AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

Credit were credit is due cab i really didnt think you could beat the pies will be a lot tuffer next week with the jets in both grades.
Jets simply outstanding today.

Credit were credit is due cab i really didnt think you could beat the pies will be a lot tuffer next week with the jets in both grades.
Jets simply outstanding today.

I agree. I thought Belco were playing great football up until half time, looked like they lost interest. Yass showed their frustration at times and their lack of discipline started to come through however not as much as last week. Still some late hits after the ball had been disposed of.

Southcab is that something you have spoken to the boys about particularly in the last week? I thought at times they showed more self control than in previous weeks and in the 2nd half they didn't drop off as much as they have in the past. Once they got a sniff they picked it up.

In Div 3.. well what can be said about the Jets performance!!
It would have to rate as possibly their best performance all year. Everybody dug deep and gave it a red hot go until the end. I think they may have strung a full 4 qtrs together.
They didn't give ADFA a chance, everytime they got the ball they had Jets getting into them and pressuring them. Credit to ADFA they didn't give up and played until the end.

Can't wait to see the GF next week, 2 ripper games to be played. :cool:

Gee longhaul im glad they lost interest.:eek:
Ports atleast the players have done rite by you if your season had have finished yesterday it would been an absolute injustice .Good luck next weekend mate (although personaly i hope you dont get a kick.):p:p

Congratulations to Yass, too good for us on the day. Too many passengers for us and we just couldn't come up after halftime and show some heart. Next week they should be a lock to beat the Jets.

BTW - three grades? I hope you're not counting the women in that ... they are playing in the 'everyone gets a trophy' final.

A great week to be travelling. Hope the games were entertaining to watch, sounds like some good footy and favourites from H&A season got up.

Yass v Jets in Div 4 - I will tip Yass by 3 points. Should have learnt lessons over last 2 weeks.

Belco v Jets in Div 3 - Belco by 5 goals.

See you at the footy

With the jets now able to play whoever they like in the div 4 team and the fact that they have already done that to get to grand final im tipping the jets in a stroll.

So ofcourse that means im taking belco in the thirds as the jets fours will be no match for a fast belconen side

On another note i heard yesterday at the footy that yass and goulburn along with coota were looking at changing comps next year due to bylaws and the way one team towns are treated. If they do go will it make that much difference.I for one no someone who want be missed by certain people at hq.

If you are serious about them looking to walk from the comp next year then they really need to take a can of HTFU. Coota left the Farrer league because they couldn't get the numbers to field a reserves and junior side. The Canberra District League allows the 'one team towns' to field sides without having to worry about running around trying to field a reserves side.

With the jets now able to play whoever they like in the div 4 team and the fact that they have already done that to get to grand final im tipping the jets in a stroll.

So ofcourse that means im taking belco in the thirds as the jets fours will be no match for a fast belconen side

On another note i heard yesterday at the footy that yass and goulburn along with coota were looking at changing comps next year due to bylaws and the way one team towns are treated. If they do go will it make that much difference.I for one no someone who want be missed by certain people at hq.

Juicy this sort of situation would apply to any team with 2 sides in the GF.
If a side like the jets or Belco or anyone else with a Div 3 & 4 side has more than 22 players eligible and capable of playing Div 3 then those who do not get selected drop down a grade. They shouldn't miss a game for their club because they did not get selected in the Div 3 side.

A club with 2 sides in the GF is going to pick the best 2 sides it can field same as they have done all year. Every side does this. :thumbsu:

I think if the Div 4 comp lost the likes of Coota, Yass & Goulburn it would be a real shame. All these sides have something to bring to the comp. The comp definitely needs a huge overhaul in not only the by-laws but also the way the draw is drafted up so those with 2 teams in Div 3&4 play other teams that also have both sides on the same day. Saw a few sides playing different teams on the same day or a saturday & sunday. Belco played the Jets in Div 3 after a Yass v Belco game in Div 4 then the following week Belco div 4 played Jets Div 4. Makes no sense to me doing it this way but anyway.

Canberra HQ or teams in canberra deep down dont want the likes of one town teams in the comp.. they are only interested in the $$$$ that we provide..
i can understand that so im sure other people can also.
if this wasnt the case then we wouldnt need all the by-laws..
its hard for the likes of yass, coota, cooma and goulburn to be competative with all of these silly little rules:eek:
in saying all of this though i havent heard any talk of teams wanting to leave

Canberra HQ or teams in canberra deep down dont want the likes of one town teams in the comp.. they are only interested in the $$$$ that we provide..
i can understand that so im sure other people can also.
if this wasnt the case then we wouldnt need all the by-laws..
its hard for the likes of yass, coota, cooma and goulburn to be competative with all of these silly little rules:eek:
in saying all of this though i havent heard any talk of teams wanting to leave

All the more reason to stay leeroy.
These pathetic by-laws etc make it hard for anyone, 1 town teams don't have to worry so much about player eligibility, who plays in what div at what time of year etc.

Who would that person be? fruit im sure we would be missed who would you dislike if i wasnt here .Its worth noting that two of the 1 team towns made the 4 this year so based on the fact that there are 11 teams and only 4 of them are 1 team towns that means 50% of them played finals footy.So i am thinking that yes it would make a difference and if that person you mention is me and im thinking that it is worry no more after saturday they want have to deal me again.:thumbsu:

Juicy true the jets will play whoever they like but but they did that in the earlier round this year round when yass beat them by a few goals and again in the semi when the jets only won because of yass poor disipline by 8 points, and in my opinion if these players get selected to play in div 4 then their obviosly not up to 3 grade standard anyway so i dont think it will be a stroll this game could go either way

Legit question here.

The last team that won three flags in a row were pushed up a grade.

If the Jets win this weekend, this gives three Premierships in CD1's in a row - with Ressies being a poor 5 team competition, are Gungahlin considering moving up next season to fill the hole?

From the Jets website, "The club's short-term goal is to dominate the ACTAFL Canberra Disctrict Competition, with an ultimate goal of entering teams in the ACTAFL's Premier Competition."

Three in a row is domination - does that mean you guys are ready?

GF - like other teams in CD's they might be ready when it comes to player numbers and skill to play in Premier Reserves but there is not enough sponsorship $$ in Canberra to allow clubs like the Jets to afford the amounts owed to the league and other competition expences to play up a grade. I'm sure the $20K-$40K that the Jets get each year will only cover their registration of one side let alone pay players, ground hire, equipment and support staff.

It's up to the Canberra businesses to support local sport more so that teams can promote themselves within their leagues.

Maybe if the League really wanted to do something to improve the numbers of sides in the Reserves they would give Gungahlin a 5 years dispensation in affiliation fees so they have the room to move re: funding a side at that level.

Ongoing funding and facilities would be the major concern for me. Every club in the senior divisions have the support of a major club etc.

And Hilly the figures your saying that we get are no longer.

Its a can of worms - I'll save any further questioning until after this weekend...

The Ferrets Fearless Predictions

Congrats to Belco who will be playing finals in 4 senior grades and under 18's this weekend. No question about who is eligable anywhere - its a case of fielding their best teams through each grade.

CD1's - Belco vs Jets - the Magpies have a history of falling over in the big games, and the Jets played their best game of 08 last weekend. Will history repeat? I think so - Jets by a couple of goals to make it a threepeat.

CD2's - Belco vs Roos - Roos have been the form side all year, and were caught off guard by a Belconnen side in the Major Semi. This won't happen again, the population of Yass will head to Ainslie this weekend and make a major noise

Yass by a kick

As consolation, Belco will win AFLC 1sts and Reserves....

Can I assume that is a typo Juicy? The Jets 4's will be no match for Belco?? I think the Jets are playing Yass in the 4's.

Never assume anything trav you need to read it again.
Tonights forcasts people anywon dare to mention the winners.

Which By-Laws are you Yass blokes tearing up about? Seriously, go and try and enter yourselves in Farrer and see how far you get without fielding a reserve grade side.
3rd Grade Maggy before you fall of your perch mate yass are not tearing up about any bylaws that bloke sayin that is not from yass.As far as the farrer leauge goes why would we travel that far when there is a perfectly good 1 team acceptable comp in the central west not that i am confirming or denying anything.Dispite what people would have you beleive the yass boys just want to play footy and quite frankly i dont care were that is as long as its footy.

Ongoing funding and facilities would be the major concern for me. Every club in the senior divisions have the support of a major club etc.

And Hilly the figures your saying that we get are no longer.

I have to gree with you Ports.

Only people close by who could come close to providing that sort of funding are affiliated with Ainslie and you don't really want that hanging over your head. :eek:
Realistically all points of the ACT are covered by a major club.
Ainslie get north side, Belconnen get that area, Tuggeranong get the southside and then you have Queanbeyan and Eastlake.
Going to be hard to find a club not affiliated with another larger club to back the Jets. should they ever look to make the move up.

Would be nice to see it happen though.

3rd Grade Maggy before you fall of your perch mate yass are not tearing up about any bylaws that bloke sayin that is not from yass.As far as the farrer leauge goes why would we travel that far when there is a perfectly good 1 team acceptable comp in the central west not that i am confirming or denying anything.Dispite what people would have you beleive the yass boys just want to play footy and quite frankly i dont care were that is as long as its footy.

You're probably right. Driving two or three hours for a game every fortnight would probably be pretty good for player retention as well.

I have to gree with you Ports.

Only people close by who could come close to providing that sort of funding are affiliated with Ainslie and you don't really want that hanging over your head. :eek:
Realistically all points of the ACT are covered by a major club.
Ainslie get north side, Belconnen get that area, Tuggeranong get the southside and then you have Queanbeyan and Eastlake.
Going to be hard to find a club not affiliated with another larger club to back the Jets. should they ever look to make the move up.

Would be nice to see it happen though.
The tradies could do it easily there deal with the raiders is not long term