AFL Canberra

No one plays footy anywhere these days for nothing. If some clubs have the ability to attract (Read pay MORE) then thats where the player will go, lets stop kidding ourselves.

Swans
Belco
Queanbeyan
Ainslie
Eastlake
Tuggers

Swans
belco
ainslie
queanbo
eastlake
tuggers

Hope i am wrong about the swans hopefully a local team can take it out.. how does everyone think the swans will go playin 13 players and a few good players leaving like phillips and vogels and others like moore, jack and grundy startin in the 1's.. i know they will be still be strong but hopefully not as strong as the last few years

Based on the retention of players and recruits over the summer, Belco will win this comp easy. Reckon Ainslie will be the other grand finalist. Qbnbo will miss the finals. Lost a few good onballers. My list is:
Belco
Ainslie
Swans
Eastlake
Qnbo
Tuggers

hey names windslow i have been in canberra for a few years but dont play i have watched a fair bit of footy here though. My order is

belco
swans
qbn
eastlake
ainslie
hawks

how does everyone think the swans will go playin 13 players and a few good players leaving like phillips and vogels and others like moore, jack and grundy startin in the 1's.. i know they will be still be strong but hopefully not as strong as the last few years
Bigunit, they will be just as strong, if not stronger.
I watched a practice match 2 weeks ago with swans ressies and Rams 18's. The blokes lost and now playing ones will be replaced by guys coming back from the ones and their new recruits look pretty good. Veszpremi, Matt O'Dwyer, Currie will combine with the older heads a form a pretty good side. Even Murphy (the other Irishman) looks OK, he is a big boy. They may take a while to get it together, with a few loses to us locals but in the end they will prevail.
A lot will depend on who they use for their top ups, if they use Rams 18's they will kill sides, but I's not sure what rules have been put in place regarding the top ups, this is an area that teams will/must try to exploit, that is where they are vunerable.

Sorry ABH,1 4road i can't really say much more than i have because i don't know. i do know that the officials at tigers are aware and that it is for personal reason's and nothing to do with the club or so i am led to believe.

Cavedon split with his missus about 2-3 months ago and yeah he was pretty cut up but he's a genuinely happy and exciteable guy who is currently a sailor in the Navy and is hoping to become an officer through schooling at ADFA. Don't know the guy personally but would be surprised if he let the split finish his career - would be a huge blow for the Tigers as I have been told that he is highly respected and appreciated by his team mates and all involved with the club.

My League Ladder is:
Belco
Swans
Qbn
Eastlake
Ainslie
Tuggers

Everyone has written off Tuggers but I would not be at all surprised if they claimed a couple of upset scalps through out the year. Sorry Ainslie but just don't think that a good pre-season can make so many new players bond strongly enough to win enough games - will lose a lot of close games. Eastlake and Qbn will be middle of the road; will get close to Belco and Swans but never beat them and both teams will most likely get rolled by Ainslie and Tuggers at some point throughout the season. Swans will suffer from the new laws made for them and also through injuries to senior players but should be able to keep it together enough to make another GF (depends on how far the senior team gets in AFL). If they lose another couple of players to long term injury then they may finish fourth. Belco will go through undefeated; I think the Tigers will get closest to them due mainly to even match ups but the rest of the comp will be a ways off. Could be a very interesting GF if the Tigers are good enough to struggle through again - this time they would meet the Magpies in the decider!

"Could be a very interesting GF if the Tigers are good enough to struggle through again" quote Doubleoh7.

If struggling means defeating Eastlake by 11 goals in the First semi and Belconnen by 11 goals in the Prelimeinary final - as they did last year - then bring it on !!!

"Could be a very interesting GF if the Tigers are good enough to struggle through again" quote Doubleoh7.

If struggling means defeating Eastlake by 11 goals in the First semi and Belconnen by 11 goals in the Prelimeinary final - as they did last year - then bring it on !!!

When are you gonna retire Original?? Your club could buy another 4 onballers if they recovered your wage:eek:

No one plays footy anywhere these days for nothing. If some clubs have the ability to attract (Read pay MORE) then thats where the player will go, lets stop kidding ourselves.

Swans
Belco
Queanbeyan
Ainslie
Eastlake
Tuggers

What planet are you on 99.9% of footballers play for the love of it. Mercenaries play for money ,lets stop kidding ourselves.
Swans
Ainslie
Qbyn
Bel
Eastlake
Tugg

What planet are you on 99.9% of footballers play for the love of it. Mercenaries play for money ,lets stop kidding ourselves.
Swans
Ainslie
Qbyn
Bel
Eastlake
Tugg
youdogs you may be new and out Yass way 99.9% of the boys may play for nothing, but in the rest of the world people play semi-professional sport for one reason and one reason only MONEY.
Do you honestly believe that players move from one club to another to "see" what the club, the blokes and facilities are like. Do you think players move from one state to another for the joy of packing a house and family for the fun experience.
If you want to call them mercenaries to make you feel better then go right ahead, but mate you are kidding yourself if you think that 99.9% of players play for the love of it and get no renumeration.

youdogs you may be new and out Yass way 99.9% of the boys may play for nothing, but in the rest of the world people play semi-professional sport for one reason and one reason only MONEY.
Do you honestly believe that players move from one club to another to "see" what the club, the blokes and facilities are like. Do you think players move from one state to another for the joy of packing a house and family for the fun experience.
If you want to call them mercenaries to make you feel better then go right ahead, but mate you are kidding yourself if you think that 99.9% of players play for the love of it and get no renumeration.

That is one of the biggest bullshit generalised statements I have ever heard - most people play semi-pro sport for the love of it, and it is a bonus that they can earn extra cash for playing a game that they love. There are definitely mercs out there who do, but they are not in the majority. If you localise your statement to the ACTAFL, you’re probably not far off the pace.

I have moved around a bit due to my work and the main thing I look for at a club is not the cash, but the blokes at the club. The best clubs I have played at, the players aren't there only for the money, but enjoy hanging out with guys they play around.

On behalf of the Tigers on this thread I would would like to welcome ChristmasHams to MDO.:thumbsu:

Is it true that CHRISTMAS HAMS asked for a tour of all the clubs canteen facilities before deciding on where to play next?? Sorry hams!!

That is one of the biggest bullshit generalised statements I have ever heard - most people play semi-pro sport for the love of it, and it is a bonus that they can earn extra cash for playing a game that they love. There are definitely mercs out there who do, but they are not in the majority. If you localise your statement to the ACTAFL, you’re probably not far off the pace.

I have moved around a bit due to my work and the main thing I look for at a club is not the cash, but the blokes at the club. The best clubs I have played at, the players aren't there only for the money, but enjoy hanging out with guys they play around.
Gee chaddles I was replying to a statement made that 99.9% play for the love of it.
Players these days DO NOT play for the love of it.
Every new team you went to, surely money would have been spoken about before you signed on the dotted line?
How the hell do you know what the blokes are like at a club before you go there?
Have you ever moved to an area for footy first and employment second?
If you have then by your logic you were a mencenary.
I still believe that most players play for money and not for the love of it. My opinion and I'm sticking to it.

Gee chaddles I was replying to a statement made that 99.9% play for the love of it.
Every new team you went to, surely money would have been spoken about before you signed on the dotted line?
How the hell do you know what the blokes are like at a club before you go there?
I still believe that most players play for money and not for the love of it. My opinion and I'm sticking to it.
That is the dumbest statement I have ever heard. Wake up to yourself. Your name ins't Paul Hallendale is it?

What I usually do is check out the clubs in the area, find out a bit of information on each clubs, then go down for a few training runs, have a few drinks and get talking to people.

Money is probably the last thing that is ever spoken about - first thing I ask is if the club has a long term plan in place, goals and objectives,
and all I request is rego and all footy gear supplied and a minimum amount of cash which is reviewed after 4 or 5 rounds depending on performance.

Last season I went to a club recovering from debts who recruited a solid base of players who were committed to the club for a couple of seasons. All these guys knew we wouldn't play in finals and were on less money than what other clubs had offered them. But the object was to build a culture around the club which would attract key position players to have a tilt at a flag this season. These players love playing the game and with each other, and the bonus is some drinking money and some.

I play football to play finals and win flags - that is it. Nothing greater than winning a senior final or flags with a group of good mates, NOTHING! To most that is the most important factor in joining a new club.

I work for a large company, so when I feel like moving I usually go to a place where I can play footy - not for a pre-arranged club.

Thats great chaddles and I'm not taking the piss but you still asked for money!!!!!
The amount doesn't matter.
Goes back to the original post I replied to stating that 99.9% of players play for the love of it. Even in your case you still asked for cash, not just playing for the love of it.

That is the dumbest statement I have ever heard. Wake up to yourself. Your name ins't Paul Hallendale is it?

Maybe if you were half as good as Halla, you may have been offered the sort money he got payed or in his case could ask for what he got paid....I think he'd be pretty comfortable with his career... 16 years of senior footy for 11 GF's and 7 premierships....How did yours go??

Thats great chaddles and I'm not taking the piss but you still asked for money!!!!!
The amount doesn't matter.
Goes back to the original post I replied to stating that 99.9% of players play for the love of it. Even in your case you still asked for cash, not just playing for the love of it.

NEVER, and I say NEVER asked for money from a club in my life - have been offered money from a club which is entirely different. Some clubs like to reward players to ensure that they hang around and to show gratitude.

I agree 99.9% statement is over the top - probably 95% play for the love, but I'm referring to you saying that people play semi-professional sport for one reason and one reason only MONEY..... This is the statement I am debating- you're implying people are playing just for cash, which is total bullshit.

SO by your theory, AFL players aren't interested in the game of footy, to them it is just a job so they can get paid...... yeah right!

What I usually do is check out the clubs in the area, find out a bit of information on each clubs, then go down for a few training runs, have a few drinks and get talking to people.

Money is probably the last thing that is ever spoken about - first thing I ask is if the club has a long term plan in place, goals and objectives,
and all I request is rego and all footy gear supplied and a minimum amount of cash which is reviewed after 4 or 5 rounds depending on performance.
If that ain't asking for cash then what is?

I will concede that money isn't the only reason players play, but the amount of cash offered is certainly a pretty good incentive when you move from one area to another and all the info you can get on clubs makes them seem pretty much alike. Then what ever offers are on the table will influence someones final decision.

Agree - All start playing sport for the love of it and if they get payed then thats a bonus. When I moved to Canberra in 94 I was actually offerred more to stay in SA but wanted to see what life outside Adelaide was like. Players move from club to club for more than just a financial gain. It maybe that they wish to play finals, win premierships and cant see that occuring at their current club. Granted their are more and more who appear to move purely and simply for money in ACT but If the clubs are willing to pay up then good luck to the player for getting it. We arent all like that!

Agree, if the clubs are offering players the money then blokes aren't not going take it. and if you look at the players that Qbn and Belco have recruited over the last 10 years or so that get paid good money...not ridiculous money...as opposed to the Ainslies/Eastlakes the majority of them stay at those clubs for long periods of time and contribute to the success and winning culture of the club which is evidenced by the number of GF's and premierships they have both won in recent history...