AFL Canberra

Unfortunately the Tigers have put themselves into a position where every match is a Grand Final.

On Kirkwood, how good was he. The lad is 17 years of age and played 3 games during the week in the U/18's Championships in Melbourne.
He has the confidence to back his ability against all comers and his never say die attitude will get the young guy very far. On top of his football ability is the fact he is a really good lad and is keen to learn.

Watch out for him being drafted if not this year then definately next year.

Unfortunately for Jezza, he can't be drafted this year - only just turned 17; besides, he wants to finish school and he still has another year in RAMS. He is definitely a special talent and an amazingly confident and mature young man; everyone at Tigerland wishes him the best in his quest to be drafted..:thumbsu::thumbsu:

If your a belco supporter Ill give up going to the footy!
icon10.gif

You must have no idea on anything - they win 11 games in a row and lose to a desparate and proud club playing for there finals lives at their home ground, play that badly and only lose by 4 goals (should have been more but anyway).....maybe come down to training during the week and offer some more quality 'advice and tips' to the team and I am sure that they will give you the respect you deserve :confused:

T D While on the subject of young blokes.How long before we see the likes of Kaine stevens come into grade or for that matter others from the current crop of 18 s i know dougy,s young fellow has filled in the last couple for two,s and ive seen Liam being blooded .My thinking is with the current list ageing is there any plans to give others a sniff this year.How many of the two,s from this season do you see becoming regular one,s next year ?

Jdjt i appoilgize for attaching a qbn question to yuor thread it was ment for too dogs or ABH.SO SORRY.

:confused::confused:

Raadts is 28
Barton is 24

ABH now who is fishing? Williams and Merv don’t get along. Fact. The fact that no one kicks the ball to williams and that he is not the dominate forward is his major issue. He works his arse off for every opportunity he gets while Merv gets what he wants/demands (which is fair enough). Williams hates the rotation bull shit that Tigers throw at him and he really wants the recognition that he deserves. Anyway playing 2’s all last year is proof enough that he & Merv don’t get along, leaving the game early last week prior to the siren when the game was in balance is also proof enough. He is a complex character and 1 that doesn’t react well to always being played negative mind games to get himself up which is really all that Merv has. That’s why Merv cant coach as a front runner as all he has to contribute is what he has been taught and that is to rip into people to get the best out of them. That is also why so many players have left in the past.
Unfortunately for Williams 4 games at years end changed his mind about moving on to another club this year.

As for yesterday I was at Eastlake watching another side fighting for their season and they did well. Look out Belco this week!

:confused::confused:

Raadts is 28
Barton is 24

And while I am going ABH if Merv was such an outstanding champion he would have played 1 above average game against Raadts somewhere between 2001 and 2008. Merv is the reason why Queanbo has battled against Magpies for the past 7 years. His inability to contribute like he did yesterday is a major issue for Queanbo. And don’t for 1 second think Raadts wont improve from that yesterday. He will be back because unlike Merv he has a good track record against all opposition clubs.

ABH now who is fishing? Williams and Merv don’t get along. Fact. The fact that no one kicks the ball to williams and that he is not the dominate forward is his major issue. He works his arse off for every opportunity he gets while Merv gets what he wants/demands (which is fair enough). Williams hates the rotation bull shit that Tigers throw at him and he really wants the recognition that he deserves. Anyway playing 2’s all last year is proof enough that he & Merv don’t get along, leaving the game early last week prior to the siren when the game was in balance is also proof enough. He is a complex character and 1 that doesn’t react well to always being played negative mind games to get himself up which is really all that Merv has. That’s why Merv cant coach as a front runner as all he has to contribute is what he has been taught and that is to rip into people to get the best out of them. That is also why so many players have left in the past.
Unfortunately for Williams 4 games at years end changed his mind about moving on to another club this year.

As for yesterday I was at Eastlake watching another side fighting for their season and they did well. Look out Belco this week!

Codola - go back to Yabbie Creek fishing. Lets hope ABH does not reply to this rubbish.

T D While on the subject of young blokes.How long before we see the likes of Kaine stevens come into grade or for that matter others from the current crop of 18 s i know dougy,s young fellow has filled in the last couple for two,s and ive seen Liam being blooded .My thinking is with the current list ageing is there any plans to give others a sniff this year.How many of the two,s from this season do you see becoming regular one,s next year ?

SC, Kaine is certainly an exciting prospect; unfortunately (fortunately) he has RAMS U/16's over the next 3 - 4 weeks and that takes him out of contention for a call up. He's been playing quality football and was always going to be a chance to play against the Swans in Sydney where we have the extended bench. Wilko has had a taste but may have just dropped off recently with his intensity; is still a quality player and could see another call up before the end of the year. Young Sammy D is in the same frame; very good player with a great set of hands and has shown he can mix it with the men at a higher level if required. Then there are the Redmond brothers, James Manie, Jared Priestly and co. that have the skill and quality to play first grade; it's just a matter of when. We also have to be cognizant of the requirements of the U/18's; they are are very good chance to finish top four if we stop pillaging their best players each week.
It's a balancing act for sure... it's imperative that the young guys get a sniff at the higher levels to stay keen and put in a big pre-season the following year. You have to weigh that up with the "known" qualities and experience that you will get with some of the backbone players and those in the seconds that are pushing for selection. There are still a number of young players in the 19 - 23 age bracket that should be playing first grade football but have dropped off a little since leaving colts and really need to put in a big pre-season and force their name back into contention for a 1st grade birth.
I have to dispute your remark that we are an aging group though;:( there's really only five players over 28... admittedly they are all champion players and leaders at the club. Of those players, I can only see one probable retirement next year and maybe a couple of others could mark next season as their last.:confused: You never know until you start another pre-season and the body starts to ache again..:D

Codola - go back to Yabbie Creek fishing. Lets hope ABH does not reply to this rubbish.

Don't be so nasty Original - I think you have got grumpier since you retired!!:p
Codola is only showing his absolute complete lack of knowledge of how the Tigers operate and more importantly how Merv talks to the players.. don't think I have ever seen Merv "rip into" any player and he has always been a natural leader!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Don't be so nasty Original - I think you have got grumpier since you retired!!:p
Codola is only showing his absolute complete lack of knowledge of how the Tigers operate and more importantly how Merv talks to the players.. don't think I have ever seen Merv "rip into" any player and he has always been a natural leader!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Very nasty original...... Toodogs i may not have the knowledge of the inside workings of Armstrong as a coach but i have to say i agree with codola on this one. Williams is overlooked a lot at queanbeyan and doesn't get anywhere near the respect he deserves. I remember the first time we (Ainslie) played queanbeyan at queanbeyan and williams kicked 9.. And codola is right Williams had to work hard for everyone of those goals and after not a word on this site was said. But 2 months later Armstrong gets 10 goals fed to him and he suddenly gains tony lockett status. (Not saying Armstrong wouldn't have played well but when you are the coach you are clearly going to get 85% of the opportunities. Not to mention from what i have heard Williams spent most of the game on the bench).

In no way here am i saying Armstrong is not a great player but with a talent like williams in your forward half you would think that the club would make the most of him. Maybe this "rift" we here about is just becoming more evident. As codola said the 4 games at the end of last year might have kept williams there but what about at the end of this year:confused::confused:.

come on the roo boys... Ainslie finals bound and set to take the big one this year:)

Very nasty original...... Toodogs i may not have the knowledge of the inside workings of Armstrong as a coach but i have to say i agree with codola on this one. Williams is overlooked a lot at queanbeyan and doesn't get anywhere near the respect he deserves. I remember the first time we (Ainslie) played queanbeyan at queanbeyan and williams kicked 9.. And codola is right Williams had to work hard for everyone of those goals and after not a word on this site was said. But 2 months later Armstrong gets 10 goals fed to him and he suddenly gains tony lockett status. (Not saying Armstrong wouldn't have played well but when you are the coach you are clearly going to get 85% of the opportunities. Not to mention from what i have heard Williams spent most of the game on the bench).

In no way here am i saying Armstrong is not a great player but with a talent like williams in your forward half you would think that the club would make the most of him. Maybe this "rift" we here about is just becoming more evident. As codola said the 4 games at the end of last year might have kept williams there but what about at the end of this year:confused::confused:.

come on the roo boys... Ainslie finals bound and set to take the big one this year:)
And hear i was thinking they droped the roos from there name you will have to wait a bit longer footy nut its not your turn.:rolleyes:

Today 20:33
unhappyfan

I think that Cadola is not far from the truth!
as for the lack of knowledge of how Queanbeyan works.
thats a laugh.
I went to the last Tigers v Swans . the Tigers were well on top in the first quarter so the swans coach dropped a
extra man back to stop the tiger roll.
The second quarter the Swans kicked 9 goals .the tigers
made no moves into the backline and the game was over.
The rest of the game was even.
Merv was to busy winning the goal kicking and the hog was on his 5th pie and didnt want to be disturbed.
This is not the only time were there had a stuff up
So how did MERV and his faithful Hog get the ACT JOB!

Round 14, Tigers v Magpies, will be available for your personal viewing pleasure very, very shortly (before midnight I hope).

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

There are quite a few black and whites, particularly from the last quarter. For sports photography it was bloody dark on Sunday, and black and white is a way to make up for how difficult it was to manually focus on the action. An excellent day for portraiture though. Come and say hello if you're after a nice portrait to hang over the fireplace! :)

This weekend I'll be at Manuka for a quarter, and then at Greenway on Saturday. I doubt I'll be heading out on Sunday.

Cheers

Today 20:33
unhappyfan

I think that Cadola is not far from the truth!
as for the lack of knowledge of how Queanbeyan works.
thats a laugh.
I went to the last Tigers v Swans . the Tigers were well on top in the first quarter so the swans coach dropped a
extra man back to stop the tiger roll.
The second quarter the Swans kicked 9 goals .the tigers
made no moves into the backline and the game was over.
The rest of the game was even.
Merv was to busy winning the goal kicking and the hog was on his 5th pie and didnt want to be disturbed.
This is not the only time were there had a stuff up
So how did MERV and faithful Hog get the ACT JOB!
May have somrthing to do with one being a premiership coach last year and the other coming within a couple of kicks of the premiership. I also believe that merv is a level 3 coach (the highest accreditation a coach can get) something i don't believe there is an abundence of in Canberra.

ABH now who is fishing? Williams and Merv don’t get along. Fact. The fact that no one kicks the ball to williams and that he is not the dominate forward is his major issue. He works his arse off for every opportunity he gets while Merv gets what he wants/demands (which is fair enough). Williams hates the rotation bull shit that Tigers throw at him and he really wants the recognition that he deserves. Anyway playing 2’s all last year is proof enough that he & Merv don’t get along, leaving the game early last week prior to the siren when the game was in balance is also proof enough. He is a complex character and 1 that doesn’t react well to always being played negative mind games to get himself up which is really all that Merv has. That’s why Merv cant coach as a front runner as all he has to contribute is what he has been taught and that is to rip into people to get the best out of them. is also that is why so many players have left in the past.

You'd know would you. How many of these players that have left in the past there ralph mouth are actually still in Canberra. I can think of 1 (NEELY) but he left to go and better his football at a higher level (SANFL) and when the offer came up to return on big $$ he couldn't resist.

Everyone else who left the club left for there own reasons away from footy. Some was lifestyle, (didn't like Canberra) some was employment opportunity, but none that i know of left because of the Football CLub or anybody in it. (I should know i was one of them) In fact i think you'll find that if any of these guys were to return to Canberra for any reason what so ever and they wanted a kick Queanbeyan would be there first port of call. So unless you know what your talking about i think you should keep your opinions to yourself, as all your doing is making a **** of yourself

Me thinks there are a few "Nuff Nuffs" on this site who have never really reached any great heights in their own football career so they come on this forum to see how much of a stir they can create. Im sure there is a thread on this website called "Fishing" boys!!;)

You'd know would you. How many of these players that have left in the past there ralph mouth are actually still in Canberra. I can think of 1 (NEELY) but he left to go and better his football at a higher level (SANFL) and when the offer came up to return on big $$ he couldn't resist.

Everyone else who left the club left for there own reasons away from footy. Some was lifestyle, (didn't like Canberra) some was employment opportunity, but none that i know of left because of the Football CLub or anybody in it. (I should know i was one of them) In fact i think you'll find that if any of these guys were to return to Canberra for any reason what so ever and they wanted a kick Queanbeyan would be there first port of call. So unless you know what your talking about i think you should keep your opinions to yourself, as all your doing is making a **** of yourself

Peeler, ABH etc please note: You talk each other up and make observations about other clubs. You pride yourselves on your -narrow minded queanbeyan prejudiced - opinions (for which ABH defends himself by saying it is an "opinion" every time). When someone else voices an opinion, and in some cases a fact, stop telling us to keep our opinions to ourselves. To take a quote from ABH, this forum is about voicing opinions! As you can see, some people agree and others don't. If you don't like what other people write either build a bridge and get over it pal or find a different hobby to pass your time!:D

Me thinks there are a few "Nuff Nuffs" on this site who have never really reached any great heights in their own football career so they come on this forum to see how much of a stir they can create. Im sure there is a thread on this website called "Fishing" boys!!;)

Enuff said!!

Reckon the flag is coming back to this area. Note the heavy injury list the Swans have plus suspensions.See Schmidt,Davis and others out for the season.
Hopefully ACT clubs will supply the right top ups for the Swans in the coming weeks.Reckon they have come to the party reducing on field listed players etc. All clubs here need to do their bit and supply good 18s or 2nds players not scrubbers as sometimes is happening.

Injury List after round 15

Player

Injury

Tadhg Kennelly
ShoulderTest
Nick Malceski
CalfTest
Nic Fosdike
Hamstring1 week
Ed BarlowHamstring1 week
Matthew Laidlaw
HamstringIndefiniteDaniel O'Keefe
GroinSeasonKristin Thornton
Knee ACL
Season
Brett Meredith
Shoulder
Season
Nick Davis
Knee
Season
Tim Schmidt
Knee
Season

Ok how about I DO throw a couple of names at you, Sam Chadwick Ledger – didn’t play at Queanbo cause Merv was a **** to him, won a league best and fairest in reserve grade and left cause Merv can only be negative. Jack Foster – left because Merv was again only negative towards him.
Lewis Thompson – left cause Merv was a prick to him. There you go, there is 3 people and I haven’t even tried. You Queanbeyan tools really need your own thread, as you never actually read and take in anything that is written you just slag everybody off. Where is the dee train, terry tugboat, AFC1? And others that you just rip into and ridicule, now that you have egg on your face with your big mouths I bet you will rip into old Codola. NOP you make us sick!

Ok how about I DO throw a couple of names at you, Sam Chadwick Ledger – didn’t play at Queanbo cause Merv was a **** to him, won a league best and fairest in reserve grade and left cause Merv can only be negative. Jack Foster – left because Merv was again only negative towards him.
Lewis Thompson – left cause Merv was a prick to him. There you go, there is 3 people and I haven’t even tried. You Queanbeyan tools really need your own thread, as you never actually read and take in anything that is written you just slag everybody off. Where is the dee train, terry tugboat, AFC1? And others that you just rip into and ridicule, now that you have egg on your face with your big mouths I bet you will rip into old Codola. NOP you make us sick!
My opinions (seems we are allowed to have one)
Sam Chadwick Ledger went oversees skiing, in Japan if I recall, was away for other a month, came back and knew he didn't have the fitness base to force his way into the one's, therefore went to Harman and enjoyed footy. No clash
Jack Foster was given a promotion at work and was unable to do the training required to maintain a spot in the ones, again decided that his career was more important, at the time, No clash.
Lewis Thompson, my memory is ordinary, but for the life of me I don't recall this guy, give me some more info on him.
Try some more and give more names and I will give info I know about each, no slagging just answering queries, and I read everything, mightn't always agree but I read it all.
Ps for those that think Willo looks angry and uncomfortable at the tigers, check out Andrew Trost latest photos (Round 14 v Magpies) and find the one with him leaving the ground and conclusion of game, looks pretty damn happy to me. (Then again could be my biased, one eyed Queanbeyan eye that just sees it that way, you be the judge. A picture says a thousands words)

Peeler, ABH etc please note: You talk each other up and make observations about other clubs. You pride yourselves on your -narrow minded queanbeyan prejudiced - opinions (for which ABH defends himself by saying it is an "opinion" every time). When someone else voices an opinion, and in some cases a fact, stop telling us to keep our opinions to ourselves. To take a quote from ABH, this forum is about voicing opinions! As you can see, some people agree and others don't. If you don't like what other people write either build a bridge and get over it pal or find a different hobby to pass your time!:D

Codola, no one disputes your right to have an opinion; the disputes are more that your opinion is directed at an individuals character. If that individual deserved the crap that you are dishing up and was a member of this forum; I doubt whether anyone but the individual would reply to your posts.
However; this individual has proven himself in this league to be a champion over and over again, and as he is not on this forum; does not deserve to have his character or coaching ethics questioned by an individual who does not have the balls to say anything to his face.
So, until I read in the news that the ACTAFL coach is being questioned by police for punching holes through a pissant like yourself; I will have to presume that you are too gutless to approach the individual in person!:mad:
I am all for anyone voicing their opinion as long as it is not baseless character assasination; try posting information about a subject that can be backed up by facts.

Ps for those that think Willo looks angry and uncomfortable at the tigers, check out Andrew Frosts latest photos (Round 14 v Magpies)

Andrew Trost, or Trosty, or "That prickle-headed bastard over there with the camera..." ;)

Can I ask a complete newbie question? Looking back over the last three year's photos, it seems to me that Mark Armstrong has changed his set-shot-for-goal kicking style. Is this something that footballers would do throughtout their career? Continually monitor and fine tune as required?

Cheers

Andrew Trost, or Trosty, or "That prickle-headed bastard over there with the camera..." ;)

Can I ask a complete newbie question? Looking back over the last three year's photos, it seems to me that Mark Armstrong has changed his set-shot-for-goal kicking style. Is this something that footballers would do throughtout their career? Continually monitor and fine tune as required?

Cheers

Sorry mate edited for accuracy. (Keep up the great work you produce brilliant stuff:thumbsu:
Players do continually work on their games, wouldn't be just Merv. If you look at most players their styles change over the years for different reasons, age, injuries, someone picking up something in their routines. Its what makes good players better.

Codola, no one disputes your right to have an opinion; the disputes are more that your opinion is directed at an individuals character. If that individual deserved the crap that you are dishing up and was a member of this forum; I doubt whether anyone but the individual would reply to your posts.
However; this individual has proven himself in this league to be a champion over and over again, and as he is not on this forum; does not deserve to have his character or coaching ethics questioned by an individual who does not have the balls to say anything to his face.
So, until I read in the news that the ACTAFL coach is being questioned by police for punching holes through a pissant like yourself; I will have to presume that you are too gutless to approach the individual in person!:mad:
I am all for anyone voicing their opinion as long as it is not baseless character assasination; try posting information about a subject that can be backed up by facts.

Ah, OK I get it now - so no more character assasination like the sort you were doing to Clarke from Eastlake earlier this year - you are a hypocrite!!