AFL Canberra

Hey OM Special, I wonder if your preferred club in the OM is Lavington by any chance?

If so, I will be in Canberra on the 15th of March, as you probably are aware, we'll have to catch up for a beer or 30.

Or we can hit up the Skubar next time you are up in my neck of the woods.

Merger is f*ckd, tuggers with the help of the league will take the creek over, the creek will refuse and both clubs will be out of the competition. good work AFL Canberra you clowns.

Hey OM Special, I wonder if your preferred club in the OM is Lavington by any chance?

If so, I will be in Canberra on the 15th of March, as you probably are aware, we'll have to catch up for a beer or 30.

Or we can hit up the Skubar next time you are up in my neck of the woods.

I do have an affinity for the old panthers.....and yes I was aware you were rolling in to town on 15th...

How is Rohan Graham travelling up there ??

Sounds good, hopefully they've fixed those mirrors since last time !!

Belco entered 2 sides in the reserves last year out of the best interests of the leauge (why else would of they done it). It is time for the Jets to grow some balls , stop talking about some 5 year plan and go up a grade. 2 GFs in a row is good enough reason for me, I don't care how old they say there list is. Stop making excuses Jets, you look like cowards who are scared of a fight in a slightly higher weight division.

Belco also realised there was an opportunity to expose more younger players to the demands of open aged football, which was one of the main reasons why they accepted the challenge.

I think your call for the Jets to go up is very premature, 2 GF's in succession doesn't make them a dominant team. They have a plan which they intend to follow which could position them for an AFL Canberra team - no point rushing things and then failing. The management of the league is the main problem, they seem to have no idea what they are doing.

I do have an affinity for the old panthers.....and yes I was aware you were rolling in to town on 15th...

How is Rohan Graham travelling up there ??

Sounds good, hopefully they've fixed those mirrors since last time !!

It's amazing the people you bump into on these forums. I take back all the nasty things I have written to good ol' OM Special. He is a CHAMPION of a bloke. Rohan Graham has been great so far, lookin' forward to getting a few beers under his belt also as he seems like a real character.

I won't be playing at this stage on the 15th, getting dragged along to a wedding the same day in Canberra with Fi, so we'll hopefully dodge the reception early and head out for a beer in the city if your still kicking OM?

I believe some of you knockers are putting your emotions ahead of the facts regarding WC and Tuggers. These are the facts as I know them..

Both clubs owe alot of money!! So the league within their business rights approached both clubs about their debts. A meeting was held between the league and Tuggers FC b4 Xmas. The league were informed of the sum that Tuggers were in debt. The league then went through the figures and found it was what was quoted and then abit more. WC saw this as an opportunity to amalgamate and approached Tuggers of which Tuggers weren't keen on the idea. WC then nominated 3 teams to compete in the up coming season, an U/18's, Ressies and 1st's. Pressure is placed on them around Jan 08 as to whether they could fill all grades as numbers at training didnt indicated they could week in week out (draws needed to be done for the new season). WC identity indicates that there is no chance that WC can fill all 3 grades causing concern to the league as they are receiving mixed messages. WC then approach league to promote a merger between WC and Tuggers. League cant do this as they are an impartial body. WC and Tuggers then have talks and common ground is reached re name of venture etc etc. WC identity then claims he has guaranteed employment at new venture something that the league knew nothing about. WC identity then resigns from then current position. Then the league, WC identity and Tuggers identity have meeting and points are discussed re merger. WC identity assumes he will get a major role within new club but league state that they cant appoint the position as it is the responsibility of the new clubs board and not theirs. WC identity then slams the league due to believing he should get the role that he hasnt even officially applied for and the league arent in a position to appoint.

Ask yourself this question as followers of our competition and AFL in general. What sort of comp do we want?? Do we want a comp that has 4 competitive teams, 2 OK on their day teams not really knowing when that day will be and 1 team who is flogged every week?? or do we want a comp with 6 competitive teams busting their backsides every week on and off the field to win the comp?? Pretty simple choice if you ask me...Which one looks likely to attract new recruits evenly across the board, sponsors and looks appealing for possible expansion in the future.
Now before you cry what if the Swans leave....Do you think they are going to leave tomorrow?? When the time comes that they decide to go I have confidence that things are already in motion for a team out of Gungahlin to join the league before or after the Swans leave....if they in fact do.
Lets just get on with the game boys, whatever happens is out of our control, if you think you have all the answers then you should have applied for the leagues role when it was up for grabs.

Well done to the family and friends of Mick Carroll. A very moving service that was witnessed by several hundred people which paid a fitting farewell to a mate. He will be missed by many.

R.I.P MC
Thanks ABH. It was good to see some blokes from other clubs there, and I know Micky's family appreciated it.

BTW the subliminal advertising on the shirt worked- I can confirm that the product was flowing at the Tuggeranong Southern Cross Club until well into this morning.....

ABH - Well said about whats happening with the proposed amalgamation and the involvement of the League. Couldnt have said it better myself !!!!! The guys who are critical of the League have no idea the difficulties they face with some of the personalties involved.

They have to handle day to day issues from a multitude of clubs who like to vent their problems on just two fulltime employees and a voluntary League Executive who are often high rofile people in the community. They are busy enough without having too look after some bloke at the Creek who has basically stuffed things up since he arrived there approx four years ago.

If the blokes on this forum think they can do better, then put your hand or otherwise shut the F---ck up.

ABH is on the nose. 'personality' from WCFC (who has been also at BMFC and THFC and been run out of both) is the only fly in the ointment here. Was tearing up into his beer this evening about how hard done by he has been as well.

On another front. M. Carroll must have been a top bloke. When blokes from opposition clubs (T.Garrett for starters) fly 20 hours back from London for his funeral it shows in how high regard he was held.

As Casey said at the funeral, Mick Carroll was a legend.

Top bloke on and off the field, well respected in all aspects of his life, and honored by the hundreds that turned up to farewell him.

As Casey said at the funeral, Mick Carroll was a legend.

Top bloke on and off the field, well respected in all aspects of his life, and honored by the hundreds that turned up to farewell him.

Would it be rude of me, to ask what happened to Michael Carroll.

As I said earlier I worked with him back in 94 at DIEA. He was well liked by his workmates. He was a bit younger than me, so he wasn't at Tuggers when I was involved in the eighties.

Went out and had a look yesterday. MDO was in great nick. 15 goals was the end result I think. Glaring was the skills difference between the two sides. But Queanbeyan were so undermanned you couldn't really take too much out of it.

What was the reason for putting out half a second grade side - is it just injuries and the like or blokes being unavailable this early on?

A very under manned and under prepared Tigers outfit were soundly beaten by a slick, hard running, very fit North Adelaide yesturday. Final Scores: NA 21-17-143 Qbn Tigers 8-6-54.
I say under manned due to the Tigers having no less than 12 players missing from last years GF side plus they were minus "Gun" recruit Andrew Carey. Missing were Armstrong, Ioppi, Quade, Daniher, Whatman, Dickinson, Feuerherdt, Williams, Liddle, Wescombe, Kirkwood, Lieschke and Carey.
I say under prepared only in time line of training compared to NA. Qbn began lightly in Dec 07 and only picked up the intensety in Jan 08, compared with NA commencing full blown training in Oct 07. This was always going to be a missmatch hence the Tigers asking a another club in the so called "big 4" to join in the occassion. An invitation that was declined?? Cowards!!.
Fair play to Chook and Co for trying to showcase our league and getting the game up and going even if it lacked the support from others in our competition who would rather play some "nuff nuffs" and win by 10-20 goals so their Big Footy experts can brag about how great their team is agian..
The line up for Qbn will have some of you ask "who is that"....Well let me tell you who and what grade they finished in last year. In the squad were - Longmore (2nd's), Burly (18's), Cavedon (1st's), Davis (1st's, played 2 qtrs), Franchi (18's), Irwin (1st's), Brabazon (Swans), Kavanagh (1st's), D. Quade (2nd's), R. Jaques (1st's), M. Daniher (1st's), Meredith (Swans), Beckmans (Swans), Powell (1st's), Terlich (Swans), Walker (1st game in 4 years), D. Jaques (1st's, played 2 qtrs), Jabornik (18's), Thompson (new recruit), Slater (18's), Balding (1st's), Brooker (2nd's), Cook (2nd's),Satchell (1st's), Manie (18's).

Im sure when the draw for round one is rejigged the Tiger line up will look completely different.
Tigers were shown up by the professional outfit in many area's which for coaching staff is exactly what you want in March as it shows the players what they need to work on to be prepared for the season proper instead of the coach having to tell them. However there were many positives from the younger Tigers who have shown in patches that they aren't that far from taking the next step. For some of the regular 1st graders there are several who are more advanced in fitness levels than they were at this time last year.
Also well done to NA for making the trip across to play. They came fully prepared and ready to play with only 4 regulars missing from their line up. They showed that they will be a contender in the 2nd best league in Australia...Good Luck to them in their endevours.

Went out and had a look yesterday. MDO was in great nick. 15 goals was the end result I think. Glaring was the skills difference between the two sides. But Queanbeyan were so undermanned you couldn't really take too much out of it.

What was the reason for putting out half a second grade side - is it just injuries and the like or blokes being unavailable this early on?

3GM - Tigers have had many players go under the knife during the off season so alot of them just arent quite ready for a big hit out like NA. Obviously its more important for them to be ready by round 1 rather than risk another re accurance and miss the season, hence we spoke to the Swans and used 4 of their players. Mind you this wouldnt have happenned if your former club came to the party as asked...

3GM - Tigers have had many players go under the knife during the off season so alot of them just arent quite ready for a big hit out like NA. Obviously its more important for them to be ready by round 1 rather than risk another re accurance and miss the season, hence we spoke to the Swans and used 4 of their players. Mind you this wouldnt have happenned if your former club and current club came to the party as asked...

I guess then you get into a situation of whether you want a practice match for Queanbeyan or a practice match for NA against an ACT Invitational 18. I'm pretty sure most clubs would have their pre-season schedule pretty much set.

ABH - Well said about whats happening with the proposed amalgamation and the involvement of the League. Couldnt have said it better myself !!!!! The guys who are critical of the League have no idea the difficulties they face with some of the personalties involved.

They have to handle day to day issues from a multitude of clubs who like to vent their problems on just two fulltime employees and a voluntary League Executive who are often high rofile people in the community. They are busy enough without having too look after some bloke at the Creek who has basically stuffed things up since he arrived there approx four years ago.

If the blokes on this forum think they can do better, then put your hand or otherwise shut the F---ck up.

Very well said FIM. Also ABH, good summary of where things are at.

I have seen the effort and hours put in by the board, club presidents and footy managers to try and keep the clubs afloat and now get this merger going when all else is lost. Good people with business skills are bloody hard to find and that is what clubs are short of in so many cases.

Suggest, as you say, if others can do better they should put their hand up.

C/Times says today that things got a bit heavy earlier in the week at a meeting at the Creek. Anyone hear anything?

Paper also indicates Tuggers on board with the merger, Creek still to decide. No where for them to go unfortunately if they go it alone.

C/Times says today that things got a bit heavy earlier in the week at a meeting at the Creek. Anyone hear anything?

Paper also indicates Tuggers on board with the merger, Creek still to decide. No where for them to go unfortunately if they go it alone.

I can tell you that the merge looks unlikely, creek want certain things and tuggers aren't willing to accept those things. Tuggers have said if a deal is not done by friday, there will be no merge!

Thanks for the update TT. Can you go it alone?

As far as I know we'll be fine. It would have been good if the merger had of gone ahead. We could then worry about making finals instead of trying to get our head afloat from year to year.

Great attitude terry, fantastic that you want to set the bar at the highest point. Mediocrity should never be rewarded. Stick to your guns.
What will happen to the creek if they don't come on board? Surely they cant keep going with minimal playing numbers and fewer off field help.

Well said Tuggboat! Surely it is time to put the respective club's pride aside and move forward. If the wildcats do not agree with the merger they will be gone for certain! With the right attitude the combined team has the potential to be competitive on a weekly basis and who knows about the years to come. With the recruiting base possible (providing eastlake don't get too greedy at calwell) they could become a successful club of the future. Wake up wildcats!!!

From what I hear, it shouldn't be ' Wake up Wildcats' it should be 'wake up AFL Canberra / Manuka Mafia'. If it wasn't for the stinking mafia trying to get their hands on the Labor club / wildcats arrangement for themselves, than the merger would have gone ahead already. The problem is not between Weston Creek and Tuggeranong, it is between the Creek and AFL Canberra. They have gone behind the Creeks back to flog the money and unfortunately, unless the league backs off, there wont be a merger.

You know what they say Youdogs "don't believe all you hear".

Isn't the main thing to ensure AFL in general keeps, and uses for the new club, whatever $$$s the Labor club puts in rather than the sponsorship be pulled and AFL loses that cash altogether. I can see the other codes lining up for it if that happens.

And why would it be handed to the administration of clubs that are struggling to manage the financial side of things.

Also I understand there is a fair amount of debt, affiliation fees etc, from one or both clubs owing to AFL Canberra and others from the past few years. AFL Canberra has an obligation to all clubs to ensure debts are paid.

But if the Creek want to take the money and run alone let them. Their record with this arrangement over previous years suggests it is a strategy that is doomed.