AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

As a first timer to this concept I am a little more than anxious in getting involved - particularly with the anonymous nature of the rest of the posters. I will do my best to contribute from time to time but do not intend on getting involved in any debate. I've never been keen on fighting in a room full of people with the lights turned off! I enter the fray now to raise the topic of a revamped Mulrooney Medal night and to get some quick feedback. I appreciate that last year we did not provide anywhere near enough attention to the District competition. I accept responsibility for this and have vowed to improve the situation.

To address that I am suggesting a very different format in 2008. My intention is to begin the MM count very early in the night - say to round 5. At this point we show the leaderboards of the top ten for the women's comp, div 4,3,2 and under 18s after 6 rounds. The seperate games votes will be distributed to the relevant tables so all that are interested can see who voted in each game. At the first break we would present leading goalkickers with their awards possibly. A similar format after round 10 and then once round 15's votes have been counted for the MM we reveal the winners of the other grades medal winners. So we have all votes being revealed, although not being read out, players recognised appropriately with a little suspense and having a build up of sorts for all grades' individual medals.

I cannot promise to taking all opinions expressed here as those of the clubs or that it will be a 'majority rules' from the reactions here but I did think it worth throwing the concept into this forum knowing the comments will be honest.

I am confirming the arrangements this afternoon with Ainslie for the first and second semi-finals to be played there, preliminary finals at Manuka and grand finals at Ainslie. All are subject to weather. Thought you might be interested.

You are welcome to respond to me personally via email (david.wark@aflact.com.au) or through bigfooty.

Sounds good David, thanks for bringing your information to this forum. It is certainly better than rumours:thumbsu: Just check with BigHill about dates and times, he will need to get his hair and make up done earlier in the day for the goal kicking award. He is also quietly confident of the 3s B&F award too:D
Bring on the Ainslie/Manuka combo for finals, would be disappointing not to play at these grounds, as the playing surfaces are great. I assume Manuka is unavailable for CD Grand Finals due to a clash?
Most imporrtantly, here are my tips:
Bidgee to beat ANU
Blues to get two on the trot and beat Jets
ADFA to beat Harman
Eastlake over Ainslie
Magpies over Tuggers

....and in the 4s
Jets over Coota
Swans to beat the Hogs
Yass too strong for Demons
Magpies to beat Juggers
ADFA to beat the mountain Cats

Hair will be done Codola and fresh underwear as well. Once again mate forwards don't win B&Fs usually. Like the others I think another Red Head will win it from ANU or Harman.

Dom is looking good from Belco as well.

Ports, I do not believe that in our level of football that home ground advantage is even an issue. A year or two ago I would have pushed for Jamison but it is a swamp now days. The only available ovals for our finals outside of Ainslie and Manuka are Stirling and Queanbeyan.

ANU is a swamp, Gungahlin requires accommodation for travelling guests and a hill removal, ADFA/RMC is not available, Greenway is not available, Harman would be good but I can't see it being available due to the same reasons as ADFA / RMC and Kambah is only good for burt out cars.

Now if I could read properly I would have a real job. Apparently the MM will start around 7pm not 5pm. Plenty of time now Codola to get my hair and makeup done.

Hair will be done Codola and fresh underwear as well. Once again mate forwards don't win B&Fs usually. Like the others I think another Red Head will win it from ANU or Harman.

Dom is looking good from Belco as well.
BigHill liam brandon won the div4 medal last as well as the goal kicking .I really hope you do win both it is a great acheivment to kick the ton no matter who delivers it.I picked anu purely because of the ground and the fact tfat the uni boys adapt to flippers better then most .

David

Thanks for coming on and asking for our opinion. You are a straight shooter and a major asset to AFL in Canberra.

If only a few Football Managers at senior clubs took their responsibility to the greater footballing community rather than their own paddock as seriously as you.

I've attended multiple CD's Presentations at at Magpies Belconnen, Bradman Pavilion and the Mulrooney at the Hellenic Club a couple of years back.

You'l notice I refer to the league as Canberra Districts rather than Div 3 and Div 4 - I feel that makes us out to be a backwater league which is not the case.

As far as I'm concerned, a lower cost specific CD's vote count is my preference. Its more relevant to the 21 amateur teams that comprise the CD's comp and gives due acknowledgment of the top vote gatherers through the year in front of their peers.

The Mulrooney night is a special evening for AFL in Canberra, but its irrelevant divisions than forcing clubs to stump up another $700+ for a table at the Mulrooney medal night.

My preference would be a distinct District Vote Count - so Big Hill can accept his award in front of 100 blokes he has played with and against, rather than a big room where 80% of the people there really don't care and want to get on with the main prize

David

I too appreciate you coming on and seeking opinons from the districts.:)Im with G F and others i would rather see the div 3 and 4 along with the woman done on a night of there own, invitations can be extented to those preimer leauge clubs who wish to attend. I dont subscribe to the them and us attitude but its worth noting that this thread for districts was born with the so called big boys pushing there weight around.:pThe very fact that you have come out on the div3 and 4 thread will have them after you.:eek:A mulrooney medal knight without distircts could be held in the coffee room at actafl house so you could save heaps of cabbage as well .:rolleyes:The men and woman who are succesfull in our div comps should be givin every oppurtunaty to bask in the glory they deserve and not be glossed over as means to prop up a night of short arm long pocket so called professionals.:DIf its too late this year lets work toward next year.
For the record i think history will be made in the districts this year i think BigHill and foran will both bag the double.:thumbsu:David if you were to ask the preimer leauge if they wanted the districts to attend the m/medal i bet you could write the answer on the back of a postage stamp.!!! :cool:Thanks.

David

Thanks for coming on and asking for our opinion. You are a straight shooter and a major asset to AFL in Canberra.

If only a few Football Managers at senior clubs took their responsibility to the greater footballing community rather than their own paddock as seriously as you.

I've attended multiple CD's Presentations at at Magpies Belconnen, Bradman Pavilion and the Mulrooney at the Hellenic Club a couple of years back.

You'l notice I refer to the league as Canberra Districts rather than Div 3 and Div 4 - I feel that makes us out to be a backwater league which is not the case.

As far as I'm concerned, a lower cost specific CD's vote count is my preference. Its more relevant to the 21 amateur teams that comprise the CD's comp and gives due acknowledgment of the top vote gatherers through the year in front of their peers.

The Mulrooney night is a special evening for AFL in Canberra, but its irrelevant divisions than forcing clubs to stump up another $700+ for a table at the Mulrooney medal night.

My preference would be a distinct District Vote Count - so Big Hill can accept his award in front of 100 blokes he has played with and against, rather than a big room where 80% of the people there really don't care and want to get on with the main prize

+1 from me

Ports, I do not believe that in our level of football that home ground advantage is even an issue. A year or two ago I would have pushed for Jamison but it is a swamp now days. The only available ovals for our finals outside of Ainslie and Manuka are Stirling and Queanbeyan.

ANU is a swamp, Gungahlin requires accommodation for travelling guests and a hill removal, ADFA/RMC is not available, Greenway is not available, Harman would be good but I can't see it being available due to the same reasons as ADFA / RMC and Kambah is only good for burt out cars.

Fair dinkum you lot, the only hill that needs to be removed from Ken Zimmer Oval is the Murrumbidgee full forward, if he ever dares to show his face there again!;) Do you clowns understand the concept of "drainage" on a footy ground?!?! You know, it prevents swamps. And fancy suggesting Stirling as a finals ground!!! Turn it up!!! The surface is as hard as the rocks in your collective heads!!!

My tips for the penultimate H&A round:

Div 3:
ANU to pip Bidgee at Duckpoo Park
Jets in a close one over the Blues
ADFA to knock the Hogs out of the finals race
Eastlake to flog Ainslie
Belco to beat Tuggers by 1 point

Div 4:
Jets to thrash Coota
Goulbs to beat the Hoglets
Yass over the Lakers
Belco to beat the Juggernaught-heads
Cooma at home over the Rams

I'll be back HJ to Zimmer oval mate don't worry about that. Yes there is drainage HJ but when you could use an oval for a black ski run if it ever snowed in Gungahlin then that oval would be the place.
Don't get me wrong I do like playing there but it think it's quite a hard surface to play on when your running up hill in both directions into a 120km wind. Not sure if anyone has ever played out there without a cyclonic wind.

Fair dinkum you lot, the only hill that needs to be removed from Ken Zimmer Oval is the Murrumbidgee full forward, if he ever dares to show his face there again!;) Do you clowns understand the concept of "drainage" on a footy ground?!?! You know, it prevents swamps. And fancy suggesting Stirling as a finals ground!!! Turn it up!!! The surface is as hard as the rocks in your collective heads!!!

My tips for the penultimate H&A round:

Div 3:
ANU to pip Bidgee at Duckpoo Park
Jets in a close one over the Blues
ADFA to knock the Hogs out of the finals race
Eastlake to flog Ainslie
Belco to beat Tuggers by 1 point

Div 4:
Jets to thrash Coota
Goulbs to beat the Hoglets
Yass over the Lakers
Belco to beat the Juggernaught-heads
Cooma at home over the Rams

Belco by 1 point, good luck with that tip. might i add belconnen are on top of the ladder and tuggeranong are near the bottom.:eek:

Greenway is out due to other games (Rugby, premier division etc) for our finals. The options that AFL CBR are looking at are Manuka, Ainslie, Stirling and Queanbeyan's home ground. I have spoken to David Wark about the Jamison Oval regarding it's playing surface (Swamp) the other week which he mentioned that he will definately try to gain one of the above options.

Hey no-one is picking the Juggs over ANU this weekend. 3rd vs 6th and we still aren't favourites.

Tips
Juggs over ANU by 6 goals
Woden over Jets by 2 goals
ADFA over Harman by 5 goals
Upset - Ainslie over Eastlake by 2pts
Belco over Tuggers by 120pts

My tips this week:

ANU by 2 points
Jets by 9 points
Harman by a goal
Eastlake by 25 points
Magpies by forfeit

ANU is a swamp...

With the rain today, South Oval is going to be an absolute mud-bath tomorrow (if the Uni doesn't close the oval)!
And after the old blokes have a run around in the curtain-raiser, she's gonna be nice and cut up and even slushier for the ANU V Murrumbidgee game.
It'll be good, old fashioned, suburban footy in the wet. If only you could get a few more cars parked around South Oval, to add a few car horns when a goal is kicked, it'd be even better!
Ah, the prospects of a tough game warms the heart!

Oh, and my tips (for what they're worth):

Div. 3
ANU in a scrappy encounter over Murrumbidgee.
Gungahlin in a low-scoring affair against Woden.
Harman over ADFA in a corker.
Eastlake by 6 goals over Ainslie.
Belconnen by 20 goals over Tuggeranong (just to emphasise why they are top of the table).

Div. 4
Gungahlin by 10 goals against Cootamundra (look for both teams to kick more points than goals).
Goulburn by 40 points V Harman.
Yass by 100pts+ over Eastlake.
Belconnen by 35 points over Murrumbidgee.
Cooma to get up over ADFA (both teams will be thanking their lucky stars they're playing on Sunday - it'll give the snow an extra day to melt before their game!!!).

ANU vs Murrumbidgee match is now being played at Stirling Oval from 2:15pm on Saturday due to ground closure at ANU South Oval.

Does anyone want to change their tips for this match now that the Juggs do not need their flippers.

So whats the actual dates for the semis and the gfs this year. Eastlake oval could be a good ground for semis with a half decent granstand and facilities. Dont know what the playing surface is like there though

Yeah good call on the Eastlake oval. It would be a neutral oval as Eastlake wont be in either final series. Plenty of room for parking around the oval and is a central location.

Stirling was under water this evening. Could be a slow track tomorrow... Jugs by 3 goals, Hill kicking 11 of his teams 12.
Gungahlin to beat Woden by a point in an honourable loss for the Blues (for arguments sake, the only time in 08 the Blues had close to their best 22 on the paddock was the team that beat Belconnen. There are up to 7 changes again for tomorrow. Shows what a wasted year it was for all involved...)
ADFA by 5 goals over Harman
Eastlake by 16 goals over Ainslie.
Belconnen to win on forfeit over Tuggeranong.

ps - the Belco coaches blow up at 3/4 time was monumental - reminded a few boys of this

At least KZO will be dry in the middle - its a couple of metres higher than the boundaries!

Big call spoiler.Tell us more, lets hope there not just sooking over lasts weeks blow up.(riddle me up batman) were do these rumours come from.