AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

Innacuracy in front of goals could have been Jets downfull with Bidgee finishing hard.

I saw the first half and thought the same thing. Jets were on fire early but the Juggs fought back into the match. The Jets accuracy in the 2nd quarter was terrible. I think they kicked 1 goal 7 behinds for the quarter with some easy shots missed. Could easily have gone into the half time break with a 6 or 7 goal lead. Sounds like the Juggs fought back well in the second half but from what I saw early I have to agree with Barty, the best team fell over the line.

Woden with a big win over Belconnen today in Div 3 by 18 points. No difference to the ladder but nice to see the boys play like they should have throughout the year with a bit of heart and commitment

ADFA over Eastlake by about 15 goals i heard.
Harman by 117 points today... the Kambah ground is well pretty bad to be honest.
Harman have ADFA next week - match of the round i think.

Sorry Ports but I can't resist commenting.

Ports told me not to get on here this week but hey it makes Monday go a bit quicker.

Question 1: Average age of the Juggs forward line / Gungahlin Backline
Answer: Well lets just say we could have made a good masters team. But I think the game against Woden the other week broke all records for the oldest area of the ground with an average age of about 32.

Goals: 5 this week southcab. I enjoyed playing on a good friend of mine from Gungahlin - DB.

Game was definately played in good spirits. The Jets came out hard in the first quarter and put on 6 goals before we even scored. 9 fifty metre penalties in favour of the Jets hurt us throughout the match given by an umpire that shouldn't of been umpiring this match (enough said there). But all of the reports are correct, the better side for the whole 4 quarters won the game. The juggs are lucky the Jets couldn't kick straight in the first half otherwise it would have been a harder road back to only loose by 6 pts. Welldone to the Jets.

Good to see no strengh in the rumor ports!!!Well done Bighill 4 to go hope you get them this week.Anybody no if a certain umpire in div 4 on the weekend actually plays as well and in particular is a fullback. I know im in dangerous territory but a certain umpire made specific comments on the weekend and i hope he was only mouthing off in jest .Whats the record for the amount beers you can drink and still umpire?.

I think I might know who you're referring to, but might be open to litigation if I go ahead and comment.
Any particular games he might've been involved in???

Umpired the yass anu game would rather not say who the team is he is ment to be involved with.Has to be said though some of the decisions and comments made were digracefull .With no div one or two and of coarse no under 18/s the league must have given the better umps the weekend off.And i know that comment is not fair on the couple of umps that did have a good game.!!!!

You blokes would not be referring to a current Belconnen player who umpires each weekend? He bounces the ball at every stoppage, and we have not seen one straight up yet though...However, we've had worse umps than him this year...

We had a 4 foot tall umpire on Sunday who was one angry man. Stopped any flareups though and in the end did a decent job.

Codola - how many were Belconnen missing yesterday?

shanefos; If it turnes out to be true it is a dead set slur on our game in saying that i have just got of the phone and have been asked not to comment any further.

No drama mate.

Anyone got any other results from the weekend?
Woden over Belco in Div 3 is a pretty huge result. Won't make any difference to the make up of the four, but will definitely give the other contenders extra confidence going into the finals that they can knock them off.

Cooma and ANU in Div 4 both went down fighting in what many would've thought would have been fairly one-sided games on paper, but other than that, all other results in Div 3 and 4 seem to have gone as expected.

Hilly mentioned ages - out starting back 6 yesterday was

B - 32, 34, 38
HB - 32, 27, 30

And the 27 year old has been playing for us since he was 20 - that makes him a honourable 30+ player! :)

Guys, it might be good for us to all stop talking about the umps to ensure there is no backlash or further umps deciding to leave our sport. We need all the umps we can get at the moment, bad or good. Lets leave this forum to footy talk without the ump discussions if we can.

Anyway, it's good to see Woden performing over the weekend even if their season is over. Some teams in the past have just given up on the season if their finals chances have lapsed but Woden seem to be in it still for pride of their jumper which is great for the game. The Gungahlin vs Woden and Harman vs ADFA matches this weekend will be crackers.

Here is a question for all of you then who has the oldest player still running around in the divs this year? I dont mean fill in players either i mean current players.At yass we have a bloke who will be 48 this year and has played every game.(sorry fox).

Nose is 38 and retiring in two weeks.
Helmet and Boonz are both 37...

Ferret vs Ports18 this weekend is two old blokes who should both know better

Here's all this talk of old blokes running around and I completely forgot - how's this for a curtain-raiser for the ANU V Murrumbidgee game this weekend: ANU Old Boys V ACT Masters. Should be a cracker... Well, a few hips should be cracked anyway:p
Should be pretty entertaining and a ripper day of footy. ANU V Juggers should be a good contest.

You blokes would not be referring to a current Belconnen player who umpires each weekend? He bounces the ball at every stoppage, and we have not seen one straight up yet though...However, we've had worse umps than him this year...

We had a 4 foot tall umpire on Sunday who was one angry man. Stopped any flareups though and in the end did a decent job.

Codola - how many were Belconnen missing yesterday?

I am told that belconnen were almost at full strength, only one or two missing.

Cracker of a Rnd 17 in 3rds this weekend,

ANU(36pts,161%) v Bidgee(44pts,138%)
Anu must win to be a chance for finals relying on other results, lose their gone! Bidgee win could be as high as 2nd position, lose could fall to 4th.
Jets(44,155) v Woden(32,134)
Jets win stay 2nd, lose could fall to 4th. Woden already gone playing for pride only, win last 2 could finish as high a 5th if ANU & Harman lose both
Harman(40,137) v ADFA(40,196)
Harman win could jump to 3rd on ladder, lose to 6th and finals chances gone! ADFA win could be 2nd pending others, lose and down to 5th spot.
(Game of the Round, a mini Final)
Other games no bearing on final positions. Teams finishing on 44pts will not be guarenteed a spot, it may come down to percentage.

4ths last two games dead rubbers with the final 4 already decided.