AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

really shanefos......how interesting...........:eek:

You make the next AFL Game then.........We'll see who's is better:thumbsu:

Do us all a favour and stop being a little girl......:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

posted by shanefos
- But I suppose your one of these guys that voted for VSU, so why do we bother trying to explain?!

Well off the mark buddy, I oppose pretty much all these mindless BS changes our government pulls outa its asspipe.
And I dont believe i have actually had to vote on anything for the last few years. Everytime there was a Victorian vote i was in Queensland and everytime there was a Queensland vote i seemed to be in Victoria.

I can see your point with ur losing $50, but how many times in life do we lose $50 on somethin ridiculous or when somethin breaks down.

Unfortunately sometimes just gota build a bridge and get over it, I still got C&C Generals which doesnt play properly on my comp sitting around i spent a bit of $$$ on that and thought it was garbage as well.

Anyway back to the game, The challenge is there to make it better than the NES version of Aussie Rules Footy, sadly that has been the best footy game in the past decade made for console.
Wish someone actually had an emulator and everythin for it to be played on PC.
Out of Bounds ...................... on the full ..... :D

shanefos said:
As for Firey Hawk (I assume that's what he meant, as opposed to "Fiery"!!!) prattling away about how good this next version is going to be.......... a faceless name (albeit a misspelt one)

Ahahaha. What a ******** up by you. Fiery is in fact spelt that very way. What a tool. :rolleyes:

illnino said:
really shanefos......how interesting...........:eek:

You make the next AFL Game then.........We'll see who's is better:thumbsu:

Do us all a favour and stop being a little girl......:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Going on the quality of the last games, i could make a better game. And i gladly would given the oppurtunity resources, i seriously don't know how IR Guru's can still afford to develop a game. Maybe it's because they have cut costs on staff anf went down to the local mental asylum and picked a few up cheap.:thumbsu:

Power21 said:
Going on the quality of the last games, i could make a better game. And i gladly would given the oppurtunity resources, i seriously don't know how IR Guru's can still afford to develop a game. Maybe it's because they have cut costs on staff anf went down to the local mental asylum and picked a few up cheap.:thumbsu:

LOL. You Fool:) .

First go get some money to get the resources to even make a game!!!;)

Then, even if your mum does lend you the money........, you'd still have to pull a big fluke outta your rear end to plan, design, develop, animate, code,script etc. a fully playable game with season, single match, eye-toy compatibility, stats, drafts, rosters that is even a third as good as AFL LIVE '03!!!

roguless54 said:
Wish someone actually had an emulator and everythin for it to be played on PC.
Out of Bounds ...................... on the full .....

Yor wish is my command!:D

NES Emulator:

http://www.zophar.net/nes.html

Download the one called NNNesterJ - v0.23.

Aussie Rules Footy (for nes):

http://www.rom-world.com/file.php?id=16480

You know how to work roms and emulators roug???

BTW AFL Prem 05(ps2) Beats Aussie Rules Footy (nes) IMO:D
(Ithink I outplayed the nes one back in the day with my brother)

matera_goal said:
FH, in the new game, you know how you said trades won't be easy (Like Pick 77 for Riewoldt) would this trade make it in the game (Accepted)?

My Offer: Ashley Sampi (WCE) and Draft Pick #15

For: Mark Williams (HAW)

what are you doing kid? I am feeling a little embarrased for you now. relax, or FH is going to have to send his people over!

I'm really angry that this game is not gonna see the light of day on PC. I won't buy a PS2 just to get this game, so don't think you're sucking me in.

I'll have to play this at my cousin's house, because he buys practically anything for his PS2.

Questions, FH:

In AFL 2005, you cannot play two (or multiple) players in any mode other than exhibition (that means you cannot play, say, a Pre-Season cup or a finals series with a couple of mates over an afternoon).

Is this being rectified in the new game? Otherwise, what is the point of having multiplayer capability if you can only play exhibition games against each other??

matera_goal said:
I'm not sure I get your point :p . By "people", I assume you're talkign about the IR Gurus Mafia Squad?

They are the ones. These guys are not to be messed with either. Ruthless thugs, do not like to have their great work questioned.:eek:

Vulture said:
They are the ones. These guys are not to be messed with either. Ruthless thugs, do not like to have their great work questioned.:eek:
munch.scream.jpg

matera_goal said:
FH, in the new game, you know how you said trades won't be easy (Like Pick 77 for Riewoldt) would this trade make it in the game (Accepted)?

My Offer: Ashley Sampi (WCE) and Draft Pick #15

For: Mark Williams (HAW)

All depends on what direction the Hawks are taking their list. Teams have 3-year plans of sorts...like rebuilding for the future, youth policy, topping up for a premiership tilt, experience required etc so this will determine the trades they are interesting in a) offering and b) accepting.
As a Hawks fan I'd say no to the trade as I reckon blokes like Williams don't come along every day but from a team list perspective they may go for it as it means losing a guy of a particular age and gaining one of the same age as well as a top 20 draft pick. To answer your question more succintly it all depends on the team list strategy the Hawks have at the time.

jorel6669 said:
I'm really angry that this game is not gonna see the light of day on PC. I won't buy a PS2 just to get this game, so don't think you're sucking me in.

I'll have to play this at my cousin's house, because he buys practically anything for his PS2.

Questions, FH:

In AFL 2005, you cannot play two (or multiple) players in any mode other than exhibition (that means you cannot play, say, a Pre-Season cup or a finals series with a couple of mates over an afternoon).

Is this being rectified in the new game? Otherwise, what is the point of having multiplayer capability if you can only play exhibition games against each other??

I understand what you are getting at with regards to the two players in a game but I for one can't see a reason why you'd want someone else to beat you in say Season or Career Mode. As it stands in the 06 version you can only play opposing sides (with the ability to edit team lineups and tactics) in Single Match or Quickmatch modes.

Fiery Hawk said:
All depends on what direction the Hawks are taking their list. Teams have 3-year plans of sorts...like rebuilding for the future, youth policy, topping up for a premiership tilt, experience required etc so this will determine the trades they are interesting in a) offering and b) accepting.
As a Hawks fan I'd say no to the trade as I reckon blokes like Williams don't come along every day but from a team list perspective they may go for it as it means losing a guy of a particular age and gaining one of the same age as well as a top 20 draft pick. To answer your question more succintly it all depends on the team list strategy the Hawks have at the time.
Say it was at the end of 2006 then

Fiery Hawk said:
I understand what you are getting at with regards to the two players in a game but I for one can't see a reason why you'd want someone else to beat you in say Season or Career Mode. As it stands in the 06 version you can only play opposing sides (with the ability to edit team lineups and tactics) in Single Match or Quickmatch modes.
D'oh! Would be nice to play somebody in a single season, I thought maybe not too hard because no drafts, trading whatever... Oh well. Let's hope it's in next year eh?

Fiery Hawk said:

Sounds good, so will there be a greater difference between playing a top side and a bottom side thats rebuilding? because honestly in previous versions all the teams were the same it, beating top sides was no harder than beating bottom sides whick made it boring...will we be able to notice a difference a top and a bottom side?

Also not sure if you ever got back to us with the weather thing.

cheers mate :thumbsu:

matera_goal said:
D'oh! Would be nice to play somebody in a single season, I thought maybe not too hard because no drafts, trading whatever... Oh well. Let's hope it's in next year eh?

If you're referring to controlling more than one side in a season, yeah that'll be back next year hopefully. But no one has explained to me why you'd want to control two sides in a season mode? Surely you can setup any particular games in a single match. Or is it a commentary thing? Like you are an Essendon supporter and yer mate is Collingwood and you want to play Anzac Day against each other?

sainters said:
Sounds good, so will there be a greater difference between playing a top side and a bottom side thats rebuilding? because honestly in previous versions all the teams were the same it, beating top sides was no harder than beating bottom sides whick made it boring...will we be able to notice a difference a top and a bottom side?

Also not sure if you ever got back to us with the weather thing.

cheers mate :thumbsu:

Teams are rated on the 22 players they have selected in the side. So it's in your best interest to get your best 22 up and running throughout the season (24 for preseason of course).
If a top side loses star players through injury they'll come back to the field. It should be hard as a bottom side to beat a top side when you play on a higher difficulty.

Bad weather (rain/strong winds) affects player ratings. It doesn't have a dramatic effect on marking or handling of the ball unfortunately. It really just affects speed, agility etc. An extra couple of months would have seen that change...

matera_goal said:
Say it was at the end of 2006 then

It's pure speculation as you won't know how Sampi or Williams' seasons went and where the teams finished on the ladder. A very hard question to answer.

Fiery Hawk said:
But no one has explained to me why you'd want to control two sides in a season mode? Surely you can setup any particular games in a single match.

I can see three things.
One is an online league-type thing - how much fun would a season be in which all sixteen teams were played by human players, who had matches organised for them via computer?

Two is so you could play a season with your wife/brother/sister/housemate - you could each take a team, and take turns playing your matches. It would only become a two-player game if the two teams played each other.

Three is an extremely long and focused sports party involving several players.

nonchalance said:
I can see three things.
One is an online league-type thing - how much fun would a season be in which all sixteen teams were played by human players, who had matches organised for them via computer?

Two is so you could play a season with your wife/brother/sister/housemate - you could each take a team, and take turns playing your matches. It would only become a two-player game if the two teams played each other.

Three is an extremely long and focused sports party involving several players.

Ok, cool. Well I'd best comment about each one then.

Reason 1 - The 'no online play in 06' rules it out.

Reason 2 - Yep, good reason. Should see it's return in 07 though. Too late to add it now.

Reason 3 - Hahaha huge audience for that one I bet...

The only reason I'd personally want it is to share a season with another person or to be able to play specific rounds in the season against a mate like Anzac Day, Rivalry Week or Heritage Week. The reason I'd want those rounds is one of the following; a) the special jumpers b) special commentary or c) to play crucial games in a season against your mate and influence the outcome of his season.
I'd ask that because in the 06 version you can't choose guernseys any of the modes. That's one thing I wish we had included in 06.

Fiery Hawk said:
Teams are rated on the 22 players they have selected in the side. So it's in your best interest to get your best 22 up and running throughout the season (24 for preseason of course).
If a top side loses star players through injury they'll come back to the field. It should be hard as a bottom side to beat a top side when you play on a higher difficulty.

must have been hard rating Hawthorn as one of the lowest teams! :p

just one more thing do the teams ratings go up and down according to what ground the match is played at? eg Freo rating high at Subi but low at the 'G'...

sainters said:
must have been hard rating Hawthorn as one of the lowest teams! :p

just one more thing do the teams ratings go up and down according to what ground the match is played at? eg Freo rating high at Subi but low at the 'G'...

The less said about that experience the better... :(

Can't wait to rate them in 2008...ooh yeah! :p

With regards to the ratings and venues? Nah nothing like that. Never actually believed in that to be honest. Always thought a teams performance interstate had more to do with sticking to a gameplan...

illnino said:
Dayum! That sux......althogh in 05 it was too 'laggy' to play online anyway:p

Yeah we would have spent more of the dev time this time around working on the online play if we included it. We figured it was better to get gameplay going before anything like that.

AFL 2006 Talk