game or through the pause menu. They feature such tactics as flooding, manning up, spare man in defence, playing a kick behind the play etc. In a multiplayer game both sides can set up their tactics in this way ensuing for a more strategy based game.

Animations - heaps of new animations have gone into the game including new goal celebrations (between team mates), tackling, bumping and idle animations (hopefully no more players just standing upright with their arms by their side). Players heads should also be facing the play.

Graphics - new rain effects, upgrading of player textures and models, new faces, multiple hairstyles including the Chance Bateman look. Stadiums have updated signage, new playing surface detail (including wear and tear) and the game features the newly completed MCG as seen in the Commonwealth Games.

Physics - the tackling system has been overhauled very much in the likeness of the EA Sports Rugby game where tackles can be made or missed depending on which way you are facing when tackling. Therefore the collision model has been worked on. This will be evident in ruck and marking contests also. There has been improvement made in these areas from the 2005 version.

Borgsta Wrote:

If that is the official reasoning or even the unofficial reasoning that is an absolutely ridiculous view. The majority of ppl still own an Xbox and would still pay to be able to play the game.

By doing this they have effectively cut out at least 40-50% of the potential market.

it's more of an example of the thinking. The fact remains that the AFL signed an exclusivity deal with Sony so the game will only come out on Sony consoles.

JuddyisGod said:
Does this mean Sandilands will dominate all ruckwork?

He'll be rated highly in height but his jumping ability is poor so a ruckman with a good leap (e.g. Jeff White) will more than likely win a centre bounce but lose to him on a boundary throw-in when they contest. Off course who wins is dependant on when the tap/punch button is pressed in the Ruck HUD. (which has been overhauled and makes more sense this time around).

JuddyisGod said:
Tell him to download Total Aussie Rules from www.stratagemsports.com.au look at how they do everything, from signing assistant coaches, to drafting, to trades, brownlow medals, improvement of players. It's all very spot on, if they mould the franchise section of the game (which they must have) on Total Aussie Rules as well as make a number of improvements that other people have suggested, then for once we may get a good AFL game.

We are well aware of TAR. It's very much a different perspective on the AFL product to ours (one is a management game as opposed to an on-ground experience) but has some common areas of interest to us.
For example, we don't sign assistant coaches in our career mode but we do share drafting/trading elements. It would be stupid of us not to look at other games related to AFL and take their ideas on board (just like getting ideas from this forum for example). So we have done this.
You'll noticed a huge improvement in the Career Mode of our game with regards to trading/drafting/player development/awards etc.
I'm interested in the management side of the game and will push to develop it further in future AFL games so it becomes something very much in the mould of TAR.

when can we expect to see some screenshote FH? :thumbsu:

And please tell me the following things have been sorted out...

1. in 2005 when a AI player marks the ball inside fifty, 100% of the time they don't have a shot they pass it to a player closer to goal...who is impossible to stop. why? please tell me they have shots when inside fifty 90% of the time in 2006. probably the thing that made 2005 unplayerble fo me.

2. Why don't the AI players ever miss shots at goals? it's so annoying, have you corrected this issue in 2006?

AFL 2006 Talk