AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

Very interesting Southcab that you have put the Jets down in front of the Juggs. We have only lost one game in the last 7 and that was to Belconnen 6 weeks ago and since we have beaten all other top 4/5 sides. We'll just have to prove ourselves again by beating Gungahlin this weekend.

You lost to Eastlake by 9 points, five rounds ago. Jets bet 'em on Saturday by 80. Sorry BigHill, couldn't resist! :D

I think the Div 4 comp is a lot more even than the ladder makes it out to be. The Swans have been there-abouts all year and are certainly hitting form at the right time.
It could be said that Harman, Murrumbidgee, ADFA and ANU (and maybe even Eastlake) could all have easily finished higher up if results had gone their way. I note a number of close games that have gone against all of them at some point or other.
ANU especially - a percentage of 93.74% after Round 15 shows just how many close ones they've been involved in (this weekend being no exception, pushing the Jets to 10 points).

Southcab, I'd be interested to hear more about Yass. If they don't win the flag this year it will be a real injustice (although, how many times has it happened that a team goes through undefeated all year only to drop the big one???)
shanefos what do you want to know.???

You lost to Eastlake by 9 points, five rounds ago. Jets bet 'em on Saturday by 80. Sorry BigHill, couldn't resist! :D

True it was a bad loss that we have to be responsible for due to injuries and players not committing to the team like we want. Some key players went away that weekend because they thought it would be a game we shouldn't loose. Well didn't they eat their words.

Since then we have had players commit and players back from injury. We should have our full team on the paddock this weekend against Gungahlin so their is no excuses not to perform. Gungahlin is a great side and it should be a cracker.

I think the Div 4 comp is a lot more even than the ladder makes it out to be. The Swans have been there-abouts all year and are certainly hitting form at the right time.
It could be said that Harman, Murrumbidgee, ADFA and ANU (and maybe even Eastlake) could all have easily finished higher up if results had gone their way. I note a number of close games that have gone against all of them at some point or other.
ANU especially - a percentage of 93.74% after Round 15 shows just how many close ones they've been involved in (this weekend being no exception, pushing the Jets to 10 points).

Southcab, I'd be interested to hear more about Yass. If they don't win the flag this year it will be a real injustice (although, how many times has it happened that a team goes through undefeated all year only to drop the big one???)
Just like the mighty saints yass will lift for the big games, and to all those hawks supperters out there get that up ya:p

shanefos what do you want to know.???

Surely the Yass lads will be raring to go after two weeks off and only three more games until finals!
Why would they drop their better players this close to the end? Especially having not played for a couple of weeks, extending the break to a third game, some blokes are going to lose a bit of touch.
They would be pretty confident of going through the home-and-away undefeated, I would've thought, so to drop blokes and have blokes be "unsighted" on the training track for two whole weeks seems a bit strange.
Don't get me wrong, they're going great guns this year, but it could be argued that they have a couple of tough games in the final three.
ANU will be no pushover (Yass only beat them by 3 points in round 1 and they pushed Gungahlin to 10 points on Saturday).
Eastlake should be a good chance for them to get some form back in round 17 but I dare say that Harman will be out to finish their season with a bang and nothing would be sweeter than knocking off the top side to round off the year, so (though you'd expect Yass to win fairly comfortably), that'll be a tough game too.

At this stage they'll be taking on Gungahlin in the first week of the finals and I dare say that it'll be a tighter affair away from Yass (compared to round 12).
And to be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if Goulburn end up meeting them in the GF.
So, they'd want to make sure they were all at the top of their games because I reckon Goulburn are hitting form at just the right time.

Anyway, that's my $3.50 worth for Div 4.

No idea with Div 3. Like Growling Ferret said, it's been a bloody good comp this year, so I'm just looking forward to a ripper end to the season.

shanefos,i would have thought the same about the players being rareing to go but i went down to training last night and watched 9 players go through there workout and while those 9 looked really good is that going to be enough.Yass have no injurys and all are avilable this weekend yet training numbers are at there worst this year with adfa forfeiting coach called a training run at the same time the game would have been on and 7 players turned up the captains dogs ate more snags then the team.Coach told the players at training last night that some players would not be selected this week due to the lack of comitment regardless of the outcome this week those fringe players that have made the effort will be the first selected .Some players think you can get away with carrying a couple of the lesser lites this year i guess time will tell.I want yass to win the flag as much if not more then most givin i am one of the last origanals so i really hope the boys get back on the job and stop taking things for granted if you fail to prepare you prepare for failure.Lastly i fully understand what you say about time off the paddock but for yass it has to be more then just this season.Dont put your coach in that position.......:(

Southcab. I think the Yass coach has some tough decisions in the next couple of weeks. It would seem from comments here that Yass may be looking to name a perceived less than full strength team this week against ANU. Is this mind games with ANU I wonder, or is the coach seriously going to test team commitment? :confused: With finals just around the corner maybe the coach is just trying to save the big guns for when it counts. I'd love to know his thinking.:rolleyes:

Good to see BigHill on the verge of bagging 100 goals for the season. If memory serves me well it has been many years since there has been a 100 goaler in Div3/CD1's. Bomber Browne from the Wolves rings a bell - any since then? I know there have been a few in Div 4/CD2's in recent times....Anyway, good luck Hilly.:thumbsu:

Just like the mighty saints yass will lift for the big games, and to all those hawks supperters out there get that up ya:p

T O S i dont think by any means that the Yass run home is a joy ride, will be interesting to see whether they can hold there solid form where it counts.

Thanks mate. Not sure who else has kicked 100 in CD3's in the past since I've only been in Canberra for a few years. I did kick 102 goals in CD4's in 2005 for murrumbidgee so it will be nice to get it again in CD3's.

BH mate thats quite an achievement, good luck for it. :thumbsu:
How many are you to date

I'm on 91 with 3 games to go. Most likely 2 matches with Tuggers likely to forfeit like most weeks.

with 91 for the season the surely 9 in one game cant be out of the question but if the 2 forfiets do occur its a little disheartning for the opposing teams.
anyway good luck for the 100 and for the rest of the season with the Juggers

BigHill Juggs dont need to prove themselves at all no doubt all teams have a healthy respect for you i just think things at the jets seem to be falling into place for them come finals we all know its a hole new ball game i have it as a Jets Juggs grand final.

it seems everyone does not rate the side that is sitting on top of the ladder and only lost 1 game this year (Belconnen):eek:

You know what they say about tall poppies, mate.
And this is Big Hill's forum after all, so of course Murrumbidgee are favourites for the flag! ;)

To me Belconnen is still the team to beat and those people that don't believe that then what are they thinking. 1 lost and 1 draw for the year is outstanding and surely it gives Belconnen the respect they deserve. All i can say is that the finals will be all close games with no blow out matches but Belconnen is the team to beat. Belco will not loose the match, you need to go out and beat them at their own game.

This weeks predictions:

Juggs over Jets (No favourtism there) by 2 goals
ANU over Ainslie by 10 goals
ADFA over Eastlake by 10 goals
Harman over Tuggers by 12 goals or forfeit
Belconnen over Woden by 6 goals

You know what they say about tall poppies, mate.
And this is Big Hill's forum after all, so of course Murrumbidgee are favourites for the flag! ;)

Comon Shanefos it not my forum. Just enjoy talking about good football in Canberra that doesn't get the respect of those premier league toss bags.:D

Couldn't resist having a dig! :p
I hear ya big fella! Grass roots, suburban/country footy is what it's all about. People who play for the love of the game, rather than the pay cheque.

Allowing for the players droping back from Ressies to help out the third grade sides (I know its not permitted but everyone will do it), my picks are

Jets over Jugs, 4 goals
ADFA over Eastlake by 3 points
Harman over Tuggers by 15 goals
Belconnen over Woden by a point (another honourable defeat for the Blues...)

Allowing for the players droping back from Ressies to help out the third grade sides (I know its not permitted but everyone will do it), my picks are

Jets over Jugs, 4 goals
ADFA over Eastlake by 3 points
Harman over Tuggers by 15 goals
Belconnen over Woden by a point (another honourable defeat for the Blues...)

GF, I do not understand your comment about dropping reserves players back to third grade outside of AFL Canberra rules. I assume you are talking about the movement of reserves players back to thirds this weekend due to the bye in 1s and 2s?? Can you give me examples of this happening earlier this season???

My tips for this week in 3s
Juggs in a tough one over Jets 3 goals. This will secure 2nd spot for Juggs
ADFA to bounce back and over run Eastlake
ANU to kick a record score against Ainslie
Harman comfortably over Tuggers
Belconnen to account for Woden.

And in the 4s
Yass too good for ANU
Gungahlin over Juggs
Harman to win but get hypothermia at Cooma
Belconnen to have their side stacked full of 2s players and beat ADFA;)
Goulburn too strong for Cootamundra

GF, I do not understand your comment about dropping reserves players back to third grade outside of AFL Canberra rules. I assume you are talking about the movement of reserves players back to thirds this weekend due to the bye in 1s and 2s?? Can you give me examples of this happening earlier this season???

My tips for this week in 3s
Juggs in a tough one over Jets 3 goals. This will secure 2nd spot for Juggs
ADFA to bounce back and over run Eastlake
ANU to kick a record score against Ainslie
Harman comfortably over Tuggers
Belconnen to account for Woden.

And in the 4s
Yass too good for ANU
Gungahlin over Juggs
Harman to win but get hypothermia at Cooma
Belconnen to have their side stacked full of 2s players and beat ADFA;)
Goulburn too strong for Cootamundra

Tips for the 3s
Jets
Eastlake
ANU
Harman
Belco

in the 4s
Yass
Gungahlin
Harman
Belco if they stack
Goulburn

My tips

3rds
belco
jets
adfa
harman
anu

4ths
anu (i think yass will choke and loose this winning streak)
jets
harman
belco
swans
and the bye to beat eastlake :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

jets and juggs to draw
harman to thumb tuggers + 100.
adfa to win over Eastlake 3 goals
ainslie to upset ANU (seriously tho, ANU easily)
Belco over Woden 4 goals