AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

unfortunately the Juggs went down to a very good ANU side today by 8pts. Congrats to ANU and it now makes a close run for 2nd spot for the finals.

Thanks Southcab. It was a good game of football yesterday against ANU played in great spirit. Looking forward to next week and the finals ahead.

Gungahlin must be glad that they had the fortune for ADFA for forfeit to them twice this year...

Having seen the best teams in the last 5 weeks, Murrumbidgee are the best coached and best structured team in the comp. They are probably also the quickest team, and have a few guys that take on their opponent and kick over the lines.

Is the 4 finalised or can it change this weekend?

You all suck up Bighill's a$$ way to much, dont get me wrong the guy can play and has some smarts about him but if i were fed the ball as much as that man i would kick 10 goals a game myself. The Juggs only game plan is to feed the the ball to Hillly no matter what. Quite simply, stop the midfield delivery to Hilly or put a decent defender on him and you wil beat Juggs. A couple of weeks ago the Juggs lost to the Jets because they were too one dimensional up forward and could not make changes to win a match that was there for the taking - definately not the signs of a good coach GF:thumbsu:

As for the Belconnen players not respecting their coach, that has to be the biggest bit dribble ever posted on this forum. Bernie is well respected by the players and the club and I can guarantee that everyone is 100% behind Buzzy. The blow up was nothing more than a passionate clubman begging his players to do better (who were obviously playing lazy footy). Anyone who saw the Magpies v Blues game would have known that the Pies were not playing their best footy.

The Magpies midfield brigade of Dom, Lavo, Archie, Rowdy, Coatesy, Ego and Dunny cause constant headaches for opposition clubs and when they get spanner back in the ruck after a few weeks out through injury opposition clubs should be worried.

Dont worry about Gingahlin getting points for ADFA no show x 2 this season, they are a team that will be competitive in finals.

With a ten team comp I think we should look at a top 5. Any ideas??? David Wark, I know this will add another week to the CD finals series, but it would be worth it:)

Thanks for the kind words Bean.:eek: You are absolutely correct about one thing, Belco is the best team going around and they deserve to be favourites for the flag. I've said this all along and continue to say that they are the team everyone is out to beat.
Oh and thanks for letting me know that my birth certificate is wrong also. My real name is now Dean Simon Mcpherson Hill and I'll ensure to change it by depol shortly.:p

Just for the record Bean, Belco have 3 goal kickers in the top 20, Murrumbidgee have 3 in the top 20 and Gungahlin 2. Maybe you should get your facts straight before suggesting that a triagle has only one side.:D

So if Harman beat Gungahlin, and ANU beat ADFA, ANU can finish 4th on percentage level on points with Harman and Gungahlin?

Belco home. ADFA home due to percentage win lose or draw. Murrumbidgee home due to playing Tuggers this weekend and getting the 4 points they need to be safe

And no matter what, Woden will finish 7th despite knocking off both of 2007's grand finalists in Jets and ANU twice and beating Belconnen. What a competition....

BH, Thanks for the Bruce McAvaney stats on 3 players in the top 20 for goal kicking. I was just trying to provide a response to GF stating that the Juggs are the best coached side in the comp. The loss to the Jets would have been disappointing considering how many times the ball was inside Murrumbidgee’s forward line in the second half, only to be rebounded straight back out as it was “bombed” to you at the top of the square, where you were often double teamed by the Jets backs. Your forward line looked too one dimensional, bomb it to hilly or get McPherson to take a hanger in the goal square.

And as for your stats – Murrumbidgee only have 4 players that have kicked 10 goals or more this year, ANU and Harman have 6, Jets and Blues have 7, ADFA have 8 and Magpies have 10. As I have said – one dimensional forward line.

No worries Beans. But it does make the Juggs like those Carlton Scum Bags. Any how it's not suppose to be to bomb it into myself like it was against Gungahlin, more delivered to me or other forwards but sometimes our side likes to make it rain.

Some big games this weekend that can change the Top 4. Woden has certainly made this competition exciting over the past few weeks beating both Gungahlin and Belconnen. Harman will come out firing to beat Gungahlin to maybe give them a chance of finals footy while ANU are in the same boat. Beat ADFA and Harman beats Gungahlin then percentage will play a big part of either sides making the top 4.

Tuggeranong only had 16 on the park over the weekend so hopefully they can fill a squad this weekend to play the Juggs. Then again it wouldn't be too bad if they did forfeit since we have to play them on Kambah Oval which should be closed due to poor surface cover. It's like playing in the outback at Kambah with half the oval being sand.

Who needs 10 goal kickers when you have one who kicks 100. Hilly has double any other player this year - so you double team him, leaving alone McPherson who make you look silly.

Wade Williams isn't going to kick 10, but if you pay him no respect by leaving him unmarked, he will kick 4 or 5. Starr and Brooker can both kick the thing a mile, but haven't needed to as they have a full forward who wins the ball more often than not.

I reckon the other sides offer less in attack than the Jugs as their forwards can be shut down by a committed defence.

how about lets turn this forum into a debate about who is kicking goals and what teams have got:confused:
i think its great to see a full forward that can kicks 10 goals+ frequently,
in saying that its his job on the playing surface to do that exactly,
i think even a man like BH can back me up by saying with out a solid backline and a cool headed mid field, FF's arent able to do such a thing:)

football games arent won by an individual.

what are peoples thoughts on the results of the weekends games in 3rds and 4ths?

Totally agree Leeroy. Without a midfield players like me don't even see the ball in the forward 50. Im just there to hopefully finish off what my team has done all over the ground and lucky for me the ball has gone through the big sticks more than the little sticks this year.

I ran into some of the ANU and Belco boys at the UNI Pub on Saturday night and they agreed with me that this year has been the best year for many due to the tight games and very close ladder. I've been in Canberra for 8 years and I haven't seen such a close competition since I've been playing here. All I can hope for is that teams like Woden and Tuggeranong stick around next season to make it another tight contest. The reason I have added Woden in with Tuggers is because I have heard many players are retiring or moving on to other things next year. Maybe GF can confirm whether or not they will be able to field a full side next season?

the more sides in the comp the better,
its a good comp we all play in from ACTAFL to 4th div.
that is something that can only get better,

in saying that i think there is quite a few teams in that same situation as far as blokes retiring or moving some where else to try and better themselves:)

Leeroy, the yass win was better than it look,s on paper givin the players rested and the fact that eastlake droped 8 players from the 3rds the week before into the fours add to this the ground condition and the fact that the lakers could only supply a soccer ball and an old one at that.The game that intrigued me was jets coota looking at who played for coota and i mean no disrespect the jets must be struggling maybe the rumors about there injurys are correct after all.Belco were strong in both grades and all the better in the thirds for coatsy not playing. The uni juggs game must have been a goodin also.Wonder who will finish 2nd and take the double chance in the 3rds.Yass winning the minor premership is fantastic i only hope they continue on there winning way cheers.:thumbsu:

Big Hill

We'll be around next year - losing a fair few but that happens when half your side is over 35 but a good core are keen to have another crack and hope to take some of this years good late form into next season.

Have been away so a bit of a catchup on previous threads.

First off, add my kudos to BigHill for hitting the ton, a great effort regardless of what you think of his team's structure, or without trying to kiss his arse. Also to Belco and Yass for clear dominance in minor premierships.

CD comp has been fantastic this year, very competitive and generally played in good spirit. It shows in good support at games and frequent surprise results compared to last year and from beginning of year to current.

Impressed to see David Wark use the forum to sound out ideas. My preference is seperate Presentation Nights. Single night means agenda is way too congested and each Comp does not get due recognition. Very little interchange between AFLC Div 1/2 and CD apart from a couple of Clubs so why bother. Cost of MM night is beyond struggling CD Clubs anyway.

Umpiring issues are same as previous years but do we have anything constructive to change the current situation? Number of umpires and standard of interpretations needs to improve, we all agree, but how do we change it. Does each Club send a nominee each week to an umpire skills/interpretation session and make them available as support umpires for the match with a central field umpire from the Association?

Are all Clubs going round again in 2009?

Couldnt help but notice a certain player for the jets who has managed to kick 2 ten goal hauls this year but didnt even manage to kick a single goal against the wooden spooners coota. Perhaps he was worried about missing his flight to brisbane to cover the raiders game for the canberra rag:D