AFL 2007 talk

Not sure if this has been written on here anywhere, but the commentators have been announced. They are as quoted: "Dennis is back - it wouldn't be the same without him - and this year he's joined by Gerard Healy and Danny Frawley." Check out CNET for more information.

Where's Bruce and Dermi?

The Matrix mode works awesome.

I've played it in a rugby game and its really cool.

Yeah, it could work.....dunno if it would though coz there are heaps shots at goal in a game....so it could get a bit annoying...

One thing I thought of was as soon as you start to press the snap button, two (possibly large and obvious) arrows appear around the player....One is the current direction they're pressing the left analog stick, one is the current direction of the goals. (or the desired direction to kick to allow for the wind)
With the game still moving at normal speed, the player starts to press the snap button and has a small moment to match the left analog arrow with the goal-direction arrow.

This would act the same way as it currently has the X and direction kick, but the arrows add the extra helping element for precision for the snap at goal.
This way it's not going to automatically go the way you want, and still requires some skill from the player to kick the goal.

Forgot to say, it could be expanded upon by having your controlled direction arrow 'snap' to the Desired arrow for the players with better kicking ability.

What I mean is, say you have one player with 100 kicking accuracy....when the player goes to snap at goal, as soon as they have the arrow within 30degrees of the desired arrow, it will line up perfectly....

Then another player with 42 for kicking accuracy has to get it within 5degrees of the desired arrow before it perfectly lines up together...

FH with the attributes is there a "ball magnet" type attribute. What i mean is in the game will someone like shaun macmanus be able to find the ball as easy as scott west and chris judd?

Hey HBK619, thanks for the ideas/comments...

1. I mentioned the other day in a reply that the kick distances of players vary greatly this year so getting the feel for what is a short pass for one player as opposed to the other is something that'll come with experience. When I play I leave input assist OFF but direction assist ON and tend to get my kicks within 5m of my intended target. You'll find that with the improved camera positions and lead indicators that you'll quickly get an idea of what the ideal kick direction and length will be.

2. No probs....I did some simulating of games based on quarter lengths and these were the leaders in stat categories (not showing frees for or against) at the end of a game;

5 minute quarters

GOALS - Didak (3)
DISPOSALS - Schammer (11)
KICKS - Schammer (10)
HANDBALLS - Shirley (3)
MARKS - Ladson (7)
TACKLES - Kirk (6)
HITOUTS - Cox (6)
CLEARANCES - R.Shaw (15)
INSIDE 50 - C.Young (6)
REBOUND 50 - L.Power (6)

10 minute quarters

GOALS - Lynch (5)
DISPOSALS - McLean (15)
KICKS - J.Lewis (13)
HANDBALLS - Tambling (9)
MARKS - Cox (11)
TACKLES - K.Simpson (9)
HITOUTS - Biglands (13)
CLEARANCES - T.Edwards (15)
INSIDE 50 - X.Clarke (6)
REBOUND 50 - Fosdike (6)

20 minute quarters

GOALS - Lade (6)
DISPOSALS - Kerr (29)
KICKS - Kerr (21)
HANDBALLS - B.Green (8)
MARKS - J.Brown (16)
TACKLES - Bateman (15)
HITOUTS - Cox (30)
CLEARANCES - J.Corey (16)
INSIDE 50 - R.Shaw (6)
REBOUND 50 - S.Fisher (6)

3. The mannerisms aren't there but you can certainly notice the class of the top echelon players when it comes to their specialities. Like Riewoldt is great at marking, Judd has fantastic all round skill but his kicking accuracy is a bit suspect, Buddy has exceptional pace and balance etc. You'll want to keep your highly skilled players this time around unless you are looking for something other than what they offer. We have tried to make the marquee players look as much like like their real life versions as possible to also add to the feel that they are out there.
Thanks, aswered everything perfectly, one little query though:

Did Rhyce Shaw have an awesome match or is that a typo, to have 1 less clearence in less than 15 minutes per quarter than Joel Corey is damn good.

FH,
Just a bit confused about the edit player section. does this mean that you can only edit players or will there actually be a create-a-player section if to say... I wanted to put myself on the mighty hawks!:thumbsu:

You can Only edit players.

So if you want yourself in the game you have to overwrite an existing hawthorn player.

...for now we want to make it a great gameplay experience that gives you the feel of playing AFL footy.

FH I hope I'm not the only one to think that should be the number one priority for all time! I'm sure any AFL title that comes out with extra bells and whistles but the gameplay remains exactly the same will end up being slagged off. Really pleased by your message that gameplay will forever be the key focus.

Hahaha Sorta Hard to explain but when we are in our attacking 50, there should be a button to snap kick it.
The difference is instead of manually kicking the goal like in PE, for about a second you Go into Matrix mode (Slow right down) and a big directional arrow Moves from Left to right of the goals and you have to click the button when you want the arrow to stop.
The better the player is at kicking the slower the big arrow scans the goals.

I understand where you are going with this but do you really want changes in pace when it comes to general gameplay? I know it works for certain games (e.g. Max Payne) but does it sound like an AFL thing? I dunno. I'd need more convincing to be honest.

Don't get me wrong, I can see why you are passionate about them and I know they are a semi-unique thing for Aussie Rules but at the end of the day do you really give a fat rats...?

It's just that making them look and act right would take a while and you wouldn't want it to look half-a$$ed. Surely there are other things that are higher on the priority list?

Gday FH,

I have actually enjoyed the general gameplay of the previous AFL 06 version but what was still lacking in 06 was any sort of realistic atmosphere. There was no loud cheering for the home side and booing for the away team and both got the same roar when they kicked a goal.

Has the atmosphere within the gameplay been tweaked at all? PLEEEEASE say yes!!

We still lacked decent source sounds from AFL games (they are very hard to come by and recording it ourselves wasn't an option given it was offseason) so changes to the atmosphere are minimal but we have tweaked the amount of roar and cheer in the game as best as possible.

With regards to home and away the idea was less cheer for the away side and more for the home - it was the best we could do with what was afforded to us.

Not sure if this has been written on here anywhere, but the commentators have been announced. They are as quoted: "Dennis is back - it wouldn't be the same without him - and this year he's joined by Gerard Healy and Danny Frawley." Check out CNET for more information.

Where's Bruce and Dermi?

Bruce was good to go but couldn't make it when we were recording so we sought out others. Dermie was available either.

Gerard brings a lot to the commentary with his insights into analysing the game from a post-play and tactical angle and Danny's comments are more indepth when reporting conditions, match trends and huddle discussions.

Yeah, it could work.....dunno if it would though coz there are heaps shots at goal in a game....so it could get a bit annoying...

One thing I thought of was as soon as you start to press the snap button, two (possibly large and obvious) arrows appear around the player....One is the current direction they're pressing the left analog stick, one is the current direction of the goals. (or the desired direction to kick to allow for the wind)
With the game still moving at normal speed, the player starts to press the snap button and has a small moment to match the left analog arrow with the goal-direction arrow.

This would act the same way as it currently has the X and direction kick, but the arrows add the extra helping element for precision for the snap at goal.
This way it's not going to automatically go the way you want, and still requires some skill from the player to kick the goal.

I see what you are trying to get at and yeah I can see some value in it especially if you take into account the accuracy of the player with the ball. It reminds me of the field of vision for quarterbacks in madden where you know if it's within range he'll hit the target otherwise it could go off slightly and make it hard for the receiver. I'm very interested in ideas like this that take into account the ratings of the player.

FH with the attributes is there a "ball magnet" type attribute. What i mean is in the game will someone like shaun macmanus be able to find the ball as easy as scott west and chris judd?

There's no ball magnet type of player like you've described above. You'll find that these guys do get a lot of the ball throughout the game (but it doesn't necessary mean they'll be BOG). It's less of a question of whether McManus will get the ball but rather will he be able to use it as well as Judd or West.

Don't get me wrong, I can see why you are passionate about them and I know they are a semi-unique thing for Aussie Rules but at the end of the day do you really give a fat rats...?

It's just that making them look and act right would take a while and you wouldn't want it to look half-a$$ed. Surely there are other things that are higher on the priority list?
Yeah, you're right about the banners..

We must be overworking you.

It's just that the pre game looked slack in 05 and 06.:thumbsu:

Thanks, aswered everything perfectly, one little query though:

Did Rhyce Shaw have an awesome match or is that a typo, to have 1 less clearence in less than 15 minutes per quarter than Joel Corey is damn good.

Mate, I'm not sure....I only simmed one game so I'm not sure if it was a one-off or a regular occurance.

I'd like to think he then became fatigued and someone else took responsibility for clearances which is why the players are different in game but I can't say for sure...