AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

Thanx for the info there....In some of the recent news reports concerning afl being exclusive to sony it states the release of the game to be July!!!???!!!
Can you confirm this at all?
(if noone else has seen this just type "afl premiership 2006" in yahoo search, with the quotation marks, and have a look through the first page of sites or two....some mention it and some dont....)

any chance of some more controls and info on them...

bumping, different kicks, handball, turbo/run faster, speccy, mark etc.

also do you know yet if the referees will play a more dominant role this year......... rather than flipping a coin on all of their decisions?:confused:

so long as there is some sort of system and its not 50/50 for every call they make.:)

Finlly...

Any news on a Website yet?!?

Cheers

Hawk mate, wondered where ya went? Though mafia hit from disgrunted buyers of AFL 2005 lol! Eh, ya lucky dog bein' up in QLD for a week. Oh well, lifes life and do I have more questions :D:

1. You know when you're on an angle that is, say the boundary line? You know where you nearly only see on post where in AFL, players run around to open up the angle and banana kick it? You know the place. Anyways, if you mark/free kick and choose for shot at goal, is there a different goal-kicking whatever? One that is only used from there? Say for this one you do whatever then it shows your player running around (like in real life you know what I mean) and then your player banana-kicks.

In AFL 2005, you just have the normal one and with jsut a direction HUD-thing and a drop punt from a 180-degree angle, it is nearly impossible to kick a goal.

2. What awards are there in season? Is there club Best & Fairest? Rising Star? Please tell me what ones there are.

3. In season, FORM and RESERVES COMPETITON would really help. Fr'instance in TAR, after every match on it has ratings out of 10 for every player. There is a list of ratings for the seniors and rating for reserves so you know whos pushing for a spot. It shouldnt be "best stats get in" coz that means some players NEVER EVER get a game. Something else that really ticks me off is that if your players aren't selected in the side, they won't improve EVER. Some sort of reserves competition (Like WAFL of VFL or SANFL) is a must.

Thanks dude post back soon

matera_goal

Ok, so since I have no intention of buying a PS2 just to play an AFL game, it looks like I'm stuck with playing AFL Live PE (yes... 04 repackaged) for the rest of my life, huh? :thumbsu:

Screw you AFL, and screw you IR Gurus. :thumbsdown: :mad: I beg you take my money... but no, you want more of it.

sainters said:
when can we expect to see some screenshote FH? :thumbsu:

And please tell me the following things have been sorted out...

1. in 2005 when a AI player marks the ball inside fifty, 100% of the time they don't have a shot they pass it to a player closer to goal...who is impossible to stop. why? please tell me they have shots when inside fifty 90% of the time in 2006. probably the thing that made 2005 unplayerble fo me.

2. Why don't the AI players ever miss shots at goals? it's so annoying, have you corrected this issue in 2006?

1. Players had a problem in 2005 kicking the distance (a code bug) so they would often pass off when inside fwd50. I admit it was very frustrating and this has been rectified in 2006. Players like Anthony Rocca will 95% of the time kick for goal even from 55m - unless of course a team mate is on his own in the square (which is highly unlikely to be honest).

2. I think that had something to do with difficulty settings and the ratings players had for accuracy in their attributes. All these areas have been overhauled (in particular player attributes) and the goal accuracy percentages should reflect this. For instance Mark Williams is accurate but Nick Riewoldt or Matthew Richardson are less likely to kick a bag from 10 shots.

Will let you know when screenshots are available and where you can get them.

Will get back to about July...it was always our intention to be ready by then so I haven't heard anything to suggest that won't be the case but I'll check to make sure. You guys deserve to know the proper date after last years debacle.

What controls in particular? Chuck me some words and I'll do my best.

Bumping - there are regular and aggressive bumps. Aggresive bumps can result in free kicks to the opposition, reports made against you and injury to you or the opposition. Injuries can be light (when it affects a players output on the field by say 50%) or heavy (where you need to get him off the ground immediately).

Kicks - you have an improved kicking bar that indicates how long a player can kick. If you over-kick he will definitely spray the ball. Stab or short kicks are done with a shorter kick on the bar. Snap kicks are possible with the goal kick button. When having a shot a goal you can either use the goal kick button or the regular kick button. What's the difference? Well the general kick button will direct the kick in the direction you are facing and the goal kick button will direct the kick where you have it on the goal HUD. Hopefully this makes sense...basically the old NES goal kick HUD is back to assist with kicking for goal accurately.

Handball - hits the guy nearest to you when you look in his direction.

Specky/Mark - new HUD system with circular rings. This one is hard to explain without diagrams but makes a lot of sense gameplay-wise. Will get the official documentation and get back to you. Basically it comes down to timing and the strength/jump/marking attributes of the player. Cameras will also cut close to the contest if a specky attempt is made making the marking contest more spectacular.

Umpires - they still need some work to be honest. Will work on them before release.

Website - I think that's a Sony thing. We produce screenshots, renders etc for them and they put a site together. Haven't heard of a URL or date for it yet. Will be out soon you'd think with a July release.

matera_goal said:
Hawk mate, wondered where ya went? Though mafia hit from disgrunted buyers of AFL 2005 lol! Eh, ya lucky dog bein' up in QLD for a week. Oh well, lifes life and do I have more questions :D:

1. You know when you're on an angle that is, say the boundary line? You know where you nearly only see on post where in AFL, players run around to open up the angle and banana kick it? You know the place. Anyways, if you mark/free kick and choose for shot at goal, is there a different goal-kicking whatever? One that is only used from there? Say for this one you do whatever then it shows your player running around (like in real life you know what I mean) and then your player banana-kicks.

In AFL 2005, you just have the normal one and with jsut a direction HUD-thing and a drop punt from a 180-degree angle, it is nearly impossible to kick a goal.

2. What awards are there in season? Is there club Best & Fairest? Rising Star? Please tell me what ones there are.

3. In season, FORM and RESERVES COMPETITON would really help. Fr'instance in TAR, after every match on it has ratings out of 10 for every player. There is a list of ratings for the seniors and rating for reserves so you know whos pushing for a spot. It shouldnt be "best stats get in" coz that means some players NEVER EVER get a game. Something else that really ticks me off is that if your players aren't selected in the side, they won't improve EVER. Some sort of reserves competition (Like WAFL of VFL or SANFL) is a must.

Thanks dude post back soon

matera_goal

1. depends on whether you use a general kick or goal kick button or even if you play on and use those buttons.

2. Brownlow, Coleman, Michael Tuck Medal, Norm Smith and all club Best and Fairest Awards.

3. No Reserves competition or form rating in this version. Teams will be picked on the best rated players available in that position (unless you set it up otherwise and save it). How players can get rated better depends on how you play the players in the game and give them experience.

Injuries can be light (when it affects a players output on the field by say 50%) or heavy (where you need to get him off the ground immediately).
===============================================

Will we be able to tell how serious the injury is while playing?(as to know if they are too injured to keep playing)

more controls-

ruck, ball ins, shrug tackle, turbo run/speed burst

more stats this year?

and 1 last thing, I know for sure in afl 99 on pc (not sure bout other afl titles) for every kick in, there was bout 6-7 different options as to how to kick the ball in......these options were displayed by visual boxes at the top/bottom (cant remember:confused: ) of the screen while the player was about to kick out.

you simply just selected which one you wanted ie 1 player peel off, 2 players peel off,2 players peel off in opposite directions etc etc.

has anything like this been implemented into the game...I've found kick ins to be quite boring/unrealistic/repetitive in recent AFL titles?

Thanx for your time man!:thumbsu:

Fiery Hawk said:
Kicks - you have an improved kicking bar that indicates how long a player can kick. If you over-kick he will definitely spray the ball. Stab or short kicks are done with a shorter kick on the bar. Snap kicks are possible with the goal kick button. When having a shot a goal you can either use the goal kick button or the regular kick button. What's the difference? Well the general kick button will direct the kick in the direction you are facing and the goal kick button will direct the kick where you have it on the goal HUD. Hopefully this makes sense...basically the old NES goal kick HUD is back to assist with kicking for goal accurately.

Great to see the HUD from the NES Aussie Rules game back, IMO it's best one, it made it hard to kick goals under pressure eg AI player about to run you down, because you had to wait for the line to be back to the middle :D

Does the 2006 version have the same idea as the NES, where the further your out from goal or the tougher the angle, the HUD decreases in size? i hope you get what i mean...

Also crowd noise, improved or not?

cheers :)

sainters said:
Great to see the HUD from the NES Aussie Rules game back, IMO it's best one, it made it hard to kick goals under pressure eg AI player about to run you down, because you had to wait for the line to be back to the middle :D

Does the 2006 version have the same idea as the NES, where the further your out from goal or the tougher the angle, the HUD decreases in size? i hope you get what i mean...

Also crowd noise, improved or not?

cheers :)

Yep, the tighter the angle the closer the posts are together and vice-versa. Happy to see it in the game too. Had a play of the latest build today and yes it's great fun trying to get your kick in before you are mowed down in a tackle!

Crowd noise has been improved upon.

illnino said:
Injuries can be light (when it affects a players output on the field by say 50%) or heavy (where you need to get him off the ground immediately).
===============================================

Will we be able to tell how serious the injury is while playing?(as to know if they are too injured to keep playing)

more controls-

ruck, ball ins, shrug tackle, turbo run/speed burst

more stats this year?

and 1 last thing, I know for sure in afl 99 on pc (not sure bout other afl titles) for every kick in, there was bout 6-7 different options as to how to kick the ball in......these options were displayed by visual boxes at the top/bottom (cant remember:confused: ) of the screen while the player was about to kick out.

you simply just selected which one you wanted ie 1 player peel off, 2 players peel off,2 players peel off in opposite directions etc etc.

has anything like this been implemented into the game...I've found kick ins to be quite boring/unrealistic/repetitive in recent AFL titles?

Thanx for your time man!:thumbsu:

Yes, there are light and heavy injury icons.

Nothing like that has been added to kick-ins. However you can set who takes the kick-in and what kind of strategy you want to employ (e.g. attacking with a three-grouped huddle).

Ruck - there has been an overhaul of the ruck contest. Players abilities in those areas come into consideration with regards to how long you have to press the tap or punch button. So basically if you ain't a ruckman and you're in the ruck you might as well rove the opposition ruckman. Also if you win the tap the ball will hit your onballers 70-90% of the time.

Ball-ins - same as centre bounces but with better cameras allowing you to see who is around you and your proximity to goals etc.

Turbo/Speed Burst - players are rated in this area and with some you may need to use it sparingly as it won't last long and it will take a while to fill up again for the slower players. Players who excel at sprinting (e.g. Davies from Melb) will be obvious with their sprinting capabilities. Basically every player is capable of a short burst but some are able to maintain it for longer.

Shrug tackle - will look into this. To be honest I hardly use it. Will get back to you.

Stats - yep, comprehensive match stats. Looking into the season stats now.

Fiery Hawk said:
Yep, the tighter the angle the closer the posts are together and vice-versa. Happy to see it in the game too. Had a play of the latest build today and yes it's great fun trying to get your kick in before you are mowed down in a tackle!

Crowd noise has been improved upon.
so youre saying this game is so far FUN to play? thank god. hopefully it can stay that way :D

i am assuming that there is not create-a-player. would i be correct to assume that?

glad to hear this is on the right track maybe it can get at least 7/10

Do the players stuff up? Drop marks etc not just from a spoil? Do they miss targets with a handball? Kicking they can because its user controlled but you say the hanball hits the closest player your looking at.

How are the animations? Goal celebrations, win celebrations, premiership celebrations etc?

matera_goal said:
so youre saying this game is so far FUN to play? thank god. hopefully it can stay that way :D

i am assuming that there is not create-a-player. would i be correct to assume that?

glad to hear this is on the right track maybe it can get at least 7/10

Yeah the game is definitely more fun to play and there are some gameplay aspects that once mastered can really enhance your game experience. In particular using the tactics to bring the ball up the field rather than blasting away. Also the kicking for goal makes life interesting but in a good way. Had the pleasure of booting some tough goals outside and around 50 today both on the run and from set shots.

Definitely no create-a-player. You can however still add your face through the eye-toy.

The game is definitely an improvement on last year and the year before. I'm happy to say we are heading on the right track but I guess you guys will be the judge of that. It will be obvious we have listened to your opinions.

Power21 said:
Do the players stuff up? Drop marks etc not just from a spoil? Do they miss targets with a handball? Kicking they can because its user controlled but you say the hanball hits the closest player your looking at.

How are the animations? Goal celebrations, win celebrations, premiership celebrations etc?

Yes they do...handballs don't always hit targets. One of the great things about the player ratings this year is categories like accuracy and balance. They are key ingredients in determining whether a player can hit his target especially when under pressure.

There are many more animations this time around. Goal celebrations include celebrations with more than one player. Unfortunately at this stage there are no cutscenes for a won/lost game or a GF victory. Before you go off about it you have to bear in mind that we had no animator for a lengthy time in the development process. Believe it or not there aren't that many hire-able animators out there at the moment. But we have made a heap of improvements in the area of animation in such a short time. We weighed up what areas of animation needed improvement and we figured general gameplay to be of the highest priority especially when a lot of replay and cutscene cameras are close to the action.

Fiery just a couple of questions -
1. Will you be able to view CPU vs CPU matches i.e. leave the controller in the middle instead of assign it to a human player.

2. Will you be able to play against your friends in season mode as in Live 2004 & PE. In those versions you could select multiple human controlled teams however in AFL 2005 it reverted back to only allowing one human player control in season mode.

Thanks for giving us all feedback on the new AFL game and letting us have our say. Looking forward to this years game. Cheers.

Adrian78 said:
Fiery just a couple of questions -
1. Will you be able to view CPU vs CPU matches i.e. leave the controller in the middle instead of assign it to a human player.

2. Will you be able to play against your friends in season mode as in Live 2004 & PE. In those versions you could select multiple human controlled teams however in AFL 2005 it reverted back to only allowing one human player control in season mode.

Thanks for giving us all feedback on the new AFL game and letting us have our say. Looking forward to this years game. Cheers.

1. Yep you can set it up so any attached controllers aren't assigned to either team in the game.

2. No, you won't be able to in Season mode. You can however choose the opposition side so I guess that's a way around it for any other controllers you wish to attach.

No worries. Hope you guys enjoy it more than previous versions.

How do different weather conditions affect a match FH?

Also when you played the game what difficulty level was it on, and how difficult was?

Also could you tell a difference between players such as Nick Dal Santo as oppsed to a rookie?

matera_goal said:
i assume you have played the game. how do the graphics (especially player models) compare to afl prem 2005?

Yep, play it daily.

Graphics-wise the players will look more like their real life counterparts. We have about 8 or so different haircuts ranging from shaved to dreadlocks. All the haircuts are accomodated for except for that ridiculous haircut Nathan Carroll has. Muscle definition is being worked on and the wet muddy look is also being looked at.

Fiery Hawk said:
Yep, play it daily.

Graphics-wise the players will look more like their real life counterparts. We have about 8 or so different haircuts ranging from shaved to dreadlocks. All the haircuts are accomodated for except for that ridiculous haircut Nathan Carroll has. Muscle definition is being worked on and the wet muddy look is also being looked at.
be nice to have your job if you get to play AFL games everyday lol! yeah nathan carrolls haircut is silly! just another few questions

1. While your answer is helpful and a good insight, i just want to know how the graphics stack up to afl premiership 2005. better or worse and by how much?

2. what is the working title?

3. are there beards/stubble in the game? ranging from nathan carroll beards to ben cousins beards

thanks

sainters said:
How do different weather conditions affect a match FH?

Also when you played the game what difficulty level was it on, and how difficult was?

Also could you tell a difference between players such as Nick Dal Santo as oppsed to a rookie?

handling in the wet is affected. Less marks are made for example.

I have played it on Easy for a while now to test tactics and ways to carry the ball up the field. Had a crack at Hard today and held my own in the first quarter playing as West Coast until the Swans blew me away in the next 3 quarters to win by 10 goals. I had a lot of the ball but they kill you on the turnovers and skill errors.
The goal (sorry for the pun) is to setup Hard so that you have a really close contest that could go either way after having played the game for weeks.

Ok, Nick Dal Santo is a top line player so he'll rate somewhere between 75-90. No rookies are in the game but 1st year players who were drafted in the top 10 rate about 45-55. These top ten draft picks will excell in certain areas relating to their position of choice on the field. For example, Marc Murphy is rated about 55 and excells in areas like speed, agility, balance.
Nick Dal Santo is also a chance to be rated a star player in an aread like pace or his capacity to run all day. If this is the case he'll stand out in attributes relating to that star ability.
When Murphy gets to about 75 in rating (through experience and development) he could also achieve a star rating. Star ratings can be achieved as a reward by players who win the Brownlow or Coleman medals. Star ratings are essentially a boost to a player.
Hope that answered your question...kinda distracted watching the Footy Show at the moment.

AFL 2006 Talk