Multiplat AFL 23 - Part 2 with added Pro Team

Seems like patch notes are out already .. not sure how to feel about it.. thoughts?? 👀

ITS GONE LIVE ALSO! Just got it on PS5 = 1.7GB

So we can conclude Training mode, along with single player mode just never existed and they’ve taken us for a ride since day 1 🤣 I swear this mob never fails to deliver on failing to deliver.

No stress at all mate. I think most would agree there’s been enough Ross/BA slander and it would be good to move past it. I think its also been obvious for a while he wasn’t interested in jumping back on here and answering questions (since he still isn't answering them on his own shiny new forum) but in saying all that, if we can still talk about the game when the new patch drops that would be good. 😊

Yeah of course, no worries!

I never bought this game so don't have the same emotional investment as others do. We really really really do, honestly, swear to god, that we give everyone the benefit of the doubt that any discussion will remain civil and mature. However so often it derails and we don't want this to just be a platform to slag another which is what a lot of the deleted comment chains have turned into. This used to be their defacto platform to communicate but it wasn't in their control so they made their own. The line of delineation of what goes here vs there I guess will be clearer in time when we all adjust.

My opinion on this whole saga is the game only had about 1 year and a few months development before release. Game was announced early 2022 and released May 4, 2023.

I don't think this game had a development time of 2 years or more. It is the only plausible explanation as to why so much has gone wrong and so much still needs to be fixed and included.

It may have had 5x the budget of any Aussie sports game, but that opportunity has been completely mismanaged. If they had used that budget to fund 2 years or even 3 years development, It would still be ahead of any other Aussie sports game budget wise and then you would hope, be the best Aussie rules game ever.

I wonder what happened with those demos at EB Games not happening. A calculated move to not have them?

I would assume that IF there was an agreement on dates for the demos, by the time it showed up the game still wasnt ready go go and either Big Ant or the retailers pulled the plug.

You'd assume it would have been the pre-day one patch version too. So the mythical "good" version. And they still didn't want us playing it ahead of release 😬

My opinion on this whole saga is the game only had about 1 year and a few months development before release. Game was announced early 2022 and released May 4, 2023.

I don't think this game had a development time of 2 years or more. It is the only plausible explanation as to why so much has gone wrong and so much still needs to be fixed and included.

It may have had 5x the budget of any Aussie sports game, but that opportunity has been completely mismanaged. If they had used that budget to fund 2 years or even 3 years development, It would still be ahead of any other Aussie sports game budget wise and then you would hope, be the best Aussie rules game ever.
Do we know for sure when development started?
I know that typically in the games industry there's no mention, not even a whisper, that development hasn't started for a long time after it has... so Ross' 'I've got a feeling' tweet (which I think was the first we knew about Big Ant working on the game) surely wouldn't have been the first day of development... I would've expected at least a year of development on it prior to that.

I prefer to think it only had like 6 months of development (excluding face scans and motion capture).

You won't be disappointed mate it is incredible the amount of work they have put into their game. Main features like career mode aren't available just yet but from the start the devs there have always been about making sure things are actually ready to launch before they go ahead. I was a beta tester in their early stages so have seen it evolve over time. They've even gone as far as to removing cheats from their online servers and even changing the code so you can't spam the same move over and over (you get progressively fatigued for a particular move if you do it all the time) which provides actual simulation style boxing and added layers of realism, forcing players to use all moves and rewards smarts. Deepest roster in any boxing game ever.

And for $40 it was a no brainer for me. Would've paid double if they had priced it as such. Devs are super active on Discord, answer most questions (with 17k discord members the questions flood in but they do their best) and all the data they are receiving from the community playing online matches is helping them tune the game all the time. After that level of support and interaction, they then jump on for an hour a month to update everyone on the roadmap and what they are noticing, good and bad. I'm a huge fan of what they are doing and rooting for them big time given they are a small dev who are genuinely passionate about creating a great experience for people. Night and day between what has occurred over the last few months with this overpriced mess.
Been following this for a while but am waiting on a PS release :(

Getting disingenuous now. It was less to do with specifics about any upcoming patch and just hanging poo about their patch process. It also says to take technical stuff to their board. You will get no more feedback from BAS here, so asking about patches is futile. And if you want a platform to vent then there are plenty of others for that.
To clarify this for everybody's benefit.

We are a very quiet and low key board outside of AFL game times. We volunteered to help out on this board because we like it, and because the small size was manageable in the context of our real jobs and social lives. Generally, we delete a handful of posts a month and maybe need to drop an infraction or two every couple of months.

Across the pre-launch, launch and follow up threads of tens of thousands of posts, we have deleted a third of them. A third. We have given out exponentially more thread bans and dealt with more PMs than we have total in the past few years. This thread has taken an enormous amount of time out of our days, most days. We simply don't have the capacity to continue this.

With BA present here, as much as we weren't set up to handle it, we took the bullet to keep that community engagement going. Now that they're gone, it is time for things to calm down a bit. Frankly, we need a break.

We don't want to stifle genuine discussion. Talking about what's in the patches, possible schedules, criticism etc is all fine.

But we will be deleting anything inciteful or anything we deem too aggressive or too directed at other posters. It is a harsher line than we would like to take, but to be frank, the thread has shown again and again that people can't help themselves. If we think it is likely to cause a shitfight based on our experience with the last 40k posts, it goes.

Similarly, questions directed at BA are being deleted because this is no longer the forum for it, and questions beget more questions as people see them and think this is the right place for them.

I understand the frustration about stuff being deleted on the BA forum and us limiting discussion about some things meaning you get nowhere to talk about that. That's understandable. But unfortunately we just do not have the resources to manage it and we never did.

We are tired.

I don't think there's anything wrong with them targeting good presentation, it was just a bit of a red flag that it was far and away THE main thing they were spruiking.
Yeah that's fair. I'm hoping it was more the systems in place to have and show good graphics. Something to build on more in the coming years, where they can easily add to through the work of the artists, that won't take much dev time away from the programmers.
Yeah I get that, it just seems to me to be a lot of effort for something most people won't see because they skip them (goal celebrations and the like).

The alternative is to piss everyone off by making them unskippable (hello AFL 23's coin toss).

Games that are zoomed in close to the action like basketball it makes sense to go all out on high quality graphics. But even then, NBA Jam looks great 😊
I actually enjoy the cutscenes. I think most people look at them closely for the first few playthroughs... but start skipping once you've seen them all.

Which, if they get systems are in place, future games might get more varying cutscenes that'll be different for more games.
i.e imagine that half time/locker room cutscene has 10 more variations that the artists have worked on.... if the programming of the game has the ability to easily 'randomly choose any of them'... then there's little work for the programmers, and something for the artists to keep contributing to.
Same for the quarter time breaks.... or maybe a little programming could be used for making more contextual selections of said cutscenes.

Throw in more goal-kicking styles of players (the way Buddy or Tomahawk have set shots now)... plenty of artist work which hopefully won't need any/much programming time if the foundations are laid.

This I'm 100% down with because they're animations that are part of the actual gameplay.

I usually watch most goal replays in FIFA because scoring is relatively rare. Can't do it in footy games with my limited game playing time, I wouldn't get through a game 🤣

It would be nice.

Hopefully this week 🤞🏽 not to add any extra speculation but I feel like once this next big patch comes, there might be one more post Pro Team just to line it all up with Xbox and that might be all. I can’t imagine as the release to Cricket 24 heats up that AFL will get continued focus especially after the Grand Final.

To clarify this for everybody's benefit.

We are a very quiet and low key board outside of AFL game times. We volunteered to help out on this board because we like it, and because the small size was manageable in the context of our real jobs and social lives. Generally, we delete a handful of posts a month and maybe need to drop an infraction or two every couple of months.

Across the pre-launch, launch and follow up threads of tens of thousands of posts, we have deleted a third of them. A third. We have given out exponentially more thread bans and dealt with more PMs than we have total in the past few years. This thread has taken an enormous amount of time out of our days, most days. We simply don't have the capacity to continue this.

With BA present here, as much as we weren't set up to handle it, we took the bullet to keep that community engagement going. Now that they're gone, it is time for things to calm down a bit. Frankly, we need a break.

We don't want to stifle genuine discussion. Talking about what's in the patches, possible schedules, criticism etc is all fine.

But we will be deleting anything inciteful or anything we deem too aggressive or too directed at other posters. It is a harsher line than we would like to take, but to be frank, the thread has shown again and again that people can't help themselves. If we think it is likely to cause a shitfight based on our experience with the last 40k posts, it goes.

Similarly, questions directed at BA are being deleted because this is no longer the forum for it, and questions beget more questions as people see them and think this is the right place for them.

I understand the frustration about stuff being deleted on the BA forum and us limiting discussion about some things meaning you get nowhere to talk about that. That's understandable. But unfortunately we just do not have the resources to manage it and we never did. We are tired.

Yep, I get all that. I don't mean to give volunteers more work to do. **** that. I don't go out of my way to target other posters or tag them in posts (in an abusive manner I mean), nor do I ask questions to someone who clearly doesn't post here anymore.

Don't mind my posts being deleted if a mod feels they cross a line. Waking up to a deleted post that did none of those things and a "this is dribble" comment was a bit much though, seems others agreed. Didn't think it was any different to an earlier conversation that wasn't deleted that showed no other company seems to have issues with releasing games on Xbox on time 🤷‍♂️

All good though, onwards and upwards 🤝

Yep, I get all that. I don't mean to give volunteers more work to do. * that. I don't go out of my way to target other posters or tag them in posts (in an abusive manner I mean), nor do I ask questions to someone who clearly doesn't post here anymore.

Don't mind my posts being deleted if a mod feels they cross a line. Waking up to a deleted post that did none of those things and a "this is dribble" comment was a bit much though, seems others agreed. Didn't think it was any different to an earlier conversation that wasn't deleted that showed no other company seems to have issues with releasing games on Xbox on time 🤷‍♂️

Pretty much what I was confused about too. None of those posts were questions to Ross, nor were they offensive to anyone else or aggressive etc.
Thought it was all pretty innocent.

Fully agree with you. I'm just trying to understand how the game is in the state it is.

If they have been developing the game for 2 plus years and it is where it is now, something must have gone monumentally wrong in house. Like the back up hard drives and severs caught fire or something and the only recoverable backup was an older one (extreme example)

Who really knows, but we'll never know I guess.

I just have a hard time believing this game has had more than 18 months development.

Yep, I get all that. I don't mean to give volunteers more work to do. * that. I don't go out of my way to target other posters or tag them in posts (in an abusive manner I mean), nor do I ask questions to someone who clearly doesn't post here anymore.

I’m not going to make a habit of explaining why every post was deleted, but in the interests of clarity: the posts were barely related to the game. Pulling quotes about tennis games from elsewhere is clearly off-topic, which is a standard BF rule. We’re also not interested in turning this into a discussion forum about their discussion forum, I would hope for obvious reasons. The second is re-treading old ground that has caused many an argument and shitfight on here before, and stemmed from the original discussion – when a post is deleted, we delete the follow ups that quote the post.

Just keep it to the game.

I had a hiatus from the game, so not entirely sure when the latest update was.

But aside from all the regular issues, has anyone else noticed:
1) when goal kicking the footy floats and almost helicopters around rather than the nice smooth drop punt we had in earlier versions? Even when timed perfectly.

2) when on the mark, using the left thumstick to radial select players now also causes your player to move, often resulting in a play on. Was never an issue before, but now it's bloody hard to select players when kicking.

The game not improving is one thing, but I don't understand how issues are further being introduced?

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I've posted numerous questions and issues on the Bigant forum and I'd say the majority of my criticism posts have been deleted. IMO none were harsh criticism or targeted at anyone but were aimed at Management Mode and the place it currently is at.

I also had a post deleted which was aimed at Bigant and the fact that they have seemed to wiped their hands of PS patches and simply continue to blame it on a third party now for the delays. The way I see it is it's your game so take control of the patches and make sure the consumers, who help keep you in business, are given what they were promised and kept happy.

Honestly Proteam is not going to save this game at all. If they can't get the online games working yet, or any of the modes working properly it is just going to be more complaints and refunds.

Hopefully this week 🤞🏽 not to add any extra speculation but I feel like once this next big patch comes, there might be one more post Pro Team just to line it all up with Xbox and that might be all. I can’t imagine as the release to Cricket 24 heats up that AFL will get continued focus especially after the Grand Final.
with BA's patching history for past games for example Cr22, they seem to continue to put out patches for quite a long time after release. and honestly, it wont be out of the ordinary if BA had separate teams working on different titles, even if the core afl23 dev team for does reduce in numbers as some are shifted to other projects), wouldn't just be one team working on all games. Furthermore, they have a SA office now and are obviously growing in their numbers, so some level of focus will remain.

I had a hiatus from the game, so not entirely sure when the latest update was.

But aside from all the regular issues, has anyone else noticed:
1) when goal kicking the footy floats and almost helicopters around rather than the nice smooth drop punt we had in earlier versions? Even when timed perfectly.

2) when on the mark, using the left thumstick to radial select players now also causes your player to move, often resulting in a play on. Was never an issue before, but now it's bloody hard to select players when kicking.

The game not improving is one thing, but I don't understand how issues are further being introduced?

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app
I've had good drop punts and floaty helicopters during set shots, but tbh I'm not sure what "perfectly timed" even is. Yes it should be obvious on the charge bars, but I've had shots go astray when perfectly hitting the right areas and shots go straight through the middle when being a little off, so I don't exactly know what the sweet spot is. That said, the variance hasn't bothered me too much. Feels realistic to Carlton :skull:

Multiplat AFL 23 - Part 2 with added Pro Team