AFL 2050

Sometimes a team's fortune changes. That's obviously my point, don't act dumb.

This isn't a place for "fortunes," this is a place for hard cold facts. There are other teams with better facilities and more cash flow, which is more likely to lead to further success. Is this really rocket science?

Now for a fun one:

Q1 - Which club will win the most premierships between 2017-2050?

Port

Q2 - Will a club leave the competition? If so, which one?

Essendon doesn't learn its lesson and gets the ultimate boot

Q3 - Where is the most likely place to get a team?

Shanghai

Q4 - How many teams will the competition have in 2050?

Q5 - Which country outside Australia will have the strongest Australian football participation?

China

Q6 - Will the Grand Final be played outside Victoria before 2050?

Moved to Spotless Stadium in order to grow the game in NSW

Q7 - Will the AFL remain the strongest sports league in Australia?

Yes

Q8 - Will the AFL's main domestic commercial rival be? Soccer or Rugby?

Socka

Q9 - What will be the most significant rule change by 2050?

Clubs in non-traditional markets to be given bonus premiership points at the start of each season

Q10 - What is your prediction for the AFL by 2050?

The AFL is ruled with an iron fist by Demetriou's head in a jar

Now for a fun one:

Port

Essendon doesn't learn its lesson and gets the ultimate boot

Shanghai

Q5 - Which country outside Australia will have the strongest Australian football participation?

China

Moved to Spotless Stadium in order to grow the game in NSW

Yes

Socka

Clubs in non-traditional markets to be given bonus premiership points at the start of each season

The AFL is ruled with an iron fist by Demetriou's head in a jar
:'( Watching Port win flags at Spotless?

Ugggghhh!

This isn't a place for "fortunes," this is a place for hard cold facts. There are other teams with better facilities and more cash flow, which is more likely to lead to further success. Is this really rocket science?

You're relying on "facts" to predict what it will look like in 33 years time?

Do you know something about all those "facts" that haven't happened yet?

Better than most Dog fans logic on here. We won it this year. That means we will be the best for the next 50.

That's a ridiculous answer to my question. It's what is known as a red herring.

How about simply responding to the question in a sensible way?

A1 - collingwood (no salary cap)

A2 - GWS

A3 - tasmania

A4 - 20

A5 - none

A6 - no chance

A7 - yes

A8 - soccer

A9 - no salary cap

A10 - joy joy joy

That's a ridiculous answer to my question. It's what is known as a red herring.

How about simply responding to the question in a sensible way?

No it's not. All the replies I have got in relation to saying Swans or the Pies will win the most, have been from Dogs supporters. I'm done having to defend why I don't think Dogs are going to win 100 flags in a row.

A2 - GWS

A3 - tasmania

A4 - 20

A5 - none

A6 - no chance

A7 - yes

A8 - soccer

A9 - no salary cap

A10 - joy joy joy
I get no cap would traditionally help Collingwood as a big club, just wonder if that chance has passed? Clubs like WC and the Crows are pretty strong financially these days, and on a Northwards trajectory maybe?
Get the Pies probably not the weakest club in the next 34 years.

A1 - The Eagles or Fremantle.

A2 - As long as the AFL continues to fund unprofitable organisations, no.

A3 - Tassie

A4 - 20

A5 - USA

A6 - No

A7 - Yes

A8 - Soccer. I'll be shocked if League still exists in its current format by 2050

A9 - No boundary throw ins. Last touch to the other team

A10 - All streamed, like netflix for AFL. Will make it affordable for fans and kill off the outdated Foxtel PAY TV model

A2 - GWS

A3 - tasmania

A4 - 20

A5 - none

A6 - no chance

A7 - yes

A8 - soccer

A9 - no salary cap

A10 - joy joy joy

WC are the most profitable football team in the nation over all codes. Why does having no cap mean Pies will win the most?

No it's not. All the replies I have got in relation to saying Swans or the Pies will win the most, have been from Dogs supporters. I'm done having to defend why I don't think Dogs are going to win 100 flags in a row.

My question was about having facts to tell the future with.

Not possible. Things change.

You have no facts. Just an opinion, like everyone else.

A1 - Melbourne

A2 - No-one

A3 - Tasmania

A4 - 32

A5 - China, New Zealand, United States and Canada

A6 - No

A7 - Yes

A8 - Rugby

A9 - Abolition of free agency and salary cap concessions

A10 - Drone footage vision, umpires to wear hi-resolution glasses

A1 -Impossible to predict. Too many variables.

A2 -No. Relocation perhaps.

A3 -Tasi

A4 -20

A5 -India

A6 -No

A7 - Yes

A8 -Soccer

A9 -Kicking the ball backwards into your defensive 50, marked by a team mate, called as play on.

A10 -A final 10 and finals played over 5 weeks.

A1 - GWS is the most likely but could be any club with the new multicultural and aboriginal acadamies

A2 - No, AFL wouldn't let it happen

A3 - Hobart, WA3, Alice Springs/NT

A4 - 22

A5 - North America or African countries

A6 - Yes, will turn into a home game for the higher placing team

A7 - Yes if A-League remains the same, No if they allow private ownership and lift transfer and wage restrictions

A8 - Soccer

A9 - 16 onfield

A10 - hopefully private ownership and no salary cap,
International recruitment/drafting will be a lot bigger as the game expands
State of Origin will be introduced and taken seriously
Club run under 18 acadamies as opposed to TAC

A1 - joondalup

A2 - 4 melb clubs both bris clubs 1 syd and sa club will exist as different teams to the current ones.

A3 - hobart darwin wa and tasmania

A4 - 10-12 in division#1

Q5 - Which country outside Australia will havethe strongest Australian football participation?

A5 - asia

A6 - yes

A7 - no. By then you will be able to download yourself to computer servers and reality becomes a less appealing option to real life fake sports become more popular than real sport

A8 - Soccer.

A9 - multiball. And fan voting on interchanges

it will be nothing like it is now

A1 - joondalup

A2 - 4 melb clubs both bris clubs 1 syd and sa club will exist as different teams to the current ones.

A3 - hobart darwin wa and tasmania

A4 - 10-12 in division#1

Q5 - Which country outside Australia will havethe strongest Australian football participation?

A5 - asia

A6 - yes

A7 - no. By then you will be able to download yourself to computer servers and reality becomes a less appealing option to real life fake sports become more popular than real sport

A8 - Soccer.

A9 - multiball. And fan voting on interchanges

it will be nothing like it is now
Interesting thoughts there about how sport will be "consumed" in the future. I wouldn't be surprised to see some ultra-commercial sports league introduce some Australian Idol-esque democracy to market their product, but I really doubt AFL would be that way.
I've seen a couple people say Joondalup would be a likely place for a new WA team, why is that? I've always thought of it as pretty solid Eagles territory, and can't really see why it stands out from other locations in the state. Any big reasons?

This thread is making me sad...

I say bring on WWIII before we see Aussie Rules Football become a free-from-contact sport played at AFL level by robots or genetically engineered humans on performance enhancing drugs who throw the ball and wear helmets, playing in teams with a roster of 70, the season played over 35 weeks, while a couple of privately owned salary cap-less clubs dominate the "competition".

A couple of posters suggested footy will be banned and looked back upon in disgust like some do the gladiatorial period, or that sport in general will diminish in popularity and participation - very sad but potentially true predictions.

I think we're looking at circa 2100 for those things though, when humans are physically almost indistinguishable from their current form (the form depicted in Wall-E is quite possible given our tendency to favour instant satisfaction at the expense of health and activity).

A1 - No club over the next 33 years will catch GWS with their 7 flags over the next 13 years IMO.

A2 - Hopefully GWS when they win their 7th flag and yet still have only 20, 000 members. Don't get upset GWS fans - "if you build it, they will come" :thumbsu: Most likely is Brisbane or Gold Coast...QLD footy is in trouble at the moment.

A3 - Tasmania or Canberra, possibly WA if the population keeps building (though I think the mining boom is officially over so Joondalup will not get a team in the foreseeable future).

A4 - 20.

A5 - US is already saturated...I'd say China (massive population, bound to have a few million who take to the sport and it's already being targeted by the AFL). Indians take to footy too...but cricket exists.

A6 - Yes - as others have suggested, this will be contingent on the capacity of other stadia in WA, SA, and NSW.

A7 - Marginally ahead of soccer.

A8 - Soccer.

A9 - Number of players on the field will be reduced to 16.

A10 - Hopefully in 2050 we will have a similar sport with a few changes mostly in the realm of technological advancement (lasers/automated goal umpiring, better review procedures etc.).

This thread is making me sad...

I say bring on WWIII before we see Aussie Rules Football become a free-from-contact sport played at AFL level by robots or genetically engineered humans on performance enhancing drugs who throw the ball and wear helmets, playing in teams with a roster of 70, the season played over 35 weeks, while a couple of privately owned salary cap-less clubs dominate the "competition".

A couple of posters suggested footy will be banned and looked back upon in disgust like some do the gladiatorial period, or that sport in general will diminish in popularity and participation - very sad but potentially true predictions.

I think we're looking at circa 2100 for those things though, when humans are physically almost indistinguishable from their current form (the form depicted in Wall-E is quite possible given our tendency to favour instant satisfaction at the expense of health and activity).

A1 - No club over the next 33 years will catch GWS with their 7 flags over the next 13 years IMO.

A2 - Hopefully GWS when they win their 7th flag and yet still have only 20, 000 members. Don't get upset GWS fans - "if you build it, they will come" :thumbsu: Most likely is Brisbane or Gold Coast...QLD footy is in trouble at the moment.

A3 - Tasmania or Canberra, possibly WA if the population keeps building (though I think the mining boom is officially over so Joondalup will not get a team in the foreseeable future).

A4 - 20.

A5 - US is already saturated...I'd say China (massive population, bound to have a few million who take to the sport and it's already being targeted by the AFL). Indians take to footy too...but cricket exists.

A6 - Yes - as others have suggested, this will be contingent on the capacity of other stadia in WA, SA, and NSW.

A7 - Marginally ahead of soccer.

A8 - Soccer.

A9 - Number of players on the field will be reduced to 16.

A10 - Hopefully in 2050 we will have a similar sport with a few changes mostly in the realm of technological advancement (lasers/automated goal umpiring, better review procedures etc.).
Just one thing, we'll have more than 20k members this year, but there is some fluff in the numbers. Compared to WC for example we include 3 game members and AFLW members. When we have a waiting list for members at Spotless and Manuka I'll be very happy.
Mot so sure we'll dominate the competition, but I hope you're right.

Interesting thoughts there about how sport will be "consumed" in the future. I wouldn't be surprised to see some ultra-commercial sports league introduce some Australian Idol-esque democracy to market their product, but I really doubt AFL would be that way.
I've seen a couple people say Joondalup would be a likely place for a new WA team, why is that? I've always thought of it as pretty solid Eagles territory, and can't really see why it stands out from other locations in the state. Any big reasons?

Its more just a guess based more on current bases of operations. In the end it really doesn't make much difference "where" they are based. It will only influence what they are called.

I just dont see a team based out of perth as too likely. Maybe somewhere like bunbury. But i would still bet on a 3rd perth team

A1 - GWS

A2 - Yes, Gold Coast will fold. North will also be relocated to Tasmania by 2040.

A3 - WA3, Canberra

A4 - 20

A5 - Depends on how you define participation. Sheer numbers, US. Percentage of population, UK.

A6 - No.

A7 - Yes. A-League has virtually hit its limit in terms of coverage and is now going backwards. BBL will be powerful though.

A8 - Neither, BBL.

A9 - 24 players, 6 on the bench.

A10 - There will be one current 'big' Melbourne club that will no longer be considered as such due to a period of no success [10+ years without finals]. Beyond that, there'll be a similar tiered system to the current situation.